DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 1.114, the Amendment and Response, all filed 5/01/26.
Claims 1-3, 5-23, and 26 are pending and have been examined on the merits in this action. Claims 4, 24, and 25 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 11 has been withdrawn due to the amendment of the claim.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, and 22 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 5 and 10 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Shi et al. (US 5,795,397) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 14 and 15 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and Ikeda et al. JP H0870787 March 1993 Machine Translation have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 16 and 23 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Lin et al. (US 2005/0037108) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejection of claim 18 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Young et al. (US 7,211,280) has been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 19, 20, and 21 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Townsend et al. (US 2005/0181097) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 24 and 25 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Koehler (US 8,765,180) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejection of claim 26 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Ray (US 2015/0320085) has been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 3, 4, 6, and 7 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Bigeard et al. (US 2010/0136201), Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950), Koehler (US 8,765,180), and Spanier (CA 1,334,260).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 13: Brent discloses a coated pet food with a core and coating. Brent discloses that the pet food can be semi-moist having a moisture content of from about 16% to about 92%, and 16% to 50% [abstract; col. 3, lines 5-11]. Brent discloses the core further comprising a chelant [col. 27. Table Exs. 22-26]. Brent discloses that the core has an animal protein [col. 4, lines 50-53; 61-67] and protein contents of 53.95%, 28.53%, 66.93%, 53.9%, 62.86%, 56.01%, 50.47%, 42.16%, 100%, 50%, and 100% [Ex. 22-26; 30-36]. Brent discloses that the coating contains maltodextrin, a dextrin [col. 7, lines 8-11]. Brent discloses that the coating can comprise other starches [col. 7, lines 12-20]. Brent discloses animal plasma at about 2% to about 4% [Ex. 22-27, 30-33]. Brent discloses starches which are glucose containing carbohydrates [col. 6, lines 50-67].
Brent discloses cooking the edible core ingredients with steam [col. 19, Ex 1-7]. Brent discloses heat setting (drying) the coated cores [col. 20, Ex. 1-7].
Although the reference does not disclose the moisture content at 15 to 50%, 19-25% (claim 12), one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Brent overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Brent does not disclose that the drying step is performed at about 90°C to 110°C for about 40 minutes to 90 minutes.
Brent does not disclose wherein the coating comprises an esterified dextrin and an esterified starch.
Brent does not disclose octenyl succinate hydrolyzed starch and wherein the at least one octenyl succinate hydrolyzed starch is present in an amount of from about 1 wt% to 4 wt% of the total weight of the pet food.
Brent does not disclose an emulsifier and emulsifier selected from the group consisting of diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides, lecithin, mono- and diglycerides, a stearoyl lactate, acetyl esters of monoglycerides, ethoxylated mono- and diglycerides, glycerol monostearate, lactyl esters of monoglycerides, polyglycerol esters, propylene glycol monostearate, polysorbate 60, succinyl monoglyceride, sorbitan monostearate, and sucrose esters.
Brent does not disclose a blood plasma content of at least 6 wt.%;
Van Gijssel discloses a degraded and cross linked starch in a coating for food products and that it can be used in a wide variety of foods and in different applications [abstract; pg. 4 paragraphs 1-3; and last paragraph]. Van Gijssel discloses a composition that contains a coating or shell and that the coating contains esterified starches and dextrin [page 3, 5th paragraph, last paragraph; claims 8 and 11]. Van Gijssel discloses improvement in texture and crispness of the food products containing the coating [abstract].
Sunvold discloses pet food where the inner component can contain emulsifiers [0101; 0122]. Sunvold discloses that the emulsifiers can be diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, sodium and calcium stearoyl-2-lactylates, mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (DATEM) and sucrose esters of fatty acids, citric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, lactic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids and polyglycerol esters, lecithins, polyglycerol esters and polysorbate esters [0046]. Sunvold discloses emulsifiers at .1% to about 2% [0046]. Sunvold discloses a drying step occurring at 90°C to 150°C [0068].
Cheuk discloses dried blood plasma at 7% in a pet food mixture [0033].
Koehler discloses starch octenyl succinate derivative (an esterified starch) in a coating at 0.5 to 50% [col. 4, lines 56-58].
