DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This is a non-final rejection in response to the amendments and arguments filed 03/17/2026. Claims 1, 3 and 5-17 are currently pending. Claims 2 and 4 have been canceled. Claims 7-11 and 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended and claims 16-17 new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/17/2026, with respect to the art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner agrees that the prior art Schibsbye does not teach all the limitations as amended in the claims and as argued on page 8-12 of the response, however, the prior art US Patent Application Publication 2010/0260611 to Rudling teaches circumferential stabilizing frame (Fig. 1, 40 for instance) that is positioned between a main beam of a wind turbine blade (30 for instance) and a trailing edge of the wind turbine blade (right edge of 10 for instance, see figure 3) in an inner space of the wind turbine blade (within shells 60 and 70 for instance). See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2020/0124028 to Schibsbye et al. (Schibsbye) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0260611 to Rudling (Rudling).
In Reference to Claim 1
Schibsbye discloses a stability component (Figs. 2-3, 200 and 300 for instance),
wherein the stability component is configured to be arranged in an inner space of a wind turbine blade (as seen in figure 6, see also ¶ [0042]) angled to a longitudinal direction (Fig. 6, along length of blade for instance) of the wind turbine blade by a component interface (outer perimeter of 200 for instance) of the stability component (200 and 300) for stabilizing a blade shell of the wind turbine blade of a wind turbine (¶ [0003], [0045]),
wherein the component interface of the stability component is built at least partially on an edge section of the stability component (periphery of 200 and secured within the blade, see ¶ [0045]),
wherein the stability component is multi-part with at least a first sub-body (Fig. 3, 200 for instance) and a second sub-body (300 for instance), wherein the first sub-body and/or the second sub-body is formed plate-like (200 and 300 for instance, see figures 5 and 6),
wherein at least the first sub-body (200) is arrangeable or arranged with an arrangement section (inner periphery of 200 for instance) on a counter arrangement section of the second sub-body (outer periphery of 300 for instance) to increase the stability of the stability component (inherently of the assembled system for instance),
wherein the first sub-body (200) of the stability component (200 and 300 for instance) is frame-shaped to form a circumferential stabilizing frame (frame of 200 as seen in figure 2 for instance), except, "... wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame surrounds a frame opening, and wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame is positioned between a main beam of the wind turbine blade and a trailing edge of the wind turbine blade in the inner space of the wind turbine blade ....”
Rudling is related to a stability component for a wind turbine blade (Fig. 1, 40 and 50 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a circumferential stabilizing frame (Figs. 1-4, 40 for instance) surrounds a frame opening (opening in 40 for instance), and wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame (40) is positioned between a main beam of the wind turbine blade (30 for instance) and a trailing edge of the wind turbine blade (right edge of 10 for instance, see figure 3) in an inner space of the wind turbine blade (within 10 for instance, see figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Schibsbye wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame (of Schibsbye) surrounds a frame opening (as taught by Rudling), and wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame is positioned between a main beam of the wind turbine blade and a trailing edge of the wind turbine blade in the inner space of the wind turbine blade (as taught by Rudling), so as to use an art known technique (of a frame portion of a stabilizing system that is positioned relative to a main beam and trailing edge of a blade as taught by Rudling) into the system of Schibsbye (as a replacement of the stabilizing frame for instance) and predictably provide stability to the wind turbine blade system.
In Reference to Claim 3
Schibsbye, as modified by Rudling, discloses the stability component according to claim 1, wherein the second sub-body (Schibsbye, 300 for instance) is configured be arranged or is arranged with the counter arrangement section (Schibsbye, inner periphery for instance) on the arrangement section of the first sub-body (Schibsbye, 201 for instance) in such a way that the frame opening is at least partially covered by the second sub-body in order to increase a stability of the stability component (Schibsbye, see figures 3 and 6 for instance).
In Reference to Claim 5
Schibsbye, as modified by Rudling, discloses the stability component according to claim 1, wherein the first sub-body (Schibsbye, 201 for instance) with the arrangement section is arranged detachably, on the counter arrangement section of the second sub-body (Schibsbye, outer periphery of 300 for instance, see also ¶ [0045]).
