CTNF 18/634,093 CTNF 101469 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 mentions the second inorganic layer containing a 2-1 inorganic layer, a 2-2 inorganic layer, and a 2-3 inorganic layer. These make use of notation that is not explicitly defined within the specification or the claims. While the nature of the notation can be inferred through the drawings, there is otherwise no explicit definition. Therefore, the 2-1 inorganic layer, a 2-2 inorganic layer, and a 2-3 inorganic layer will refer to a first, second, and third layer of the second inorganic layer respectively. Claims 7-12 are dependent on claim 6 and thus rejected. Claim 13 mentions the second inorganic layer containing a 2-1 inorganic layer, a 2-2 inorganic layer, and a 2-3 inorganic layer. These make use of notation that is not explicitly defined within the specification or the claims. While the nature of the notation can be inferred through the drawings, there is otherwise no explicit definition. Therefore, the 2-1 inorganic layer, a 2-2 inorganic layer, and a 2-3 inorganic layer will refer to a first, second, and third layer of the second inorganic layer respectively. Claims 14-20 are dependent on claim 13 and thus rejected. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1,5, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kuwabara (US 20220328605 A1) . Regarding claim 1, FIG. 1A and FIG. 7A of Kuwabara teach a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, the method comprising: locating a first inorganic layer (30; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0043) on a substrate (10; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0035); locating a reflector (40; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0039) on the first inorganic layer; locating a second inorganic layer (101, 201, 103; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0043) on the reflector; and locating an organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) on the second inorganic layer, wherein the locating of the reflector comprises: forming a groove portion (FIG. 1A) in the first inorganic layer; locating a reflective layer on the first inorganic layer to cover the first inorganic layer (FIG. 1A); and polishing the reflective layer (40; FIG. 7A; paragraph 0067). Regarding claim 5, FIG. 1A of Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the reflector comprises: a first reflector (40; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0039); a second reflector (40; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0039) spaced apart from the first reflector; and a third reflector (40; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0039) spaced apart from the first reflector and the second reflector, wherein the organic light-emitting diode comprises (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037): a first organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) overlapping the first reflector; a second organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) overlapping the second reflector; and a third organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) overlapping the third reflector. Regarding claim 6, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 1A of Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the locating of the second inorganic layer (101, 102, 103; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0043) comprises: locating a 2-1 inorganic layer (101; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0043) on the reflector (40; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0039); locating a 2-2 (102; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0043) inorganic layer on the 2-1 inorganic layer; and locating a 2-3 inorganic layer (103; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0043) on the 2-2 inorganic layer, wherein the first organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) is located on the 2-1 inorganic layer, the second organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) is located on the 2-2 inorganic layer, and the third organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) is located on the 2-3 inorganic layer. Regarding claim 12, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 1A of Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) emits red light, the second organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) emits green light, and the third organic light-emitting diode (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) emits blue light . 07-15 AIA Claim s 13-16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kashiwabara et al. (US 20150295017 A1) . Regarding claim 13, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 3, FIG. 4, and FIG. 9 of Kashiwabara et al. teach a method of manufacturing a display apparatus, the method comprising: locating a first inorganic layer (1161; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147) on a substrate (111; FIG. 3; paragraph 0147); locating a first reflector (1162, 1162B; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162), a second reflector (1162, 1162G; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162), and a third reflector (1162, 1162R; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162) on the first inorganic layer to be spaced apart from each other; locating a 2-1 inorganic layer (11631; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147) on the first reflector, the second reflector, and the third reflector; locating a 2-2 inorganic layer (11632; FIG. 9; paragraph 0150) on the 2-1 inorganic layer; locating a 2-3 inorganic layer (11633; FIG. 9; paragraph 0152) on the 2-2 inorganic layer; etching parts of the 2-2 inorganic layer and the 2-3 inorganic layer overlapping the first reflector (FIG. 4, paragraph 0154); etching a part of the 2-3 inorganic layer overlapping the second reflector (FIG. 4, paragraph 0154); locating a first organic light-emitting diode (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105) on the 2-1 inorganic layer to overlap the first reflector; locating a second organic light-emitting diode (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105) on the 2-2 inorganic layer to overlap the second reflector; and locating a third organic light-emitting diode (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105) on the 2-3 inorganic layer to overlap the third reflector. Regarding claim 14, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 4 and FIG. 9 of Kashiwabara et al. teach the method of claim 13, wherein a distance from the first reflector (1162, 1162B; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162) to the first organic light-emitting diode (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105), a distance from the second reflector (1162, 1162G; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162) to the second organic light-emitting diode, and a distance from the third reflector (1162, 1162R; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162) to the third organic light-emitting diode (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105) sequentially increase. Regarding claim 15, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 4 Kashiwabara et al. teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the 2-1 inorganic layer (1163R1; FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) and the 2-2 inorganic layer (1163R2 (mistyped as 1163R8); FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) comprise different materials. Regarding claim 16, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 4 Kashiwabara et al. teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the 2-2 inorganic layer (1163R2 (mistyped as 1163R8); FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) and the 2-3 inorganic layer (1163R3; FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) comprise different materials. Regarding claim 19, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 4 of Kashiwabara et al. teaches the method of claim 13, wherein each of the first reflector (1162B; FIG. 4; paragraph 00162), the second reflector (1162G; FIG. 4; paragraph 00162), and the third reflector (1162R; FIG. 4; paragraph 00162) comprises a silver (Ag) material (paragraph 0162). Regarding claim 20, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, FIG. 9 of Kashiwabara et al. teaches the method of claim 13, wherein each of the etching parts of the 2-2 inorganic layer (11632; FIG. 9; paragraph 0150) and the 2-3 inorganic layer (11632; FIG. 9; paragraph 0150) and the etching a part of the 2-3 inorganic layer comprises a photolithography process (paragraph 0123) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara in view of Yokoyama et al. (US 20050007015 A1) . Regarding claim 2, Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 1. Kuwabara does not teach the method wherein the locating the reflector comprises locating an adhesive layer on the first inorganic layer to cover the first inorganic layer and locating the reflective layer on the adhesive layer. FIG. 1 of Yokoyama et al. teaches an adhesive layer (14B; FIG. 1; paragraph 0046) connecting a planarizing layer that can be made of inorganic materials (13; FIG. 1; paragraph 0044) to a reflective layer (14A; FIG. 1; paragraph 0046). Kuwabara and Yokoyama et al. are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they are light emitting devices with reflectors and organic light emitting layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have an adhesive layer on the first inorganic layer to cover the first inorganic layer and the reflective layer on the adhesive layer. This prevents the reflector from separating from the inorganic layer (paragraph 0048). Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kuwabara in view of Yokoyama et al. teaches the method of claim 2. Kuwabara does not teach the method wherein the adhesive layer contacts an inner peripheral surface of the groove portion. FIG. 1 of Yokoyama et al. teaches an adhesive layer (14B; FIG. 1; paragraph 0046) touching the inner surface of a groove in the planarizing layer (13; FIG. 1; paragraph 0044). It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have the adhesive layer contact an inner peripheral surface of the groove portion. This further prevents the reflector from separating from the inorganic layer (paragraph 0048). Regarding claim 4, Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 1. Kuwabara does not teach the method wherein the reflector comprises a silver (Ag) material. FIG. 1 of Yokoyama et al. teaches a reflective layer (14A; FIG. 1; paragraph 0046) is made of silver. Kuwabara and Yokoyama et al. are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they are light emitting devices with reflectors and organic light emitting layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have reflector comprising a silver material. Silver has the highest reflectance among metals (paragraph 0048) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7, 8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara in view of Kashiwabara et al .. Regarding claim 7, as interpreted under the 112(b) issue, Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 6. Kuwabara does not teach the method wherein the locating of the second inorganic layer further comprises: etching parts of the 2-2 inorganic layer and the 2-3 inorganic layer overlapping the first reflector; and etching a part of the 2-3 inorganic layer overlapping the second reflector. FIG. 4 and FIG. 9 of Kashiwabara et al. teach a second barrier layer portion (11632; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0150) and a third barrier portion (11633; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0152) being etched off (FIG. 4, paragraph 0154) over the first reflector (1162, 1162B; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162) and the third barrier portion (11633; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0152) being etched off (FIG. 4, paragraph 0154) over the second reflector (1162, 1162B; FIG. 4; FIG. 9; paragraph 0147; paragraph 0162). Kuwabara and Kashiwabara et al. are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they are light emitting devices with reflectors and organic light emitting layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have the inorganic layers etched. This allows the different portions to be separated (paragraph 00154). Regarding claim 8, as interpreted under the 112(b) issue, Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 7. Kuwabara does not teach the method wherein each of