DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. The drawings possess the following issues:
Claims 4 and 5 require a “microprocessor.” It is unclear where in the drawings a microprocessor is identified.
Therefore, the features identified above must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Rogers et al. (WO 2016025438A1) (hereinafter – Rogers).
Re. Claim 1: Rogers teaches a device to measure a subdermal fluid flow parameter (Abstract: blood flow is a subdermal fluid flow parameter),
comprising:
a substrate (Paragraph 006: “Tissue-mounted electronic and photonic systems of some embodiments combine thermal actuation with colorimetric and/or electronic thermal sensing provided in array formats on soft, elastomeric substrates to achieve spatially and/or temporally resolved sensing of thermal transport properties of tissue, while minimizing adverse physical effects to the tissue”);
at least one upstream temperature sensor supported by the substrate (Fig. 1A: temperature mapping sensors surrounding a central thermal actuator (large circle in middle) as described at Paragraph 0041);
at least one downstream temperature sensor supported by the substrate (see previous citation – any sensor which lies on an opposing side of the central thermal actuator); and
a thermal actuator supported by the substrate and positioned between said upstream temperature sensor and said downstream temperature sensor (see previous citation – “central” thermal actuator);
wherein the upstream temperature sensor and the downstream temperature sensor are located on the same side of the substrate (Fig. 1A: temperature sensors and the central thermal actuator are located on the same side; Paragraph 0015: “In an embodiment, for example, at least a portion of the thermal actuators and thermal sensors are in physical contact, fluid communication, optical communication, and/or electrical communication with the surface of the tissue”).
Re. Claim 2: Rogers teaches the invention according to claim 1. Rogers further teaches the invention wherein the temperature sensors are one or more of:
diode temperature sensors,
positive temperature coefficient of resistance (PTC) sensors, negative coefficient of resistance (NTC) sensors (Rogers discloses calculating resistance-based thermal sensing in Paragraphs 0039, 0040, 00117, 00184; PTC and NTC sensors differ in whether resistance changes are positively or negatively correlated with temperature changes; thus, Rogers’ teaching of using resistance-based thermal sensing covers at least one of either PTC or NTC sensors), and
colorimetric temperature sensors (Paragraph 006: “Tissue-mounted electronic and photonic systems of some embodiments combine thermal actuation with colorimetric and/or electronic thermal sensing;” Paragraph 007-009, 0014, 0023, 00213-00214).
Re. Claim 3: Rogers teaches the invention according to claim 1. Rogers further teaches the invention further comprising a controller in electronic communication with the downstream temperature sensor, the upstream temperature sensor and the thermal actuator (Figs. 27A, 27B; Paragraph 00183-00184: custom built system of USB-interface control electronics for control and recording of epidermal device, comprising a microcontroller; alternatively or additionally – the computer shown in Fig. 27B can be considered comprising a controller which is in electronic communication with the claimed components via the USB-interface control electronics).
Re. Claim 4: Rogers teaches the invention according to claim 3. Rogers further teaches the invention further comprising a microprocessor in electronic communication with the controller configured to calculate a flow parameter from the measured upstream and downstream temperatures (see previous citation; Paragraph 00184: “To map thermal transport over time, as done for blood flow measurements, the thermal actuator receives a continuous current input (2 mA) from the Keithley 6220. Simultaneously, the sensor resistances are sampled by DMM1 , in the same fashion described for mode 1 ), but this time without sampling S10 (the central actuator). The actuator voltage is read by DMM2. The relay circuit allows isolation of the S1 0-Keithley-DMM2 circuit from the sensor array-DMM1 circuit”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Rogers et al. (WO 2016025438A1) (hereinafter – Rogers) in view of
Cusimano Reaston et al. (US 20110224503 A1) (hereinafter – CR)
Re. Claim 5: Rogers teaches the invention according to claim 4. Rogers does not appear to disclose wireless communication between the microprocessor of the USB-interface control electronics to the controller (i.e., the laptop computer shown in Fig. 27B).
CR teaches analogous art in the technology of wireless physiological sensors (Abstract). Cusimano further teaches wireless communication between a sensor interface and a controller (Figs. 1A, 1B).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Rogers to include wireless communication between the microprocessor of the sensor electronics of Rogers to a controller as taught by Cusimano, the motivation being that doing so increases freedom of movement while using the system.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
claims 1 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11160458 B2 (hereinafter – “the ‘458 patent”) in view of
Rogers et al. (WO 2016025438A1) (hereinafter – Rogers).
Re. Claim 1: Claims 1 and/or 21 of the ‘458 patent teaches a device to measure a subdermal fluid flow parameter (Claims 1 and/or 21: a device which interfaces with a skin to determine direction of blood flow),
comprising:
a substrate (Claims 1 and/or 21: “a flexible or stretchable substrate”);
at least one upstream temperature sensor supported by the substrate (Claims 1, 21: “wherein two of said thermal sensors form a matched pair on opposing sides of said central thermal actuator”);
at least one downstream temperature sensor supported by the substrate (see previous citation); and
a thermal actuator supported by the substrate and positioned between said upstream temperature sensor and said downstream temperature sensor (see previous citation).
Claims 1 and 21 of the ‘458 patent fail to teach the invention wherein the upstream temperature sensor and the downstream temperature sensor are located on the same side of the substrate.
Such an aspect is taught by Rogers (Fig. 1A: temperature sensors and the central thermal actuator are located on the same side; Paragraph 0015: “In an embodiment, for example, at least a portion of the thermal actuators and thermal sensors are in physical contact, fluid communication, optical communication, and/or electrical communication with the surface of the tissue”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified claims 1 and/or claim 28 of the ‘458 patent to include the temperature sensors and thermal actuators to be located on a common side, the motivation being that such placement allows the temperature sensor to sense the same surface which heat is applied via the thermal actuator, increasing the detection of thermal changes compared to a system where heat applied via a thermal actuator mounted on one side of a substrate is transferred to a differing side of a substrate where the temperature sensor is mounted.
Claims 2-5 are rejected as being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791