Spanier discloses chewy dog snacks having a moisture content 10% to 20% [pg. 8]. Spanier discloses using modified cereal starch and discloses starch succinate [pg. 14]. Spanier discloses passing through an oven at 185°F to 200°F (85°C to 93.3°C) for 30 minutes [pg. 30; pg. 32; pg. 33].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include an esterified starch and dextrin as in Van Gijssel in order to impart desirable textural properties in the finished product and to help protect the moist core.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include the emulsifiers including DATEM and at amounts as in Sunvold in order to help stabilize the pet food components.
Further it would have been obvious to modify the amount of blood plasma of Brent to include about 7% as in Cheuk in order to provide an alternative source of protein and fat to the pet food.
Although Sunvold does not explicitly disclose 0.5% to 1.1% DATEM one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Sunvold overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of drying in Brent to include drying at 185°F to 200°F (85°C to 93.3°C) for 30 minutes as disclosed in Spanier in order to achieve the desired semi-moist pet food moisture content. Further Spanier discloses starch succinate which is essentially starch octenyl succinate and it would have been obvious to include it in the composition for its stabilizing and thickening abilities.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include starch octenyl succinate derivative as in Koehler in order to stabilize and disperse the other coating materials.
Regarding the amount of octenyl succinate hydrolyzed starch, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional range taught by Koehler overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding the drying temperature, although Spanier does not explicitly disclose 90°C to 110°C one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Spanier overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Further regarding the time for drying, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the time for drying to achieve the desired level of moisture content for providing a semi-moist pet food at the temperature, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272.
Regarding Claims 3, 6, and 7: Brent discloses a coated pet food with a core and coating. Brent discloses that the pet food can be semi-moist having a moisture content of from about 16% to about 92%, and 16% to 50% [abstract; col. 3, lines 5-11]. Brent discloses the core further comprising a chelant [col. 27. Table Exs. 22-26]. Brent discloses that the core has an animal protein [col. 4, lines 50-53; 61-67] and protein contents of 53.95%, 28.53%, 66.93%, 53.9%, 62.86%, 56.01%, 50.47%, 42.16%, 100%, 50%, and 100% [Ex. 22-26; 30-36]. Brent discloses that the coating contains maltodextrin, a dextrin [col. 7, lines 8-11]. Brent discloses that the coating can comprise other starches [col. 7, lines 12-20]. Brent discloses animal plasma at about 2% to about 4% [Ex. 22-27, 30-33].
Brent discloses cooking the edible core ingredients with steam [col. 19, Ex 1-7]. Brent discloses coating the cores and heat setting (drying) the coated cores [col. 20, Ex. 1-7].
Although the reference does not disclose the moisture content at 15 to 50%, 19-25% (claim 12), one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Brent overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Brent does not disclose an emulsifier.
Brent does not disclose that the drying step is performed at about 90°C to 110°C for about 40 minutes to 90 minutes.
Brent does not disclose wherein the coating comprises an esterified dextrin and an esterified starch.
Brent does not disclose octenyl succinate hydrolyzed starch and wherein the at least one octenyl succinate hydrolyzed starch is present in an amount of from about 1 wt% to 4 wt% of the total weight of the pet food.
Brent does not disclose an emulsifier and emulsifier selected from the group consisting of diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides, lecithin, mono- and diglycerides, a stearoyl lactate, acetyl esters of monoglycerides, ethoxylated mono- and diglycerides, glycerol monostearate, lactyl esters of monoglycerides, polyglycerol esters, propylene glycol monostearate, polysorbate 60, succinyl monoglyceride, sorbitan monostearate, and sucrose esters.
Brent does not disclose a blood plasma content of at least 6 wt.%;
Van Gijssel discloses a degraded and cross linked starch in a coating for food products and that it can be used in a wide variety of foods and in different applications [abstract; pg. 4 paragraphs 1-3; and last paragraph]. Van Gijssel discloses a composition that contains a coating or shell and that the coating contains esterified starches and dextrin [page 3, 5th paragraph, last paragraph; claims 8 and 11]. Van Gijssel discloses improvement in texture and crispness of the food products containing the coating [abstract].
