CTNF 18/632,485 CTNF 85098 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement filed on 4/11/2024 has been acknowledged and a signed copy of the PTO-1449 is attached herein. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kueffner et al. (US 2020/0255284 A1, hereinafter “Kueffner”) . In regards to claim 1, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) an acoustic device comprising: a substrate (805) including a first surface and a second surface that faces a side opposite to the first surface, the substrate (805) being provided with an opening (815) (a microphone substrate 805 having a first (upper) surface and a second (lower) surface opposite the first surface, the microphone substrate being provided with an acoustic port 815 extending therethrough, See also Par [0047]) ; an acoustic MEMS element (820) fixed to the first surface to cover the opening (820) (MEMS motor 820 mounted to the first surface of the microphone substrate 805 and oriented over the acoustic port 815 to cover the port, See Par [0047]) ; an annular electrode surrounding the opening on the second surface (solder regions/pads surrounding the acoustic port that, together with the surrounding solder mask, define an annular conductive region around the port. See, for example, Figs. 9A-9C showing the solder mask outline around acoustic port 815 with conductive solder regions surrounding the port and defining the annular electrode boundary. Furthermore, it is contemplated that the MEMS microphone is to be soldered to an external substrate, with the solder regions around the port serving the function of an annular electrode for that purpose. See Pars [0049]-[0054]) ; and a solder resist layer covering the second surface adjacently to the annular electrode on an outer side and an inner side of the annular electrode (“FIGS. 9A-9C are solder mask outlines … Each of FIGS. 9A-9C include the acoustic port 815 around which is the outline of the MEMS motor 820. Solder is not present within the areas 905.”, See Par [0049] ; and a solder mask disposed on the surface of the microphone substrate adjacent to the solder regions on both the outer and inner sides of the solder regions around the acoustic port; See Figs. 9A-9C); wherein the solder resist layer includes a first cutaway portion to connect a first portion and a second portion to each other, the first portion being any portion in an edge of the annular electrode, the second portion being any portion in an edge of the substrate (“… slots 860 provide a leakage pathway between the acoustic port 815 and the back volume 835… the slots 860 are formed within the solder mask … the slots 860 are formed by a lack of solder mask between the MEMS motor 820 and the microphone substrate 805.” See Par [0048]; “…the slots formed by areas 905 can be 80 micrometers wide, 45 micrometers tall, and be separated by 120 micrometers. The embodiment shown in FIG. 9A has eight slots total, with four slots on a first side and four on an opposing side.”, See Par [0050]; “the solder mask comprises a slot extending from the first port of the MEMS substrate to an outside edge of the MEMS substrate such that the slot in the solder mask forms a leakage pathway to the back volume.”, See Claim 17; and the solder mask includes slots 860/area 905 wherein the solder mask is absent, the slots extending between an edge of the solder region (i.e., the annular electrode) and an outside edge of the MEMS substrate. ). In regards to claim 2, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the first portion is a portion of an outer edge of the annular electrode and the second portion is a portion of an outer edge of the substrate (In Figs. 9A-9C that the slots in the solder mask extend from a postion at an outer edge of the solder region (annular electrode) to a position at an outer edge of the microphone substrate; See Par [0050] and Fig. 9A showing four slots on each of two opposing sides extending outwardly from the periphery of the MEMS motor footprint toward the outside edges of the microphone substrate). In regards to claim 3, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the first portion is a portion of an inner edge of the annular electrode and the second portion is a portion of an edge of the opening (the slots in the solder mask extend from an inner edge of the solder region adjacent the acoustic port to the edge of the acoustic port 815 itself, forming the recited inner-edge-to-opening-edge connection; See Fig. 9A and “slots 860 provide a leakage pathway between the acoustic port 815 and the back volume 835” See in Par [0048]; See also “…the solder mask comprises a slot extending from the first port of the MEMS substrate to an outside edge of the MEMS substrate…”, Claim 17). In regards to claim 7, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) a plurality of first cutaway portions are located in the second surface, and the plurality of first cutaway portions are symmetrically arranged (a plurality of slots in the solder mask, symmetrically arranged about the acoustic port. “The embodiment shown in FIG. 9A, the slots formed by areas 905 can be 80 micrometers wide, 45 micrometers tall, and be separated by 120 micrometers. The embodiment shown in FIG. 9A has eight slots total, with four slots on a first side and four on an opposing side … provides adequate leakage pathways while also securely holding the MEMS motor 820 to the microphone substrate 805.”, See Par [0050]). In regards to claim 9, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the opening is a through hole (the acoustic port 815 is a through hole