DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received on April 12, 2024 for application number 18/633,888. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE 10 2023 203 408.5 filed on April 14, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 12, 2024 is noted. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takayanagi (DE 11 2016 000 797 T5), hereinafter “Takayanagi”.
Regarding claim 1, Takayanagi discloses a steering system (Fig. 1 (power steering apparatus)) for a vehicle comprising: a steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)), wherein the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)) is linearly displaceable in a longitudinal direction of a central longitudinal axis of the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)), and having a detection device (Fig. 1 (16)) for detecting a position of the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)), the detection device (Fig. 1 (16)) having at least one rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) extending parallel to the central longitudinal axis, wherein the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) is linearly displaceable together with the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)), and the detection device (Fig. 1 (16)) has at least one detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) and a permanent magnet (Fig. 2 (46)) is fastened to the detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)), wherein the detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) engages in the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)).
Regarding claim 2, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)) is displaceable relative to the detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)), and the detection device (Fig.1 (16)) has a magnetic sensor for detecting a rotational position of the detection gear wheel and a rotation counter for detecting a number of revolutions of the detection gear wheel (paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 3, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 1, wherein an evaluation unit and/or a control unit is connected to the detection device, wherein a position of the steering element can be or is determined by the evaluation unit and/or the control unit using data signals obtained from, a magnetic sensor and a rotation counter, the detection device, the magnetic sensor and the rotation counter being integrated in a common circuit (paragraphs 35, 106).
Regarding claim 4, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) is formed as a one-piece constituent part of the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)), or wherein the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) is formed as an independent component, the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) being firmly connected to the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)).
Regarding claim 5, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the detection device (Fig. 1 (16)) has a first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) with a first permanent magnet (Fig. 2 (46)), and a second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) with a second permanent magnet (Fig. 2 (47)).
Regarding claim 6, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) and the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) engage in the same rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) at different positions.
Regarding claim 7, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) engages in a first rack section (Fig. 1 (8)), and the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) engages in a second rack section formed independently of the first rack section (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 5, wherein, in order to implement a redundancy, the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) is assigned a first magnetic sensor for detecting a rotational position of the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) (paragraph 131) and a first rotation counter for detecting a number of revolutions of the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)), and the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) is assigned a second magnetic sensor for detecting the rotational position of the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) (paragraph 131) and a second rotation counter for detecting a number of revolutions of the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)).
Regarding claim 9, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the Vernier principle is implemented by the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) and the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)), for which purpose the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) is designed differently from the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)), with regard to its external diameter and/or the number of teeth (paragraphs 130-140).
Regarding claim 10, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26, 27)) is displaceably mounted transversely or at right angles to the central longitudinal axis of the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)) by a guide device to compensate for tolerances (Fig. 2) , and wherein an axis of rotation of the detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26, 27)) is linearly displaceably guided in at least one guide groove of the guide device (Fig. 2 (24)), wherein the detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26, 27)) is preloaded and/or spring-mounted in the direction of the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) by a spring element of the guide device.
Regarding claim 11, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26, 27)) and/or an axis of rotation of the detection gear wheel is rotatably mounted and/or guided in an at least one rotary holder (Fig. 2 (inside element 24)), wherein the rotary holder (Fig. 2 (inside element 24)) is formed as a constituent part of a housing, and wherein the rotary holder (Fig. 2 (inside element 24)) has a segment-like or polygonal contour.
Regarding claim 13, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26, 27)), the sensor (paragraphs 35, 106) and/or the rotation counter is assigned to a housing, wherein the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)) is displaceable relative to the housing.
Regarding claim 14, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 13, wherein an axis of rotation of the detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26, 27)) is connected to the housing (Fig. 2 (in the vicinity of element 24)).
Regarding claim 15, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 2, wherein an evaluation unit and/or a control unit is connected to the detection device, wherein a position of the steering element can be or is determined by the evaluation unit and/or the control unit using data signals obtained from, a magnetic sensor and a rotation counter, the detection device, the magnetic sensor and the rotation counter being integrated in a common circuit (paragraphs 35, 106).
Regarding claim 16, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) is formed as a one-piece constituent part of the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)), or wherein the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) is formed as an independent component, the rack section (Fig. 1 (8)) being firmly connected to the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)).
Regarding claim 17, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 5, wherein the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) and the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) are mounted in a housing (Fig. 2 (in the vicinity of element 24)) so as to be rotatable relative to each other without contact, wherein the steering element (Fig. 1 (8a)) is linearly displaceable relative to the housing (Fig. 2 (in the vicinity of element 24)).
Regarding claim 18, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 6, wherein, in order to implement a redundancy, the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) is assigned a first magnetic sensor for detecting a rotational position of the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) (paragraph 131) and a first rotation counter for detecting a number of revolutions of the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)), and the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) is assigned a second magnetic sensor for detecting the rotational position of the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) (paragraph 131) and a second rotation counter for detecting a number of revolutions of the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)).
Regarding claim 19, Takayanagi discloses the steering system as claimed in claim 7, wherein, in order to implement a redundancy, the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) is assigned a first magnetic sensor for detecting a rotational position of the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)) (paragraph 131) and a first rotation counter for detecting a number of revolutions of the first detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (26)), and the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) is assigned a second magnetic sensor for detecting the rotational position of the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)) (paragraph 131) and a second rotation counter for detecting a number of revolutions of the second detection gear wheel (Fig. 2 (27)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayanagi, in view of Jeon (US PG Pub No. 2022/0348250), hereinafter “Jeon”.
Takayanagi discloses a steering system as claimed in claim 1.
Takayanagi fails to disclose a steer-by-wire steering.
However, Jeon discloses a steer-by-wire steering (Jeon (Abstract)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Takayanagi by incorporating the teachings of Jeon in order to have a system that provides greater design flexibility.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747