DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s remarks, see pages 13-14, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to objections to minor informalities found within the drawings, submitted in the non-final office action dated 02/23/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. Thus, objections to minor informalities found within the drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks, see pages 13-14, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to objections to minor informalities found within the specification, submitted in the non-final office action dated 02/23/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. Thus, objections to minor informalities found within the drawings have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks, see page 14, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to claim objections to claims 1 and 4, submitted in the non-final office action dated 02/23/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of amendments. Thus, claim objections to claims 1 and 4 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 14-30, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C 103, have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 31, “Firstly, the cited references fail to teach, disclose, or suggest “mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements based on the determined positioning using a mapping algorithm, wherein the text label is mapped the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes. Kumar discloses a GUI development tool that focuses on extracting UI components to generate implementation code. The method of Kumar relies on a structural analysis where text content items are replaced with placeholders to facilitate the classification of a component's shape and boundaries. By substituting actual text with placeholders, Kumar effectively removes the textual data from the component-classification process. Kumar's association between text
and a component is a secondary step based primarily on spatial proximity and location within a design mock-up. However, this approach merely focusses on the functional correlation between a requirement and a live element. Kumar also merely delves into the use of text-specific attributes like alignment and orientation as a mechanism for mapping.”
In response, the Office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the breadth of the claim language, the prior art by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR, explicitly teaches mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
The applicant further states on page 32, “the claimed invention focuses on a dual-attribute mapping algorithm where text is not removed but is instead treated as the primary anchor for identification. This is achieved by the trained AI model analysing a set of text attributes (such as
orientation, alignment, font size, and style) in conjunction with web element attributes (such as type, shape, and number of blocks), based on the determined positioning of the text label and the web element. Unlike Kumar, which uses placeholders to mask text and relies on passive, coordinate-based association, the claimed invention utilizes a specific alignment and positioning of the text label to map it to a corresponding web element. For instance, the claimed invention maps a text label to a web element even when the label is in a shadowed/inactive mode or spans multiple rows, by ensuring the element falls
within the Region of Interest (ROI) of that specific text label. (see paragraph [0044] of as filed specification).”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “text is not removed but is instead treated as the primary anchor for identification,” and “the claimed invention maps a text label to a web element even when the label is in a shadowed/inactive mode or spans multiple rows,” see page 31 of applicant’s remarks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues on page 33, “Kumar alone or in combination with other fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, “mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements based on the determined positioning using a mapping algorithm, wherein the text label is mapped the web element based on a set of attributes”, as recited in independent claims 1, 8, and 15.
In response, the Office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the breadth of the claim language, the prior art by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR, explicitly teaches mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
The applicant argues on page 33, “Applicant submits that the cited references fail to teach, disclose, or suggest “generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping; and transmitting, by the trained AI model, the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element.””
In response, the Office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the breadth of the claim language, the prior art by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR, explicitly teaches generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmitting, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
The applicant further argues on page 34, “In contrast claimed invention discloses about a trained AI model to identify text labels from testcases and locate them within real-time images of an application. The AI model then determines the positioning of web elements and maps each text label to its corresponding element based on regions of interest and attribute by the help of mapping algorithm. Once mapped, a segmented image is generated, containing only the text label and its corresponding web element, preserving precise positioning and contextual information required for performing the intended test action. This segmented image is then transmitted directly to a testing unit or automation framework, which can execute the associated action without additional preprocessing or interpretation of a hierarchical GUI model. Unlike Kumar focuses on detecting and extracting UI components to build a structured GUI model, whereas the claimed invention, as disclosed in paragraph [0038] of as filed specification, generates a segmented image combining a testcase-derived text label with its mapped web element and, transmits this segmented image directly to a testing unit for executing test actions as disclosed in paragraph [0046] of as filed specification.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “transmits this segmented image directly to a testing unit for executing test actions as disclosed in paragraph [0046] of as filed specification,” see page 33 of applicant’s remarks) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant further argues on page 35, “the claimed invention improves upon Kumar by generating a segmented image that combines a testcase-derived text label with its mapped web element and transmitting the segmented image directly to a testing unit for execution, unlike Kumar’s approach of merely extracting and storing UI components without enabling direct test action execution. Applicant, therefore, submits that Kumar alone or in combination with other fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, “generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping; and transmitting, by the trained AI model, the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element,” as recited in independent claims 1, 8, and 15.”
In response, the Office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Based on the breadth of the claim language, the prior art by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR, explicitly teaches generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmitting, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
The applicant argues on page 35, “In view of the above arguments, Applicant contends that the cited references, alone or in combination, fail to teach, disclose, or suggest the claim element of independent claims 1, 8 and 15. Accordingly, Applicant submits that independent claims 1, 8 and 15 is therefore believed to be clearly patentable over the cited references.”
