DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because claim 2 does not end with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10, 12-14 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,982,929 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipated all claim limitations of the pending claims in the manner shown below.
Pending claims
Patented claims
1. An electronic unit comprising: a casing configured to have a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a first fan disposed close to a first side surface of the casing; a second fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first fan on one side; a third fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first fan on the other side; and a CPU configured to control a revolution speed of at least one of the second fan and the third fan to be always faster than a revolution speed of the first fan with the casing in the horizontal configuration during operation.
2. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein comprising: a first cooling target object disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the first fan; a second cooling target object disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the second fan; a third cooling target object disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the third fan.
1. An electronic unit comprising:
a casing configured to have a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon;
a first exhaust fan disposed close to a first side surface of the casing and configured to exhaust air inside the casing;
a first air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the first exhaust fan and formed in a second side surface opposite to the first side surface;
a second exhaust fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first exhaust fan on one side, and configured to exhaust air inside the casing;
a second air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the second exhaust fan and formed in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface;
a third exhaust fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first exhaust fan on the other side, and configured to exhaust air inside the casing;
a third air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the third exhaust fan and formed in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface;
fins as a first cooling target object disposed on a path from the first air intake port to the first exhaust fan; a second cooling target object disposed on a path from the second air intake port to the second exhaust fan;
a third cooling target object disposed on a path from the third air intake port to the third exhaust fan; and
a CPU configured to control a revolution speed of at least one of the second exhaust fan and the third exhaust fan to be always faster than a revolution speed of the first exhaust fan with the casing in the horizontal configuration during operation;
wherein the fins of the first cooling target object include fins of a first heat sink for cooling a red light source device and fins of a second heat sink for cooling an excitation light shining device and a major part of the air passing through the fins of the first heat sink and fins of the second heat sink is exhausted by way of the first exhaust fan.
3. The electronic unit according to claim 2, wherein the second cooling target object disposed close to the second fan is disposed away from the second fan over a distance that is greater than a distance between the first fan and the first cooling target object disposed close to the first fan.
4. The electronic unit according to claim 2, wherein the third cooling target object disposed close to the third fan is disposed away from the third fan over a distance that is greater than a distance between the first fan and the first cooling target object disposed close to the first fan.
10. The electronic unit according to claim 1, the second cooling target object disposed away from the second exhaust fan farther than the distance between the first exhaust fan and the first cooling target object; the third cooling target object disposed away from the third exhaust fan farther than the distance between the first exhaust fan and the first cooling target object.
5. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the first fan and the second fan and the third fan are axial-flow fans and parallel to the first side surface so as to blow air towards the first side surface of the casing.
2. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the first exhaust fan and the second exhaust fan and the third exhaust fan are axial-flow fans and parallel to the first side surface so as to blow air towards the first side surface of the casing.
6. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the first fan and the second fan and the third fan have substantially the same shape and substantially the same size.
3. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the first exhaust fan and the second exhaust fan and the third exhaust fan have substantially the same shape and substantially the same size.
7. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first fan is thinner than a thickness of the second fan and the third fan, or a surface area of the first fan is smaller than a surface area of the second fan and the third fan.
4. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first exhaust fan is thinner than a thickness of the second exhaust fan and the third exhaust fan, or a surface area of the first exhaust fan is smaller than a surface area of the second exhaust fan and the third exhaust fan.
8. The electronic unit according to claim 2, wherein the casing has: an exhaust port in the first side surface; an air intake port in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface; and a plurality of the first cooling target objects disposed in series in such a manner as to correspond to the first fan between the air intake port and the first fan, and wherein in the plurality of the first cooling target objects, the first cooling target object disposed closer to the air intake port has a heat value smaller than a heat value of the first cooling target object disposed closer to the exhaust port.
5. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the casing has: an exhaust port in the first side surface; an air intake port in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface; and a plurality of the first cooling target objects disposed in series in such a manner as to correspond to the first exhaust fan between the air intake port and the first exhaust fan, and wherein in the plurality of the first cooling target objects, the first cooling target object disposed closer to the air intake port has a heat value smaller than a heat value of the first cooling target object disposed closer to the exhaust port.
9. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein comprising: a first air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the first fan and formed in a second side surface opposite to the first side surface; a second air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the second fan and formed in the second side surface; wherein fins, a heat pipe and a base plate are operatively connected to form a heat sink for a light source mounted to the base plate, the base plate and light source are arranged to be cooled by air flow in the path from the second air intake port to the second fan, and the base plate is arranged to extend perpendicular to a direction of the air flow in the path from the second air intake port to the second fan.
6. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the fins as the first cooling target object, a heat pipe or a base plate as the second cooling target object are operatively connected to form a heat sink for a light source mounted to the base plate, the base plate and light source are arranged to be cooled by air flow in the path from the second air intake port to the second exhaust fan, and the base plate is arranged to extend perpendicular to a direction of the air flow in the path from the second air intake port to the second exhaust fan.
10. The electronic unit according to claim 9, wherein the fins further include fins of a third heat sink for cooling a display device.
7. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the fins of the first cooling target object further include fins of a third heat sink for cooling a display device.
12. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the CPU controls the revolution speed of the second fan to be different from the revolution speed of the third fan during operation.
8. The electronic unit according to claim 1, wherein the CPU controls the revolution speed of the second exhaust fan to be different from the revolution speed of the third exhaust fan during operation.
13. The electronic unit according to claim 12 wherein the CPU controls the revolution speed of the first fan, the revolution speed of the second fan, the revolution speed of the third fan to be different from each other during operation.
9. The electronic unit according to claim 8, wherein the CPU controls the revolution speed of the first exhaust fan, the revolution speed of the second exhaust fan, the revolution speed of the third exhaust fan to be different from each other during operation.
14. A projector comprising: a casing having a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a light source unit; a display device configured to generate image light from light source light emitted from the light source unit; a projection optical system configured to project the image light emitted from the display device on to a screen; a first fan disposed close to a first side surface of the casing; a second fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first fan on one side; a third fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first fan on the other side; and a CPU configured not only to control the light source unit and the display device but also to control a revolution speed of at least one of the second fan and the third fan to be always higher than a revolution speed of the first fan with the casing in the horizontal configuration during operation.
11. A projector comprising: a casing having a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a light source unit; a display device configured to generate image light from light source light emitted from the light source unit; a projection optical system configured to project the image light emitted from the display device on to a screen; a first exhaust fan disposed close to a first side surface of the casing and configured to exhaust air inside the casing; a first air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the first exhaust fan and formed in a second side surface opposite to the first side surface; a second exhaust fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first exhaust fan on one side, and configured to exhaust air inside the casing; a second air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the second exhaust fan and formed in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface; a third exhaust fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first exhaust fan on the other side, and configured to exhaust air inside the casing; a third air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the third exhaust fan and formed in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface; fins as a first cooling target object disposed on a path from the first air intake port to the first exhaust fan; a second cooling target object disposed on a path from the second air intake port to the second exhaust fan; a third cooling target object disposed on a path from the third air intake port to the third exhaust fan; and a CPU configured not only to control the light source unit and the display device but also to control a revolution speed of at least one of the second exhaust fan and the third exhaust fan to be always higher than a revolution speed of the first exhaust fan with the casing in the horizontal configuration during operation; wherein the fins of the first cooling target object include fins of a first heat sink for cooling a red light source device and fins of a second heat sink for cooling an excitation light shining device and a major part of the air passing through the fins of the first heat sink and fins of the second heat sink is exhausted by way of the first exhaust fan.
