DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (Fig. 1), (claims 1-6, 8, 10-15, 17) in the reply filed on 07/09/2026 is acknowledged. However claims 10-15, 17 do not read on elected species of Fig. 1 and therefore withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 7, 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/09/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “roughness” in claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a roughness” is indefinite as it is not shown or defined how rough it is and therefore any natural roughness during formation of any layers with known semiconductor process is considered for examination purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al (US 2019/0103227 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Lu teaches in Fig. 1-2 about a capacitor, comprising:
a first electrode 105;
a second electrode 102; and
a first capacitor dielectric layer (103 + 104) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the first capacitor dielectric layer comprises a first dielectric layer 104 and a second dielectric layer 103, the first dielectric layer 104 comprises an inorganic dielectric layer [0024], and the second dielectric layer comprises an organic dielectric layer [0035], wherein the first dielectric layer is located between the first electrode and the second dielectric layer (as shown), and the second dielectric layer is located between the first dielectric layer 104 and the second electrode 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lu et al (US 2019/0103227 A1) in view of Kuwajima et al. (TW 200807465 A)
Regarding claim 2: Lu does not explicitly talk about wherein the first dielectric layer has a first surface, the first surface is in contact with the second dielectric layer, the second dielectric layer has a second surface, the second surface is in contact with the second electrode, and a roughness of the first surface is greater than a roughness of the second surface.
However it is known in the art, during manufacturing there is always some roughness between layers as ideally it’s not possible to form any smooth surface and Lee teaches in [0035] that the 2nd surface (as marked the interface between 102 and 103) roughness is controlled and reduced which would therefore be less than the natural surface roughness of the 1st surface (as marked between 103 and 104) depending on layers forming process like CVD, PVD, or CMP etc. Furthermore Kuwajima teaches in page 2 and Fig. 14 n the dielectric layer 103, a portion having a particularly small thickness sometimes occurs, and the insulation of the portion is lowered, resulting in a decrease in the private pressure resistance of the capacitor. In this case, it is easy to cause a short circuit failure of the capacitor due to dielectric breakdown of the dielectric layer 1 (10). Further, when the thickness of the dielectric layer 103 is not uniform, the variation in withstand voltage of the capacitor between the products becomes large. Kuwajima also teaches that a planarization film is used to improve the thickness uniformity of the dielectric film.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to realize from Lee's and Kuwajima’s teachings to have the feature as claimed and thereby to improve capacitance performance and current leakage issues (Lee, [0036]) and avoid short circuit failure for the capacitor (Kuwajima, Page).
Regarding claim 3: Lu does not explicitly talk about wherein a distribution area of the first electrode, the second electrode, and the first capacitor dielectric layer is less than or equal to 50 microns x 50 microns.
However Lee teaches in Fig. 2 and [0030] and well known in the art, higher capacitance is associated with larger area and depending on application delay is designed/optimized which also depends on area of the capacitor.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use have the feature of area size with routine experiment and optimization since the area is critical for delay for signal transmission. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Regarding claim 4: Lee teaches in Fig. 1 about a substrate 101, wherein the first electrode is disposed on the substrate, and the first capacitor dielectric layer and the second electrode are stacked on the first electrode.
Regarding claim 5: Lee teaches in Fig. 3B wherein the substrate has a groove 101a , and the first electrode, the first capacitor dielectric layer, and the second electrode cover the groove.
Regarding claim 6: Lee teaches in [0021] wherein the substrate comprises: a first material layer 101; and a second material layer (oxide layer) disposed on the first material layer.
Regarding claim 8: Lee teaches in [0021] and Fig. 1 wherein the substrate has a groove, the groove is distributed in the second material layer, and the first electrode, the first capacitor dielectric layer, and the second electrode cover the groove.
Conclusion
/Mohammed Shamsuzzaman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897