DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Mizrahi 2016/0294478US in view of the WIPO Publication to Specto WO2020/084466.
In terms of Claim 1, Mizrahi teaches an optical device (Figure 4) including a photonic filter, the photonic filter comprising: a first waveguide (Figure 4 below: segment or path from 424-415 annotated as 1st waveguide) to receive an optical signal (Figure 4: 1st waveguide and [0030-0032); a first filtering (Figure 4: 415) arrangement proximate the first waveguide (Figure 4 below: 1st waveguide), wherein the first filtering arrangement comprises (Figure 4: 415): a first ring offset from the first waveguide (Figure 4: 415 contains two rings both are offset vertically from the 1st waveguide) in a first direction (along the vertical direction of Figure 4); and a second ring (415 contains 2 rings) offset from the first ring in the first direction (Figure 4: see rings in 415), wherein the first ring is disposed between the first waveguide and the second ring (Figure 4: see 1st waveguide and 1st and 2nd rings); an intermediate waveguide (Figure 4: see intermediate waveguide) offset from the first filtering arrangement in the first direction (Figure 4: intermediate ring is offset from 415 along the vertical direction); a second filtering arrangement (Figure 4: 413) offset from the intermediate waveguide in the first direction and offset from the first filtering arrangement in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figure 4: see 413, intermediate waveguide and 415), the second filtering arrangement (413) comprising: a third ring offset from the intermediate waveguide in the first direction (Figure 4: see 3rd ring and intermediate waveguide), wherein the intermediate waveguide is disposed between the second ring and the third ring; a fourth ring offset from the third ring in the first direction, wherein the third ring is disposed between the intermediate waveguide and the fourth ring (Figure 4: see intermediated waveguide and 3rd /4th rings); and a second waveguide (Figure 4: see 2nd waveguide) offset from the second filtering arrangement in the first direction for a second optical signal influenced by the optical signal, wherein the fourth ring is disposed between the third ring and the second waveguide (Figure 4: 2nd waveguide and 413 below).
Mizrahi does not teach wherein the ring resonators are oblong in shape.
Specto teaches oblong ring resonators used to couple with a waveguide for the purpose of increasing coupling efficiency (Page 35 lines 15-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ring resonator shape of Mizrahi to have an oblong shape in order to increase optical coupling efficiency (Specto Page 35-36).
As for Claims 2-6, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 1.
Mizrahi does not teach wherein at least one of the first oblong ring, the second oblong ring, the third oblong ring, and the fourth oblong ring comprises an Euler ring; wherein the Euler ring comprises a ring of core material having a curvature that linearly varies with respect to arc length; wherein a width of the ring of core material linearly varies with respect to arc length; wherein the Euler ring comprises a clothoid shape; wherein each of the first oblong ring, the second oblong ring, the third oblong ring, and the fourth oblong ring comprises an Euler ring. The applicant indicated that oblong rings are Euler ring in the applicant specifications (Applicant’s Specification [0024]).
Specto teaches oblong ring resonators (Figure 13) used to couple to with a waveguide for the purpose of increasing coupling efficiency (Page 35 lines 15-30). Based on the applicant specification oblong rings are also Euler rings hence meeting the limitation of “Euler ring” as claimed above; wherein the Euler ring comprises a ring of core material having a curvature that linearly varies with respect to arc length (due to oblong shape or oval shape the curvature varies from middle portion to the curve portion at the end); wherein a width of the ring of core material linearly varies with respect to arc length (the width of oblong rings will have varying widths due to elongated shape); wherein the Euler ring comprises a clothoid shape (clothoid are byproduct dimension of the oblong ring); wherein each of the first oblong ring, the second oblong ring, the third oblong ring, and the fourth oblong ring comprises an Euler ring (Based on oblong shape of Figure 13 the combination of Mizrahi and Specto will result in all the rings in 413 and 415 being oblong of which contains a total of four rings). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ring resonator shape of Mizrahi to have an oblong shape in order to increase optical coupling efficiency (Specto Page 35-36).
