DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on September 15, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that:
“Applicant submits that the Restriction Requirement does not provided a rational or reasonable underpinning as to why Species 1-3 belongs to different classification since all Species are to the same element just with different thickness.”
This is not found persuasive because explanations as to classifications of the species are not a requirement for a species restriction.
The applicant also stated: “Further, all the claims refers to the same subject matter, i.e., semiconductor stack.”
This is understood, as a species restriction requirement should be applied to claims drawn to similar subject matter. Claims drawn to divergent subject matter would be addressed by an entirely different type of restriction (e.g. unrelated inventions, see MPEP 806.06).
A proper response to a species restriction is to persuasively argue that the species are not mutually exclusive or state that they are obvious variants, which the applicant did not do in the reply (dated September 15, 2026). In addition, the applicant did not provide a listing of the claims that read upon the elected species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited within the IDS document (dated April 12, 2024) have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the limitations "the multiple first wells" and “the multiple second wells”. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the multiple first wells". Claim 11 recites the limitation “the multiple second wells”.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations – independent claim 1 refers explicitly to “one or multiple first wells” and “one or multiple second wells”.
For purposes of examination, claims 8-11 will be interpreted as reciting “one or multiple first wells” and “one or multiple second wells”, which is recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bergmann et al. (US 8,575,592 B2, hereinafter referred to as ‘Bergmann’).
As to claim 1, Bergmann teaches a semiconductor stack (see e.g. figures 2 and 4A), comprising:
a first semiconductor structure (14);
a second semiconductor structure (32); and
an active structure (125) between the first semiconductor structure and the second semiconductor structure, wherein the active structure comprises:
a first well set disposed on the first semiconductor structure and comprising one or multiple first wells (e.g. 320A);
a second well set disposed between the first well set and the second semiconductor structure and comprising one or multiple second wells (e.g. 320B, 320C, 320D); and
a plurality of barriers (GaN layers), arranged alternately with the one or multiple first wells and the one or multiple second wells;
wherein each of the one or multiple first wells has a first thickness, and each of the one or multiple second well wells has a second thickness different from the first thickness (see figure 4A), and the one or the multiple first wells and the one or the multiple second wells comprise the same material composition (InGaN).
As to claim 2, Bergmann teaches the second thickness (320B, 320C, 320D) is greater than the first thickness (of 320A). See figure 4A.
As to claim 8, Bergmann teaches a number of the one or multiple second wells (320B, 320C, 320D) is greater than that of the one or multiple first wells (320A).
As to claim 9, Bergmann teaches a number of the one or multiple second wells (320B, 320C, 320D) is greater than that of the one or multiple first wells (320A).
As to claim 10, Bergmann teaches the one or multiple first wells (320A) comprise the same thickness (only one well so by default has same thickness).
As to claim 17, Bergmann teaches the semiconductor stack of claim 1 (see rejection above); and a first electrode structure (23), electrically connecting to the first semiconductor structure. See figure 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergmann in view of examiner’s official notice.
As to claims 18, 19, and 20, Bergmann teaches packaging of LED devices (see column 7, lines 9-25). Bergmann does not precisely teach the limitations of claims 18, 19, and 20, with respect to the language used in the claims, including e.g. “an encapsulation substrate”, “a first external electrode”, “a second external electrode”, “a conductive substrate”, “a wire”, “a package substrate”, “a first bonding pad”, “a second bonding pad”, “a circuit board”, “a transparent cover”.
However, the examiner takes official notice that packaging of LEDs is notoriously well known, through flip-chip and wire bonding processes, on substrates that include conductive contacts, and with the use of encapsulants and covers/lids. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bergmann with packaging structures that are notoriously well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art so as to protect the specific LED device manufactured, and to provide an actual usable device for any end-user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. (Claims 4, 5, 15, and 15 are also objected to as being dependent upon objected claims.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent cited art. Specifically, see:
Athalye et al. (US 2013/0170199 A1) – see figure 5.
Lin et al. (US 2020/0135991 A1) – see figure 4.
Li et al. (US 2021/0013185 A1) – see figure 3A.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Scott B. Geyer (telephone: 571-272-1958). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday, 10AM - 4PM (ET). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at: http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christine S. Kim (telephone: 571-272-8458). The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (in U.S.A. or Canada) or 571-272-1000.
/SCOTT B GEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812