DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the printed circuit board assembly" in line 1 and “the system motherboard and the other components” in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakajima (US 5715139 A).
As to Claim 1 (as best understood), Nakajima discloses:
A carrier frame (frame 70; see Figs. 11-14) for an information handling system (computer 1), a printed circuit board (at least circuit boards 60a to 60d) assembly comprising:
a main portion (highlighted in Fig. below) having a top surface (top side of 70; see Fig. 11) and a bottom surface (bottom side of 70; see Fig. 12);
first and second wing portions (highlighted below) extending from opposite ends of the main portion (highlighted first and second wing portions extend from highlighted main portion), the first and second wing portions have the top surface and the bottom surface (highlighted first and second wing portions have top of 70 and bottom of 70), wherein a system motherboard (60a) and other components 61 are in physical communication with the top surface (top side of 70; col. 9, Lines 6-10 “A number of circuit parts 61, mainly IC chips, are mounted on both surfaces of each of the circuit boards 60a and 60b. In the present embodiment, the first circuit board 60a serves as a system board”); and
a plurality of mounting components (holes in frame 70 and screws 196; col. 19, Lines 14-18 “The frame 70, thus positioned in the lower housing 5, is fastened to the bottom wall 5a by screws--at the front edge of the bottom wall 75 of the FDD-supporting section 71, the front-let portion of the board-supporting section 72 and the rear edge of the board-supporting section 72”; Lines 35-39 “The lower housing 5 and the upper housing 6 are fastened together by screws 196 made of metal which pass through the bosses 83 and also through the circuit boards 60a and 60b and which are set in engagement with the nuts 187 embedded in the bosses 186”) extending from the bottom surface (bottom side of 70; holes in 70 for screws at least in part extend from bottom side of 70 and screws 196 extend from bottom side of 70), wherein the mounting components securely and removably connect the carrier frame 70 within the information handling system 1 (col. 19, Lines 39-40 “The frame 70 is thereby clamped between the housing 5 and 6”; col. 28, Lines 26-28 “The lower housing 5 and the upper housing 6, both made of a synthetic resin, can easily be separated from the frame 70”).
As to Claim 2, Nakajima discloses:
further comprising: a protective shield (first shield plate 100) in physical communication with the system motherboard 60a and other components 61 (col. 11, Lines 24-25 “The first shield plate 100 covers the first circuit board 60a from above”; Lines 45-46 “The first shield plate 100 is thereby electrically connected to the first circuit board 60a”), wherein the protective shield 100 prevents physical access to the system motherboard 60a and the other components 61 on the carrier frame 70 (100 screwed to board 60a and frame 70, prevents physical access when assembled).
As to Claim 3, Nakajima discloses:
wherein the carrier frame 70 further comprises: a connector (cut 82 exposing jacks 67a,67b; col. 10, Lines 40-41 “The left strip of the wall 79 has a cut 82, through which the jacks 67a and 67b are exposed”) to provide electrical communication from the information handling system to the system motherboard 60a and to the other components 61 (col. 9, Lines 58-59 “The jacks 67a and 67b are provided for electrical connection with the plugs of a headphone or microphone”; col. 9, Lines 64-65 “whereby the first and second circuit boards 60a and 60b are electrically connected together”).
As to Claim 5, Nakajima discloses:
wherein the mounting components includes first and second groups of mounting components, wherein the first group of mounting components is a first plurality of slots (holes for screws in frame 70), wherein the second group of mounting components is a first plurality of posts (screws 196).
As to Claim 6, Nakajima discloses:
wherein each one of the first slots (holes in 70) receives a respective one of a second plurality of posts (screws) within the information handling system (col. 19, Lines 14-18 “The frame 70, thus positioned in the lower housing 5, is fastened to the bottom wall 5a by screws--at the front edge of the bottom wall 75 of the FDD-supporting section 71, the front-let portion of the board-supporting section 72 and the rear edge of the board-supporting section 72”).
As to Claim 7, Nakajima discloses:
wherein each one of the first posts 196 interfaces with a respective one of a second plurality of slots 185 within the information handling system (screws 196 pass through bosses 185, see Figs. 3 and 13).
As to Claim 8, Nakajima discloses:
wherein a section (wall 79) of the main portion (highlighted main portion in Fig. in rejection of claim 1 above) extends from the top surface (top side of 70) to form a portion of a chassis (lower housing 5) of the information handling system 1 (wherein wall 79 at least comprises an inner portion of housing 5).
As to Claim 9, Nakajima discloses:
wherein a section (highlighted below) of the first wing portion (highlighted below) extends from the top surface (top side of 70) to form a portion of a chassis (lower housing 5) of the information handling system 1 (highlighted portion of first wing at least comprises a portion of housing 5; see Fig. 14 for combination of 5 and 70).