In Reference to Claim 6
Schibsbye, as modified by Rudling, discloses the stability component according to claim 1, wherein the first sub-body and/or the second sub-body (Schibsbye, 201 and 300 for instance) comprises: a plate-shaped core-body (Schibsbye, Fig. 3, 300 for instance) having a first plate side (Schibsbye, top side of 300 for instance) and a second plate side (Schibsbye, bottom side of 300 for instance) opposite the first plate side, a first cover-body (Schibsbye, 201a for instance) for absorbing forces to stabilize the blade shell of the wind turbine blade (Schibsbye, see the disposition of 200 in blade in figure 6 for instance), wherein the first cover-body is arranged on the first plate side of the core-body (Schibsbye, 201a to top side of 300 for instance), a second cover-body (Schibsbye, 201b for instance) for absorbing forces to stabilize the blade shell of the wind turbine blade (Schibsbye, see the disposition of 200 in blade in figure 6 for instance), wherein the second cover-body is arranged on the second plate side of the core-body (Schibsbye, 201a to bottom side of 300 for instance).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2020/0124028 to Schibsbye et al. (Schibsbye) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0054950 to Rao Kavala (Rao Kavala) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0260611 to Rudling (Rudling).
In Reference to Claim 12
Schibsbye discloses a wind turbine blade for a wind turbine (see blade in figure 6 for instance, not labeled), wherein the wind turbine blade extends in a longitudinal direction from a root region comprising a root attachment interface for attaching the wind turbine blade to a rotor of the wind turbine (left portion of blade for instance), through a middle region comprising a maximum chordal width of the wind turbine blade (central portion of blade for instance), into a tip region comprising a wind turbine blade tip (right end of blade for instance), and wherein the wind turbine blade comprises:
a blade shell (half of which is shown in figure 6, not labeled), the blade shell surrounding an inner space of the wind turbine blade (see 200 in blade in figure 6, see also ¶ [0051]),
a main beam (100 for instance) running in the longitudinal direction of the wind turbine blade (as seen in figure 6 and a web (100),
a stability component (200 for instance, see figures 3 and 5-6), wherein the stability component is configured according to claim 1,
wherein the stability component is arranged by a component interface of the stability component in the inner space of the wind turbine blade angled to the longitudinal direction of the wind turbine blade for stabilizing the blade shell of the wind turbine blade of the wind turbine (see 200 arranged in blade in figure 6 for instance), wherein the component interface of the stability component is built at least partially on an edge section of the stability component (periphery of 200 for instance), wherein the stability component is at least partially arranged on the main beam (200 and 300 as connected to 100 for instance, see also ¶ [0050] and [0051]), and wherein the stability component (200 and 300 for instance) extends from the main beam (100) in a direction towards a trailing edge of the wind turbine blade in the inner space of the wind turbine blade (see figure 6, the left portion of 200 extending toward trailing edge at left side of blade, not labeled), and wherein a sub-body of the stability component (200 of component 200 and 300 for instance) is frame shaped to form a circumferential stabilizing frame surrounding a frame opening (frame of 200 as seen in figure 2 for instance).
Schibsbye does not teach the main beam “... with two opposite arranged spar caps ...” and the web “... connecting the two spar caps ...” or teach “... wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame and the frame opening are positioned between the main beam of the wind turbine blade and the trailing edge of the wind turbine blade in the inner space of the wind turbine blade ....”
Regarding the limitations “... with two opposite arranged spar caps ...” and the web “... connecting the two spar caps ...”: Rao Kavala is related to a wind turbine blade (Fig. 8, 10 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the wind turbine blade comprises a main beam, a single main beam (26 and 28 for instance), running in the longitudinal direction of the wind turbine blade (span of the blade for instance) with two opposite arranged spar caps (28 for instance) and a web (26 for instance) connecting the two spar caps (as seen in figure 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Schibsbye wherein the main beam (of Schibsbye) with two opposite arranged spar caps (as taught by Rao Kavala) and the web (of Schibsbye) connecting the two spar caps (as taught by Rao Kavala), so as to use an art known technique (of a wind turbine blade have two spar caps joined by a web as taught by Rao Kavala) into the system of Schibsbye and predictably form the wind turbine blade of Schibsbye for suitable operation.