In response, the office does not find this argument to be persuasive. Independent claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), herein after referenced as KUMAR.
Based on the breadth of the claim language of claim 1, the prior art by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR, explicitly teaches a method for managing applications (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0048] – KUMAR discloses the present disclosure generally relates to application development, and more particularly, to techniques for automating the development of a graphic user interface (GUI) for an application from design information for the GUI), the method comprising:
identifying, by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, a text label from a testcase (Fig. 6, step 604, Paragraph [0135] – KUMAR discloses at 604, text regions that include text content may be detected and extracted from the GUI screen image. KUMAR further discloses a fully convolutional network model may be used to detect text regions in the GUI screen image.)
and a real-time image associated with an application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like.),
wherein the application is one of the mobile application or a web application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0062] – KUMAR discloses the application that is to be developed using GUI screen images 104 may be one of various types of applications including but not restricted to a mobile application (e.g., an application executable by a mobile device), a desktop application, a web application, an enterprise application, and the like.);
determining, by the trained AI model, a positioning of each of a set of web elements (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined. UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like. KUMAR further discloses a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features) within the real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061]);
mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped to the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmitting, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
Based on the breadth of the claim language of claim 8, the prior art by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR, explicitly teaches a system for managing applications (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0058] – KUMAR discloses FIG. 1 depicts a simplified high level diagram of an example of a system 100 for generating a graphic user interface (GUI) model for a GUI based upon design information for the GUI. See also Paragraph [0048].), the system comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof.);
and a memory (Fig. 1, #122 called processor, Paragraph [0067]) communicatively coupled to the processor,
wherein the memory stores processor instructions (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may include one or more subsystems that are configured to work together to generate GUI model 124. These subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof. The software may be stored on a non-transitory storage medium (e.g., a memory device) such as memory 122.),
which when executed by the processor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof.), cause the processor to:
identify, by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, a text label from a testcase (Fig. 6, step 604, Paragraph [0135] – KUMAR discloses at 604, text regions that include text content may be detected and extracted from the GUI screen image. KUMAR further discloses a fully convolutional network model may be used to detect text regions in the GUI screen image.)
and a real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like) associated with an application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a screenshot, for example, a screenshot of a screen of an existing application, where the to-be-developed application is to have a similar GUI screen as the existing application)
and wherein the application is one of the mobile application or a web application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0062] - KUMAR discloses the application that is to be developed using GUI screen images 104 may be one of various types of applications including but not restricted to a mobile application (e.g., an application executable by a mobile device), a desktop application, a web application, an enterprise application, and the like.).
determine, by the trained AI model, a positioning of each of a set of web elements (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined. UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like. KUMAR further discloses a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features)
within the real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like.);
map, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped to the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
generate, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmit, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
Based on the breadth of the claim language of claim 15, the prior art by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR, explicitly teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for managing applications (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses the software may be stored on a non-transitory storage medium (e.g., a memory device) such as memory 122.),
the stored instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses these subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof) comprising:
identifying, by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, a text label from a testcase (Fig. 6, step 604, Paragraph [0135] – KUMAR discloses at 604, text regions that include text content may be detected and extracted from the GUI screen image. KUMAR further discloses a fully convolutional network model may be used to detect text regions in the GUI screen image.)
and a real-time image associated with an application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like.),
wherein the application is one of the mobile application or a web application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0062] – KUMAR discloses the application that is to be developed using GUI screen images 104 may be one of various types of applications including but not restricted to a mobile application (e.g., an application executable by a mobile device), a desktop application, a web application, an enterprise application, and the like.);
determining, by the trained AI model, a positioning of each of a set of web elements (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined. UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like. KUMAR further discloses a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features) within the real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061]);
mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped to the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmitting, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
Applicant states on pages 35-36, “Similarly dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 at least by virtue of their dependency on their respective allowable base claims and because of the subject matter separately claimed, are also in condition for allowance. Accordingly, Applicant requests the Office to withdraw claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 of pending claims 1-20. In view of the foregoing remarks, Applicant respectfully request reconsideration of this application and the timely allowance of the pending claims.”
In response, the office does not find this argument persuasive based on the same reasons set forth above and the rejection below. The office respectfully encourages the applicant to amend the claims to overcome the prior arts of record.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite limitations that use words like “means” (or “step”) or similar terms with functional language and do invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Claims 1, 8, 15; recite the limitation “…by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model...” [Lines 2, 5, 4].
