DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 10-11, 17-18 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Yu 2023/0384517US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Barwicz 20160011372US.
In terms of Claim 1, Yu teaches an electronic device (Figure 4), comprising: a photonic component (Figure 4: 131) defining a predetermined region (Figure 4: location of 131); a plurality of optical elements (Figure 4: 413) disposed at the predetermined region (Figure 4: location of 413) and configured to optically couple with the photonic component (Figure 4: 413 and 131); a connection layer (Figure 4: 415/301) connected to the photonic component and the optical elements (Figure 4: 415/413/131); and a cover (Figure 4: top layer of 300 and 405) configured to protect the optical elements and configured to vent (Figure 4: gap between 300 and 405 provides opening to vent air).
Yu does not teach a cover wherein the cover includes a plurality of openings, each of which is disposed over a corresponding one of a plurality of optically coupling regions, wherein the plurality of openings are spaced apart from each other.
Barwicz does teach a cover (Figure 5b: 48) wherein the cover includes a plurality of openings (Figure 5b: 48), each of which is disposed over a corresponding one of a plurality of optically coupling regions (Figure 3: 48 are within the grooves that houses fiber 30 wherein light is being optically coupled) wherein the plurality of openings are spaced apart from each other (Figure 5b: 48 below or 58 below). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of singular fiber device of Yu to multiple fiber array of Barwicz having multiple fiber channels and plurality of spaced apart openings in order to scale the connections to handle more input/output fibers. The modification of the spaced openings will accommodate each fiber groove channels to manage adhesive overflow and venting ([0036]).
As for Claim 2, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Yu teaches the cover (300/405) has an opening configured to vent from the predetermined region to outside of the predetermined region (Figure 4: gap between 300/405 can vent air upward and out of the 415 region).
Yu does not teach a plurality of openings configured to vent.
Barwicz does teach a plurality of openings (Figure 5b: 48) configured to vent ([0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of singular fiber device of Yu to multiple fiber array of Barwicz having multiple fiber channels and plurality of spaced apart openings in order to scale the connections to handle more input/output fibers. The modification of the spaced openings will accommodate each fiber groove channels to manage adhesive overflow and venting ([0036]).
As for Claim 6, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Yu teaches the cover (300/405) is configured to allow bubbles to vent from the connection layer (Figure 4: gap between 300/405 is capable of letting air bubbles escape or vent from 415).
As for Claim 10, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Yu teaches the cover (300/405) has an opening (between 300 and 405) and a first inner side surface and a second inner side surface exposed to the opening (vertical sidewalls of 300 and 405), and the connection layer (415/301) is partially disposed in the opening (Figure 4: 415 is located in the gap between 300/405) and contacting the first inner side surface and the second inner side surface (415 is contacting the sides vertical walls of 300 and 405).
Yu does not teach a first inner side, and second inner size defines a first opening of the plurality of openings.
Barwicz does teach a first inner side (Figure 3: illustrates a v-groove having opening 48, wherein the first inner side is one of the slanted vertical sidewall of the v-groove), and second inner side (second vertical side of the v-groove) defining a first opening of the plurality of openings (Figure 3: each v-groove contain an opening 48) to form a plurality of openings all of which contain 1st and 2nd inner side (Figure 3: at 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of singular fiber device of Yu to multiple fiber array of Barwicz having multiple fiber channels and plurality of spaced apart openings in order to scale the connections to handle more input/output fibers. The modification of the spaced openings will accommodate each fiber groove channels to manage adhesive overflow and venting ([0036]).
As for Claim 11, Yu / Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 10, wherein Yu teaches in a cross-sectional view perspective, the connection layer (415) comprises a first portion contacting the first inner side surface and a second portion contacting the second inner side surface (415 contacts left and right inner sidewall of 300/405), and a height of the first portion is different from a height of the second portion (the height portion from 415 to top 300 is different from the height portion of 415 to top of 413).
In terms of Claim 17, Yu teaches an electronic device (Figure 4), comprising: a photonic component (Figure 4: 131); a plurality of optical elements (Figure 4: 413) configured to optically coupled with the photonic components (Figure 4: 413 and 131; [0024] and [0037]); a connection layer configured to provide an optical communication between the optical elements and the photonic components (Figure 4: 415/413 and 131); a cover (Figure 4: 300 and 405 top layer) having an opening (gap between 300/405 as shown in Figure 4) exposing a portion of the connection layer (415).
Yu does not teach a cover having a plurality of openings, each of which exposes a portion of the connection layer, wherein the plurality of openings tapers toward the optical elements in a cross-section view.
Barwicz does a cover (Figure 5b: 40) having a plurality of openings (Figure 5b: 48), each of which exposes a portion of the connection layer (Figure 5b: 48 is used to allow adhesive overflow wherein the adhesive is the connection layer connecting the fiber to cover and other components), wherein the plurality of openings tapers (Figure 3: 48) toward the optical elements in a cross-section view (Figure 3: opening 48 connects with open area of v-groove channel 46 which contains slanted sidewalls to form a taper opening with 48). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of singular fiber device of Yu to multiple fiber array of Barwicz having multiple fiber channels and plurality of spaced apart openings in order to scale the connections to handle more input/output fibers. The modification of the spaced openings that have tapered configuration will accommodate each fiber groove channels to manage adhesive overflow and venting ([0036]).
