Double Patenting
Claims 9-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,978,181. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are either anticipated by or obvious variants of the patent claims. The following table shows the corresponding limitations between representative claims and representative patent claims.
Present Application Claims
Patent claims
9. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to use one or more trained neural networks to process a plurality of luminance values of one or more images from one or more cameras to perform a machine vision task.
10. The processor of claim 9, wherein each image of the one or more images comprises a first channel comprising luminance values of the respective image and one or more additional channels comprising additional information about the respective image, wherein the plurality of luminance values of the respective image comprises a luminance value for each pixel in the respective image.
11. The processor of claim 9, wherein the machine vision task comprises an automated vision task for an automobile.
12. The processor of claim 9, wherein the one or more circuits are further to: determine, for each image of the one or more images, the plurality of luminance values for the image, wherein each image of the one or more images comprises data identifying a camera used to capture the respective image, and wherein one or more properties and one or more configuration parameters of the camera are used to determine the plurality of luminance values for the image.
13. The processor of claim 12, wherein to determine the plurality of luminance values for an image, the processor is further to: receive, at an image signal processor (ISP) associated with the camera, data of the image from a sensor of the camera, wherein the data of the image comprise a plurality of channels representing color information of the image; process the plurality of channels of the image to generate a second plurality of channels in a corrected color space; determine an exposure value of the camera based on a set of exposure parameters of the camera; and determine the plurality of luminance values for the image based at least in part on the second plurality of channels and the exposure value.
14. The processor of claim 9, wherein the one or more circuits are further to: determine, for each image of the one or more images, the plurality of luminance values for the image; determine, for each image of the one or more images, a corresponding luminance value of a scene of the respective image; and determine, for each object of a plurality of objects within the one or more images, a corresponding target difficulty of the object based at least in part on a subset of the plurality of luminance values associated with the respective object and a corresponding luminance value of a scene of an image comprising the object.
15. The processor of claim 9, wherein the one or more circuits are further to: determine, for each image of the one or more images, the plurality of luminance values for the image; determine, for each image of the one or more images, a corresponding luminance value of a scene of the respective image; and determine, for each object of a plurality of objects within the one or more images, a corresponding signal to noise ratio (SNR) of the object based at least in part on a subset of the plurality of luminance values associated with the respective object and a corresponding luminance value of a scene of an images associated with the object.
1. A processor comprising: one or more circuits to determine a plurality of luminance values for one or more images from one or more cameras based at least in part on a plurality of channels in a corrected color space and one or more exposure values, the one or more circuits to use one or more trained neural networks to process the plurality of luminance values of the one or more images to perform a machine vision task.
2. The processor of claim 1, wherein each image of the one or more images comprises a first channel comprising luminance values of the respective image and one or more additional channels comprising additional information about the respective image, wherein the plurality of luminance values of the respective image comprises a luminance value for each pixel in the respective image.
3. The processor of claim 1, wherein the machine vision task comprises an automated vision task for an automobile.
4. The processor of claim 1, wherein each image of the one or more images comprises data identifying a camera used to capture the respective image, and wherein one or more properties and one or more configuration parameters of the camera are used to determine the plurality of luminance values for the image.
5. The processor of claim 4, wherein to determine the plurality of luminance values for an image, the processor is further to: receive, at an image signal processor (ISP) associated with the camera, data of the image from a sensor of the camera, wherein the data of the image comprise a plurality of initial channels representing color information of the image; process the plurality of initial channels of the image to generate the plurality of channels in the corrected color space; and determine the exposure value of the camera based on a set of exposure parameters of the camera.
6. The processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are further to: determine, for each image of the one or more images, a corresponding luminance value of a scene of the respective image; and determine, for each object of a plurality of objects within the one or more images, a corresponding target difficulty of the object based at least in part on a subset of the plurality of luminance values associated with the respective object and a corresponding luminance value of a scene of an image comprising the object.
7. The processor of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuits are further to: determine, for each image of the one or more images, a corresponding luminance value of a scene of the respective image; and determine, for each object of a plurality of objects within the one or more images, a corresponding signal to noise ratio (SNR) of the object based at least in part on a subset of the plurality of luminance values associated with the respective object and a corresponding luminance value of a scene of an images associated with the object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schuck, III (US 2021/0215536).
As to claim 1, Schuck, III discloses a processor comprising: one or more circuits to use a plurality of luminance values of one or more images from one or more cameras to train one or more neural networks (para. 0026, 0027, 0029).
As to claim 2, Schuck, III discloses the processor of claim 1, wherein the luminance values are absolute luminance values (para. 0029).
As to claims 16-17, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 9-12, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EGILMEZ (US 2022/0191523).
As to claim 9, EGILMEZ disclose a processor comprising: one or more circuits (Fig. 1, para. 0075) to use one or more trained neural networks (Fig. 2D, para. 0085) to process a plurality of luminance values (para. 0067, 0073) of one or more images from one or more cameras (para. 0085) to perform a machine vision task (para. 0085).
As to claim 10, EGILMEZ disclose the processor of claim 9, wherein each image of the one or more images comprises a first channel comprising luminance values of the respective image and one or more additional channels comprising additional information about the respective image, wherein the plurality of luminance values of the respective image comprises a luminance value for each pixel in the respective image (para. 0067).
As to claim 11, EGILMEZ disclose the processor of claim 9, wherein the machine vision task comprises an automated vision task for an automobile (para. 0063, 0081, 0085).
As to claim 12, EGILMEZ disclose the processor of claim 9, wherein the one or more circuits are further to: determine, for each image of the one or more images, the plurality of luminance values for the image, wherein each image of the one or more images comprises data identifying a camera used to capture the respective image, and wherein one or more properties and one or more configuration parameters of the camera are used to determine the plurality of luminance values for the image (para. 0038, 0067, 0085, 0114, 0130, 0229).
As to claims 1, 3, 7, 16, 18, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EGILMEZ (US 2022/0191523) in view of Schuck, III (US 2021/0215536).
As to claims 2, 17, EGILMEZ discloses all the claim limitations mentioned above with respect to claims 1, 16, except for absolute luminance values.
Schuck, III discloses wherein the luminance values are absolute luminance values (para. 0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the luminance values in EGILMEZ with the absolute luminance values as taught by Schuck, III since doing this would amount to a simple substitution of one known element for another in order to obtain predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8, 13-15, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art, EGILMEZ, discloses the claim limitations discussed above, but fails to disclose the combined features required by each of dependent claims 4-6, 8, 13-15, 19-20.
Conclusion
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668