Sunvold discloses pet food where the inner component can contain emulsifiers [0101; 0122]. Sunvold discloses that the emulsifiers can be diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, sodium and calcium stearoyl-2-lactylates, mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (DATEM) and sucrose esters of fatty acids, citric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, lactic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids and polyglycerol esters, lecithins, polyglycerol esters and polysorbate esters [0046]. Sunvold discloses emulsifiers at .1% to about 2% [0046].
Cheuk discloses dried blood plasma at 7% in a pet food mixture [0033].
Koehler discloses starch octenyl succinate derivative (an esterified starch) in a coating at 0.5 to 50% [col. 4, lines 56-58].
Spanier discloses chewy dog snacks having a moisture content 10% to 20% [pg. 8]. Spanier discloses using modified cereal starch and discloses starch succinate [pg. 14]. Spanier discloses passing through an oven at 185°F to 200°F (85°C to 93.3°C) for 30 minutes [pg. 30; pg. 32; pg. 33].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include the emulsifiers including DATEM and at amounts as in Sunvold in order to help stabilize the pet food components.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include an esterified starch and dextrin as in Van Gijssel in order to impart desirable textural properties in the finished product and to help protect the moist core.
Further it would have been obvious to modify the amount of blood plasma of Brent to include about 7% as in Cheuk in order to provide an alternative source of protein and fat to the pet food.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include an esterified starch and dextrin as in Van Gijssel in order to impart desirable textural properties in the finished product and to help protect the moist core.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include the emulsifiers including DATEM and at amounts as in Sunvold in order to help stabilize the pet food components.
Further it would have been obvious to modify the amount of blood plasma of Brent to include about 7% as in Cheuk in order to provide an alternative source of protein and fat to the pet food.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of drying in Brent to include drying at 185°F to 200°F (85°C to 93.3°C) for 30 minutes as disclosed in Spanier in order to achieve the desired semi-moist pet food moisture content. Further Spanier discloses starch succinate which is essentially starch octenyl succinate and it would have been obvious to include it in the composition for its stabilizing and thickening abilities.
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include starch octenyl succinate derivative as in Koehler in order to stabilize and disperse the other coating materials.
Regarding the amount of octenyl succinate hydrolyzed starch, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the compositional range taught by Koehler overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding the drying temperature, although Spanier does not explicitly disclose 90°C to 110°C one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Spanier overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Further regarding the time for drying, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the time for drying to achieve the desired level of moisture content for providing a semi-moist pet food at the temperature, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272.
Regarding Claim 8: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent does not disclose wherein the pet food has a resilience measured by Texture Profile Analysis of 0.14 or greater.
However, since Brent discloses the same limitations of claim 1 it would have been expected that the pet food would have had the same amount of resilience as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 9: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent does not disclose wherein the pet food has a cohesiveness measured by Texture Profile Analysis of 0.50 or greater.
However, since Brent discloses the same limitations of claim 1 it would have been expected that the pet food would have had the same amount of cohesiveness as claimed. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 14: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 13. Brent discloses that the animal meat can be derived from muscle meat and meat by products [col. 7, lines 59-65].
Regarding Claim 17: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent does not disclose that the coating contains a chelant.
Sunvold discloses an animal kibble and coating and that the coating can contain chelates [0051].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method Brent to include a chelant in its coating as in Sunvold in order to help prevent precipitation of the ingredients in the coating.
Regarding Claim 22: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent discloses the core further comprising a yeast [col. 35, Iams Savory Sauce® ingredients].
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) Koehler (US 8,765,180), and Spanier (CA 1,334,260) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Shi et al. (US 5,795,397).
Regarding Claims 5 and 10: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent does not disclose that the maltodextrin is esterified.
Shi discloses esterified maltodextrin and that the esterified maltodextrin has improved water dispersibility [abstract].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the maltodextrin of Brent for the esterified maltodextrin of Shi in order to improve the mixing and dispersion of the maltodextrin.
Regarding the amount of maltodextrin, Brent discloses that the coating can be up to 100% of a binder and names maltodextrin as a binder [col. 6, lines 25-67; col. 7, lines 1-11].
