Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5-9,18,19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al (US 6856460) in view of Yang, Lei et al (CN 109520609A) and in view of Longeaud (US 20130286457)
Regarding Claim 1,
Coleman et al discloses (Fig. 1) a light source (110), comprising: diffractive optics (150, forming part of a transfer lens 140) to diffract the deflected laser beam (column 4, lines 12-16); a multi-mode fiber (120, column 4, lines 6-8) to transmit the diffracted laser beam.
Coleman et al does not disclose one or more deflection mirrors to deflect a laser beam at varying angles; and a plurality of lenses, disposed between the diffractive optics and the multi-mode fiber, to provide the diffracted laser beam to the multi-mode fiber.
Longeaud discloses one or more deflection mirrors to deflect a laser beam at varying angles [0032].
Yang, Lei et al discloses (Fig. 1) a plurality of lenses (5,6), disposed between the diffractive optics (4) and the multi-mode fiber (7), to provide the diffracted laser beam to the multi-mode fiber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coleman et al to include Longeaud discloses one or more deflection mirrors to deflect a laser beam at varying angles [0032] motivated by the desire to because the laser beam direction and optical delivery systems and scanning mirrors are commonly used to provide angular beam steering to further include Yang, Lei et al’s plurality of lenses (5,6), disposed between the diffractive optics (4) and the multi-mode fiber (7), to provide the diffracted laser beam to the multi-mode fiber motivated by the desire to improve coupling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Coleman et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the diffractive optics (150, forming part of a transfer lens 140) comprise a multi-lens array (MLA) to diffract the deflected laser beam (plurality of lenses taught by Yang, Lei et al’s)
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Coleman et al discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the diffractive optics (150, forming part of a transfer lens 140) comprise a diffractive optical element (DOE)(150) to diffract the deflected laser beam.
Regarding Claim 5,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Yang, Lei et al discloses (Fig. 1) the multi-mode fiber comprises an end-face; and the plurality of lenses (5,6) comprises: a projection lens to collect and collimate(4) the diffracted laser beam; and a coupling lens (8) to focus the collimated, diffracted laser beam onto the end-face, the end-face being positioned in a back focal plane of the coupling lens.
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Yang, Lei et al discloses (Fig. 1) the projection lens (5) has a first focal length; the coupling lens (6) has a second focal length; the projection lens (5) is separated from the coupling lens (6) by a distance along an optic axis of the laser beam equal to the sum of the first focal length and the second focal length; and the end-face of the multi-mode fiber is separated from the coupling lens by a distance along the optic axis of the laser beam equal to the second focal length. It would have been obvious to optimize lens spacing to satisfy imaging conditions (sum of focal lengths) to maximize coupling efficiency into the multimode fiber.
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Longeaud discloses wherein the one or more deflection mirrors comprise a first scanning mirror (the scanning mirror reflects and deflects laser beams [0030-0031].
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Longeaud discloses wherein the one or more deflection mirrors further comprise a static mirror to receive the laser beam from the first scanning mirror and direct the laser beam toward the diffractive optics [0032].
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Longeaud discloses wherein the one or more deflection mirrors further comprise a second scanning mirror to receive the laser beam from the first scanning mirror and direct the laser beam toward the diffractive optics.[0032]
Regarding Claim 18,
Coleman et al discloses (Fig. 1) a generating a laser beam (110), diffracting the deflected laser beam (150, forming part of a transfer lens 140); providing the diffracted laser beam to a multi-mode fiber (120, column 4, lines 6-8) and transmitting the diffracted laser beam through the multi-mode fiber.
Coleman et al does not disclose deflecting the laser beam at varying angles; provide the diffracted laser beam to the multi-mode fiber.
Longeaud discloses one or more deflection mirrors to deflect a laser beam at varying angles [0032].