Claim 1; recites the limitation: “…by the trained AI model…” [Lines 5, 7, 10, 12]
Claim 8; recites the limitation: “…by the trained AI model…” [Lines 8, 10, 14, 16]
Claim 15; recites the limitation: “…by the trained AI model…” [Lines 7, 9, 12, 14]
Claims 1, 8, 15; recite the limitation “…a testing unit for performing an action...” [Lines 12, 16, 14].
After a careful analysis, as disclosed above, and a careful review of the specification the following limitations in claims 1, 8, and 15:
“trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model” (Figs 1-2, Paragraph [0028] – Figs. 1-2, Paragraph [0028] – “The trained AI model may include a text extraction model 206, an element detection module 208, and a mapping module 210. As will be appreciated, the trained AI model may correspond to a deep learning model (e.g., a region-based convolution neural network (R-CNN)).” See also Paragraphs [0018, 0041]. Thus, “trained AI model” has sufficient structure associated with it wherein it is a deep learning model or convolutional neural network.)
“testing unit” (Fig. 2, #216, Paragraphs [0021-0022] – “The testing unit may correspond to a test automation framework. As will be appreciated, the test automation framework may correspond to any framework that supports automated testing of the application (i.e., the mobile application or the web application). Further, in some embodiment, the testing unit may be part of the computing device 102. Furthermore, in some another embodiment, the testing unit may be part of any external computing device, such as external devices 118. Examples of the computing device 102 may include, but is not limited to, a mobile phone, a laptop, a desktop, or a PDA, an application server, and so forth. The computing device 102 may further include the memory 104, a processor 106, and the Input/Output unit 108.” Thus, “testing unit” has sufficient structure associated with it wherein it is or is part of a computer.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published
under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may
be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7-11, 13, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by KUMAR et al. (US 20190250891 A1), herein after referenced as KUMAR.
Regarding claim 1, KUMAR teaches a method for managing applications (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0048] – KUMAR discloses the present disclosure generally relates to application development, and more particularly, to techniques for automating the development of a graphic user interface (GUI) for an application from design information for the GUI), the method comprising:
identifying, by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, a text label from a testcase (Fig. 6, step 604, Paragraph [0135] – KUMAR discloses at 604, text regions that include text content may be detected and extracted from the GUI screen image. KUMAR further discloses a fully convolutional network model may be used to detect text regions in the GUI screen image.)
and a real-time image associated with an application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like.),
wherein the application is one of the mobile application or a web application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0062] – KUMAR discloses the application that is to be developed using GUI screen images 104 may be one of various types of applications including but not restricted to a mobile application (e.g., an application executable by a mobile device), a desktop application, a web application, an enterprise application, and the like.);
determining, by the trained AI model, a positioning of each of a set of web elements (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined. UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like. KUMAR further discloses a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features) within the real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061]);
mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped to the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmitting, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
Regarding claim 2, KUMAR teaches the method of claim 1,
KUMAR further teaches, wherein the corresponding set of attributes comprises a set of text attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0087] – KUMAR discloses text information may have associated attributes, such as fonts, sizes, colors, locations, and the like.)
and a set of web elements attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions.).
Regarding claim 3, KUMAR teaches the method of claim 2,
KUMAR further teaches, wherein the set of text attributes associated with the text label comprises an orientation of the text label, an alignment of the text label, font size, font color, and font style (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0087] – KUMAR discloses text information may have associated attributes, such as fonts, sizes, colors, locations, and the like. Paragraph [0139] – KUMAR further discloses the alignment of the text content item within the UI component can be reserved by the placeholder.).
Regarding claim 4, KUMAR teaches the method of claim 1,
KUMAR further teaches wherein identifying the text label (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0138] – KUMAR discloses at 606, text content items and corresponding locations in the text regions may be extracted from the sub-images) comprises:
extracting the text label using a text recognition technique (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0138] – KUMAR discloses an optical character recognition (OCR) process may be performed on each of the extracted sub-images to extract the text information associated with each text content item.);
and validating the text label based on the set of text attributes using a text correction algorithm (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0103] – KUMAR discloses text analysis module 358 may analyze the text content items to identify clickable text content items in the GUI screen image. A clickable text content item may indicate some actions or functions and may usually include at least one verb (e.g., cancel, save, clear, etc.), and may not be associated with any UI component.).
Regarding claim 6, KUMAR teaches the method of claim 2,
KUMAR further teaches wherein the set of web elements attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen 200 may include one or more UI components [wherein UI components are web elements]) comprises a type of the web element, an alignment of the web element, an orientation of the web element, a size of the web element, a shape of the web element, number of blocks within the web element, background of the real-time image comprising the web element (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions.).