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the amount of maltodextrin for producing a coating, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950), Koehler (US 8,765,180), and Spanier (CA 1,334,260) as applied to claim 13 above and in further view of Ikeda et al. JP H0870787 March 1993 Machine Translation.
Regarding Claims 14 and 15: Brent as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 13. Brent discloses the inclusion of meat by product.
Brent does not disclose animal protein comprising at least 50% organ meat(claim 14); animal protein comprising at least 15% viscera (claim 15).
Ikeda discloses a semi -moist pet food containing liver (organ meat) or viscera and that the animal organ meat or viscera represents at least 35% of the total weight of the raw material [0002; 5th page].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include liver or viscera at least about 35% as in Ikeda in order to provide flavor favorable to pets and to provide a cheaper but sustainable and palatable form of protein for the pet food.
Although Ikeda does not explicitly disclose at least 50% one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Ikeda overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Claims 16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950), Koehler (US 8,765,180), and Spanier (CA 1,334,260) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Lin et al. (US 2005/0037108).
Regarding Claim 16: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent does not disclose including at least about .3% tetrapotassium pyrophosphate.
Lin disclose adding palatability enhancers to pet food abstract. Lin discloses adding the palatability enhancer, tetrapotassium pyrophosphate, at 0.1% to 1.0% [abstract; 0023].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious so one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to incorporate tetrapotassium pyrophosphate, at 0.1% to 1.0% as in Lin in order to provide a desirable enhancement of the palatability of the pet food.
One having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Lin overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding Claim 23: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent does not disclose that the coating contains fat and at least one phosphate.
Lin disclose that it is known to add fat and phosphoric acid ( a phosphate) to a coating for pet food [0007]. Lin discloses animal fat and tetrapotassium pyrophosphate ( a phosphate) in a coating [0010; 0011].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify the method of Brent to include a fat and phosphate as in Lin in order to help enhance the palatability of animal feed or pet food.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950), Koehler (US 8,765,180), and Spanier (CA 1,334,260) as applied to claim 17 above and in further view of Young et al. (US 7,211,280).
Regarding Claim 18: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 17. Brent does not disclose that the citrate is calcium citrate or sodium citrate.
Sunvold discloses an animal kibble and coating and that the coating can contain potassium citrate [0051].
Young discloses including calcium citrate in a pet food as a calcium source [col. 3, lines 7-12].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the method Brent to include calcium citrate as in Young in order to help prevent precipitation of the ingredients in the coating (Sunvold) and in order to supply a source of calcium (Young).
Claims 19, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950), Koehler (US 8,765,180), and Spanier (CA 1,334,260) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Townsend et al. (US 2005/0181097).
Regarding Claim 19: Brent discloses as discussed above. Brent does not disclose wherein a water activity (Aw) of the edible pet food is from 0.7 to 0.8.
Townsend discloses a pet food having a water activity of .65 to .80 [0110].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to have a water activity of .65 to 80 as in Townsend since both disclose semi-moist pet food and the water activity would have been desirable for inhibiting the growth of unwanted microbes.
Although the reference does not disclose the water activity of .7 to .8, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Townsend overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding Claims 20 and 21: Brent discloses as discussed above. Brent does not disclose further comprising at least one humectant (claim 20); wherein the at least one humectant is selected from glycol, glycerol, pectin, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC), and any combination thereof. (claim 21).
Townsend discloses including a humectant in the pet food [0095; 0108; 0115]. Townsend discloses propylene glycol or glycerin as humectants [0095].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include a humectant such as in Townsend in order to make the intermediate moisture containing product microbially stable.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950), Koehler (US 8,765,180), and Spanier (CA 1,334,260) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Ray (US 2015/0320085).
Regarding Claim 26: Brent discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Brent does not disclose further comprising packing the pet food in a pack, wherein the pack comprises an airtight interior chamber, wherein the interior chamber comprises an amount of two or more gases, and wherein the two or more gases comprise at least 60 vol% nitrogen and at least 25 vol% carbon dioxide.
Ray discloses packaging pet food in containers that are sealed under modified atmosphere including nitrogen and carbon dioxide [0084; 0087; 0090].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Brent to include packaging under modified atmosphere and sealing as in Ray in order to provide the pet food in shelf stable form.
