DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 1017 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, US-PGPUB 2023/0094352 (hereinafter Huang) (cited by the Applicant) in view of Storbeck et al., US-PGPUB 2003/0047012 (hereinafter Storbeck)
Regarding Claims 1 and 12. Huang discloses a wafer handling apparatus (Fig. 1, claim 1), comprising: a housing, a load port mounted on a side of the housing and configured to receive a wafer container, the wafer container being configured to accommodate a
semiconductor wafer (Fig. 1; Paragraphs [0046]-[0051]), a robotic arm disposed inside the housing and configured to transfer the semiconductor wafer into or out of the wafer container (Paragraph [0052], robot arm 270), an air particle detector disposed inside the housing and configured to provide at least one detection signal indicative of a number of particles in air (Paragraphs [0093], [0047]);
a control system communicably coupled to the air particle detector, the control system being configured to receive the at least one detection signal and perform at least one protection action based on the at least one detection signal (Paragraphs [0091], [0048], it’s obvious that there is a controller connected to the air particle detector not only to monitor and perform actions to regulate the air flowing into the tubes, but also to ensure that the number of particles of the clean room is less than a determined standard by regulating the fan and the air filters).
Huang does not explicitly disclose a control system communicably coupled to the air particle detector, the control system being configured to receive the at least one detection signal and perform at least one protection action based on the at least one detection signal.
Storbeck discloses a wafer handling system, which includes measuring the concentration of air particles and taking appropriate protection action (Abstract; Figs. 1-3; Paragraphs [0029], [0048]-[0051]; [0064], [0068]-[0069])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Storbeck in Huang and have a control system communicably coupled to the air particle detector, the control system being configured to receive the at least one detection signal and perform at least one protection action based on the at least one detection signal, and thereby rapidly address the contamination problem.
Regarding Claim 2. Huang discloses the air particle detector is located underneath a path along which the robotic arm moves the semiconductor wafer (Fig. 7A, Paragraphs [0092]-[0096])
Regarding Claim 3. Huang discloses the air particle detector is located underneath or next to a movable mechanical part of the wafer handling apparatus (Fig. 7A, Paragraphs [0092]-[0096])
Regarding Claim 4. Huang discloses the load port comprises a door opening device, the door opening device is configured to open a door of the wafer container received by the load port, wherein the movable mechanical part comprises the door opening device, and the air particle detector is located underneath or next to the door opening device (Fig. 7A, Paragraphs [0092]-[0096])
Regarding Claim 6. Huang disclose the robotic arm comprises an arm portion and a linear motion mechanism configured to move the arm portion, wherein the movable mechanical part comprises the linear motion mechanism, and the air particle detector is located underneath or next to the linear motion mechanism (Fig. 7A, Paragraphs [0052]-[0057]; [0065]; [0080]; Paragraphs [0092]-[0098])
Regarding Claim 13. Huang discloses the air particle detector is located at a first location or a second location, the first location is underneath a path along which the robotic arm moves the semiconductor wafer, and the second location is underneath or next to a movable mechanical part of the wafer handling apparatus (Fig. 7A, Paragraphs [0092]-[0096])
Regarding Claims 7 and 14. Storbeck discloses the at least one protection action comprises transitioning the wafer handling apparatus to a hold state, and wherein the control system is configured to transition the wafer handling apparatus to the hold state in response to a determination, based on the at least one detection signal, that the number of particles in air exceeds a first threshold value (Paragraphs [0068]-[0069], note: the claim does not recite the length of the hold state. Also, replacing the boat obviously involves hold state to make the replacement.)
Regarding Claims 10 and 16. Storbeck discloses the at least one protection action further comprises issuing a warning, the control system is configured to issue the warning in response to the determination that the number of particles in air exceeds the first threshold value, and wherein the warning
comprises location information associated with the air particle detector (Paragraphs [0068]-[0069])
Regarding Claims 11 and 17. Storbeck discloses the control system comprises a processor and a data storage device, the data storage device is configured to store an operating schedule of the wafer handling apparatus, the processor is configured to determine a time at which the number of particles in air exceeds a first threshold value based on the at least one detection signal, and the processor is configured to identify a faulty mechanical part based on the operating schedule and the time at which the number of particles in air exceeds the first threshold value (Fig. 3; Paragraphs [0068]-[0069])
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, US-PGPUB 2023/0094352 in view of Yoo, US-PGPUB 2009/0016853 (hereinafter Yoo)
Regarding Claim 5. Huang discloses the air particle detector is located underneath or next to the robotic arm (Fig. 7A, Paragraphs [0092]-[0096]).
Huang does not explicitly disclose the movable mechanical part comprises a rotatable joint of the robotic arm.
Yoo discloses a wafer-handler, wherein the movable mechanical part comprises a rotatable joint of the robotic arm (Figs. 1-3; Paragraph [0030], Claim 2)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Yoo in Huang and have the movable mechanical part comprises a rotatable joint of the robotic arm, and wherein the air particle detector is located underneath or next to the rotatable joint of the robotic arm, so as to handle the wafer with flexibility.
5. Claims 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, US-PGPUB 2023/0094352 in view of He et al., US-PGPUB 2022/0042694 (hereinafter He)
Regarding Claims 8 and 15. Storbeck discloses the at least one protection action further comprises issuing a notice indicating presence of an anomaly, and wherein the control system is configured to issue the notice in response to a determination, based on the at least one detection signal, that the number of particles in air exceeds a second threshold value, and the second threshold value is less than the first threshold value (Paragraphs [0068]-[0069], while Storbeck discloses a single threshold, it would have been obvious to have multiple thresholds, absent criticality, depending on the designer’s choice and criteria, to distinguish the severity of the contamination)
The modified Huang does not explicitly disclose issuing notice in response to the second threshold.
He discloses monitoring and improving air quality in indoor spaces, including clean rooms (Paragraph [0008]), which includes first and second thresholds, with the second threshold lower than the first threshold (Paragraph [0012]), and providing alerts and notification when the measurement of the air parameter is above the first threshold (Paragraphs [0148]-[0151])
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of He in the modified Huang and have the at least one protection action further comprises issuing a notice indicating presence of an anomaly, and wherein the control system is configured to issue the notice in response to a determination, based on the at least one detection signal, that the number of particles in air exceeds a second threshold value, and the second threshold value is less than the first threshold value, so as to properly maintain the clean rooms for wafer handling.
Regarding Claim 9. Storbeck discloses the notice comprises location information associated with the air particle detector (Paragraphs [0068]-[0069], wafer handler or boat locations)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Blank, US Pat no. 10,155,309
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857