DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/13/2026. The previous objections to the drawings have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 remain pending for consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, “the plurality of fixed members are long fixed rods; a plurality of fixed rods are enclosed to form the fixed chamber; an edge of the ice bucket is abutted against the plurality of fixed rods and is provided in the fixed chamber” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a plurality of fixed rods are enclosed to form the fixed chamber” includes a grammatical error and for examination purposes will be interpreted as -- a plurality of fixed rods is enclosed to form the fixed chamber --
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8-10 are also objected to due to dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the plurality of fixed members are long fixed rods; a plurality of fixed rods is enclosed to form the fixed chamber” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “long fixed rods” and “plurality of fixed rods” are referring to the same structures or to entirely different structures. More clarity is requested.
Claims 2, 4-6, and 8-10 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munson (US 20240075972 A1), in view of Robison (US 3940175), and in further view of Reynolds (US 20020020304 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Munson teaches a trolley (serving cart 2 Fig. 1), comprising: a moving bracket (Fig. 32) comprising a bracket body (frame 4 Fig. 32), a storage portion (sliding drawers 28, 30a, and 30b Fig. 1) and a fixed table (work surface 24 and cooler door 110 Fig. 21), wherein the storage portion and the fixed table are provided on the bracket body (Fig. 1), the storage portion is provided below the fixed table (Fig. 1) and provided with a put-in port (corresponds to the opening and interior volume of sliding drawer 28 Figs. 1 and 21), a pick-and-place port (corresponds to the spacing between work surface 24 and sliding drawer 28 Fig. 1) is provided between the storage portion and the fixed table (Fig. 1), and the put-in port is communicated with the pick-and-place port (Fig. 1); and an ice bucket (ice chest 32 Fig. 9) placed in the storage portion from the put-in port (Figs. 9 and 21); the storage portion comprises a plurality of fixed members (sidewalls of sliding drawer 28 Fig. 21) connected to each other and enclosed to form a fixed chamber (interior volume of sliding drawer 28 Figs. 9 and 21); and the fixed table comprises a table plate (work surface 24 Fig. 21) and an extending plate (cooler door 110 Fig. 21); the table plate is provided on the bracket body (Fig. 21) and is provided above the storage portion (Fig. 21), the extending plate is provided on one side of the table plate (Figs. 20-21) in a width direction (width direction of serving cart 2 Figs. 20-21) and is configured to extend outside (Figs. 20-21); the extending plate is provided on the bracket body (Fig. 21).
Munson teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a drain port is provided at a bottom of the storage portion; the extending plate is rotatably provided to be unfolded or folded relative to the table plate”.
However, Robison teaches wherein a drain port (discharge spout 67 Fig. 3) is provided at a bottom of a storage portion (Fig. 3 where compartment 36 corresponds to the storage portion of Munson); an extending plate (door 52 Figs. 1 and 3 corresponds to the extending plate of Munson) is rotatably provided to be unfolded or folded (Figs. 1 and 3 with Col. 3 lines 23-33) relative to a table plate (Figs. 1 and 3 where cover 27 corresponds to the table plate of Munson) to dispense a desired quantity of water from the container at any time (Col. 3 lines 41-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Munson to include “wherein a drain port is provided at a bottom of the storage portion; the extending plate is rotatably provided to be unfolded or folded relative to the table plate” in view of the teachings of Robison to dispense a desired quantity of water from the container at any time.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the plurality of fixed members are long fixed rods; a plurality of fixed rods is enclosed to form the fixed chamber; an edge of the ice bucket is abutted against the plurality of fixed rods and is provided in the fixed chamber”.