As for Claims 7-9, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 1, having a first optical path length (Figure 4 above: length of 1st waveguide) and a second optical path length (Figure 4: length of intermediate waveguide) wherein the resulting combination of Mizrahi will produce a device having wherein each of the first oblong ring, the second oblong ring, the third oblong ring, and the fourth oblong ring comprises a Euler ring since Specto teaches oblong rings. The applicant has indicated that oblong rings are Euler ring structures hence the prior art Specto (Figure 13 and Page 35-36) will read onto the Euler ring limitation.
Mizrahi / Specto do not teach wherein a first optical path length associated with the first filtering arrangement is less than a second optical path length associated with the second filtering arrangement; wherein a ratio of the first optical path length to the second optical path length comprises a coprime integer ratio.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length and wherein a ratio of the first optical path length to the second optical path length comprises a coprime integer ratio as a matter of choice to in order to stagger the detection distant of the device from the detector. This allows the detector to operate effectively and pick up all the signals without being overloaded or being interfered by both input and output bi-direction overlaps, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As for Claim 10, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mizrahi teaches wherein: the optical signal comprises a broadband optical signal including a plurality of communications channels having respective wavelengths between 1530 nm to 1565 nm (L-band [0019]); and the second optical signal comprises a subset of one or more communications channels of the plurality of communications channels having a free spectral range (FSR) greater than 40 nm ([0019-0020] teaches wherein other signals such C and S band are able to transmit through the device, both bands are greater than 40 nm).
As for Claim 11, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 10, wherein Mizrahi teaches wherein a third optical signal at a through port end of the first waveguide opposite an input end receiving the broadband optical signal comprises one or more communications channels of the plurality of communications channels having a FSR greater than 20 nm ([0019-0020] wherein both S and C band are greater than 20 nm).
As for Claim 12, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 10.
Mizrahi / Specto do no teach wherein an area of the photonic filter is less than 0.05 mm². It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photonic filter area as a matter of choice to in order to miniaturize the device for small form factor and allow the device to have large scale density placement for saleable optical circuits. This allows the device to be scale for larger application that requires high amount of filtering in more complex networks. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As for Claim 13, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Mizrahi teaches wherein: the optical signal comprises a broadband optical signal at an input end of the first waveguide including a plurality of communications channels having respective wavelengths between 1530 nm to 1565 nm (L-band [0019]); and a third optical signal at a through port end of the first waveguide opposite the input end comprises one or more communications channels of the plurality of communications channels having a free spectral range (FSR) greater than 20 nm ([0019-0020] teaches S-band and C-band that may travel through the optical circuits. The optical circuit is capable of handling bi-direction transmission as shown in Figure 4, which means either input or output can handle these bands).
In terms of Claim 14, Mizrahi teaches A photonic filter (Figure 4 above) comprising: a first waveguide (Figure 4 above: 1st waveguide) having an input end to receive a broadband optical signal and a through port end opposite the input end for a through port optical signal comprising a subset of communications channels of a plurality of communications channels contained in the broadband optical signal ([0019] and Figure 4 above); a first filtering arrangement (Figure 4 above: 415) offset from the first waveguide in a filtering direction substantially perpendicular to the first waveguide (Figure 4: 1st waveguide and 415), wherein the first filtering arrangement (415) comprises a first set of rings (415 contains 2 rings); an intermediate waveguide (Figure above: intermediate waveguide) offset from the first filtering arrangement in the filtering direction (Figure 4 above: intermediate waveguide is vertically offset from 415), wherein the first filtering arrangement (415) is disposed between the first waveguide and the intermediate waveguide (Figure 4: 415, 1st waveguide and intermediate waveguide); a second filtering arrangement (413) offset from the intermediate waveguide in the filtering direction (Figure 4: 413 and intermediated waveguide), wherein the second filtering arrangement (413) comprises a second set of rings and the intermediate waveguide is disposed between the first filtering arrangement and the second filtering arrangement; and a second waveguide (Figure 4 above: 2nd waveguide) offset from the second filtering arrangement in the filtering direction and having a drop port end for a drop port optical signal comprising one or more communications channels of the plurality of communications channels (Figure 4: 2nd waveguide and [0019-0020]).
Mizrahi does not teach wherein the ring resonators are oblong in shape having Euler structures or shape.
