DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 13, the applicant in line 4 recites “a permanent magnetic generator (PMG) of the alternator of the generator”. The claim recites “a generator” in line 1 & “an alternator” in line 2. As recited, is the PMG regarding the generator or alternator or both? Clarification is required.
Claims 14-17 are rejected based on dependency from Claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maldonado (US 2022/0320852).
Regarding Claim 18, Maldonado discloses a generator system [102, 202] (FIG. 1A-2, ¶ [0083]; While several embodiments have been provided in the present disclosure, it should be understood that the disclosed systems and methods might be embodied in many other specific forms without departing from the spirit or scope of the present disclosure) comprising:
an alternator [102 – a small alternator whose armature is driven by a shaft of the main generator 102] coupled to an engine [104] and configured to provide a main voltage output [140] to an external load [150] (FIG. 1A, 2, ¶ [0016]; As shown in FIG. 1A, power generation system includes a plurality of electric power generators 102 (shown as generators 1-3) connected in parallel to a power bus 140. ¶ [0018]; The main purpose of exciter 106 is to create an electromagnetic field in the generator coils. The stronger the magnetic field created, the stronger the electrical power produced. … In some cases, excitation power is generated by a small alternator whose armature is driven by a shaft of the main generator 102);
a breaker [214] configured to open and close a connection with the external load [250] (FIG. 1A, 2, ¶ [0033]; Each switch 214 is controllable by the respective relay device 210 to turn ON and shut down the respective generator 202);
a breaker control relay [210] coupled to the breaker [214] to control operation of the breaker [214] (FIG. 1A, 2, ¶ [0050]; The switch 214 may be a circuit breaker and the relay device 210 may be designed to trip the circuit breaker when a fault is detected in order to shut down the faulty generator and/or disconnect the faulty generator from the power bus 240); and
a controller [230] communicatively coupled to the breaker control relay [210], the controller [230] configured to generate and transmit a control signal to the breaker control relay [210], wherein the control signal causes the breaker control relay [210] to provide power to the breaker [240], from a power source [power source from 202 – 1] selected from a plurality of power sources [202 1-N] arranged to provide power to the breaker [214], to cause the breaker to open (FIG. 1A, 2, ¶ [0037]; the power management system 230 may be designed to aid the relay devices 210 in identifying and isolating faulty generators 202 in order to protect system 200 from escalation of single generator faults and avoid consequential total power plant shutdown. The power management system 230 may be configured (e.g., hardwired or programmed) to monitor several parameters related to and/or indicating performance of each of the generators 202).
Regarding Claim 19, Maldonado discloses the generator system of claim 18 [see rejected Claim 18],
wherein the control signal causes the breaker control relay [210] to select the main voltage output from the alternator [202 – 1] as the power source selected from the plurality of power sources [202s] and provide the main voltage output [140] from the alternator [202 – 1] to the breaker to cause the breaker [214] to open (¶ [0034]; A power management system 230 is provided for optimizing usage of the generators 202, electricity generation from the generators 202 and distributing power to loads 250. The power management system 230 may include one or more switchgears for distribution of power to loads 250 and one or more emergency generator sets).
Regarding Claim 20, Maldonado discloses the generator system of claim 18 [see rejected Claim 18],
wherein the control signal causes the breaker control relay [210] to select an auxiliary power source [102 or 202 could also be an “emergency generator”] as the power source [power source from 202-1] selected from the plurality of power sources [202s] and provide auxiliary power from the auxiliary power source [102 or 202 could also be an “emergency generator”] to the breaker [214] to cause the breaker to open (¶ [0034]; A power management system 230 is provided for optimizing usage of the generators 202, electricity generation from the generators 202 and distributing power to loads 250. The power management system 230 may include one or more switchgears for distribution of power to loads 250 and one or more emergency generator sets).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11 & 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maldonado (US 2022/0320852) in view of Cartlidge (4,953,052).