Regarding claim 7, KUMAR teaches the method of claim 1,
KUMAR further teaches wherein mapping the text label to the web element (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button)) comprises:
selecting the web element from the set of web elements based on the determined positioning (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined in a manner similar to the processing described above with respect to 510. The UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like.)
and the set of web elements attributes (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses various contour detection techniques may be used to detect the boundaries of each of the UI components. For example, a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features. Based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image.),
wherein a positioning of the web element is within a Region of Interest (ROI) associated with the text label (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0139] – KUMAR discloses a placeholder may indicate that the original UI component may include certain text information and thus is likely to be one of certain types of UI components, such as a clickable button or a text entry box. In addition, the alignment of the text content item within the UI component can be reserved by the placeholder. In some implementations, only texts that may overlap with UI components or adjacent to UI components may be replaced with placeholders.).
Regarding claim 8, KUMAR teaches a system for managing applications (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0058] – KUMAR discloses FIG. 1 depicts a simplified high level diagram of an example of a system 100 for generating a graphic user interface (GUI) model for a GUI based upon design information for the GUI. See also Paragraph [0048].), the system comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof.);
and a memory (Fig. 1, #122 called processor, Paragraph [0067]) communicatively coupled to the processor,
wherein the memory stores processor instructions (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may include one or more subsystems that are configured to work together to generate GUI model 124. These subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof. The software may be stored on a non-transitory storage medium (e.g., a memory device) such as memory 122.),
which when executed by the processor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof.), cause the processor to:
identify, by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, a text label from a testcase (Fig. 6, step 604, Paragraph [0135] – KUMAR discloses at 604, text regions that include text content may be detected and extracted from the GUI screen image. KUMAR further discloses a fully convolutional network model may be used to detect text regions in the GUI screen image.)
and a real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like) associated with an application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a screenshot, for example, a screenshot of a screen of an existing application, where the to-be-developed application is to have a similar GUI screen as the existing application)
and wherein the application is one of the mobile application or a web application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0062] - KUMAR discloses the application that is to be developed using GUI screen images 104 may be one of various types of applications including but not restricted to a mobile application (e.g., an application executable by a mobile device), a desktop application, a web application, an enterprise application, and the like.).
determine, by the trained AI model, a positioning of each of a set of web elements (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined. UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like. KUMAR further discloses a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features)
within the real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like.);
map, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped to the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
generate, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmit, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
Regarding claim 9, KUMAR teaches the system of claim 8,
KUMAR further teaches wherein the corresponding set of attributes comprises a set of text attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0087] – KUMAR discloses text information may have associated attributes, such as fonts, sizes, colors, locations, and the like) and a set of web elements attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions.).
Regarding claim 10, KUMAR teaches the system of claim 9,
KUMAR further teaches wherein the set of text attributes associated with the text label comprises an orientation of the text label, an alignment of the text label, font size, font color, and font style (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0087] – KUMAR discloses text information may have associated attributes, such as fonts, sizes, colors, locations, and the like. Paragraph [0139] – KUMAR further discloses the alignment of the text content item within the UI component can be reserved by the placeholder.).
Regarding claim 11, KUMAR teaches the system of claim 9,
KUMAR further teaches wherein, to identify the text label (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0138] – KUMAR discloses at 606, text content items and corresponding locations in the text regions may be extracted from the sub-images),
the processor executable instructions (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067]) further cause the processor to:
extract the text label using a text recognition technique (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0138] – KUMAR discloses an optical character recognition (OCR) process may be performed on each of the extracted sub-images to extract the text information associated with each text content item.);
and validate the text label based on the set of text attributes using a text correction algorithm (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0103] – KUMAR discloses text analysis module 358 may analyze the text content items to identify clickable text content items in the GUI screen image. A clickable text content item may indicate some actions or functions and may usually include at least one verb (e.g., cancel, save, clear, etc.), and may not be associated with any UI component.).
Regarding claim 13, KUMAR teaches the system of claim 9,
KUMAR further teaches wherein the set of web elements attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen 200 may include one or more UI components [wherein UI components are web elements]) comprises a type of the web element, an alignment of the web element, an orientation of the web element, a size of the web element, a shape of the web element, number of blocks within the web element, background of the real-time image comprising the web element (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions.).
