DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tsukamoto et al. (WO 2021/199419) in view of Naito et al. (US 6555940).
Regarding claim 1, Tsukamoto et al. discloses:
A rotating electric machine (abstract) comprising:
a rotor (2) having a permanent magnet (22) embedded in a magnet-receiving hole (211) of a rotor core (21);
a stator (3) that applies a rotating magnetic field to the rotor (para 29); and
a magnetic sensor (41) that detects rotation information of the rotor (para 6),
wherein the permanent magnet (22) has a shape that is inward in a radial direction of the rotor (paras 17, 37 and Fig 2), and
the magnetic sensor (41) is arranged to face the permanent magnet (22, paras 41-44, Fig 1) and configured to be capable of detecting magnetic flux from the permanent magnet (paras 41-44).
Tsukamoto et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the permanent magnet has a folded shape that is convex inward in a radial direction of the rotor.
Naito et al. teach an apparatus wherein the permanent magnet (PM, Fig 6) has a folded shape that is convex inward in a radial direction of the rotor (Fig 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling of the invention to modify Tsukamoto et al. wherein the permanent magnet has a folded shape that is convex inward in a radial direction of the rotor, as Naito et al. teach.
The motivation to do so is it would provide a machine which has a distortion factor of the waveform of induced voltage that is decreased, and also has decreased torque ripples, cogging torque, noises and vibrations (C10 ll 38-55 of Naito et al.).
Regarding claim 2/1, Tsukamoto et al. in view of Naito et al. disclose the invention as discussed above.
Since Tsukamoto et al. already teaches the use of the permanent magnet (22) and the use of a magnetic sensor (41) arranged to face the permanent magnet (22, paras 41-44, Figs 1 and 4), a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of choosing
an embedding depth Lm and a sensor position Ps are set to satisfy Ps<Lm, the embedding depth Lm denotes a distance on a circumferential centerline of the permanent magnet from an outer circumferential surface of the rotor core to an inside surface of a curved portion of the permanent magnet, and the sensor position Ps denotes a distance from the outer circumferential surface of the rotor core to a center of the magnetic sensor in an axial view, since it would depend on cooling, available space surrounding components, noise, vibrations ease of maintenance and repair.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Tsukamoto et al. in view of Naito et al. to have an embedding depth Lm and a sensor position Ps are set to satisfy Ps<Lm, the embedding depth Lm denotes a distance on a circumferential centerline of the permanent magnet from an outer circumferential surface of the rotor core to an inside surface of a curved portion of the permanent magnet, and the sensor position Ps denotes a distance from the outer circumferential surface of the rotor core to a center of the magnetic sensor in an axial view.
The motivation to do so would depend on cooling, available space surrounding components, noise, vibrations ease of maintenance and repair.
Regarding claim 3/2, Tsukamoto et al. in view of Naito et al. disclose the invention as discussed above.
Since Tsukamoto et al. already teaches the use of the permanent magnet (22) and the use of a magnetic sensor (41) arranged to face the permanent magnet (22, paras 41-44, Figs 1 and 4), a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of choosing
wherein the ratio Ps/Lm of the sensor position Ps to the embedding depth Lm is set to satisfy 0.10≤Ps/Lm≤0.93, since it would depend on cooling, available space surrounding components, noise, vibrations ease of maintenance and repair.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Tsukamoto et al. in view of Naito et al. to have wherein the ratio Ps/Lm of the sensor position Ps to the embedding depth Lm is set to satisfy 0.10≤Ps/Lm≤0.93.
The motivation to do so would depend on cooling, available space surrounding components, noise, vibrations ease of maintenance and repair.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 4/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the rotor core has an axial end face formed as a flat surface, the permanent magnet has a protruding portion that protrudes from the axial end face of the rotor core, and the magnetic sensor is configured to be capable of detecting the magnetic flux from the protruding portion of the permanent magnet.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claim 5-9 are also allowable for depending on claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834