the etching parts of the 2-2 inorganic layer and the 2-3 inorganic layer and the etching a part of the 2-3 inorganic layer comprises a photolithography process. FIG. 9 of Kashiwabara et al. teaches a photoresist film patterned on the bottom barrier layer (11631; FIG. 9; paragraph 0123) before the etching process. It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have the etching process comprise photolithography. This allows a photoresist layer to be patterned (paragraph 0123). Regarding claim 10, as interpreted under the 112(b) issue, Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 6. Kuwabara does not teach the method wherein the 2-1 inorganic layer and the 2-2 inorganic layer comprise different materials. FIG. 4 of Kashiwabara teaches a lower barrier layer (1163R1; FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) and an intermediate barrier layer (1163R2 (mistyped as 116382); FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) being made of different materials. Kuwabara and Kashiwabara et al. are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they are light emitting devices with reflectors and organic light emitting layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have the inorganic layers comprise different layers. This is a known aspect of the structure (paragraph 0173) Regarding claim 11, as interpreted under the 112(b) issue, Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 6. Kuwabara does not teach the wherein the 2-2 inorganic layer and the 2-3 inorganic layer comprise different materials. FIG. 4 of Kashiwabara teaches an intermediate barrier layer (1163R2 (mistyped as 116382); FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) and an upper barrier layer (1163R3; FIG. 4; paragraph 0123) being made of different materials. Kuwabara and Kashiwabara et al. are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they are light emitting devices with reflectors and organic light emitting layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have the inorganic layers comprise different layers. This is a known aspect of the structure (paragraph 0173) 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwabara . Regarding claim 9, Kuwabara teaches the method of claim 6. Kuwabara does not directly teach the device wherein a distance from the first reflector to the first organic light-emitting diode, a distance from the second reflector to the second organic light-emitting diode, and a distance from the third reflector to the third organic light-emitting diode sequentially increase. However, if going from a third organic light-emitting layer (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037) to the first light emitting layer (50; FIG. 1A; paragraph 0034, paragraph 0037), the distance does sequentially increase. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have a distance from the first reflector to the first organic light-emitting diode, a distance from the second reflector to the second organic light-emitting diode, and a distance from the third reflector to the third organic light-emitting diode sequentially increase . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al .. Regarding claim 17, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, Kashiwabara et al. teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the second organic light-emitting diode emits green light (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105). Kashiwabara does not teach the first organic light-emitting diode emitting red light and the third organic light-emitting diode emitting blue light. However, because the first light emitting layer emits blue light (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105) and the third light emitting layer emits red light (118; FIG. 4; paragraph 0105), it would be trivial to swap them. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kashiwabara to have the first organic light-emitting diode emitting red light and the third organic light-emitting diode emitting blue light . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al. in view of Yokoyama et al .. Regarding claim 18, as best understood under the aforementioned 112(b) issue, Kashiwabara et al. teaches the method of claim 13. Kashiwabara et al. does not teach the method wherein an adhesive layer is located between the first inorganic layer and the first reflector, between the first inorganic layer and the second reflector, and between the first inorganic layer and the third reflector. FIG. 1 of Yokoyama et al. teaches an adhesive layer (14B; FIG. 1; paragraph 0046) connecting a planarizing layer that can be made of inorganic materials (13; FIG. 1; paragraph 0044) to a reflective layer (14A; FIG. 1; paragraph 0046). Kashiwabara et al. and Yokoyama et al. are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they are light emitting devices with reflectors and organic light emitting layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuwabara to have an adhesive layer on the first inorganic layer to cover the first inorganic layer and the reflective layer on the adhesive layer. This prevents the reflector from separating from the inorganic layer (paragraph 0048) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu et al. (US 20220302418 A1) concerns a display substrate with a substrate and a light emitting layer with insulating and conductive layers. Choi et al. (US 20110241000 A1) concerns an organic light emitting device with etched inorganic layers .. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JACOB A VLCEK whose telephone number is (571)272-9665. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri, 9:00 AM -5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eliseo Ramos-Feliciano can be reached at (571) 272-7925. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.A.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 7 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 8 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 9 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 10 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 11 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 12 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 13 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/634,093 Page 14 Art Unit: 2817