Regarding claim 14, KUMAR teaches the system of claim 8,
KUMAR further teaches wherein, to map the text label to the web element (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button)), the processor executable instructions (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067]) further cause the processor to:
select the web element from the set of web elements based on the determined positioning (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined in a manner similar to the processing described above with respect to 510. The UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like)
and the set of web elements attributes (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses various contour detection techniques may be used to detect the boundaries of each of the UI components. For example, a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features. Based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image),
wherein a positioning of the web element is within a Region of Interest (ROI) associated with the text label (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0139] – KUMAR discloses a placeholder may indicate that the original UI component may include certain text information and thus is likely to be one of certain types of UI components, such as a clickable button or a text entry box. In addition, the alignment of the text content item within the UI component can be reserved by the placeholder. In some implementations, only texts that may overlap with UI components or adjacent to UI components may be replaced with placeholders.).
Regarding claim 15, KUMAR teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for managing applications (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses the software may be stored on a non-transitory storage medium (e.g., a memory device) such as memory 122.),
the stored instructions, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses these subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof) comprising:
identifying, by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, a text label from a testcase (Fig. 6, step 604, Paragraph [0135] – KUMAR discloses at 604, text regions that include text content may be detected and extracted from the GUI screen image. KUMAR further discloses a fully convolutional network model may be used to detect text regions in the GUI screen image.)
and a real-time image associated with an application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen images 104 may include an image that is a photograph captured using an image capture device such as a camera, a scanner, and the like.),
wherein the application is one of the mobile application or a web application (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0062] – KUMAR discloses the application that is to be developed using GUI screen images 104 may be one of various types of applications including but not restricted to a mobile application (e.g., an application executable by a mobile device), a desktop application, a web application, an enterprise application, and the like.);
determining, by the trained AI model, a positioning of each of a set of web elements (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses at 610, UI components may be detected and the corresponding locations in the GUI screen image may be determined. UI components may include, for example, buttons, check boxes, lists, text entry boxes, icons, containers, radio buttons, switch buttons, and the like. KUMAR further discloses a neural network may extract features from the GUI screen images as described above, and may implement an object detection technique (e.g., SSD or YOLO technique described above) to localize one or more UI components at one or more different locations of the GUI screen image uses the extracted features) within the real-time image (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0061]);
mapping, by the trained AI model, the text label to a web element from the set of web elements (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR discloses model generation system 102 may extract text information 132 from GUI screen images 104. KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated [wherein associating is mapping] with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button) [wherein UI components are web elements]. Paragraph [0113] – KUMAR further discloses a machine learning subsystem (e.g., machine learning subsystem 360 in model generation system 330), may build a machine learning-based model [wherein machine learning-based model is a trained AI model], such as a classifier for detecting and classifying UI components in GUI screen images.)
based on the determined positioning (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0068] – KUMAR discloses this GUI model generation processing may include, for example, for a GUI screen, determining a set of user interface components (e.g., buttons, drop down lists, segments, and the like) and their attributes (e.g., labels, sizes, locations [wherein determining attributes (e.g., locations) are determined positioning]). Paragraph [0070] – KUMAR further discloses based on the size and location of each UI component and the location information of the text content items, some text content items (e.g., text on a clickable button) may be associated with certain UI components (e.g., the clickable button).)
using a mapping algorithm (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0088] – KUMAR discloses various pieces of information may be extracted from the GUI screen image and may be used to identify the UI components and text content items for a screen. Certain attributes of the identified components may be determined, for example, using machine learning-based models. The attributes of the identified components may then be used to generate the GUI model and or the code for implementing the GUI [wherein the generated model and/or code for implementing the GUI is a mapping algorithm]. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses the GUI model generated for a GUI for an application may encapsulate information corresponding to the one or more GUI screens for the application. For each GUI screen, the model may also include information about the structure of the GUI screen, such as information identifying a hierarchical organization of the user interface components and text content items on the GUI screen. KUMAR further discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components. See also Paragraphs [0145-0147].),
wherein the text label is mapped to the web element based on a corresponding set of attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses buttons 214 may include a text content item 218, such as “Next,” “Cancel,” or “OK” on the button. The UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions. Paragraph [0012] – KUMAR discloses text content items may be grouped or associated with UI components based on, for example, location information of the text content items and UI components.);
generating, by the trained AI model, a segmented image comprising the text label and the web element, upon mapping (Fig. 6, step 610, Paragraph [0140] – KUMAR discloses based on the location or the boundaries of each UI component, a sub-image [wherein sub-image is a segmented image] within the boundaries for each UI component may be extracted from the GUI screen image. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR further discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. For example, individual components (e.g., UI components and/or text content items) may be grouped into subgroups (e.g., representing a table, a list, an organization chart, a paragraph, and the like), the subgroups may then be grouped into higher level subgroups, and so on, See also Paragraphs [0124-0125].);
and transmitting, by the trained AI model (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0115] – KUMAR discloses each of the input GUI screen images may be processed to identify and extract GUI components including text content items and individual UI components, determine parameters of the text content items and the UI components (e.g., sizes, locations, colors, and the like), and classify the UI components to determine the types of the UI components, using the machine learning-based model(s)),
the segmented image to a testing unit for performing an action associated with the text label and the web element (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0144] – KUMAR discloses a GUI model may be generated for the GUI based upon the text content items and corresponding locations, the classified UI components and corresponding locations, and the layout for the GUI screen. The GUI model may store information related to the processing performed at 604, 606, 610, 612, 614, and 616. The information stored in the GUI model can be used by a downstream consumer to generate an implementation of the GUI. Paragraph [0141] – KUMAR discloses the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected in 610 may be classified using a machine learning-based classifier and the sub-images [wherein sub-image is a segmented image]. Paragraph [0142] – KUMAR discloses at 614, the UI components [wherein UI components are web elements] detected at 610 and classified at 612 and the text content items [wherein text content items are text labels] detected at 604 and extracted at 606 may be grouped to generate a layout of the GUI screen. As described above, a clustering module [wherein a clustering module is a testing unit for performing an action] (e.g., clustering module 356) may perform the grouping recursively in a bottom up manner based upon certain pre-defined rules.).
