DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/632763 filed 4/11/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/11/24 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plumb 4334590. As to claim 1, Plumb discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub disconnect cap (79), the wheel hub disconnect cap comprising a circular head (as shown in Figures 2 and 3) and a circular shank (formed within 79 encompassing all components as shown in Figures 1-3), a first through hole (encompassing 92), and a second through hole (encompassing 92).
As to claim 2, further comprising a first slot in communication with the first through hole and a second slot in communication with the second through hole (both encompassing 92).
As to claim 9, further comprising a first threaded fastener passing through the wheel hub disconnect cap and a second threaded fastener passing through the wheel hub disconnect cap (via 92).
As to claim 10, further comprising a wheel hub (10), the circular shank inserted at least partially into the wheel hub via a through hole in the wheel hub (within 10).
As to claim 11, further comprising a first bore hole in the wheel hub configured to receive the first threaded fastener, a second bore hole in the wheel hub configured to receive the second threaded fastener (Figure 1, via 92 connecting 79 to 27).
As to claim 12, Plumb discloses a method for constructing a wheel disconnect system, comprising: fastening a sun gear (20) to a wheel hub disconnect cap (79); inserting the wheel hub disconnect cap into a wheel hub cover (Figure 1, via 92 connecting 79 to 27); and installing a retaining ring (102) to the wheel hub disconnect cap to retain the wheel hub disconnect cap to the wheel hub cover.
As to claim 13, further comprising installing two fasteners through the wheel hub disconnect cap and into the wheel hub cover (via 92).
As to claim 16, Plumb discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: wheel hub carrier (11); a wheel hub (10) fastened to the wheel hub carrier; an electric machine (column 2, lines 45-48 describes that any power source can be used which would encompass electric machine) fastened to the wheel hub carrier; and a wheel hub disconnect cap (79) fastened to the wheel hub, the wheel hub disconnect cap comprising a circular head (as shown in Figures 2 and 3) and a circular shank (formed within 79 encompassing all components as shown in Figures 1-3), a first through hole (encompassing 92), and a second through hole (encompassing 92).
As to claim 17, further comprising a sun gear (20) fastened to the wheel hub disconnect cap (via 80, 83, 85), and where the sun gear remains in contact with a rotor shaft of the electric machine when the wheel disconnect system is engaged and disengaged (due to power sources outputting power through 12 and sun gear 20 being directly coupled to 12).
As to claim 18, further comprising a planetary gear (21) in selective communication with the sun gear.
As to claim 19, further comprising a first fastener passing through the first through hole and a second fastener passing through the second through hole (via 92).
As to claim 20, further comprising a retaining ring retaining (102) the wheel hub disconnect cap to the wheel hub.
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simonsen 2854111. As to claim 1, Simonsen discloses a wheel disconnect system, comprising: a wheel hub disconnect cap (17), the wheel hub disconnect cap comprising a circular head (as shown in Figure 1) and a circular shank (formed within 17 encompassing 31 as shown in Figures 4 and 5), a first through hole (encompassing 12), and a second through hole (encompassing 12).
As to claim 2, further comprising a first slot in communication with the first through hole and a second slot in communication with the second through hole (both encompassing 12).
As to claim 9, further comprising a first threaded fastener passing through the wheel hub disconnect cap and a second threaded fastener passing through the wheel hub disconnect cap (via 12).
As to claim 10, further comprising a wheel hub (11, 15), the circular shank inserted at least partially into the wheel hub via a through hole in the wheel hub (within 15).
As to claim 11, further comprising a first bore hole in the wheel hub configured to receive the first threaded fastener, a second bore hole in the wheel hub configured to receive the second threaded fastener (as shown in Figures 3 and 6).
As to claim 12, Simonsen discloses a method for constructing a wheel disconnect system, comprising: fastening a sun gear (29) to a wheel hub disconnect cap (17); inserting the wheel hub disconnect cap into a wheel hub cover (Figure 1, via 12 connecting 17 to 15); and installing a retaining ring (33) to the wheel hub disconnect cap to retain the wheel hub disconnect cap to the wheel hub cover.
As to claim 13, further comprising installing two fasteners through the wheel hub disconnect cap and into the wheel hub cover (via 12).
As to claim 14, further comprising fastening the wheel hub cover (15) to a wheel hub and seating a head of the wheel hub disconnect cap against the wheel hub cover (portions of 17 coupled to 15) to engage the sun gear to a splined shaft (13).
As to claim 15, further comprising rotating the wheel hub disconnect cap (via 33) and tightening the two fasteners (12) to the wheel hub disconnect cap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plumb and Simonsen in view of Fanizza et al 20220363091. As to claim 3, both Plumb and Simonsen disclose first and second slots, but doesn’t disclose counterbores adjacent to the slots as recited.
Fanizza discloses a wheel system and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a wheel cover connection to a wheel hub by applying multiple counterbores adjacent slots (key holes as shown in Figures 11-16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Plumb and Simonsen with slot adjacent counterbores for bolts in view of Fanizza to reduce the manufacturing costs and assembly work time when connecting and disconnecting cap to and from hub.
As to claim 4, Plumb and Simonsen disclose a retaining ring slot (via 36 in Simonsen and encompassing 102 in Plumb).
As to claim 5, Plumb and Simonsen disclose a first bore hole in the circular shank (encompassing 32 in Simonsen and encompassing 102 in Plumb) and a second bore hole in the circular shank (encompassing 31 in Simonsen and encompassing 85 in Plumb)
As to claim 6, Plumb and Simonsen disclose where the first bore hole is concentric with the second bore hole (as shown in Figures 4 and 5 in Simonsen and Figures 2 and 3 in Plumb).
As to claim 7, Simonsen further comprising a sun gear retainer (via 32) at least partially inserted into the first bore hole, a sun gear (29) at least partially inserted into the second bore hole (via integral connection to 31), the sun gear retained to the wheel hub disconnect cap via the sun gear retainer.
As to claim 8, Simonsen further comprising a retaining ring (33) at least partially inserted into the retaining ring slot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Schoon 20120238389 (Figure 4) and Schoon 20130161148 (Figure 1) both show that it is well known in the art to provide a wheel hub disconnect system coupled to an electric machine and provided with a “shank” type coupling within a hub cap, meets limitations of at least claims 1 and 16.
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 April 18, 2026