DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: last line, change “the node” to --a node-- in order to an insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 15-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He et al (Evaluation of 3D-Printed titanium allot using eddy current testing with high-sensitivity magnetic sensor) [non-patent literature supplied by the applicant].
Regarding claim 1, He et al disclose [see Figs. 1-2 above] a method for determining an applied magnetic field [see pg. 90 under “Introduction”], the method comprising: applying an alternating excitation voltage [via VAC shown in Fig. 1 as well as pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1] to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor of Fig. 1) [see also pg. 90 under “Introduction” 3rd paragraph], the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) comprising a winding [i.e. coil] and a core material (i.e. wire) [both shown in Fig. 1 as well as pg. 90 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1]; biasing the applied excitation voltage with an applied DC current [via IDC shown in Fig. 1 as well as pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1]; sampling a resultant output at a node (Node A of Fig. 1) positioned between the applied voltage [via IDC] and the alternating excitation voltage [via VAC]; and determining an applied external magnetic field exposed to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) [see Fig. 2 where the output changed the external magnetic field], wherein the applied DC current operates to limit outputs of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) to fall outside of a linear region of a B-H curve of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) [see pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 2, He et al disclose wherein the core (wire part of sensor in Fig. 1) comprises a ferrous material [see pg. 90 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1 where wire is FeCoSiB] and wherein a radio frequency choke (inductor L) is positioned between a source (IDC) of the applied DC current and the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor).
Regarding claim 3, He et al disclose wherein the applied excitation voltage is an alternating voltage (VAC).
Regarding claim 7, He et al disclose wherein the applied DC current [via IDC] operates to limit outputs of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) to fall outside of a linear region of a B-H curve of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) and within a knee region of the B-H curve of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) [see pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 15, He et al disclose [see Figs. 1-2 above] a circuit for determining an applied magnetic field, the circuit comprising: an alternating excitation voltage source (VAC) electrically coupled to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor), the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) comprising a winding [i.e. coil] and a core material [i.e. wire] [both shown in Fig. 1 as well as pg. 90 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1]; a biasing current source (IDC) configured and electrically connected to apply a biasing DC current to a node (Node A) coupled to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor); and a choke (inductor L) positioned between the biasing current source (IDC) and the alternating excitation voltage (VAC), wherein the biasing current source (IDC) is set to output a DC current value that operates to limit outputs of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) to fall outside of a linear region of a B-H curve of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) [see pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1].
Regarding claim 16, He et al disclose wherein the choke (L) is a radio frequency choke positioned between the biasing current source (IDC) and the node (Node A).
Regarding claim 17, He et al disclose wherein the alternating excitation voltage source (VAC) is configured to [see Note below] output a square wave.
[Note: Claim limitations that employ phrases of the type “configured to” are typical of claim limitations, which may not distinguish over the prior art. It has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. See also MPEP 2111.04]
Regarding claim 19, He et al disclose wherein the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) comprises a core [i.e. wire] having a diameter of no more than 0.1 mm [see pg. 90 under “Introduction” 3rd paragraph and pg. 91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 20, He et al disclose wherein the biasing current source (IDC) is configured and electrically connected to apply a biasing DC current set to 5 volts or less to a node (Node A) [see Fig. 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al (Evaluation of 3D-Printed titanium allot using eddy current testing with high-sensitivity magnetic sensor) in view of Toshiya et al (JP2001-33533 A).
Regarding claim 4, He et al disclose [see Figs. 1-2 above] a method for determining an applied magnetic field [see pg. 90 under “Introduction”], the method comprising: applying an alternating excitation voltage [via VAC shown in Fig. 1 as well as pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1] to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor of Fig. 1) [see also pg. 90 under “Introduction” 3rd paragraph], the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) comprising a winding [i.e. coil] and a core material (i.e. wire) [both shown in Fig. 1 as well as pg. 90 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1]. However, the prior art does not disclose a second magnetoimpedance sensor as claimed. Toshiya et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] applying an alternating excitation voltage [via oscillator 5] to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a) and a second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b), wherein both the first and the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1a & 1b) comprising a windings (winding 2a & 2b) and a core materials [known but not shown], the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1b) electrically connected in parallel to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (1a). Further, Toshiya et al teaches that the addition of the second magnetoimpedance sensor is advantageous because it changes the impedance of the circuit in order to reduce a temperature drift and improved the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of a circuit. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of He et al by adding second magnetoimpedance sensor as taught by Toshiya et al in order to improve the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of the circuit.
Regarding claims 5-6, He et al disclose [see Figs. 1-2 above] a method for determining an applied magnetic field [see pg. 90 under “Introduction”], the method comprising: applying an alternating excitation voltage [via VAC shown in Fig. 1 as well as pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1] to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor of Fig. 1) [see also pg. 90 under “Introduction” 3rd paragraph], the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) comprising a winding [i.e. coil] and a core material (i.e. wire) [both shown in Fig. 1 as well as pg. 90 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1]. However, the prior art does not disclose a second magnetoimpedance sensor and a synchronous detector as claimed. Toshiya et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] applying an alternating excitation voltage [via oscillator 5] to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a), and a second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b); a synchronous detector (synchronous detector 7), the synchronous detector (7) configured to output a dc voltage indicative of the applied external magnetic field exposed to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (1a). Further, Toshiya et al teaches that the addition of the synchronous detector is advantageous because it synchronously detecting the voltage of the magnetic impedance element so that characteristics of the magnetic impedance element circuit can be improved. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of He et al by adding the synchronous detector as taught by Toshiya et al in order to improve the characteristics of the magnetic impedance element circuit during use of the circuit.