Although Ray does not disclose 60% nitrogen and at least 25% carbon dioxide, it does disclose the gases as the two that make up the modified atmosphere and therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to adjust the levels of nitrogen and carbon dioxide for preserving pet food, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272.
Response to Arguments
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 11 has been withdrawn due to the amendment of the claim.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 17, and 22 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 5 and 10 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Shi et al. (US 5,795,397) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 14 and 15 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and Ikeda et al. JP H0870787 March 1993 Machine Translation have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 16 and 23 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Lin et al. (US 2005/0037108) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejection of claim 18 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Young et al. (US 7,211,280) has been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 19, 20, and 21 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Townsend et al. (US 2005/0181097) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 24 and 25 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Koehler (US 8,765,180) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejection of claim 26 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation) and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) and in further view of Ray (US 2015/0320085) has been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 1.
The 103(a) rejections of claims 3, 4, 6, and 7 over Brent, Jr. (US 9,480,275) in view of Bigeard et al. (US 2010/0136201), Sunvold et al. (US 2012/0021094), Van Gijssel et al. (EP 1361802 2003 Machine Translation), and Cheuk et al. (EP 1241950) have been withdrawn due to the amendments to claim 3.
Regarding the rejections, the Applicants assert that the references do not disclose drying at the newly recited time and temperature.
The Examiner notes that new art has been added in view of the amendment to the claim.
The Applicants assert that Kohler is not concerned with bloom or preventing the formation of a white film on the pet food. The Applicants assert that Kohler disclosed creating a white coating and requires calcium carbonate. The Applicants assert that coating for coloring purposes is only contemplated by Kohler.
The Examiner disagrees and notes that the starch ocentyl succinate of Kohler aids in dispersion and it would have been advantageous to add it in order to improve achieving a homogenous or even mixture of the ingredients in the pet food.
Regarding the rejections of claims 3, 4, 6, 7, the arguments are moot in light of the amendment and the new art applied in response to the amendment.
Regarding the rejections of claim 5 and 10, the Applicants assert that Shi does not remedy the deficiencies of Brent and the other secondary references. The Applicants assert that Shi only discloses esterified maltodextrin and that increased water dispersibility is not a reason for the incorporation.
The Examiner disagrees and maintains that the inclusion of esterified maltodextrin is relevant because increasing dispersibility will help in providing an equal or homogenous mixture of the ingredients.
Regarding the rejection of claims 14 and 15, the Applicants assert that reliance on Ikeda does not remedy the deficiencies of the other references.
The Examiner maintains that Ikeda was relevant for the limitation it was included to teach. The Examiner maintains that Brent and secondary references were not deficient for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding the rejections of claims 16 and 23, the Applicants assert that reliance on Lin does not remedy the deficiencies of the other references. The Applicants also assert that Lin is drawn to dry to semi-moist pet foods and that Brent is drawn to moist to semi-moist pet foods and that therefore applying Lin would require altering the moisture content of Brent.
The Examiner maintains that Lin was relevant for the limitation it was included to teach. The Examiner maintains that Brent and secondary references were not deficient for the reasons discussed above. Further the references are overlapping in the relevant moisture content of their products with Brent encompassing pet food with a moisture of about 16 to 92% [Brent, abstract] and with Lin encompassing pet food with a moisture content of 50% or less [Lin 0014; 0023]. Their scopes are overlapping and therefore it would have been obvious to modify Brent with the teachings of Lin.
Regarding claim 18, the Applicants assert that Young does not correct the deficiencies of Brent and the other secondary references.
The Examiner maintains that Young was relevant to the limitation it taught and that the other references were not deficient for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding Claim 19, 20, and 21, the Applicants assert that Townsend does not correct the deficiencies of Brent and the other secondary references. The Applicants assert Townsend is relevant to pet food that can be held and not semi-moist pet food.
The Examiner maintains that Townsend was relevant for the limitations it taught and that the other references were not deficient for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding Claim 26 the Applicants assert that Ray does not remedy the deficiencies of Brent and the other secondary references.
The Examiner maintains the Ray met the limitations for which it was included and the Examiner maintains Brent and the secondary references were not deficient for the reasons discussed above.
Conclusion
/Felicia C Turner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793