DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claim 1-30 are under examination.
Claim 1-30 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2024, 09/25/2024, 03/12/2025 and 07/16/2025, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5, 14, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5, line 1-2 recite “…at least about 0.5% by dry weight” is indefinite. It is not clear was to what the weight is based upon, the water-in-oil emulsion particles or the composition.
Claim 14, line 1-2 recites “up to about 15% by dry weight” is indefinite. It is not clear was to what the weight is based upon, the water-in-oil emulsion particles or the composition.
Claim 15, line 1-2 recites “up to about 15% by dry weight” is indefinite. It is not clear was to what the weight is based upon, the water-in-oil emulsion particles or the composition.
The term “large subunit and small subunit” in claim 17, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “large” and “small” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10, 11, 16, 17, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vrljic et al. (US 2018/0027851 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 3, 28, 29 and 30, Vrljic et al. (Vrljic) discloses a consumable product (composition) comprising particles (‘851, [0091], [0328], [0388]) within an emulsion (‘851 [0050]) containing isolated and purified plant protein, ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) (‘851, [0016]), oil (lipid) (‘851 [0018]), lecithin (plant-based surfactant) (‘851, [0018], [0020], [0184]) in a bulk water phase (aqueous liquid) (‘851, [0146], [0149]). With respect to claim 29 and 30, Vrljic discloses the composition comprising citric acid (‘851, [0476]).
Regarding claim 4, Vrljic’s lecithin (plant-based surfactant) is soy oil (soybean) (‘851, [0021], [0050], [0180]).
Regarding claim 5, Vrljic’s lecithin is up to about 1% by weight in the consumable product (composition) (‘851, [0018]) which is in range with the cited range.
Regarding claim 10 and 11, Vrljic’s oil (lipid) (‘851 [0018]) comprising canola oil, which is expected to encompass liquid phrase at 25°C.
Regarding claim 16 and 17, Vrljic discloses isolated and purified protein, ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) is 99% pure (‘851, [0109]) and does not disclose chlorophyll; and expected to contain large subunit and small subunit.
Regarding claim 23, Vrljic discloses the isolated and purified protein, ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) (‘851, [0016]) is from a single plant species (‘851, [0111]).
Regarding claim 24, Vrljic discloses the isolated and purified protein with a pH from 3.5 to 5.5 (‘851, [0048]), which is in range with the cited range.
Regarding claim 25, 26, and 27, Vrljic discloses the composition comprising xanthan gum (plasticizer) (‘851, [0143], [0189]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, 20, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vrljic et al. (US 2018/0027851 A1).
Regarding claim 6 and 7, Vrljic discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Vrljic discloses the purified plant protein, ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) (‘851, [0016]). Vrljic does not discloses a characteristics of average zeta potential surface charge of the particles. It has been held that wherein the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure, a prime facie case of obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art product does not necessarily posses the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 195, USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 8 and 9, Vrljic discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Vrljic does not disclose the particles with an average diameter as cited in claim 8 and 9. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to adjust the diameter of the Vrljic’s particle diameter, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc. 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed.Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830,225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 12 and 13, Vrljic discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Vrljic does not disclose a ratio as cited in claim 12 and 13; however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amount of Vrljic’s oil and water including the cited ratios to provide a desired stable emulsion, absent a clear and convincing or evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 14 and 15, Vrljic discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Vrljic discloses the isolated and purified protein, ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) in an amount at least 50% by weight of the protein content of the consumable product (composition) (‘851, [0110]), which overlaps the cited range of claim 14 and 15. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 18 and 19, Vrljic discloses the isolated and purified protein, ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO). Vrljic teaches the protein with an amino acid sequences (‘851, [0046]). Vrljic does not teach the sequences set forth in claim 18 and 19. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust Vrljic’s protein amino acid sequences including the cited sequences as a matter of amino acid preference, absent a clear and convincing or evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 20, 21 and 22, Vrljic discloses the isolated and purified protein, ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) can be isolated from any portion of plant (‘851, [0115]). Vrljic does not explicitly discloses the isolated and purified protein from Lemna genus as recited in claim 20, 21 and 22. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to obtain the ribulose-1,5-bisphosphate carboxylase/oxygenase (RuBisCO) from any known source of plant including Lemna genus, as a matter of preference.
Conclusion
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792