As to Claim 11, Nakajima discloses:
An information handling system (computer 1; see Figs. 11-14) comprising:
a chassis base (lower housing 5) including:
a bottom surface 5a; and
first, second, third and fourth walls (5b; col. 6, Lines 54-56 “the lower housing 5 has a flat rectangular bottom wall 5a and four side walls 5b extending from the sides of the bottom wall 5a”); and
a carrier frame (frame 70) in physical communication with the chassis base 5 (70 coupled to 5; col. 9, Lines 66-67 “The FDD 50 and the circuit boards 60a to 60d are secured to the lower housing 5 by means of a frame 70”), the carrier frame 70 configured to hold a system motherboard 60a and other components 61 (col. 9, Lines 6-10 “A number of circuit parts 61, mainly IC chips, are mounted on both surfaces of each of the circuit boards 60a and 60b. In the present embodiment, the first circuit board 60a serves as a system board”), the carrier frame 70 includes:
a main portion (highlighted in Fig. below) having a top surface (top side of 70; see Fig. 11) and a bottom surface (bottom side of 70; see Fig. 12);
first and second wing portions (highlighted below) extending from opposite ends of the main portion (highlighted first and second wing portions extend from highlighted main portion), the first and second wing portions have the top surface and the bottom surface (highlighted first and second wing portions have top of 70 and bottom of 70), wherein the system motherboard (60a) and the other components 61 are in physical communication with the top surface (top side of 70; col. 9, Lines 6-10 “A number of circuit parts 61, mainly IC chips, are mounted on both surfaces of each of the circuit boards 60a and 60b. In the present embodiment, the first circuit board 60a serves as a system board”); and
a plurality of mounting components (holes in frame 70 and screws 196; col. 19, Lines 14-18 “The frame 70, thus positioned in the lower housing 5, is fastened to the bottom wall 5a by screws--at the front edge of the bottom wall 75 of the FDD-supporting section 71, the front-let portion of the board-supporting section 72 and the rear edge of the board-supporting section 72”; Lines 35-39 “The lower housing 5 and the upper housing 6 are fastened together by screws 196 made of metal which pass through the bosses 83 and also through the circuit boards 60a and 60b and which are set in engagement with the nuts 187 embedded in the bosses 186”) extending from the bottom surface (bottom side of 70; holes in 70 for screws at least in part extend from bottom side of 70 and screws 196 extend from bottom side of 70), wherein the mounting components securely and removably connect the carrier frame 70 to the chassis base 5 (col. 19, Lines 39-40 “The frame 70 is thereby clamped between the housing 5 and 6”; col. 28, Lines 26-28 “The lower housing 5 and the upper housing 6, both made of a synthetic resin, can easily be separated from the frame 70”).
As to Claim 12, Nakajima discloses:
further comprising: a protective shield (first shield plate 100) in physical communication with the system motherboard 60a and other components 61 (col. 11, Lines 24-25 “The first shield plate 100 covers the first circuit board 60a from above”; Lines 45-46 “The first shield plate 100 is thereby electrically connected to the first circuit board 60a”).
As to Claim 13, Nakajima discloses:
further comprising:
a first connector (67a within cut 82) of the carrier 70; and
a second connector (67b within cut 82; col. 10, Lines 40-41 “The left strip of the wall 79 has a cut 82, through which the jacks 67a and 67b are exposed”), wherein the first and second connectors 67a,67b provide electrical communication from the information handling system to the system motherboard 60a and to the other components 61 (col. 9, Lines 58-59 “The jacks 67a and 67b are provided for electrical connection with the plugs of a headphone or microphone”; col. 9, Lines 64-65 “whereby the first and second circuit boards 60a and 60b are electrically connected together”).
As to Claim 15, Nakajima discloses:
wherein the mounting components includes first and second groups of mounting components, wherein the first group of mounting components is a first plurality of slots (holes for screws in frame 70), wherein the second group of mounting components is a first plurality of posts (screws 196).
As to Claim 16, Nakajima discloses:
wherein each one of the first slots (holes in 70) receives a respective one of a second plurality of posts (screws) mounted on the chassis base 5 (col. 19, Lines 14-18 “The frame 70, thus positioned in the lower housing 5, is fastened to the bottom wall 5a by screws--at the front edge of the bottom wall 75 of the FDD-supporting section 71, the front-let portion of the board-supporting section 72 and the rear edge of the board-supporting section 72”).
As to Claim 17, Nakajima discloses:
wherein each one of the first posts 196 interfaces with a respective one of a second plurality of slots 185 mounted on the chassis base 5 (screws 196 pass through bosses 185, bosses 185 disposed on lower housing 5, see Figs. 3 and 13).
As to Claim 18, Nakajima discloses:
wherein a section (wall 79) of the main portion (highlighted main portion in Fig. in rejection of claim 11 above) extends from the top surface (top side of 70) to form a portion of the chassis base (lower housing 5; wherein wall 79 at least comprises an inner portion of housing 5).