20. A cooling control method for an electronic unit, the electronic unit comprising: a casing having a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a first fan disposed close to a first side surface of the casing; a second fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first fan on one side; a third fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first fan on the other side; and a CPU, wherein the CPU is configured to control a revolution speed of at least one of the second fan and the third fan to be always higher than a revolution speed of the first fan with the casing in the horizontal configuration during operation.
12. A cooling control method for an electronic unit, the electronic unit comprising: a casing having a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a first exhaust fan disposed close to a first side surface of the casing and configured to exhaust air inside the casing; a first air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the first exhaust fan and formed in a second side surface opposite to the first side surface; a second exhaust fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first exhaust fan on one side, and configured to exhaust air inside the casing; a second air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the second exhaust fan and formed in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface; a third exhaust fan disposed close to the first side surface of the casing, installed adjacent to the first exhaust fan on the other side, and configured to exhaust air inside the casing; a third air intake port disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the third exhaust fan and formed in the second side surface opposite to the first side surface; fins as a first cooling target object disposed on a path from the first air intake port to the first exhaust fan; a second cooling target object disposed on a path from the second air intake port to the second exhaust fan a third cooling target object disposed on a path from the third air intake port to the third exhaust fan; and a CPU, wherein the CPU is configured to control a revolution speed of at least one of the second exhaust fan and the third exhaust fan to be always higher than a revolution speed of the first exhaust fan with the casing in the horizontal configuration during operation, and wherein the fins of the first cooling target object include fins of a first heat sink for cooling a red light source device and fins of a second heat sink for cooling an excitation light shining device and a major part of the air passing through the fins of the first heat sink and fins of the second heat sink is exhausted by way of the first exhaust fan.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20130077054 A1) in view of Chiba (US 20130070453 A1) and in further view of Hirai (US 20060145949 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches an electronic unit (Fig. 1-10) comprising: a casing (101) configured to have a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a first fan (322 corresponding to 331) disposed close to a first side surface (107) of the casing (101); a second fan (322 corresponding to 333) disposed close to the first side surface (107) of the casing (101), installed adjacent to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) on one side; and a third fan (322 corresponding to 332) disposed close to the first side surface (107) of the casing (101), installed adjacent to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) on the other side.
Lim does not teach having a revolution speed of at least one of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) to be always faster than a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) with the casing (101) in the horizontal configuration during operation.
It is well known in the art that the amount of heat generated by the red LEDs being typically less than the amount of heat generated by the green LEDs and blue LEDs ([0092] of Chiba).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have with revolution speed of at least one of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333 for green LED) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332 for blue LED) to be always faster than a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331 for red LED; [0065]); because it is a matter of common sense.
Neither Lim nor Chiba teaches a CPU configured to control a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331), the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332).
Hirai teaches a CPU (213/213A) configured to control a revolution speed of each of the plurality of fans (201-204) independently (Fig. 3 and 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Lim and Chiba with Hirai; because it allows correcting circuit error in the drive circuit ([0008] of Hirai).
Regarding claim 2, Lim further teaches a first cooling target object (211) disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331); a second cooling target object (213) disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the second fan (322 corresponding to 333); a third cooling target object (212) disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the third fan (322 corresponding to 332);
Regarding claim 3, Lim further teaches the second cooling target object (213) disposed close to the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) being disposed away from the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) over a distance that is greater than a distance between the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) and the first cooling target object (211) disposed close to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331).
Regarding claim 4, neither Lim, Chiba nor Hirai teaches the third cooling target object (212) disposed close to the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) being disposed away from the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) over a distance that is greater than a distance between the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) and the first cooling target object (211) disposed close to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331).
Having the third cooling target object (212) disposed close to the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) being disposed away from the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) over a distance that is greater than a distance between the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) and the first cooling target object (211) disposed close to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) requires only rearrangement of parts.
Rearrangement of parts without changing the operation of the reference device prima facie obvious. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 5, Lim further teaches the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) and the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) are axial-flow fans and parallel to the first side surface (107) so as to blow air towards the first side surface (107) of the casing (101; Fig. 1-8).
