Claim Status
Claims 1, 5-17 are pending.
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended.
Claims 13-15 have been withdrawn due to non-elected species.
Claims 2-4 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has not provided any rationale to support the argument or make any changes to Claims 16 and 17. Therefore, rejections on Claim 16 and 17 maintain.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means to couple radio frequency (RF) signals between at least two PCB sections using RF transmission lines” in claim 16, 17.
“means to interconnect antennas or antenna elements on one or more PCB sections to one or more radios” in claim 17.
“means for maintaining one or bends at one or more bend angles in the PCB sections” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 16, 17, “means to couple…”, in the specification, is defined as “coaxial cables as means to couple RF signals from the interface matrix on one PCB to antenna feeds on another PCB.” (See paragraph [0117] on page 30. However, it does not teach “means to couple radio frequency (RF) signals between at least two PCB sections using RF transmission lines” as claimed. This term is not clear whether it couples RF signals between two PCB sections using RF transmission lines, or couples RF signals from the interface matrices between two PCBs.
Regarding claim 17, “means to interconnect…”, in the specification, is defined as “an interface matrix 420 provides means to interconnect the different RF chains 432 of the radio 430 to one or more antenna feeds 534H, 534V of the planar antenna segments 414, 514”, (See paragraph [0055] on page 11). However, it does not teach “means to interconnect antennas or antenna elements on one or more PCB sections to one or more radios” as claimed. This term is not clear whether the means (interface matrix 420) is a software module or hardware circuit.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayama et al. (2022/0115785).
Regarding Claim 10, Takayama discloses a wireless access point comprising:
at least one radio with a plurality of radio chains (figs. 2, 3; “radio waves are radiated in the normal direction”, paragraph [0052]);
an antenna system comprising:
a planar printed circuit board (PCB) (flexible substrate 160, paragraph [0049], fig. 3) with two or more PCB sections (figs. 2, 3);
a dielectric substrate layer (130 or 131) common (connected) to at least one of the PCB sections (figs. 2, 3);
a plurality of antennas or antenna elements (121a, 121b) printed on two or more PCB sections (Figs. 2, 3);
RF transmission lines (e.g. transmission lines, figs. 2, 3) configured to convey radio frequency (RF) signals between at least two PCB sections using RF transmission lines (line 141, 142) (“first and second radio frequency transmission lines, paragraph [0007]; paragraphs [0067], [0100]);
an interface matrix (e.g. connection through 160, figs. 2, 3) comprising circuitry configured to interconnect antennas or antenna elements (121a, 121b) on one or more PCB sections (horizontal and vertical surfaces) (figs. 2, 2) to one or more radios (“radio waves are radiated in the normal direction”, paragraph [0052]); and
the at least one PCB trench (the corner portion) being configured to permit (PCB is bent in a right angle, figs. 2, 3) at least one PCB section relative to an adjacent PCB section in a range of angles from 0 to at least 90 (it is bent 90 degrees, fig. 3) while the RF transmission lines maintain RF signal transmission between the adjacent PCB sections (See annotated figures below);
wherein one or more of the PCB sections relative to other PCB sections is bended to radiate RF signals from a first radio chain into an RF signal (“radio waves”) coverage area different to (“two different directions”) or in common to an RF signal coverage area of at least one other of the plurality of radio chains. (“The feeding elements 121a are disposed on the dielectric substrate 131 so that radio waves are radiated in the normal direction of the side surface 22 (that is, the X-axis direction in FIG. 2). In this manner, by connecting the two dielectric substrates 130 and 131 by using the curved flexible substrate 160, radio waves can be radiated in two different directions”, paragraph [0052]).
As discussed above, Takayama essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose a dielectric substrate layer common to two PCB sections.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a dielectric substrate layer (e.g. a 90-degrees bent L shape substrate) common to two PCB sections in Takayama in order to reduce the cost of producing two substrate layers.
Further it has been held that making Integral from two or more parts into one merely routine skill in the art.
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”); but see Schenckv.Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to a vibratory testing machine (a hard-bearing wheel balancer) comprising a holding structure, a base structure, and a supporting means which form “a single integral and gaplessly continuous piece.” Nortron argued that the invention is just making integral what had been made in four bolted pieces. The court found this argument unpersuasive and held that the claims were patentable because the prior art perceived a need for mechanisms to dampen resonance, whereas the inventor eliminated the need for dampening via the one-piece gapless support structure, showing insight that was contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art.).
Regarding Claim 11, Takayama discloses the wireless access point of Claim 10, further comprising means for maintaining one or bends at one or more bend angles in the PCB sections (flexible substrate…in a bent state, paragraph [0171]) within the wireless access point.
