DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/266,673, filed on February 8, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 11, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al (US Pub 2013/0140587).
In re claim 1, Lim et al discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (i.e. 190), an electroluminescent device layer (i.e. 350) on the base substrate, and a light-absorbing layer (i.e. 140: a polarizing layer; it is inherent and well known in the art that a polarizer lets certain light through while absorbing other light that is not passed through; thus, polarizing layer reads on the label of “light-absorbing layer” as it is a mere label) on a light-emitting side of the electroluminescent device layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8); wherein the electroluminescent device layer is configured to emit initial light of a first color (i.e. see at least paragraph 0133), wherein the initial light forms target light after passing through the light-absorbing layer (i.e. polarizing layer 140 would inherently form target light after the initial light passes through as it is well known in the art that a polarizer lets specific light through), and the light-absorbing layer is on a side, distal from the base substrate, of the electroluminescent device layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 140 is away from the substrate 190 and on the other side of the electroluminescent layer 350).
In re claim 2, Lim et al discloses further comprising: a package structure layer (i.e. 180) on the side, distal from the base substrate, of the electroluminescent device layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 180 away from substrate 190 and on the other side of the electroluminescent layer 350), wherein the light-absorbing layer (i.e. 140) is on a side, distal from the base structure, of the package structure layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 140 away from the substrate 190 and on a side (indirectly) of the package structure layer 180).
In re claim 3, Lim et al discloses further comprising: a package structure layer (i.e. 180) on a side, distal from the base substrate, of the light-absorbing layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 180 away from the substrate 190 and on the other side of the light-absorbing layer 140).
In re claim 13, Lim et al discloses a display device, comprising a display substrate, wherein the display substrate comprises: a base substrate (i.e. 190), an electroluminescent device layer (i.e. 350) on the base substrate, and a light-absorbing layer (i.e. 140: a polarizing layer; it is inherent and well known in the art that a polarizer lets certain light through while absorbing other light that is not passed through; thus, polarizing layer reads on the label of “light-absorbing layer” as it is a mere label) on a light-emitting side of the electroluminescent device layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8); wherein the electroluminescent device layer is configured to emit initial light of a first color (i.e. see at least paragraph 0133), wherein the initial light forms target light after passing through the light-absorbing layer (i.e. polarizing layer 140 would inherently form target light after the initial light passes through as it is well known in the art that a polarizer lets specific light through), and the light-absorbing layer is on a side, distal from the base substrate, of the electroluminescent device layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 140 is away from the substrate 190 and on the other side of the electroluminescent layer 350).
In re claim 14, Lim et al discloses further comprising: a package structure layer (i.e. 180) on the side, distal from the base substrate, of the electroluminescent device layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 180 away from substrate 190 and on the other side of the electroluminescent layer 350), wherein the light-absorbing layer (i.e. 140) is on a side, distal from the base structure, of the package structure layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 140 away from the substrate 190 and on a side (indirectly) of the package structure layer 180).
In re claim 15, Lim et al discloses further comprising: a package structure layer (i.e. 180) on a side, distal from the base substrate, of the light-absorbing layer (i.e. see at least Figure 8 showing layer 180 away from the substrate 190 and on the other side of the light-absorbing layer 140).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817