Regarding claim 6, Lim further teaches the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) and the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) have substantially the same shape and but does not teach the fans being substantially the same size.
Changing the size of the fans does not change the operation of the projector in anyway; hence it is prima facie obvious. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Regarding claim 7, neither Lim, Chiba nor Hirai teaches a thickness of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) is thinner than a thickness of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332), or a surface area of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) is smaller than a surface area of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332).
Changing the size of the fans, i.e., thickness or surface area, does not change the operation of the projector in anyway; hence it is prima facie obvious. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
Regarding claim 8, Lim further teaches wherein the casing (101) has: an exhaust port (108) in the first side surface (107); an air intake port (106) in the second side surface (105) opposite to the first side surface (107; Fig. 1-3); and a plurality of the first cooling target objects (211, 140, 150) disposed in series in such a manner as to correspond to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) between the air intake port (106) and the first fan (322 corresponding to 331), and wherein in the plurality of the first cooling target objects (211, 140, 150), the first cooling target object (140, 150) disposed closer to the air intake port (106) has a heat value smaller than a heat value of the first cooling target object (211) disposed closer to the exhaust port (108). (Note: it is well known in the art that circuit boards in projector do not generate as much heat as the light sources, see [0007] of US 20050248727 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lim further teaches a first air intake port (first hole of 106) disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) and formed in a second side surface (105) opposite to the first side surface (107); a second air intake port (second hole of 106) disposed in such a manner as to correspond to the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and formed in the second side surface (105); wherein fins (332b), a heat pipe (332a) and a base plate (332c) are operatively connected to form a heat sink for a light source (210) mounted to the base plate (332c), the base plate (332c) and light source (210) are arranged to be cooled by air flow in the path from the second air intake port (second hole of 106) to the second fan (322 corresponding to 333), and the base plate (332c) is arranged to extend perpendicular to a direction of the air flow in the path from the second air intake port (second hole of 106) to the second fan (322 corresponding to 333; Fig. 1-7).
Regarding claim 10, Lim further teaches third heat sink for cooling a display device (220; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lim, Chiba and Hirai consequently results in the CPU controls the revolution speed of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) to be different from the revolution speed of the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) during operation.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lim, Chiba and Hirai consequently results in the CPU controls the revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331), the revolution speed of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333), the revolution speed of the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) to be different from each other during operation.
Regarding claim 14, Lim teaches a projector (10) comprising: a casing (101) having a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a light source unit (210); a display device (220) configured to generate image light from light source light emitted from the light source unit (210); a projection optical system (230) configured to project the image light emitted from the display device (220) on to a screen (10); a first fan (322 corresponding to 331) disposed close to a first side surface (107) of the casing (101); a second fan (322 corresponding to 333) disposed close to the first side surface (107) of the casing (101), installed adjacent to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) on one side; a third fan (322 corresponding to 332) disposed close to the first side surface (107) of the casing (101), installed adjacent to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) on the other side.
Lim does not teach having a revolution speed of at least one of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) to be always faster/higher than a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) with the casing (101) in the horizontal configuration during operation.
It is well known in the art that the amount of heat generated by the red LEDs being typically less than the amount of heat generated by the green LEDs and blue LEDs ([0092] of Chiba).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have with revolution speed of at least one of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333 for green LED) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332 for blue LED) to be always faster than a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331 for red LED; [0065]); because it is a matter of common sense.
Neither Lim nor Chiba teaches a CPU configured to control a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331), the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332).
Hirai teaches a CPU (213/213A) configured to control a revolution speed of each of the plurality of fans (201-204) independently (Fig. 3 and 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Lim and Chiba with Hirai; because it allows correcting circuit error in the drive circuit ([0008] of Hirai).