Regarding Claim 16, Takayama discloses a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising:
two or more PCB sections (flexible substrate 160) separated by a PCB trench (corner portion) (Figs. 2 and 3), wherein at least one substrate layer (130 or 131) is common (connected) to the first PCB section or second PCB section;
a plurality of antennas or antenna elements (121a, 121b) assembled or fabricated on the two or more PCB sections;
means to couple (e.g. transmission lines, figs. 2, 3) radio frequency (RF) signals between the at least two PCB sections using RF transmission lines (line 141, 142) (“first and second radio frequency transmission lines, paragraph [0007]; paragraphs [0067], [0100]; and
at least one PCB section oriented relative to an adjacent PCB section by a bend (it is bended 90 degrees, fig. 3) along a PCB trench (corner portion) while maintaining RF coupling between adjacent PCB sections (“radio waves are radiated in the normal direction”, paragraph [0052]).
As discussed above, Takayama essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose at least one other substrate layer is not common to first PCB section and second PCB section.
However, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have provided another substrate layer being not common to the first and second PCB sections in order to mount another functionally different device.
As discussed above, Takayama essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose a dielectric substrate layer common to two PCB sections.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a dielectric substrate layer (e.g. a 90-degrees bent L shape substrate) common to two PCB sections in Takayama in order to reduce the cost of producing two substrate layers.
Further it has been held that making Integral from two or more parts into one merely routine skill in the art.
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”); but see Schenckv. Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to a vibratory testing machine (a hard-bearing wheel balancer) comprising a holding structure, a base structure, and a supporting means which form “a single integral and gaplessly continuous piece.” Nortron argued that the invention is just making integral what had been made in four bolted pieces. The court found this argument unpersuasive and held that the claims were patentable because the prior art perceived a need for mechanisms to dampen resonance, whereas the inventor eliminated the need for dampening via the one-piece gapless support structure, showing insight that was contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art.).
Regarding Claim 17, Takayama discloses an antenna system comprising:
a printed circuit board (figs. 2, 3) comprising:
two or more PCB sections separated by a PCB trench (corner portion), wherein at least one substrate layer is common to the first PCB section or second PCB section (figs. 2, 3);
a plurality of antennas or antenna elements (121a, 121b) assembled or fabricated on the two or more PCB sections (figs. 2, 3);
means to couple (e.g. transmission lines, figs. 2, 3) radio frequency (RF) signals between the at least two PCB sections using RF transmission lines (line 141, 142) (“first and second radio frequency transmission lines, paragraph [0007]; paragraphs [0067], [0100]; and
at least one PCB section oriented relative to an adjacent PCB section by a bend (it is bent by 90 degrees, fig. 3) along a PCB trench (corner portion) while maintaining RF coupling between adjacent PCB sections (figs. 2, 3); and
means to interconnect (e.g. connection through 160, figs. 2, 3) at least two PCB sections to one or more radios or radio chains (“radio waves are radiated in the normal direction”, paragraph [0052]).
As discussed above, Takayama essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose at least one other substrate layer is not common to first PCB section and second PCB section.
However, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to have provided another substrate layer being not common to the first and second PCB sections in order to mount another functionally different device.
As discussed above, Takayama essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose a dielectric substrate layer common to two PCB sections.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a dielectric substrate layer (e.g. a 90-degrees bent L shape substrate) common to two PCB sections in Takayama in order to reduce the cost of producing two substrate layers.
Further it has been held that making Integral from two or more parts into one merely routine skill in the art.
In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, “that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.”); but see Schenckv.Nortron Corp., 713 F.2d 782, 218 USPQ 698 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to a vibratory testing machine (a hard-bearing wheel balancer) comprising a holding structure, a base structure, and a supporting means which form “a single integral and gaplessly continuous piece.” Nortron argued that the invention is just making integral what had been made in four bolted pieces. The court found this argument unpersuasive and held that the claims were patentable because the prior art perceived a need for mechanisms to dampen resonance, whereas the inventor eliminated the need for dampening via the one-piece gapless support structure, showing insight that was contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art.).
Allowable subject matter
Claims 1, 5-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Prior arts of record do not render obvious, nor anticipate the combination of claimed elements including the technique of:
“a planar printed circuit board (PCB) with two or more PCB sections;
a dielectric substrate layer common to at least two PCB sections, wherein the planar PCB is a multi-layer PCB with at least two dielectric substrates and at least four metal layers, wherein the PCB includes linear PCB trenches between two or more PCB sections, and wherein the at least two dielectric substances PCB trenches comprise the dielectric substrate with interconnecting transmission lines printed on a first metal layer and a grounding plane printed on a second metal layer to enable bending of adjacent PCB sections at a plurality of bend angles while maintaining RF signal transmission between adjacent PCB sections;
a plurality of antennas or antenna elements printed on two or more PCB sections;
RF transmission lines configured to convey radio frequency (RF) signals between the at least two PCB sections using RF transmission lines;
an interface matrix comprising circuitry configured to interconnect antennas or antenna elements on one or more PCB sections to one or more radios; and
the at least one PCB trench being configured to permit at least one PCB section relative to an adjacent PCB section in a range of angles from 0° to at least 90° while the RF transmission lines maintain RF signal transmission between the adjacent PCB sections.”
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845