In regard to claim 18, Yu / Barwicz teaches the device of claim 17, wherein Yu teaches the photonic component comprises a plurality of waveguides ([0024] and [0037]) wherein the fibers and waveguide are spaced apart from each other (See Figure 4: 131/413).
Yu / Barwicz does not teach and at least two of the waveguides are optically coupled with and spaced apart from at least two of the optical elements by at least two different distances, respectively.
It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coupling lengths of the fiber and waveguide base optical transmission properties of their respective Mode field diameter in order to ensure coupling loss is minimized.
In regard to Claim 21, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 1.
Yu does not teach wherein the plurality of opening vertically overlap the plurality of optically coupling regions by different areas.
Barwicz does teach wherein the plurality of opening (Figure 3: 48 and Figure 5b: 48) vertically overlap the plurality of optically coupling regions by different areas (Figure 3: 48 overlaps with each groove 46 holding fibers 30 used for optical coupling). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu to include an opening in each channel wherein the device is capable of handling multiple groove channels for larger scale connections.
In regard to Claim 22, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 1 wherein Yu teaches wherein the connection layer (Figure 4: 415 / 301) includes: a first portion between the photonic component and the plurality of optical elements (Figure 4: 415 located between 131 and 413); a second portion (portion of 415 above 413) between a bottom surface of the cover (bottom of 300) and a top surface of the photonic component (top of 131); and a third portion (portion of 415) between the bottom surface of the cover (bottom of 300) and a top surface of the plurality of optical elements (top of 413).
Yu does not teach wherein a thickness of the second portion is greater than a thickness of the third portion.
It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thickness of adhesive or connection layer 415 of the second portion to be greater than a thickness of the third portion in order to ensure strong optical coupling alignment is present while ensure strong mechanical bonds between the 131 and 413.
In regard to Claim 23, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 10, wherein Yu teaches further comprising a connection layer (Figure 4: 415/301) disposed between a bottom surface of the cover (bottom of 300) and a top surface of the photonic component (See 301 between bottom of 300 and top of 131), the connection layer connecting the cover to the photonic component (Figure 4: 301 couples 300 to 131).
In regard to Claim 24, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 23, wherein Yu teaches the connection layer (415/301) includes a protrusion disposed within the first opening (see top portion of 415 between 300 and 413 forms a protruded left and right side with a U-shape divot in between).
Yu and Barwicz do not teach wherein an elevation of a top surface of the protrusion is higher than an elevation of the bottom surface of the cover with respect to the top surface of the photonic component.
It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amount of adhesive 415 to elevation higher than the bottom surface of 300 in order to ensure enough adhesive is present to maintain strong mechanical bond between 413 and 131.
In regard to Claim 25, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 24, wherein the top surface of the protrusion of the connection layer includes a wavy surface (Figure 4: top portion of 415 between 300 and 413 wherein 415 contains a flat top, a u-shape arch middle and then a flat top again. These 3 portions forms a wavy like structure).
In regard to Claim 26, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 17.
Yu does not teach wherein the cover has an inner sidewall defining a first opening of the plurality of openings, and at least one of the pluralities of optical elements has a side surface extending parallel to a lateral surface of the photonic component and non-parallel to the inner sidewall.
Barwicz does teach wherein the cover (40) has an inner sidewall (v-groove portion of 46) defining a first opening of the plurality of openings (Figure 3: 48 is located in the v-groove 46), and at least one of the plurality of optical elements (fibers 30) has a side surface extending parallel to a lateral surface of the photonic component (Figure 3: fibers 30 are parallel to other fibers 30) and non-parallel to the inner sidewall (the fiber 30 sits within v-groove 30 and hence are in contact with v-groove thus non-parallel with the vertical sidewalls of 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Yu to have a cover that covers both the optical element and the fiber having multiple openings 48 and v-grooves 46 to align the fiber. The location of having fiber parallel to each other or a coupling waveguide as shown by Yu allows the edge coupling to occur to the photonic chip. The location and structure of the openings in the cover allow for excess adhesive to vent and prevent misalignment due to warp or shrinking during the curing or fixing stage of the adhesive as it hardens.
In regard to Claim 27, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 26, wherein Yu teaches, wherein the cover is ratably or rotationally shifted with respect to the photonic component. This feature is claiming an intermediate step wherein when the adhesive is not fully cured or harden the device cover can be moved to adjust for alignment. The device of Yu used an adhesive material for 301 and 415 to be epoxy ([0044] and [0053]). Epoxy requires curing and during this process adjustment of cover can be made via rotation until epoxy material is fully cured or hardens. The structure as taught by the prior art is capable of the functionality “wherein the cover is ratably or rotationally shifted with respect to the photonic component” as recited before the epoxy is fully harden.