Regarding claim 15, Lim further teaches the light source unit (210) and the display device (220) and the projection optical system (230) are mounted at a front portion or a central portion in the front-rear direction of the projector (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Lim further teaches circuit boards (140, 150) mounted at a rear portion in the front-rear direction of the projector (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Lim further teaches a first partition portion (vertical wall 313 and/or 340) configured to divide a portion inside the projector into a front portion and a rear portion, and a second partition portion (horizontal wall of 313 and/or 340) configured to divide a portion inside the projector which lies behind the first partition portion (vertical wall 313 and/or 340) into an upper portion and a lower portion (Fig. 4 and 8).
Regarding claim 18, Lim further teaches a first circuit board (140) disposed at the rear of the second partition portion (horizontal wall of 313 and/or 340) with plate surfaces oriented in the front-rear direction (Fig. 4); a second circuit board (150) disposed above the first partition portion (vertical wall 313 and/or 340) and the second partition portion (horizontal wall of 313 and/or 340) and the first circuit board (140); a third circuit board (120/130) disposed on a lower surface side of the second partition portion (horizontal wall of 313 and/or 340).
Regarding claim 19, Lim further teaches a flow path (AFD) corresponding to the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) provided in such a manner as to extend in the left-right direction while being substantially surrounded on four sides by the first circuit board (140) and the second circuit board (150) and the first partition portion (vertical wall 313 and/or 340) and the second partition portion (horizontal wall of 313 and/or 340) is formed at the rear of the light source unit (210; Fig. 3, 4, and 8).
Regarding claim 20, Lim teaches a cooling control method for an electronic unit (10), the electronic unit (10) comprising: a casing (101) having a horizontal configuration perpendicular relative to vertical gravitational forces acting thereon; a first fan (322 corresponding to 331) disposed close to a first side surface (107) of the casing (101); a second fan (322 corresponding to 333) disposed close to the first side surface (107) of the casing (101), installed adjacent to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) on one side; a third fan (322 corresponding to 332) disposed close to the first side surface (107) of the casing (101), installed adjacent to the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) on the other side.
Lim does not teach having a revolution speed of at least one of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332) to be always faster/higher than a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331) with the casing (101) in the horizontal configuration during operation.
It is well known in the art that the amount of heat generated by the red LEDs being typically less than the amount of heat generated by the green LEDs and blue LEDs ([0092] of Chiba).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have with revolution speed of at least one of the second fan (322 corresponding to 333 for green LED) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332 for blue LED) to be always faster/higher than a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331 for red LED; [0065]); because it is a matter of common sense.
Neither Lim nor Chiba teaches a CPU configured to control a revolution speed of the first fan (322 corresponding to 331), the second fan (322 corresponding to 333) and the third fan (322 corresponding to 332).
Hirai teaches a CPU (213/213A) configured to control a revolution speed of each of the plurality of fans (201-204) independently (Fig. 3 and 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Lim and Chiba with Hirai; because it allows correcting circuit error in the drive circuit ([0008] of Hirai).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 20130077054 A1) in view of Chiba (US 20130070453 A1) and Hirai (US 20060145949 A1) and in further view of Lin (US 20080043439 A1).
Regarding claim 11, neither Lim, Chiba nor Hirai teaches a bent portion is formed at an inner edge portion of a plate body of each of the fins.
Lin teaches a bent portion is formed at an inner edge portion of a plate body of each of the fins (Fig. 7-10; [0038], [0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to further modify Lim, Chiba, Hirai and Lin such that a bent portion is formed at an inner edge portion of a plate body of each of the fins; because it prevents light leakage ([0013], [0014], [0037], [0040], [0042] of Lin) from the projector to improve viewers experience while the projector is operating.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20220171263 A1, US 11520219 B2, US 20210018826 A1, US 10911730 B1, US 20210063851 A1, US 20190324356 A1, US 20200241401 A1, US 20180364551 A1, US 20180356712 A1, US 20160109788 A1, US 20080129966 A1, US 20070285928 A1, and US 6809780 B2, disclose projectors having three side by side fans on a side of the projector.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882