Yang, Lei et al discloses (Fig. 1) a plurality of lenses (5,6), disposed between the diffractive optics (4) and the multi-mode fiber (7), to provide the diffracted laser beam to the multi-mode fiber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coleman et al to include Longeaud discloses one or more deflection mirrors to deflect a laser beam at varying angles [0032] motivated by the desire to because the laser beam direction and optical delivery systems and scanning mirrors are commonly used to provide angular beam steering to further include Yang, Lei et al’s plurality of lenses (5,6), disposed between the diffractive optics (4) and the multi-mode fiber (7), to provide the diffracted laser beam to the multi-mode fiber motivated by the desire to improve coupling efficiency.
Regarding Claim 19,
In addition to Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Longeaud discloses [0032] wherein deflecting the laser beam comprises deflecting the laser beam at the varying angles and at varying spatial offsets using a first scanning mirror and a second mirror.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al (US 6856460) and of Yang, Lei et al (CN 109520609A) and of Longeaud (US 20130286457) in view of Savage-Leuchs (US 20110249319)
Regarding Claim 4,
Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, Coleman et al discloses everything as disclosed above.
Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al, do not disclose the multi mode fiber has a square core.
Savage-Leuchs discloses the multi mode fiber has a square core [0101].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Coleman et al, Longeaud, and Yang, Lei et al to include Savage-Leuchs multi mode fiber has a square core [0101] motivated by the desire to improve mode mixing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-17,20,21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 10,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine all the references and to include another reference to disclose wherein the diffractive optics are first diffractive optics, the multi-mode fiber is a first multi-mode fiber, and the plurality of lenses are a first plurality of lenses, the light source further comprising: second diffractive optics to diffract the deflected laser beam; a second multi-mode fiber to transmit the laser beam as diffracted by the second diffractive optics; a second plurality of lenses, disposed between the second diffractive optics and the second multi-mode fiber, to provide the laser beam as diffracted by the second diffractive optics to the second multi-mode fiber; and a first beam splitter disposed between the one or more deflection mirrors and the first diffractive optics, and between the one or more deflection mirrors and the second diffractive optics, wherein: the first diffractive optics, the first multi-mode fiber, and the first plurality of lenses are disposed along a first optical path; and the second diffractive optics, the second multi-mode fiber, and the second plurality of lenses are disposed along a second optical path.
Claims 11-16 depends on Claim 10, therefore are objected.
Regarding Claim 17,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine all the references and to include another reference to disclose laser to generate the laser beam; a plurality of alignment mirrors disposed between the laser and the one or more deflection mirrors, to adjust an optical path of the laser beam to direct the laser beam toward the one or more deflection mirrors; and a lens assembly, disposed between the plurality of alignment mirrors and the one or more deflection mirrors, to adjust the diameter of the laser beam to a specified value and to collimate the laser beam.
Regarding Claim 20,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine all the references and to include another reference to disclose further comprising dividing the deflected laser beam between a first optical path and a second optical path, wherein: the multi-mode fiber is a first multi-mode fiber or a second multi-mode fiber; the first optical path comprises first diffractive optics that diffract the deflected laser beam, the first multi-mode fiber, and a first plurality of lenses to provide the laser beam as diffracted by the first diffractive optics to the first multi-mode fiber; and the second optical path comprises second diffractive optics that diffract the deflected laser beam, the second multi-mode fiber, and a second plurality of lenses to provide the laser beam as diffracted by the second diffractive optics to the second multi-mode fiber.
Regarding Claim 21,
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine all the references and to include another reference to disclose further comprising dividing the deflected laser beam between a first optical path, a second optical path, and a third optical path, wherein: the multi-mode fiber is a first multi-mode fiber, a second multi-mode fiber, or a third multi-mode fiber; the first optical path comprises first diffractive optics that diffract the deflected laser beam, the first multi-mode fiber, and a first plurality of lenses to provide the laser beam as diffracted by the first diffractive optics to the first multi-mode fiber; the second optical path comprises a second beam splitter, second diffractive optics that diffract the deflected laser beam, the second multi-mode fiber, and a second plurality of lenses to provide the laser beam as diffracted by the second diffractive optics to the second multi-mode fiber; and the third optical path comprises third diffractive optics that diffract the deflected laser beam, the third multi-mode fiber, and a third plurality of lenses to provide the laser beam as diffracted by the third diffractive optics to the third multi-mode fiber.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871