Regarding claim 8, He et al disclose [see Figs. 1-2 above] a circuit for determining an applied magnetic field, the circuit comprising: an alternating excitation voltage source (VAC) electrically coupled to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor), the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) comprising a winding [i.e. coil] and a core material [i.e. wire] [both shown in Fig. 1 as well as pg. 90 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1]; a biasing current source (IDC) configured and electrically connected to apply a biasing DC current to a node (Node A) coupled to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor); and a choke (inductor L) positioned between the biasing current source (IDC) and the alternating excitation voltage (VAC), wherein the biasing current source (IDC) is set to output a DC current value that operates to limit outputs of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) to fall outside of a linear region of a B-H curve of the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) [see pgs. 90-91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 1]. However, the prior art does not disclose a second magnetoimpedance sensor as claimed. Toshiya et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] applying an alternating excitation voltage [via oscillator 5] to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a) and a second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b), wherein both the first and the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1a & 1b) comprising a windings (winding 2a & 2b) and a core materials [known but not shown], the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1b) electrically connected in parallel to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (1a). Further, Toshiya et al teaches that the addition of the second magnetoimpedance sensor is advantageous because it changes the impedance of the circuit in order to reduce a temperature drift and improved the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of a circuit. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of He et al by adding second magnetoimpedance sensor as taught by Toshiya et al in order to improve the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of the circuit.
Regarding claim 9, He et al disclose wherein the choke (L) is a radio frequency choke positioned between the biasing current source (IDC) and the node (Node A). However, the prior art does not disclose a second magnetoimpedance sensor as claimed. Toshiya et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] a first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a) and a second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b), wherein the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1b) electrically connected in parallel to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (1a). Further, Toshiya et al teaches that the addition of the second magnetoimpedance sensor is advantageous because it changes the impedance of the circuit in order to reduce a temperature drift and improved the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of a circuit. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of He et al by adding second magnetoimpedance sensor as taught by Toshiya et al in order to improve the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of the circuit.
Regarding claim 10, Toshiya et al disclose the first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a) and the second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b) are the same.
Regarding claim 17, He et al disclose wherein the alternating excitation voltage source (VAC) is configured to [see Note below] output a square wave.
[Note: Claim limitations that employ phrases of the type “configured to” are typical of claim limitations, which may not distinguish over the prior art. It has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. See also MPEP 2111.04]
Regarding claim 18, He et al disclose [see Figs. 1-2 above] a circuit for determining an applied magnetic field, the circuit comprising: an alternating excitation voltage source (VAC) electrically coupled to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor). However, the prior art does not disclose a synchronous detector as claimed. Toshiya et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] a first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a), and a second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b); a synchronous detector (synchronous detector 7), the synchronous detector (7) configured to output a dc voltage indicative of the applied external magnetic field exposed to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (1a). Further, Toshiya et al teaches that the addition of the synchronous detector is advantageous because it synchronously detecting the voltage of the magnetic impedance element so that characteristics of the magnetic impedance element circuit can be improved. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of He et al by adding the synchronous detector as taught by Toshiya et al in order to improve the characteristics of the magnetic impedance element circuit during use of the circuit.
Regarding claim 13, He et al disclose wherein the first magnetoimpedance sensor (sensor) comprises a core [i.e. wire] having a diameter of no more than 0.1 mm [see pg. 90 under “Introduction” 3rd paragraph and pg. 91 section 2.1 description of Fig. 3]. However, the prior art does not disclose a second magnetoimpedance sensor as claimed. Toshiya et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] a first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a) and a second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b), wherein both the first and the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1a & 1b) comprising a windings (winding 2a & 2b) and a core materials [known but not shown], the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1b) electrically connected in parallel to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (1a). Further, Toshiya et al teaches that the addition of the second magnetoimpedance sensor is advantageous because it changes the impedance of the circuit in order to reduce a temperature drift and improved the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of a circuit. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of He et al by adding second magnetoimpedance sensor as taught by Toshiya et al in order to improve the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of the circuit.
Regarding claim 14, He et al disclose wherein the biasing current source (IDC) is configured and electrically connected to apply a biasing DC current set to 5 volts or less to a node (Node A) [see Fig. 2]. However, the prior art does not disclose a second magnetoimpedance sensor as claimed. Toshiya et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] applying an alternating excitation voltage [via oscillator 5] to a first magnetoimpedance sensor (first magnetoimpedance element 1a) and a second magnetoimpedance sensor (second magnetoimpedance element 1b), wherein both the first and the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1a & 1b) comprising a windings (winding 2a & 2b) and a core materials [known but not shown], the second magnetoimpedance sensor (1b) electrically connected in parallel to the first magnetoimpedance sensor (1a). Further, Toshiya et al teaches that the addition of the second magnetoimpedance sensor is advantageous because it changes the impedance of the circuit in order to reduce a temperature drift and improved the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of a circuit. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the apparatus of He et al by adding second magnetoimpedance sensor as taught by Toshiya et al in order to improve the temperature stability of a drive/detection circuit during use of the circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858