Regarding the limitations “... wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame and the frame opening are positioned between the main beam of the wind turbine blade and the trailing edge of the wind turbine blade in the inner space of the wind turbine blade ...”: Rudling is related to a stability component for a wind turbine blade (Fig. 1, 40 and 50 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein a sub-body of the stability component (Figs. 1-4, 40 for instance) is frame shaped to form a circumferential stabilizing frame (40 for instance) surrounding a frame opening (opening in 40 for instance), and wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame (40) and the frame opening (of 40) are positioned between a main beam of the wind turbine blade (30 for instance) and a trailing edge of the wind turbine blade (right edge of 10 for instance, see figure 3) in an inner space of the wind turbine blade (within 10 for instance, see figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Schibsbye wherein the circumferential stabilizing frame (of Schibsbye) and the frame opening (of Schibsbye and as taught by Rudling) are positioned between the main beam of the wind turbine blade and the trailing edge of the wind turbine blade in the inner space of the wind turbine blade (as taught by Rudling), so as to use an art known technique (of a frame portion of a stabilizing system that is positioned relative to a main beam and trailing edge of a blade as taught by Rudling) into the system of Schibsbye (as a replacement of the stabilizing frame for instance) and predictably provide stability to the wind turbine blade system.
In Reference to Claim 13
Schibsbye, as modified by Rao Kavala and Rudling, discloses the wind turbine blade according to claim 12, wherein at least several or a plurality of stability components (Schibsbye Fig. 6, 200 for instance, see also ¶ [0043]) are arranged by a respective component interface in the middle region in the inner space of the wind turbine blade each angled to the longitudinal direction of the wind turbine blade (Schibsbye ¶ [0047], 200 arranged along the span of the blade for instance) for stabilizing the blade shell of the wind turbine blade of the wind turbine (Schibsbye, see ¶ [0003] for instance), wherein the several or the plurality of stability components are arranged spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction of the wind turbine blade (Schibsbye, see ¶ [0047 for instance).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2020/0124028 to Schibsbye et al. (Schibsbye) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0054950 to Rao Kavala (Rao Kavala) and in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0260611 to Rudling (Rudling) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0141282 to Esaki et al. (Esaki).
In Reference to Claim 16
Schibsbye, as modified by Rao Kavala and Rudling, discloses the wind turbine blade according to claim 12, except, "... wherein the stability component does not extend from the main beam toward a leading edge of the wind turbine blade ....”
Esaki is related to a stability component for a wind turbine blade (Fig. 2, 19 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the stability component (19) does not extend from a main beam (15 for instance) toward a leading edge (right edge for instance) of the wind turbine blade (as being disposed in only the trailing edge of the system for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Schibsbye wherein the stability component (of Schibsbye) does not extend from the main beam toward a leading edge of the wind turbine blade (as only disposed in a trailing edge potion as taught by Esaki), so as to use an art known technique (of providing a stability component only in certain portions of a wind turbine blade at taught by Esaki) into the system of Schibsbye and predictably provide stability within the blade.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2020/0124028 to Schibsbye et al. (Schibsbye) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2010/0260611 to Rudling (Rudling) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0141282 to Esaki et al. (Esaki).
In Reference to Claim 17
Schibsbye, as modified by Rudling, discloses the stability component according to claim 1, except, "... wherein the stability component does not extend from the main beam toward a leading edge of the wind turbine blade ....”
Esaki is related to a stability component for a wind turbine blade (Fig. 2, 19 for instance), as the claimed invention, and teaches wherein the stability component (19) does not extend from a main beam (15 for instance) toward a leading edge (right edge for instance) of the wind turbine blade (as being disposed in only the trailing edge of the system for instance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in the system of Schibsbye wherein the stability component (of Schibsbye) does not extend from the main beam toward a leading edge of the wind turbine blade (as only disposed in a trailing edge potion as taught by Esaki), so as to use an art known technique (of providing a stability component only in certain portions of a wind turbine blade at taught by Esaki) into the system of Schibsbye and predictably provide stability within the blade.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, as cited in the Notice of References Cited, are cited to show stability components in wind turbine blades.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745