In regard to Claim 28, Yu and Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 26 wherein Yu teaches wherein, in a top view, a longitudinal axis of the first opening is non-parallel to the lateral surface of the photonic component (longitudinal opening between 300 and 413 where 415 is located is non-parallel or perpendicular to the photonic component 131).
Claims 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Yu 2023/0384517US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Barwicz 20160011372US and further in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Venkatesan 2023/0228953US.
In terms of Claim 12, Yu teaches an electronic device (Figure 4), comprising: a photonic component (Figure 4: 131); an optical structure (Figure 4:413), wherein the optical structure (413) and the photonic component (131) collectively define a first optically coupling region (area of 415 between 131 and 413) and a second optically coupling region ([0024 and 0037] describes multiple fibers coupled to multiple waveguides wherein each fiber/waveguide pair will have a coupling region, hence having 1st for the 1st fiber/waveguide combination of 131/413 and 2nd coupling region for the 2nd combination of 131/413) ; and a cover (Figure 4: 300/405).
Yu does not teach a cover having a first opening over the first optically coupling region and a second opening spaced apart from the first opening and over the second optically coupling region and a plurality of third openings between the first fiber and the second fiber in a top view perspective, wherein the plurality of third openings are arranged along a first direction, and the first opening and the second opening are arranged along a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
Barwicz does teach a cover (Figure 5b: 40) having a first opening over (Figure 3: 48 over a channel 46) the first optically coupling region (Figure 3: 48 is located over groove 46 which contains optical fibers for optical coupling) and a second opening (Figure 3: another opening 48 that’s in a different channel 46 than the first opening) spaced apart from the first opening and over the second optically coupling region (Figure 3: 48 is located in each channel 46 wherein the second opening 48 is over a second channel 46 that’s is different than the first opening) and a plurality of third openings (Figure 3: openings at the end of channel 46) between the first fiber and the second fiber in a top view perspective (the opening of 46 labeled as third openings below), wherein the plurality of third openings are arranged along a first direction (along channel 46), and the first opening and the second opening are arranged along a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction (48 is vertically located into base portion 44 or as shown in Figure 5b: 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each channel to contain an opening that is perpendicular to opening of groove 46 in order to vent excess adhesive out of the channel once it has been displaced by the volume of the fiber. The opening are used to manage the overflow and venting of the connection layer which is an adhesive in order to securely attach the fiber in alignment with the groove.
Yu and Barwicz does not teach a first waveguide, a second waveguide, wherein the optical structure comprises a first fiber configured to optically coupled with the first waveguide through the first optically coupling region and a second fiber configured to optically coupled with the second waveguide through the second optically coupling region.
Venkatesan does teach an optical structure a first waveguide (Figure 15a: 1544b; [0202]), a second waveguide (Figure 15a: 1544a), wherein the optical structure comprises (Figure 15b: 1502) a first fiber (Figure 15b: 1554b; [0204]) configured to optically coupled with the first waveguide through the first optically coupling region (Figure 15a: 1550 and Figure 15b: 1554; [0201-0204])) and a second fiber (Figure 15c: 1554a) configured to optically coupled with the second waveguide through the second optically coupling region (Figure 15a: at 1550a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu to include multiple fibers being coupled to multiple waveguides in a photonic integrated chip device in order to scale the amount of the connections being processed by the PIC chip.
As for Claim 14, Yu / Barwicz / Venkatesan teaches the device of Claim 12, wherein Yu teaches further comprising a connection layer (415) disposed in the first optically coupling region and the second optically coupling region (Figure 4: 415).
As for Claim 15, Yu / Barwicz / Venkatesan teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Yu teaches wherein the connection layer (415) is further disposed between the first fiber and the second fiber ([0024] and [0037] teaches multiple fiber and waveguides are coupled to each other as a pair, hence the fibers are disposed next to each other and since fibers have curve circumference some of the adhesive 415 will be disposed between the individual fibers).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu / Barwicz as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US Patent Application to Kuhara 20020037143US.
In regard to Claims 7 and 9, Yu / Barwicz teaches the device of Claim 6, wherein the cover (300/405) has an opening, and the connection layer is partially disposed in the opening (Figure 4: 415).
Yu does not teach wherein the optical elements, and the photonic component collectively define an optically coupling region that is free of the bubbles; and wherein a portion of the bubbles is over the optically coupling region.
Kuhara teaches an optical fiber being coupled to an optical element (Figure 11: 19 and 15), wherein a portion of the bubble is over the optically coupling region see (Figure 11: b). Kuhara then teaches using heat to vacate the bubble from the adhesive region thus removing the bubbles from the adhesive region ([0045]) in order to avoid optical loss. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yu to be bubbles free using method of Kuhara in order to avoid optical coupling loss ([0045]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12 and 17, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New grounds of rejection were made in view of newly cited prior art to Barwicz and Venkatesan as detailed above.
Newly added claims 21-28 have also been rejected as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874