DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the newly amended claim 12 is not supported must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Original figure 4 has was support for claim 12 figures 7 and 8A do not provide support since the specification does not indicate how they were attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 12 is not supported in the current context recitation of fabricating a plurality of metal balls; and fabricating a plurality of metal pins; coupling the die to one of the first substrate or the second substrate; coupling the plurality of metal balls to the first metallization layer; directly coupling the plurality of metal pins to the plurality of metal balls; [[and]] coupling the plurality of metal pins to the second metallization layer; and forming a mold layer encasing the die, the plurality of metal balls, and the plurality of metal pins, the mold layer extending in the first direction. It is only supported in figure 4 flow chart. However, figures 5 and 7 do not indicate both the balls and the pins are attached without setting forth how they are attached, they could have been formed on the substrate thus attaching them. Thus, the amendment to claim 12 is not supported by the original disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sun (20220270976).
a. As to claims 1-3, Sun teaches An integrated circuit (IC) package, comprising (figure 13 or 26): a first substrate comprising: a first metallization layer extending in a first direction (item 102 the layer 108 extend in all direction they are 3-dimensional objects) ; a second substrate comprising (item 115): a second metallization layer extending in the first direction (items 111 extend in all direction since they are three dimensional objects); and a mold layer extending in the first direction, comprising (it is unclear if the mold layer comprises a molding material since the claim does not set forth but Sun teaches mold layer items 183 and 147): a die coupled to one of the first substrate and the second substrate (item 110 figures 13 and 26); a plurality of metal balls coupled to the first metallization layer (item 106); and a plurality of metal pins coupled to the plurality of metal balls (though Sun calls 175 pillars there is no defined difference by applicant between a pillar and a pin thus 175 act as pins), the plurality of metal pins coupled to the second metallization layer (figures 13 and 26) Sun teaches the middle 106s just above 114 are in direct contact with item 175 the pins).
b. As to claim 4, Sun teaches further comprising a plurality of solder joints between the plurality of metal pins and the plurality of metal balls (106 is solder paragraph 26 and the pillars are joined to the solder thus it is a solder joint since there is no definition beyond joined).
c. As to claim 5, Sun teaches further comprising a plurality of compression joints between the plurality of metal pins and the plurality of metal balls (compression is product by process Sun teaches compressed/pushed via bonder paragraph 66 together figure 25 to 26 and 106 and 175 are joined so they constitute a compression joint).
d. As to claim 6, Sun teaches wherein one of the plurality of metal balls is aligned with one of the plurality of metal pins along a common axis in a second direction (they are directly aligned in two dimensions figures 13 and 26 since they are joined together).
e. As to claim 7, Sun teaches wherein the plurality of metal balls have a diameter which is less than the first distance between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer (the balls are smaller than the distance between the two substrates).
f. As to claim 9, Sun teaches wherein the first metallization layer comprises a plurality of metal pads (item 116), the plurality of metal balls coupled to the plurality of metal pads (figure 13 and 26), the plurality of metal pads having widths approximately equal to the diameter of the plurality of metal balls (see figure 13 and 26 the widths are substantially the same).
g. As to claim 11, Sun teaches a computer and PDA, set-up box, comprising the IC of claim 1. (figure 41 and paragraph 106-119 paragraph 119 emphasis added). It is noted applicant does not provide any structure to any of the elements beyond the structure of claim 1, thus whatever the structure of claim 1 defines can be interpreted as one of the elements from the group. However as noted Sun teaches a computer and PDA, set-up box, comprising the IC.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun.
a. As to claim 8, Sun appears to teach the width of the pillars is width/diameter less than the vertical length figure 26 and 13.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have formed the diameter to be less than the length as suggested since it would be using conventional and suggest ratio to provide expected outcomes of a functional IC.
b. As to claim 10, Sun teaches wherein the plurality of metal pins are copper (paragraph 48).
Sun does not explicitly teach the plurality of metal balls are copper.
However, copper solder balls were known at the time of filing.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the solder balls from a copper solder to use conventional material to arrive at the expected result of the electrically connected devices.
Claim(s) 12, 14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (20220352083) in view of Park (20170323868).
a. Though the pin is used in the claim, a pillar has substantially the same structure as a pin, since it is a metal protrusion. Applicant does not define a pin so the pillar of Huang will be considered pins.
As to claim 12, Huang teaches a method comprising: fabricating a first substrate including a first metallization layer extending in a first direction (figure 1G item 180 with mentalizations 180first direction is arbitrary it extends in all directions); fabricating a second substrate including a second metallization layer extending in the first direction (figure 1A item 110 and 114 metallization); fabricating a die (item 141); fabricating a plurality of metal balls (item 170 figure 1E); fabricating a plurality of metal pins ( item 120 figure 1B); coupling the die to one of the first substrate or the second substrate (figure 1B to 1C); coupling the plurality of metal balls to the first metallization layer (figure 1F to 1G).
Huang does not teach a separate step: of forming and coupling the plurality of metal pins to the plurality of metal balls and a separate step: of forming and coupling the plurality of metal pins to the second metallization layer.
