DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/23/2025 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejection Notes
Response to Amendment
Responsive to the applicant’s amendment of claim 20, the previous 101 rejection has been removed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges that Fang does not teach limitation 1.5 of the independent claims.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited figures of Fang clearly show a main area, and first currently active applications. Even if the applicant does not believe the wording matches, the figures clearly show what is claimed. The examiner recommends clarifying claim language to teach away from Fang.
Applicant’s arguments, relative to limitations 1.6 and 1.7, filed 4/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) under 35 USC 102, to Fang, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, wherein Mehta and Alphin, have been added to cure the deficiencies of Fang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-17, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 20220334854 A1, published: 10/20/2022), in view of Mehta (US 9461972 B1, published: 10/4/2016), and in further view of Alphin et al. (US 20180284959 A1, published: 10/4/2018).
Claim 1. (Currently Amended): Fang teaches an application display method, comprising:
entering a first display mode in response to detecting a first operation by an electronic apparatus (receiving a partition display input for a user interface of the electronic device (step S101); and in response to the partition display input, partitioning the user interface of the electronic device and displaying a partition result (step S102) [Fang, 0040, FIG. 1], [Fang 0117]; [Fang, FIG. 6, First Stage]), wherein:
the first display mode comprises a main display area (211A [Fang, FIG. 2A]), a recent task display area (220A [Fang, FIG. 2A]), and a frequently-used application display area (file display region 630 [Fang, 0213, FIG. 6]; Examiner's Note: Top region respective to FIG. 6), and the recent task display area is in a first area adjacent to a first edge of the main display area, and the frequently-used application display area is in a second area adjacent to a second edge of the main display area ([Fang, FIG. 2A and FIG. 6]); and
in response to entering the first display mode, displaying, in the recent task display area, an application that the electronic apparatus has run within a set time before a current time (Examiner's Note: This feature is obvious from e.g. FIG. 2B or FIG. 4: In the second display region, which equals the recent task display area, application window "3" is displayed in the first display region (see FIG. 4 "second stage") and application window "1" which was displayed in the "first stage" then displayed in the second display region),
displaying, in the main display area, a first currently active application upon detection of the first operation by the electronic apparatus (in response to the partition display input [Fang, 0046]; displaying a program window [Fang, 0047]; Examiner's Note: in response to partitioning the display, a program window is displayed in the first region (ref 210A of FIG. 2A and 610 in FIG 6), which equals the main display area).
Fang does not teach and displaying, in the frequently-used application display area, a preset application.
However, Mehta teaches and displaying, in the frequently-used application display area, a preset application (when displaying the user's UI aspects or elements, some may be presented to the user in the form of a drop-down list or menu, with the items in the list ordered according to relative frequency of use by that user or the relative order of predicted or expected use based on other available information about the user, the application, the user's most recent tasks, etc. [Mehta, 3: 8-16]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the multi-partition display comprising functional areas invention of Fang to include the frequently used application display feature of Mehta.
One would have been motivated to make this modification so that users can easily find frequently-used applications that can then be quickly launched. Such would save users time in opening commonly used applications.
The combination of Fang and Mehta, does not teach wherein applications are displayed in the recent task display area in turn according to a closing time sequence.
However, Alphin teaches wherein applications are displayed in the recent task display area in turn according to a closing time sequence (in a view that displays tasks and activities according to a chronological order, selecting the person may cause the displayed tasks and activities to instead use the person as the relevance criteria, and display a list of tasks and activities that are associated with the person, even if they are not the most recent tasks and activities [Alphin, 0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the multi-partition display comprising functional areas invention of the combination of Fang and Mehta, to include the recent application task display feature of Alphin.
One would have been motivated to make this modification for improved tracking of a user's tasks and activities on one or more computer devices, making the information easily and intelligently accessible to the user, and allowing a user to easily resume a task or activity (Alphin, 0008).
Claims 12 and 20, having similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 1. Fang further teaches further comprising: performing display control on a target display area based on a second operation, in response to detecting the second operation in the first display mode, wherein the target display area comprises at least one of: the main display area, the recent task display area, and the frequently-used application display area (first to second stages [Fang, 0075, FIG. 2A]).
Claim 13, having similar elements to claim 2, is likewise rejected.
Claim 3: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 2. Fang further teaches wherein performing the display control on the target display area based on the second operation comprises: in response to that the second operation comprises an adjustment operation on a display position of a first application window displayed in the main display area, displaying the first application window in the main display area based on the display position corresponding to the adjustment operation, and keeping display positions of the recent task display area and the frequently-used application display area unchanged ([Fang, 0266]).
Claim 14, having similar elements to claim 3, is likewise rejected.
Claim 4: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 2. Fang further teaches wherein performing the display control on the target display area based on the second operation comprises: performing display control on an application displayed in the target display area based on the second operation ([Fang, 0266]).