Specto teaches oblong ring resonators used to couple to with a waveguide for the purpose of increasing coupling efficiency (Page 35 lines 15-30). The applicant has indicated that oblong rings also have Euler ring structures (Applicant’s Specification [0024]); hence Specto ring shown in Figure 13 meets the limitation of Euler rings as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ring resonator shape of Mizrahi to have an oblong shape in order to increase optical coupling efficiency (Specto Page 35-36).
As for Claims 15-16, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 14, having a first optical path length (Figure 4 above: length of 1st waveguide) and a second optical path length (Figure 4: length of intermediate waveguide).
Mizrahi / Specto do not teach wherein a first optical path length associated with the first filtering arrangement is less than a second optical path length associated with the second filtering arrangement; wherein a ratio of the first optical path length to the second optical path length comprises a coprime integer ratio.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length and wherein a ratio of the first optical path length to the second optical path length comprises a coprime integer ratio as a matter of choice to in order to stagger the detection distant of the device from the detector. This allows the detector to operate effectively and pick up all the signals without being overloaded or being interfered by both input and output bi-direction overlaps, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
As for Claim 17, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein the first filtering arrangement comprises a first second-order ring resonator and the second filtering arrangement comprises a second second-order ring resonator (Figure 4: 413 and 415 both contains 2 rings each). The applicant has indicated in the Specification that term “first second order” are just identifier for the order of the rings and they do not imply any other structural differences (Applicant’s Specification [0038]). The examiner has interpreted the term “a first second-order ring resonator” to mean a filter having two resonators, and the term “a second second-order ring resonator” to mean a 2nd filter having also two ring resonators of which are meet by element 413 and 415 of Mizrahi.
As for Claim 18, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Mizrahi teaches wherein: the plurality of communications channels comprises a plurality of optical C-band communications channels having respective wavelengths between 1530 nm to 1565 nm ([0020]); and the drop port optical signal (wherein the filter can function as drop filter ([0027]) comprises a subset of one or more communications channels of the plurality of optical C-band communications channels having a free spectral range (FSR) greater than 40 nm ([0027]).
As for Claim 19, Mizrahi / Specto teaches the device of Claim 14, the through port optical signal comprises the subset of communications channels having a FSR greater than 20 nm ([0019-0020]).
In terms of Claim 20, Mizrahi teaches a photonic filter (Figure 4 above) comprising: a first waveguide (Figure 4: 1st waveguide) having an input end to receive an input optical signal comprising one or more communications channels and an output end opposite the input end for an output optical signal comprising the one or more communications channels and an additional communications channel (Figure 4: 1st waveguide; [0019-0020]); a first filtering arrangement (415) offset from the first waveguide (Figure 4 above: 1st waveguide and 415) in a filtering direction substantially perpendicular to the first waveguide (Figure 4: 415), wherein the first filtering arrangement comprises a first set of rings (within 415); an intermediate waveguide (Figure 4 above: intermediate waveguide) offset from the first filtering arrangement in the filtering direction, wherein the first filtering arrangement is disposed between the first waveguide and the intermediate waveguide (Figure 4: 1st waveguide and 415); a second filtering arrangement (413) offset from the intermediate waveguide in the filtering direction, wherein the second filtering arrangement (413) comprises a second set of rings and the intermediate waveguide is disposed between the first filtering arrangement and the second filtering arrangement (Figure 4: intermediate waveguide and 413 contains 2 rings); and a second waveguide (Figure 4: 2nd waveguide) offset from the second filtering arrangement in the filtering direction and having a second input end for a second input optical signal comprising the additional communications channels ([0019-0020]).
Mizrahi does not teach wherein the ring resonators are oblong in shape having Euler structures or shape.
Specto teaches oblong ring resonators used to couple to with a waveguide for the purpose of increasing coupling efficiency (Page 35 lines 15-30). The applicant has indicated that oblong rings also have Euler ring structures (Applicant’s Specification [0024]); hence Specto ring shown in Figure 13 meets the limitation of Euler rings as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ring resonator shape of Mizrahi to have an oblong shape in order to increase optical coupling efficiency (Specto Page 35-36).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent to Lee 9,608,406 teaches ring resonator having horizontal and vertical offsets to waveguides.
/HOANG Q TRAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874