As to Claim 19, Nakajima discloses:
An information handling system (computer 1; see Figs. 11-14) comprising:
a chassis base (lower housing 5) including:
a bottom surface 5a; and
first, second, third and fourth walls (5b; col. 6, Lines 54-56 “the lower housing 5 has a flat rectangular bottom wall 5a and four side walls 5b extending from the sides of the bottom wall 5a”);
a first connector (67a within cut 82);
a carrier frame (frame 70) in physical communication with the chassis base 5 (70 coupled to 5; col. 9, Lines 66-67 “The FDD 50 and the circuit boards 60a to 60d are secured to the lower housing 5 by means of a frame 70”), the carrier 70 configured to hold a system motherboard 60a and other components 61 (col. 9, Lines 6-10 “A number of circuit parts 61, mainly IC chips, are mounted on both surfaces of each of the circuit boards 60a and 60b. In the present embodiment, the first circuit board 60a serves as a system board”), the carrier frame 70 includes:
a main portion (highlighted in Fig. below) having a top surface (top side of 70; see Fig. 11) and a bottom surface (bottom side of 70; see Fig. 12);
first and second wing portions (highlighted below) extending from opposite ends of the main portion (highlighted first and second wing portions extend from highlighted main portion), the first and second wing portions have the top surface and the bottom surface (highlighted first and second wing portions have top of 70 and bottom of 70), wherein the system motherboard 60a and the other components 61 are in physical communication with the top surface (top side of 70; col. 9, Lines 6-10 “A number of circuit parts 61, mainly IC chips, are mounted on both surfaces of each of the circuit boards 60a and 60b. In the present embodiment, the first circuit board 60a serves as a system board”);
a plurality of mounting components (holes in frame 70 and screws 196; col. 19, Lines 14-18 “The frame 70, thus positioned in the lower housing 5, is fastened to the bottom wall 5a by screws--at the front edge of the bottom wall 75 of the FDD-supporting section 71, the front-let portion of the board-supporting section 72 and the rear edge of the board-supporting section 72”; Lines 35-39 “The lower housing 5 and the upper housing 6 are fastened together by screws 196 made of metal which pass through the bosses 83 and also through the circuit boards 60a and 60b and which are set in engagement with the nuts 187 embedded in the bosses 186”) extending from the bottom surface (bottom side of 70; holes in 70 for screws at least in part extend from bottom side of 70 and screws 196 extend from bottom side of 70), wherein the mounting components securely and removably connect the carrier frame 70 to the chassis base 5 (col. 19, Lines 39-40 “The frame 70 is thereby clamped between the housing 5 and 6”; col. 28, Lines 26-28 “The lower housing 5 and the upper housing 6, both made of a synthetic resin, can easily be separated from the frame 70”); and
a second connector (67b within cut 82), wherein the first and second connectors 6a,67b provide electrical communication from the information handling system to the system motherboard 60a and to the other components 61 (col. 9, Lines 58-59 “The jacks 67a and 67b are provided for electrical connection with the plugs of a headphone or microphone”; col. 9, Lines 64-65 “whereby the first and second circuit boards 60a and 60b are electrically connected together”); and
a protective shield (first shield plate 100) in physical communication with the system motherboard 60a and other components 61 (col. 11, Lines 24-25 “The first shield plate 100 covers the first circuit board 60a from above”; Lines 45-46 “The first shield plate 100 is thereby electrically connected to the first circuit board 60a”).
As to Claim 20, Nakajima discloses:
wherein a section (wall 79) of the main portion (highlighted main portion in Fig. in rejection of claim 19 above) extends from the top surface (top side of 70) to form a portion of the chassis base (lower housing 5; wherein wall 79 at least comprises an inner portion of housing 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 5715139 A) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Smith (US 20070247800 A1).
As to Claims 4 and 14, Nakajima does not disclose:
wherein the mounting components are snap fit connectors.
However, Smith discloses:
wherein the mounting components are snap fit connectors (Par. 0232 “the main faceplate 955 is removably attached to the front 961 in a snap-fit fashion. It should be appreciated, however, that main faceplate 955 can be removably attached to the front 961 through the use of any suitable fastener, including, but not limited to, hook and loop fasteners, snaps and screws”);
in order to provide detachably/removable connect the face plate to the front (Par. 0232).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima as further suggested by Smith e.g., providing:
wherein the mounting components are snap fit connectors;
in order to provide detachable/removable connect between the frame and information handling system.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima (US 5715139 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takakusaki (US 20090073655 A1).
As to Claim 10, Nakajima does not disclose:
further comprising: a heat sink plate, a plurality of heat pipes, and a plurality of heat sinks.
However, Takakusaki discloses:
further comprising: a heat sink plate (first heat-receiving plate 52; see Figs. 3 and 8), a plurality of heat pipes (heat pipes 54 and 64), and a plurality of heat sinks (first and second radiating fins 53, 63);
in order to provide a heat radiating mechanism to cool first and second chips within a portable computer (Par. 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakajima as further suggested by Takakusaki e.g., providing:
further comprising: a heat sink plate, a plurality of heat pipes, and a plurality of heat sinks;
in order to provide a heat radiating mechanism to cool components within a portable computer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoo (US 20220069437 A1) discloses a laptop with internal cooling structures.
Bondi (US 20260010198 A1) discloses a frame holding a circuit board and cooling structures.
Hirai (US 20150103501 A1) discloses a laptop with a cooling structure and internal frame.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835