However, Reynolds teaches a plurality of fixed members (platform supports 50 and frame 12 Fig. 2 correspond to the plurality of fixed members of Munson) are long fixed rods (Fig. 2); a plurality of fixed rods (platform supports 50 and frame 12 Fig. 2) is enclosed to form a fixed chamber (Fig. 1 where the interior of heating device holder 48 corresponds to the fixed chamber of Munson); an edge of an ice bucket (flanges of pan 16 Fig. 1 where pans 16 correspond to the ice bucket of Munson) is abutted against the plurality of fixed rods (Fig. 1) and is provided in the fixed chamber (Fig. 1) to provide a plurality of wells configure to receive the ice bucket (paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the plurality of fixed members are long fixed rods; a plurality of fixed rods is enclosed to form the fixed chamber; an edge of the ice bucket is abutted against the plurality of fixed rods and is provided in the fixed chamber” in view of the teachings of Reynolds to provide a plurality of wells configure to receive the ice bucket.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the ice bucket is provided with an accommodating chamber (interior volume of ice chest 32 Figs. 9 and 21 of Munson) and an opening (opening of ice chest 32 Fig. 21 of Munson) communicated with the accommodating chamber (Fig. 21 of Munson), the opening is configured to face the fixed table (Fig. 9 of Munson).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a height of the pick-and-place port between the storage portion and the fixed table is greater than a height of the ice bucket”.
However, referring to paragraph [0070], Munson does teach providing an opening into sliding drawer 28 “large enough to remove and replace a standard one-liter bottle to and from the top drawer 28”.
Thus, the “a height of the pick-and-place port between the storage portion and the fixed table is greater than a height of the ice bucket” is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is a height of the pick-and-place port being greater than a height of the ice bucket.
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. a pick-and-place port with a certain height and an ice bucket, were disclosed in the prior art by Munson, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide “a height of the pick-and-place port between the storage portion and the fixed table is greater than a height of the ice bucket”.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach wherein the ice bucket comprises a first ice bucket (first pan 16 located on the left Fig. 1 of Reynolds) and a second ice bucket (middle pan 16 Fig. 1 of Reynolds), the storage portion (heating device holder 48 Fig. 1 of Reynolds corresponds to the storage portion of Munson) further comprises a separating plate (corresponds to the first left beam of frame 12 that separates the two left wells 14 Figs. 1-2 of Reynolds), the separating plate is connected to the plurality of fixed members (the outer perimeter of frame 12 Figs. 1-2 of Reynolds corresponds to the plurality of fixed members of Munson) to separate the fixed chamber into a first fixed chamber (first left well 14 Figs. 1-2 of Reynolds) and a second fixed chamber (second left well 14 Figs. 1-2 of Reynolds), the first ice bucket is provided in the first fixed chamber (Fig. 1 of Reynolds), and the second ice bucket is provided in the second fixed chamber (Fig. 1 of Reynolds).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the first ice bucket and the second ice bucket both comprise a bucket body (body of pan 16 Fig. 1 of Reynolds) and two lugs (flange surrounding the outer perimeter of pan 16 Fig. 1 of Reynolds) respectively provided on both sides of the bucket body (Fig. 1 of Reynolds where the flange is provided on all four sides of pan 16), the two lugs are configured to extend outward (Fig. 1 of Reynolds) and abut against the plurality of fixed members and the separating plate (Fig. 1 of Reynolds), and the accommodating chamber (the interior volume of pan 16 Fig. 1 of Reynolds corresponds to the accommodating chamber of Munson) and the opening (the top opening of pan 16 Fig. 1 of Reynolds corresponds to the opening of Munson) are provided in the bucket body (Fig. 1 of Reynolds).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein the fixed table further comprises a storage box (removable caddies 40 and 42 Fig. 2 of Munson) provided on one side of the table plate (Fig. 22 of Munson) in a length direction (length direction of serving cart 2 Fig. 22 of Munson).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the moving bracket further comprises a pusher (user handle Figs. 1 and 21 of Munson) provided on one side of the fixed table (Fig. 21 of Munson) away from the extending plate.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein a wheel (wheels 10 Fig. 7 of Munson) is provided at a bottom of the moving bracket (Fig. 7 of Munson).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manson, Robison, and Reynolds as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Na et al. (KR20070015320A, herein after referred to as Na).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the first ice bucket and the second ice bucket both comprise a fixed cover (lids 18 Fig. 1 of Reynolds).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the bucket body is recessed with a groove, and the fixed cover is configured to cover the accommodating chamber in the groove”.