Claim 15, having similar elements to claim 4, is likewise rejected.
Claim 5: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 4. Fang further teaches wherein performing the display control on the application displayed in the target display area based on the second operation comprises: in response to the second operation for switching a first application currently displayed in the main display area to a second application, displaying the second application in the main display area, and displaying the first application at a first place in an application queue displayed in the recent task display area, wherein the second application comprises an application selected from the recent task display area, or an application selected from the frequently-used application display area, or an application selected from the main display area ([Fang, 0113]; Examiner's Note: wherein the second application is an application (ref. 222B, FIG. 2B) selected from the recent task display area).
Claim 16, having similar elements to claim 5, is likewise rejected.
Claim 6: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 4. Fang further teaches wherein performing the display control on the application displayed in the target display area based on the second operation comprises: in response to the second operation for closing a first application currently displayed in the main display area, wherein a number of the first application is one, closing the first application displayed in the main display area and displaying a desktop application ([Fang, 0113]; Examiner's Note: wherein the second application is an application (ref. 222B, FIG. 2B) selected from the recent task display area).
Claim 17, having similar elements to claim 6, is likewise rejected.
Claim 9: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 4. Fang further teaches wherein performing the display control on the application displayed in the target display area based on the second operation comprises: in response to that the second operation comprises updating an application displayed in the recent task display area, updating the application displayed in the recent task display area according to a closing time sequence of the application in an application queue displayed in the recent task display area (on the user interface of the electronic device, a region of the sixth window region after being zoomed in to the updated first display region completely covers a region of the sixth window region before being zoomed in, so that a zooming-in animation where the sixth window region is zoomed in remains consistent, which further improves the visual experience of the user [Fang, 0163]).
Claim 10: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 4. Fang further teaches further comprising: in response to detecting a third operation of exiting the first display mode, exiting the first display mode, and displaying a fourth application according to a display manner of displaying the fourth application in the main display area upon detection of the third operation (if the user no longer wishes to create the first application window in the first window region, he can cause the thumbnail of the first application window to exit the first window region [Fang, 0090]).
Claim 11: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 1. Fang further teaches wherein detection of the first operation comprises: detecting a first control operation on a first control in an application interface or a desktop application interface displayed on the electronic apparatus, and determining that the first operation is detected, wherein at least one of a second operation or a third operation is a second control operation performed on the first control in the first display mode ([Fang, FIG. 2A, 2B, 6]).
Claims 7-8, and 18-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (US 20220334854 A1, published: 10/20/2022), Mehta (US 9461972 B1, published: 10/4/2016), and Alphin et al. (US 20180284959 A1, published: 10/4/2018), and in further view of Liu (US 20250130825 A1, published: 4/24/2025).
Claim 7: The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, teaches the application display method according to claim 4. The combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, does not teach wherein performing the display control on the application displayed in the target display area based on the second operation comprises: in response to that the second operation comprises dragging a third application from at least one of the recent task display area or the frequently-used application display area to the main display area, displaying the third application in the main display area in a display manner matching a hot spot location where the third application is dragged to the main display area, wherein the display manner comprises at least one of split screen display or floating window display, and different display manners correspond to different hot spot locations.
However Liu teaches wherein performing the display control on the application displayed in the target display area based on the second operation comprises: in response to that the second operation comprises dragging a third application from at least one of the recent task display area or the frequently-used application display area to the main display area, displaying the third application in the main display area in a display manner matching a hot spot location where the third application is dragged to the main display area, wherein the display manner comprises at least one of split screen display or floating window display, and different display manners correspond to different hot spot locations (FIG. 3(a), FIG. 3(b), FIG. 3(c), and FIG. 3(d) are a schematic diagram of an example of a process in which a user triggers display of a specific application interface in a floating window on a split-screen view of a mobile phone [Liu, 0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the multi-partition display comprising functional areas invention of the combination of Fang, Mehta, and Alphin, to include the input progression feature of Liu.
One would have been motivated to make this modification in order to launch an application by gesturing through sub-windows to drag them to different areas, and create floating or split windows, to allow input functionality that easily allows users to make on-screen changes.
Claim 18, having similar elements to claim 7, is likewise rejected.
Claim 8: The combination of Fang, Mehta, Alphin, and Liu, teaches the application display method according to claim 7. Liu further teaches further comprising: in response to that the third application belongs to the recent task display area, filling a vacancy in the recent task display area by an application behind the third application in an application queue displayed in the recent task display area sequentially according to a closing time sequence (FIG. 3(a), FIG. 3(b), FIG. 3(c), and FIG. 3(d) are a schematic diagram of an example of a process in which a user triggers display of a specific application interface in a floating window on a split-screen view of a mobile phone [Liu, 0067]).
Claim 19, having similar elements to claim 8, is likewise rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172