DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the application filed April 12, 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY DEVICE INCLUDING EDGE PROTECTION UNIT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (EP 3460622 A2).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
In regard to claim 1, Jeong et al. teach a display device comprising: a substrate 100 including a first area 1A, a second area 2A, and a bent area BA, wherein the bent area BA is connected between the first area 1A and the second area 2A, is bent according to a bending axis BAX; a display element 300 on the substrate 100; and an edge protection unit (in 2A) comprising an organic insulating layer 260 (140a/150a/170a), the edge protection unit (in 2A) arranged at an edge of the substrate 100, wherein the edge protection unit (in 2A) extends from a portion of the substrate 100 to the end of the substrate 100 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 2, Jeong et al. teach a planarization layer 140 spaced from the organic insulating layer and positioned between the display element 300 and the substrate 100; a pixel-defining layer 150 spaced from the organic insulating layer 260 and directly contacting the display element 300; and a spacer 170 spaced from the organic insulating layer 260, wherein the pixel-defining layer 150 is positioned between the spacer 170 and the substrate 100, and wherein the organic insulating layer 260 is formed of a same material as at least one of the planarization layer 140, the pixel-defining layer 150, and the spacer 170 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 3, Jeong et al. teach an inorganic insulating layer 125 (110/121/122/130) arranged between the substrate 100 and the organic insulating layer 260 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 4, Jeong et al. teach the inorganic insulating layer 125 is positioned between the second area 2A and the organic insulating layer 260 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 5, Jeong et al. teach a buffer layer 110 arranged between the substrate 100 and the organic insulating layer 260 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 6, Jeong et al. teach the buffer layer 110 is positioned between the organic insulating layer 260 and the first area 1A (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 7, Jeong et al. teach the first area 1A comprising: a display area DA; and a peripheral area NDA surrounding the display area DA, and wherein the display element 300 overlaps the display area DA (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 8, Jeong et al. teach a display device comprising: a substrate 100; a display element 300 on the substrate 100; an organic insulating layer 260 spaced from the display element 300, arranged at an edge of the substrate 100 , wherein a face of the organic insulating layer 260 is coplanar with the edge of the substrate 100 (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 9, Jeong et al. teach a crack blocking unit 720/210 arranged on the peripheral area NDA and including a slit (areas between 720/210), wherein the organic insulating layer 260 covers at least one of the crack blocking unit 210 and the slit (area between 210) (Figures 1, 6-7 and 18, pages 10-34).
In regard to claim 10, Jeong et al. teach a bending protection layer 600 overlapping a portion of the substrate 100 and partially overlapping the organic insulating layer 260, wherein the organic insulating layer 260 is positioned between the bending protection layer 600 and the bent area BA (Figures 1 and 6-7, pages 10-34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 11, The prior art of record (Jeong et al. (EP 3460622 A2)) does not disclose, make obvious, or otherwise suggest the structure of the applicant's claimed invention together with the other limitations of the dependent claims 12-20, such as the configuration of the substrate, first through fifth sides, curved section, display element, edge protection unit, organic insulating layer and straight section.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to display devices:
Kim et al. (US 2020/0388784 A1) Maruyama et al. (WO 2019082847 A1)
Ohara (US 2020/0203467 A1) Park et al. (CN 109326625 A).
IMS
May 26, 2026
/IDA M SOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898