However, Na teaches a bucket body (body 110 Figs. 3-4 corresponds to the bucket body of Reynolds) is recessed with a groove (corresponds to the groove on which edges of lid 120 are inserted Fig. 4), and a fixed cover (lid 120 Fig. 4 corresponds to the fixed cover of Reynolds) is configured to cover an accommodating chamber (product storage space 140 Figs. 3-4 corresponds to the accommodating chamber of Munson) in the groove (Fig. 4) to stabilize the fixed cover when placed on the top of the bucket body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the bucket body is recessed with a groove, and the fixed cover is configured to cover the accommodating chamber in the groove” in view of the teachings of Na to stabilize the fixed cover when placed on the top of the bucket body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually on pages 8-11, Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the case at hand, and for clarity purposes, the above rejection of amended claim 1 is repeated:
Munson teaches a moving bracket (Fig. 32) comprising a bracket body (frame 4 Fig. 32), a storage portion (sliding drawers 28, 30a, and 30b Fig. 1) and a fixed table (work surface 24 and cooler door 110 Fig. 21), wherein the storage portion and the fixed table are provided on the bracket body (Fig. 1), the storage portion is provided below the fixed table (Fig. 1) and provided with a put-in port (corresponds to the opening and interior volume of sliding drawer 28 Figs. 1 and 21), a pick-and-place port (corresponds to the spacing between work surface 24 and sliding drawer 28 Fig. 1) is provided between the storage portion and the fixed table (Fig. 1), and the put-in port is communicated with the pick-and-place port (Fig. 1); and an ice bucket (ice chest 32 Fig. 9) placed in the storage portion from the put-in port (Figs. 9 and 21); the storage portion comprises a plurality of fixed members (sidewalls of sliding drawer 28 Fig. 21) connected to each other and enclosed to form a fixed chamber (interior volume of sliding drawer 28 Figs. 9 and 21); and the fixed table comprises a table plate (work surface 24 Fig. 21) and an extending plate (cooler door 110 Fig. 21); the table plate is provided on the bracket body (Fig. 21) and is provided above the storage portion (Fig. 21), the extending plate is provided on one side of the table plate (Figs. 20-21) in a width direction (width direction of serving cart 2 Figs. 20-21) and is configured to extend outside (Figs. 20-21); the extending plate is provided on the bracket body (Fig. 21).
The above apparatus on Munson is modified by the teachings of Robinson to include a drain port (discharge spout 67 Fig. 3) is provided at a bottom of a storage portion (Fig. 3 where compartment 36 corresponds to the storage portion); an extending plate (door 52 Figs. 1 and 3 corresponds to the extending plate) is rotatably provided to be unfolded or folded (Figs. 1 and 3 with Col. 3 lines 23-33) relative to a table plate (Figs. 1 and 3 where cover 27 corresponds to the table plate) to dispense a desired quantity of water from the container at any time (Col. 3 lines 41-46).
The above apparatus of Munson is further modified by the teachings of Reynolds to include a plurality of fixed members (platform supports 50 and frame 12 Fig. 2 correspond to the plurality of fixed members) are long fixed rods (Fig. 2); a plurality of fixed rods (platform supports 50 and frame 12 Fig. 2) is enclosed to form a fixed chamber (Fig. 1 where the interior of heating device holder 48 corresponds to the fixed chamber); an edge of an ice bucket (flanges of pan 16 Fig. 1 where pans 16 correspond to the ice bucket) is abutted against the plurality of fixed rods (Fig. 1) and is provided in the fixed chamber (Fig. 1) to provide a plurality of wells configure to receive the ice bucket (paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763