extending through the microphone substrate 805. “…the acoustic port 115 that extends through the substrate 105”, See Par [0029]). In regards to claim 10, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the opening defines a port for sound (the acoustic port 815 defines a port for the entry of sound to the MEMS motor. See Pars [0029], [0026]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kueffner in view of Herron et al. (NPL, “Voiding Control for QFN Assembly, published by SMTA Pan Pacific”, 2011, hereinafter “Herron”) . In regards to claim 4, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the first cutaway portion (860) extending between an outer edge of the annular electrode and an outer edge of the substrate (See, Par [0050] and Fig. 9A). Kueffner fails to explicitly teach that the first cutaway portion is provided at a position where a distance between the first portion and the second portion is shortest. Herron while disclosing a packaging design teaches the first cutaway portion is provided at a position where a distance between the first portion and the second portion is shortest. (“Theoretically, the closer the outgassing is to an open space or a venting channel, the less chance for a void to be developed.”, See Page 7; and quantifying that “with increasing venting accessibility, the void average and largest void decrease readily.” See page 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position Kueffner’s solder mask slot at the location where the distance between the annular electrode edge and the substrate outer edge is shortest, because Herron expressly teaches that locating venting paths at positions that maximize venting accessibility minimizes void formation. Placement at the shortest-distance position directly maximizes venting accessibility by minimizing the path length through which gases must travel. A skilled artisan would have been motivated by Herron’s express teaching to optimize Kueffner’s slot placement according, with a reasonable expectation of reduced void formation as a predictable result. In regards to claim 5, Kueffner discloses (See, Fig. 8) the first cutaway portion (860) in the form of slots in the solder mask (See, Par [0048]). Kueffner fails to explicitly teach wherein the first cutaway portion has a first width at the first portion, the first width being a largest width, and has a second width at any portion other than the first portion, the second width being narrower than the first width. Herron wherein the first cutaway portion has a first width at the first portion, the first width being a largest width, and has a second width at any portion other than the first portion, the second width being narrower than the first width (the cross-sectional geometry of solder mask venting channel involves a trade-off between venting capability (favoring wider channels) and joint integrity (favoring narrower channels). “An increase in channel width has no effect on the voiding average, but does cause a net increase in the channel area, and consequently an increase in discontinuity.” See, Page 6. Herron further teaches that he proximity of the venting channel to the source of outgassing is the determinative factor for void escape. See “…the closer the outgassing is to an open space or a venting channel, the less chance for a void to be developed.”, page 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Kueffner’s solder mask slot with a tapered geometry that is wider at the annular electrode interface (where outgas escape is most needed and where Herron teaches venting accessibility most matters) and narrower at portions distal from the annular electrode (to preserve substrate continuity and limit particle ingress) in order to balance Herron’s recognized trade-off between venting effectiveness and joint integrity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the tapered geometry through routine optimization of these conflicting design considerations as expressly identified by Herron . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8, 11-13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kueffner in view of Ramakrishna et al. (US 2009/0263937 A1, hereinafter “Krishna”) . In regards to claims 8, Kueffner discloses wherein the solder resist layer includes a second cutaway portion (See, Fig. 9A) to connect a third portion and a fourth portion to each other, the second cutaway portion being a passage through which gas can pass (See, Pars [0048]-[0050]) . Kueffner fails to explicitly teach the third portion being any portion in an inner edge of the annular electrode, the fourth portion being any portion in an edge of the opening. Ramakrishna while disclosing a leadframe package taeches (See, for example, Figs. 8) the third portion being any portion in an inner edge of the annular electrode, the fourth portion being any portion in an edge of the opening (an unplated area 886 located on the inner side of the annular plated electrode, between the plated electrode and the acoustic port, serving the function of preventing solder from obstructing the acoustic port. See Pars [0017], [0074], and [0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add to Kueffner’s outer-side solder mask slots an additional inner-side cutaway portion as taught by Ramakrishna in order to provide complementary functionality - outer-side cutaways for outgas escape to the exterior environment (Kueffner) combined with inner-side cutaways for preventing solder obstruction of the acoustic port (Ramakrishna) because this would result to a MEMS microphone with both improved outgas management and