Regarding claim 16, KUMAR teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, KUMAR further teaches wherein the corresponding set of attributes comprises a set of text attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0087] – KUMAR discloses text information may have associated attributes, such as fonts, sizes, colors, locations, and the like)
and a set of web elements attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions.).
Regarding claim 17, KUMAR teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, KUMAR further teaches wherein the set of text attributes associated with the text label comprises an orientation of the text label, an alignment of the text label, font size, font color, and font style (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0087] – KUMAR discloses text information may have associated attributes, such as fonts, sizes, colors, locations, and the like. Paragraph [0139] – KUMAR further discloses the alignment of the text content item within the UI component can be reserved by the placeholder.).
Regarding claim 18, KUMAR teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, KUMAR further teaches wherein identifying the text label (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0138] – KUMAR discloses at 606, text content items and corresponding locations in the text regions may be extracted from the sub-images) comprises:
extracting the text label using a text recognition technique (Fig. 6, Paragraph [0138] – KUMAR discloses an optical character recognition (OCR) process may be performed on each of the extracted sub-images to extract the text information associated with each text content item.);
and validating the text label based on the set of text attributes using a text correction algorithm (Fig. 3, Paragraph [0103] – KUMAR discloses text analysis module 358 may analyze the text content items to identify clickable text content items in the GUI screen image. A clickable text content item may indicate some actions or functions and may usually include at least one verb (e.g., cancel, save, clear, etc.), and may not be associated with any UI component.).
Regarding claim 20, KUMAR teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, KUMAR further teaches wherein the set of web elements attributes (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses GUI screen 200 may include one or more UI components [wherein UI components are web elements]) comprises
a type of the web element, an alignment of the web element, an orientation of the web element, a size of the web element, a shape of the web element, number of blocks within the web element, background of the real-time image comprising the web element (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0084] – KUMAR discloses UI components may have associated attributes, such as sizes, colors, locations, or associated actions or functions.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR (US 20190250891 A1), hereinafter referenced as KUMAR in view of DWARAKANATH (US 20180189170 A1), hereinafter referenced as DWARAKANATH.
Regarding claim 5, KUMAR teaches the method of claim 1,
KUMAR fails to explicitly teach further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application, wherein each of the set of real-time images may be captured based on test steps within the testcase; analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
However, DWARAKANATH explicitly teaches further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0058] – DWARAKANATH discloses test automation platform 205 may perform a comparison of an image of the user interface and images of known elements from other user interfaces.)
associated with a plurality of web pages of the application (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0082] – DWARAKANATH discloses test automation platform 205 enables a tester to create test scripts to test a web-based user interface.),
wherein each of the set of real-time images (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0058]) may be captured based on test steps within the testcase (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0044] – DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include receiving a test script that includes information identifying an element of a user interface and/or a set of test steps to test the user interface (block 410). For example, test automation platform 205 may receive a test script that includes information identifying an element of a user interface and/or a set of test steps to perform related to testing the user interface.);
analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0053] - DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include processing the test script using a processing technique to identify the information included in the test script (block 420));
and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0057] – DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include identifying the element displayed on the user interface using the identified information included in the test script (block 430). For example, test automation platform 205 may identify the element on the user interface based on identifying a term, tag, and/or phrase included in the test script that identifies the element.)
