DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 are amended. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janik (US 20160156603 A1), and further in view of Ritscher (US 20180070839 A1) and Hillyard (US 20130040574 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 5, Janik discloses a device associated with a user for tracking (wearable device 4, Abstract), comprising:
a housing configured to contain electronic components (Fig. 2);
a first transmitter to transmit unique identification data corresponding to the device over a first communication range (via BLE, Para. 52, 55, 63-67, Abstract, Figs. 4, 14);
at least one additional transmitter to transmit unique identification data to an external source at a distance that is less than the first communication range (via NFC, 36, 40, 52, 63-67, Abstract, Figs. 4, 14);
a management system to adjust power consumption for the transmitters (Para. 59-60);
Janik fails to disclose an accelerometer for detecting movement; and the management system to adjust power consumption for the transmitters based on the movement and to adjust transmission timing based on a randomized delay.
Ritscher teaches a device associated with a user for tracking can be configured to include an accelerometer for detecting movement, and a management system to adjust power consumption of the device based on the movement (Para. 70, 36).
Hillyard teaches including a randomized delay in a communication system to reduce interference likelihood (Para. 66).
From the teachings of Ritscher and Hillyard, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an accelerometer for detecting movement; and the management system to adjust power consumption for the transmitters based on the movement in order to conserve battery consumption and to adjust transmission timing based on a randomized delay in order to reduce interference likelihood.
Regarding claim 2, Bluetooth low energy communications have ranges of up to 100 meters, while NFC is built to communicate at up to 4cm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior arts cited to include the management system adjusts transmission timing of the first transmitter (Bluetooth) based on the randomized delay to avoid interference with other Bluetooth devices, without applying the randomized delay to transmission timing of the at least one additional transmitter (NFC) as NFC communications don’t interfere with other NFC communications due to their short range.
Regarding claim 3, Janik discloses wherein the at least one additional transmitter includes at least one of a passive communication module that does not require battery power (powered by the AC magnetic field generated by NFC reader 40, Para. 36).
Regarding claim 4, Janik discloses an identification mechanism, wherein the identification mechanism comprises a user authentication signal (Para. 67).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Janik, Ritscher, Hillyard, and further in view of Townsend (US 20160324470 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the prior arts cited fail to disclose an enclosure configured to be removably attached to a wearable item.
Townsend teaches an enclosure for an electronic device configured to be removably attached to a wearable item (Para. 2 and Fig. 1).
From the teachings of Townsend, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior arts cited to include an enclosure configured to be removably attached to a wearable item in order to allow securing of the enclosure in more than one way, thereby improve convenience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes new references not presented before.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONG HANG JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689