preserved acoustic port integrity during reflow assembly. In regards to claim 11, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Figs. 8 and 9) a module comprising: the acoustic device according to claim 1 (See, Pars [0047]-[0050]). Kueffner fails to explicitly teach a mount substrate provided with a connection electrode on a surface; wherein the acoustic device is mounted on the mount substrate and the annular electrode and the connection electrode are electrically connected to each other via solder interposed therebetween. Ramakrishna discloses (See, for example, Figs. 8F and 9F) a mount substrate provided with a connection electrode on a surface (See, Par [0075]) ; wherein the acoustic device is mounted on the mount substrate (See, Pars [0075] and [0014], Fig. 6) and the annular electrode and the connection electrode are electrically connected to each other via solder interposed therebetween (See, Pars [0017], [0075], and see also claim 9) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to mount Kueffner’s MEMS microphone device on a printed circuit board having a connection electrode soldered to the annular electrode as taught by Ramakrishina because this would help enable the MEMS microphone device be available for the end consumer electronic products. In regards to claim 12, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the first portion is a portion of an outer edge of the annular electrode and the second portion is a portion of an outer edge of the substrate (In Figs. 9A-9C that the slots in the solder mask extend from a postion at an outer edge of the solder region (annular electrode) to a position at an outer edge of the microphone substrate; See Par [0050] and Fig. 9A showing four slots on each of two opposing sides extending outwardly from the periphery of the MEMS motor footprint toward the outside edges of the microphone substrate). In regards to claim 13, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the first portion is a portion of an inner edge of the annular electrode and the second portion is a portion of an edge of the opening (the slots in the solder mask extend from an inner edge of the solder region adjacent the acoustic port to the edge of the acoustic port 815 itself, forming the recited inner-edge-to-opening-edge connection; See Fig. 9A and “slots 860 provide a leakage pathway between the acoustic port 815 and the back volume 835” See in Par [0048]; See also “…the solder mask comprises a slot extending from the first port of the MEMS substrate to an outside edge of the MEMS substrate…”, Claim 17). In regards to claim 17, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) a plurality of first cutaway portions are located in the second surface, and the plurality of first cutaway portions are symmetrically arranged (a plurality of slots in the solder mask, symmetrically arranged about the acoustic port. “The embodiment shown in FIG. 9A, the slots formed by areas 905 can be 80 micrometers wide, 45 micrometers tall, and be separated by 120 micrometers. The embodiment shown in FIG. 9A has eight slots total, with four slots on a first side and four on an opposing side … provides adequate leakage pathways while also securely holding the MEMS motor 820 to the microphone substrate 805.”, See Par [0050]). In regards to claims 18, Kueffner discloses wherein the solder resist layer includes a second cutaway portion (See, Fig. 9A) to connect a third portion and a fourth portion to each other, the second cutaway portion being a passage through which gas can pass (See, Pars [0048]-[0050]) . Kueffner fails to explicitly teach the third portion being any portion in an inner edge of the annular electrode, the fourth portion being any portion in an edge of the opening. Ramakrishna while disclosing a leadframe package taeches (See, for example, Figs. 8) the third portion being any portion in an inner edge of the annular electrode, the fourth portion being any portion in an edge of the opening (an unplated area 886 located on the inner side of the annular plated electrode, between the plated electrode and the acoustic port, serving the function of preventing solder from obstructing the acoustic port. See Pars [0017], [0074], and [0087]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add to Kueffner’s outer-side solder mask slots an additional inner-side cutaway portion as taught by Ramakrishna in order to provide complementary functionality - outer-side cutaways for outgas escape to the exterior environment (Kueffner) combined with inner-side cutaways for preventing solder obstruction of the acoustic port (Ramakrishna) because this would result to a MEMS microphone with both improved outgas management and preserved acoustic port integrity during reflow assembly. In regards to claim 19, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the opening is a through hole (the acoustic port 815 is a through hole extending through the microphone substrate 805. “…the acoustic port 115 that extends through the substrate 105”, See Par [0029]). In regards to claim 20, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the opening defines a port for sound (the acoustic port 815 defines a port for the entry of sound to the MEMS motor. See Pars [0029], [0026]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kueffner in view of Ramakrishna and Friel et al. (US 2014/0321687 A1, hereinafter “Friel”) . In regards to claims 6 and 16, Kueffner discloses (See, Fig. 8) claim 1 as described above. Kueffner fails to explicitly teach a conductor via extending through the substrate to electrically connect a first