Regarding Claim 1, Maldonado discloses a generator system [102, 202] (FIG. 1A-2, ¶ [0083]; While several embodiments have been provided in the present disclosure, it should be understood that the disclosed systems and methods might be embodied in many other specific forms without departing from the spirit or scope of the present disclosure) comprising:
a) an alternator [102 – a small alternator whose armature is driven by a shaft of the main generator 102] coupled to an engine [104] and configured to provide a main voltage output [power generation system includes a plurality of electric power generators 102 (shown as generators 1-3) connected in parallel to a power bus 140] to an external load [An electrical load 150 may connect to the power bus 140 and may draw electric power from the power bus 140 as needed] (FIG. 1A, ¶ [0016-0018]);
b) a breaker [214] configured to open and close a connection with the external load [250] (FIG. 2, ¶ [0050]; The switch 214 may be a circuit breaker and the relay device 210 may be designed to trip the circuit breaker when a fault is detected in order to shut down the faulty generator and/or disconnect the faulty generator from the power bus 240);
c) a breaker control relay [210] coupled to the breaker [214] to control operation of the breaker [214] (FIG. 2, refer to “c” above – The switch 214 may be a circuit breaker and the relay device 210 may be designed to trip the circuit breaker when a fault is detected); and
d) a controller communicatively [230] coupled to the breaker control relay [210], the controller [230] configured to generate and transmit a control signal to the breaker control relay [210] (FIG. 2, ¶ [0037]; the power management system 230 may be designed to aid the relay devices 210 in identifying and isolating faulty generators 202 in order to protect system 200 from escalation of single generator faults and avoid consequential total power plant shutdown. The power management system 230 may be configured (e.g., hardwired or programmed) to monitor several parameters related to and/or indicating performance of each of the generators 202),
Maldonado does not disclose –
a permanent magnetic generator (PMG) coupled to the alternator &
wherein the control signal causes the breaker control relay to provide power from the PMG to close the breaker.
Cartlidge teaches –
a permanent magnetic generator (PMG) coupled to an alternator (Claim 4; the first generator unit comprises a permanent magnet generator which excites a wound field exciter which excites a three-phase alternator) &
wherein the control signal causes the breaker control relay to provide power from the PMG to close the breaker (Claim 1; a signal generator for generating a reference signal having a frequency proportional to a frequency of voltage generated by the first generator unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cartlidge’s teachings into Maldonado’s generator system. One would be motivated to do so to provide isolated, stable power source needed for the AVR to accurately sense and control the system’s power output, ensuring reliable voltage regulation.
Regarding Claim 2, Maldonado in view of Cartlidge disclose the generator system of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Maldonado discloses wherein the controller [230] is configured to transmit the control signal in response to determining that the main voltage output from the alternator [refer to element “a” above] is unavailable (¶ [0034]; The power management system 230 may include one or more switchgears for distribution of power to loads 250 and one or more emergency generator sets & ¶ [0037]; In certain embodiments, the power management system 230 may be designed to aid the relay devices 210 in identifying and isolating faulty generators 202 in order to protect system 200 from escalation of single generator faults and avoid consequential total power plant shutdown).
Regarding Claim 3, Maldonado in view of Cartlidge disclose the generator system of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
Maldonado discloses wherein the breaker control relay [210] is configured to, responsive to the control signal causing a first state of the breaker control relay [210], select the PMG [“incorporated” Cartlidge’s PMG into Maldonado’s element “102”] as a power source from a set of power sources to close the breaker [214], the set of power sources including the PMG and the main voltage output (¶ [0034]; A power management system 230 is provided for optimizing usage of the generators 202, electricity generation from the generators 202 and distributing power to loads 250. The power management system 230 may include one or more switchgears for distribution of power to loads 250 and one or more emergency generator sets).
Regarding Claim 4, Maldonado in view of Cartlidge disclose the generator system of claim 3,
Maldonado discloses wherein, when the breaker control relay [210] is in a second state different from the first state, the main voltage output from the alternator is selected as the power source from the set of power sources to close the breaker [214] (¶ [0034]; A power management system 230 is provided for optimizing usage of the generators 202, electricity generation from the generators 202 and distributing power to loads 250. The power management system 230 may include one or more switchgears for distribution of power to loads 250 and one or more emergency generator sets).