However, it was known to be able to buy premade solder balls/conductive balls for use of bonding. Park teaches forming metal pillars (item 120 figure 2A) by taking premade wire and bonding it to a substrate step 1020 figure 1 paragraph 55:
Although the examples presented herein generally concern the forming of conductive pillars, any of a variety of interconnection structures may be formed. Similarly, although the examples presented herein generally concerned plating the conductive pillars, any of a variety of forming processes may be utilized. For example, block 1020 may comprise forming a conductive pillar by plating the conductive pillar, bonding a wire (e.g., a wire-bonding wire) to the substrate and cutting (or breaking) the wire at the desired height above the substrate, etc. Additionally, block 1020 may comprise forming the conductive pillar utilizing any of the conductive layer forming techniques disclosed herein.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the conductive balls and pillars off substrate, use premade wires as pillars, and premade conductive balls as conductive balls. Then couple them to the respective parts. One would have been so motivated to use known technique of form conductive balls and pillars to provide the expected outcome of an electrically connected device using known techniques.
It is noted that a wire-bonding still provides the pillar it just may clip undesired attached material afterwards to form the pillar. Thus, forming the wire includes forming the pillar as a subset of the wire.
b. As to claim 14, Huang teaches wherein coupling the die to the one of the first substrate or the second substrate further comprises coupling to the second metallization layer.
c. As to claim 16, there is no scale to how much compression is required, paragraph 70 indicates that the chip package is bonded to the wiring substrate. In other words, the 170 is bonded to 184 this inherently requires compression in fact Huang indicates flattening of the balls in figure 1G. Thus, compression will also inherently happen due to Newton third law. If the balls are pushed down, they will reciprocate a force up to the pillars compressing the ball and the pillar. Thus, Huang inherently teaches coupling the plurality of metal pins to the plurality of metal balls further comprises compressing the plurality of metal pins to the plurality of metal balls
d. As to claim 17, Huang teaches wherein coupling the plurality of metal pins to the plurality of metal balls further comprises aligning one of the plurality of metal balls with one of the plurality of metal pins along a common axis in a second direction (pillars and balls are aligned in every direction).
e. As to claim 18, Huang teaches wherein the plurality of metal balls have a diameter which is less than the first distance between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer (the balls in figure 1G are smaller than the distance between 110 and 180).
f. As to claim 19, Huang appears to teach appears to teach the width of the pillars is width/diameter less than the vertical length figure1B item 124 length vs width.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have formed the diameter to be less than the length as suggested since it would be using conventional and suggest ratio to provide expected outcomes of a functional IC.
g. As to claim 20, Huang teaches wherein the first metallization layer comprises a plurality of metal pads, the plurality of metal balls coupled to the plurality of metal pads, the plurality of metal pads having a width approximately equal to the diameter of the plurality of metal balls (at the base where they contact the diameter is equal).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (20220352083) in view of Park (20170323868) in view of Sun.
a. As to claim 13, Huang does not explicitly teach wherein coupling the die to the one of the first substrate or the second substrate further comprises coupling to the first metallization layer.
Sun figure 13 couples the die to the first and second substrate (items 102 and 115).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have couple the die to the top and bottom substrate to use conventional techniques for routing and integration to obtain the expected result of an integrated circuit.
b. As to claim 15, Huang does not explicitly teach the conductive bumps are solder.
Sun teaches the use of Solder item 106 to couple pillars 175. Further at the time of filing premade solder balls were known in the art and used for coupling.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have use solder to as the balls forming a solder joint, soldering, the pillar to the ball to use conventional materials and techniques to arrive at the expected outcome of coupled pillars and conductive balls.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant appears to point to the balls directly under the chip while they are solder balls these are not what the examiner meant there are solder balls 106 directly connected to the pins 175/179.
Thus, the rejection over Sun is not overcome.
In reference to claim 12 it appears claim 12 is a different embodiment than originally claimed. Applicant claimed figure 4 but now appears to claim figure 5 and 7.
In reference to claim 12 Applicant asserts:
The Examiner relied on Park for teaching premade wires that are bonded to a substrate. However, Park teaches wire bonding techniques to form pillars directly on a substrate-not coupling pre- formed metal pins to pre-formed metal balls in an assembly step. Thus, the combination fails to teach or suggest all elements of claim 12 as amended.
It appears applicant is trying to assert that the pins are fabricated at length, and no subsequent processing is done to the pins.
This assertion goes beyond the scope of what the specification and the scope of claim.
Claim 12 requires fabricating a plurality of metal pins it does not preclude that the pins be attached to additional wiring at formation step and that the additional wire can be removed after deposition. Applicant appears to assert the claim must fabricate a plurality of metal pins are singular formed at length and no cutting of the pins after any of the coupling is permitted. This is simply not supported by the original disclosure there is no discussion of any specifics of how the pins are fabricated or how they are attached. At the time of forming the wire the pin portion of the wire is formed after attaching the pin portion, the excess wire is cut or bent off the pin, thus a separate pin fabrication and attachment is provided as claimed. Applicant’s disclosure does not have sufficient specificity to provide specifics of fabricating a particular pin structure at formation of the pin, that precluding the pin precluded attached material. Further applicant does not have specificity to preclude cutting or bending after attachment to remove excess material. Applicant does not point to anything in the disclosure that limits the claim meaning the applicant’s asserted meaning. Thus, Applicant has not overcome the rejection of Huang in view of Park. Thus, the rejection is deemed proper and maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896