surface side and a second surface side to each other; wherein a via exposed portion which is a portion where the conductor via is exposed to the second surface side includes a portion lower than the second surface; and the via exposed portion is a portion of the first cutaway portion. Ramakrishna while disclosing a lead frame package teaches (See, for example, Figs. 8) a conductor via (860, See, for example, Fig. 8B) extending through the substrate (See, Par [0072]) to electrically connect a first surface side and a second surface side to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a through-substrate conductor via into Kueffner's MEMS microphone package, providing the via with a recessed exposed portion at the second-surface side, in order to provide necessary electrical interconnection through the substrate Friel while disclosing a MEMS microphone teaches a via exposed portion which is a portion where the conductor via is exposed to the second surface side includes a portion lower than the second surface; and the via exposed portion is a portion of the first cutaway portion (the openings extending through a MEMS microphone substrate may serve as outgas escape paths during assembly. See, for example, Claim 1; See also Par [0027]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position that recessed via-exposed portion within Kueffner's solder mask cutaway in order to integrate the outgas escape function with the via structure that substrate-penetrating openings can serve outgassing functions . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kueffner in view of Ramakrishna and Herron . In regards to claim 14, Kueffner discloses (See, for example, Fig. 8) the first cutaway portion (860) extending between an outer edge of the annular electrode and an outer edge of the substrate (See, Par [0050] and Fig. 9A). Kueffner fails to explicitly teach that the first cutaway portion is provided at a position where a distance between the first portion and the second portion is shortest. Herron while disclosing a packaging design teaches the first cutaway portion is provided at a position where a distance between the first portion and the second portion is shortest. (“Theoretically, the closer the outgassing is to an open space or a venting channel, the less chance for a void to be developed.”, See Page 7; and quantifying that “with increasing venting accessibility, the void average and largest void decrease readily.” See page 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to position Kueffner’s solder mask slot at the location where the distance between the annular electrode edge and the substrate outer edge is shortest, because Herron expressly teaches that locating venting paths at positions that maximize venting accessibility minimizes void formation. Placement at the shortest-distance position directly maximizes venting accessibility by minimizing the path length through which gases must travel. A skilled artisan would have been motivated by Herron’s express teaching to optimize Kueffner’s slot placement according, with a reasonable expectation of reduced void formation as a predictable result. In regards to claim 15, Kueffner discloses (See, Fig. 8) the first cutaway portion (860) in the form of slots in the solder mask (See, Par [0048]). Kueffner fails to explicitly teach wherein the first cutaway portion has a first width at the first portion, the first width being a largest width, and has a second width at any portion other than the first portion, the second width being narrower than the first width. Herron wherein the first cutaway portion has a first width at the first portion, the first width being a largest width, and has a second width at any portion other than the first portion, the second width being narrower than the first width (the cross-sectional geometry of solder mask venting channel involves a trade-off between venting capability (favoring wider channels) and joint integrity (favoring narrower channels). “An increase in channel width has no effect on the voiding average, but does cause a net increase in the channel area, and consequently, an increase in discontinuity.” See, Page 6. Herron further teaches that he proximity of the venting channel to the source of outgassing is the determinative factor for void escape. See “…the closer the outgassing is to an open space or a venting channel, the less chance for a void to be developed.”, page 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Kueffner’s solder mask slot with a tapered geometry that is wider at the annular electrode interface (where outgas escape is most needed and where Herron teaches venting accessibility most matters) and narrower at portions distal from the annular electrode (to preserve substrate continuity and limit particle ingress) in order to balance Herron’s recognized trade-off between venting effectiveness and joint integrity. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the tapered geometry through routine optimization of these conflicting design considerations as expressly identified by Herron. Correspondence Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS whose telephone number is (571)270-5350. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 8 am - 5 pm E.S.T.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Britt Hanley can be reached on 571-270-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 12 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 13 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 14 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/632,485 Page 15 Art Unit: 2893