and the set of web elements, in response to analysing (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0058] – DWARAKANATH discloses the technique may permit test automation platform 205 to visually identify an element displayed by a user interface. For example, test automation platform 205 may perform a comparison of an image of the user interface and images of known elements from other user interfaces to identify a button, a text box, a dropdown menu, a label with text, and/or the like displayed on the user interface based on the elements of the user interface having similar features to the other known elements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KUMAR of having a method for managing applications, the method comprising: identifying, by a trained Artificial Intelligence (AI) model, a text label from a testcase and a real-time image associated with an application, wherein the application is one of the mobile application or a web application with the teachings of DWARAKANATH of having further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application, wherein each of the set of real-time images may be captured based on test steps within the testcase; analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
Wherein having KUMAR’s method for managing applications further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application, wherein each of the set of real-time images may be captured based on test steps within the testcase; analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of managing applications that generates GUI implementations in an automated manner such that this level of automation can substantially speed up the application development cycle and reduce the development costs, since both KUMAR and DWARAKANATH relate to user interface development and testing processes, wherein KUMAR discloses techniques for automating the development of a graphic user interface (GUI) for an application from design documents, and DWARAKANATH describes methods and systems for automatic interaction with a user interface based on identifying elements displayed by the user interface, thereby reducing or eliminating the need for a tester to know, or have access to, program code underlying the user interface. Please see KUMAR (US 20190250891 A1), Paragraph [0083], and DWARAKANATH (US 20180189170 A1), Paragraph [0021].
Regarding claim 12, KUMAR teaches the system of claim 8.
Although KUMAR further teaches wherein the processor executable instructions further cause the processor (Fig. 1, Paragraph [0067] – KUMAR discloses these subsystems may be implemented in hardware, in software (e.g., code, instructions, program) executed by one or more processing units (e.g., processors or cores) of a computer system, or combinations thereof) to:
KUMAR fails to explicitly teach capture a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application, wherein each of the set of real-time images may be captured based on test steps within the testcase; analyse each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and select from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
However, DWARAKANATH explicitly teaches capture a set of real-time images (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0058] – DWARAKANATH discloses test automation platform 205 may perform a comparison of an image of the user interface and images of known elements from other user interfaces.)
associated with a plurality of web pages of the application (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0082] – DWARAKANATH discloses test automation platform 205 enables a tester to create test scripts to test a web-based user interface.),
wherein each of the set of real-time images (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0058]) may be captured based on test steps within the testcase (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0044] – DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include receiving a test script that includes information identifying an element of a user interface and/or a set of test steps to test the user interface (block 410). For example, test automation platform 205 may receive a test script that includes information identifying an element of a user interface and/or a set of test steps to perform related to testing the user interface.);
analyse each of the set of real-time images based on the text label (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0053] - DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include processing the test script using a processing technique to identify the information included in the test script (block 420));
and select from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0057] – DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include identifying the element displayed on the user interface using the identified information included in the test script (block 430). For example, test automation platform 205 may identify the element on the user interface based on identifying a term, tag, and/or phrase included in the test script that identifies the element.)
and the set of web elements, in response to analysing (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0058] – DWARAKANATH discloses the technique may permit test automation platform 205 to visually identify an element displayed by a user interface. For example, test automation platform 205 may perform a comparison of an image of the user interface and images of known elements from other user interfaces to identify a button, a text box, a dropdown menu, a label with text, and/or the like displayed on the user interface based on the elements of the user interface having similar features to the other known elements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KUMAR of having a system for managing applications, with the teachings of DWARAKANATH of having capture a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application, wherein each of the set of real-time images may be captured based on test steps within the testcase; analyse each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and select from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing..
Wherein having KUMAR’s system for managing applications wherein the processor executable instructions further cause the processor to: capture a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application, wherein each of the set of real-time images may be captured based on test steps within the testcase; analyse each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and select from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of managing applications that generates GUI implementations in an automated manner such that this level of automation can substantially speed up the application development cycle and reduce the development costs, since both KUMAR and DWARAKANATH relate to user interface development and testing processes, wherein KUMAR discloses techniques for automating the development of a graphic user interface (GUI) for an application from design documents, and DWARAKANATH describes methods and systems for automatic interaction with a user interface based on identifying elements displayed by the user interface, thereby reducing or eliminating the need for a tester to know, or have access to, program code underlying the user interface. Please see KUMAR (US 20190250891 A1), Paragraph [0083], and DWARAKANATH (US 20180189170 A1), Paragraph [0021].