Regarding Claim 11, Maldonado in view of Cartlidge disclose the generator system of claim 1 [see rejected Claim 1],
wherein, after the breaker is closed, the alternator is configured to receive an excitation voltage such that power is provided to the external load (FIG. 2, ¶ [0050]; The switch 214 may be a circuit breaker and the relay device 210 may be designed to trip the circuit breaker when a fault is detected in order to shut down the faulty generator and/or disconnect the faulty generator from the power bus 240. ¶ [0083]; While several embodiments have been provided in the present disclosure, it should be understood that the disclosed systems and methods might be embodied in many other specific forms without departing from the spirit or scope of the present disclosure).
Regarding Claim 13, Maldonado discloses a method for controlling a breaker [214] of a generator [100, 200] (FIG. 1A, 2),
the method comprising:
powering an alternator [202] of the generator [100, 200] with an engine [204] (FIG. 2, also refer to rejected Claim 1, element “a” above);
with the generator [100, 200] powered by the engine [204], closing the breaker [214] of the generator [100, 200] using power sourced, via a breaker control relay [210] coupled to the breaker [214] (FIG. 2, also refer to rejected Claim 1, element “b-d” above),
after closing the breaker, causing voltage excitation at the alternator, to power an external load across the breaker (FIG. 2, also refer to rejected Claim 1, element “b-d” above).
Maldonado does not disclose
from a permanent magnetic generator (PMG) of the alternator of the generator.
Cartlidge teaches –
from a permanent magnetic generator (PMG) of the alternator of the generator. (Claim 4; the first generator unit comprises a permanent magnet generator which excites a wound field exciter which excites a three-phase alternator) &
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Cartlidge’s teachings into Maldonado’s generator system. One would be motivated to do so to provide isolated, stable power source needed for the AVR to accurately sense and control the system’s power output, ensuring reliable voltage regulation.
Regarding Claim 14, Maldonado in view of Cartlidge disclose the method of claim 13 [see rejected Claim 13], further comprising:
after causing voltage excitation at the alternator [202], opening the breaker [214] using power from a main voltage output of the alternator [202] (¶ [0034]; The power management system 230 may include one or more switchgears for distribution of power to loads 250 and one or more emergency generator sets).
Regarding Claim 15, Maldonado in view of Cartlidge disclose the method of claim 13 [see rejected Claim 13], further comprising:
Maldonado discloses after closing the breaker, opening the breaker using power from an auxiliary DC power supply ([0018]; The main purpose of exciter 106 is to create an electromagnetic field in the generator coils. The stronger the magnetic field created, the stronger the electrical power produced. The strength of the magnetic field is adjusted by controlling the current to the generator field windings. This current is often referred to as excitation current. The excitation current to create the electromagnetic field is typically direct current (DC) which can range from 50 amps to 9000 amps and more depending on the size of the generator 102).
Regarding Claim 16, Maldonado in view of Cartlidge disclose the method of claim 13 [see rejected Claim 13],
Maldonado discloses wherein closing the breaker [214] of the generator [202] includes: generating and transmitting, with a controller [230] of the generator, a first control signal to the breaker control relay [210], the breaker control relay [210] configured to select the PMG [“incorporated” Cartlidge’s PMG into Maldonado’s generator 1 of a “102”] as a power source from a set of power sources to source power to close the breaker, wherein, responsive to receipt of the first control signal, the breaker control relay couples the PMG and the breaker such that the power sourced from the PMG is provided to the breaker to cause the breaker to close (¶ [0034]; A power management system 230 is provided for optimizing usage of the generators 202, electricity generation from the generators 202 and distributing power to loads 250. The power management system 230 may include one or more switchgears for distribution of power to loads 250 and one or more emergency generator sets).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 & 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH ORTEGA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834