Regarding claim 19, KUMAR teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, KUMAR fails to explicitly teach further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application; analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
However, DWARAKANATH explicitly teaches further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0058] – DWARAKANATH discloses test automation platform 205 may perform a comparison of an image of the user interface and images of known elements from other user interfaces.)
associated with a plurality of web pages of the application (Fig. 2, Paragraph [0082] – DWARAKANATH discloses test automation platform 205 enables a tester to create test scripts to test a web-based user interface.);
analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0053] - DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include processing the test script using a processing technique to identify the information included in the test script (block 420));
and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0057] – DWARAKANATH discloses process 400 may include identifying the element displayed on the user interface using the identified information included in the test script (block 430). For example, test automation platform 205 may identify the element on the user interface based on identifying a term, tag, and/or phrase included in the test script that identifies the element.)
and the set of web elements, in response to analysing (Fig. 4, Paragraph [0058] – DWARAKANATH discloses the technique may permit test automation platform 205 to visually identify an element displayed by a user interface. For example, test automation platform 205 may perform a comparison of an image of the user interface and images of known elements from other user interfaces to identify a button, a text box, a dropdown menu, a label with text, and/or the like displayed on the user interface based on the elements of the user interface having similar features to the other known elements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KUMAR of having a non-transitory computer readable medium, with the teachings of DWARAKANATH of having further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application; analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
Wherein having KUMAR’s non-transitory computer readable medium for managing applications wherein further comprising: capturing a set of real-time images associated with a plurality of web pages of the application; analysing each of the set of real-time images based on the text label; and selecting from the set of real-time images, the real-time image comprising the text label and the set of web elements, in response to analysing.
The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a system of managing applications that generates GUI implementations in an automated manner such that this level of automation can substantially speed up the application development cycle and reduce the development costs, since both KUMAR and DWARAKANATH relate to user interface development and testing processes, wherein KUMAR discloses techniques for automating the development of a graphic user interface (GUI) for an application from design documents, and DWARAKANATH describes methods and systems for automatic interaction with a user interface based on identifying elements displayed by the user interface, thereby reducing or eliminating the need for a tester to know, or have access to, program code underlying the user interface. Please see KUMAR (US 20190250891 A1), Paragraph [0083], and DWARAKANATH (US 20180189170 A1), Paragraph [0021].
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Dixon et al. (US 20180349730 A1) - User interface creation from screenshots is described. Initially, a user captures a screenshot of an existing graphical user interface (GUI). In one or more implementations, the screenshot is processed to generate different types of templates that are modifiable by users to create new GUIs. These different types of templates can include a snapping template, a wireframe template, and a stylized template. The described templates may aid GUI development in different ways depending on the type selected. To generate a template, the screenshot serving as the basis for the template is segmented into groups of pixels corresponding to components of the existing GUI. A type of component is identified for each group of pixels and locations in the screenshot are determined. Based on the identified types of GUI components and determined locations, the user-modifiable template for creating a new GUI is generated… Figs. 1, 2, 7, Abstract.
Saini et al. (US 20210294621 A1) - Disclosed is a method and system for improving accessibility of software applications on mobile devices. The method comprises capturing in background, images of different user interfaces of a software application when the software application is browsed on a mobile device, using an accessibility helper tool. A pre-trained data model may be used to identify, elements and metadata of the elements present in the images. Based on the metadata, accessibility parameters of the elements may be analysed to generate a report for validation… Figs. 1-3, Abstract.
Aggarwal et al. (US 11610054 B1) - Techniques for template generation from image content includes extracting information associated with an input image. The information comprises: 1) layout information indicating positions of content corresponding to a content type of a plurality of content types within the input image; and 2) text attributes indicating at least a font of text included in the input image. A user-editable template having the characteristics of the input image is generated based on the layout information and the text attributes… Figs. 1, 6, Abstract.
Singh et al. (US 11644960 B1) - A computer system configured to augment images of software objects is provided. The computer system includes a memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory. The at least one processor is configured to iteratively select an attribute value from a predetermined set of attribute values; modify an attribute of a software object according to the attribute value; and generate a respective augmented image of the software object with the attribute modified according to the attribute value. The software object may comprise an executable software object… Fig. 11, Abstract
Rao et al. (US 20230195825 A1) - Described are methods and corresponding systems for generating and using selectors during web development. In some implementations, one or more natural language statements are obtained as input to a software application, for example, a web browser extension. The one or more input statements are analyzed, using natural language processing, to identify a first web element of a webpage and an action to be performed with respect to the first web element. A selector is then generated based on one or more attributes of the first web element. The selector operates as an address of the first web element and can, for example, be an XPath or CSS selector… Figs. 2, 3, Abstract.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEZAWIT NOLAWI SHIMELES/Examiner, Art Unit 2673
/CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673