DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/1/2025, 8/7/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Note applicable to all claims being rejected in this Office action: Examiner notes that the limitations "overlap", "layer", "portion", “on”, “between” are being interpreted broadly in accordance with MPEP. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. The claim presently discloses a structural limitation (i.e. overlap, layer, portion, contact) that is taught by prior art of record, therefore, the limitation is considered met by the prior art of record. Additionally, Merriam Webster dictionary defines the above limitations as “to occupy the same area in part”, “one thickness lying over or under another”, “an often limited part of a whole” “a function word to indicate position in close proximity with” “in the intervening space” respectively. Further note the limitation “contact” is being interpreted to include "direct contact" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between) and "indirect contact" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, Chih-Wei (US 2021/0407908 A1 hereinafter Huang) in view of Noh et al (US 2020/0381436 A1 hereinafter Noh).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: A method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming an active region (aa) in a substrate (100) Fig 3A;
forming a trench (RS) in the substrate, wherein the trench has side surfaces and a bottom surface Fig 3B [0036];
forming a recess gate structure (104) in the substrate, wherein the recess gate structure intersects the active region (See Fig 3B);
forming at least one dielectric layer (110) on the substrate;
forming a bit line contact (112/114: BC) in the at least one dielectric layer;
forming a bit line (BL) over the bit line contact (BC) and in an additional dielectric layer (110c) Fig 3E;
forming a contact structure (112/114) on the substrate, wherein the contact structure is located at a side of the recess gate structure (104), and is electrically connected to the active region (AA);
sequentially forming a first conductive layer (108) and a second conductive layer (120) over the substrate, wherein the contact structure (112/114) is covered by the first and second conductive layers (See Fig 3G);
forming a conductive pillar (CP) and a landing pad (116) over the substrate, wherein the conductive pillar overlaps and electrically connects to the contact structure, the landing pad covers and electrically connects to the conductive pillar, and a sidewall of the conductive pillar is laterally recessed from a sidewall of the landing pad (See Fig 3H, 3I); and
forming a dielectric layer (110d) to laterally surround the conductive pillar and the landing pad (See Fig 3J);
wherein the recess gate structure is formed by:
oxidizing the side surfaces and the bottom surface the trench to conformally form a gate insulating layer (106), having a U-shaped configuration, in the trench at a position that the gate insulating layer is formed on side surfaces and a bottom surface of the trench (See Fig 3B) [0036];
wherein a top surface of the gate insulating layer (106), a top surface of the capping layer (108), and a top surface of the substrate (100) are coplanar with each other [0034-0044].
Huang does not disclose: forming a work function layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench; forming a first conductive layer on the work function layer, within the gate insulating layer, and in the trench; and forming a capping layer on the first conductive layer and in the trench;
However, Noh in a similar device teaches in Fig 6D-6H: forming a work function layer (124) on the gate insulating layer and in the trench;
forming a first conductive layer (126) on the work function layer, within the gate insulating layer, and in the trench; and
forming a capping layer (128) on the first conductive layer and in the trench;
[0029-0034].
References Huang and Noh are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Noh because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Noh so that forming a work function layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench; forming a first conductive layer on the work function layer, within the gate insulating layer, and in the trench; and forming a capping layer on the first conductive layer and in the trench as taught by Noh in Huang’s method since, this provides a novel technique for precisely controlling the threshold voltage of the gate electrode and enhancing the reliability of the integrated circuit device.
Regarding Claim 2, Huang and Noh disclose: The method of claim 1, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: wherein the formation of the landing pad (116) is performed by a first etching process (Fig 3H, 3H) [0042].
Regarding Claim 3, Huang and Noh disclose: The method of claim 2, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: wherein the formation of the conductive pillar is performed by the first etching process and sequentially by a second etching process (Fig 3H, 3I) [0042].
Regarding Claim 4, Huang and Noh disclose: The method of claim 3, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: wherein the first etching process is an anisotropic etching process, and the second etching process is an isotropic etching process [0042, 0043] See Fig 3H, 3I.
Regarding Claim 5, Huang and Noh disclose: The method of claim 1, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: further comprising: forming a capacitor plug (PG) disposed over and electrically connected to the landing pad (CP) [0047].
Regarding Claim 6, Huang and Noh disclose: The method of claim 5, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: further comprising: forming a storage capacitor (SC) disposed over and electrically connected to the capacitor plug (Fig 3N) [0048].
Claims 1, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang, Chih-Wei (US 2021/0407908 A1 hereinafter Huang) in view of Lee et al (US 2017/0365608 A1 hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: A method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming an active region (aa) in a substrate (100) Fig 3A;
forming a trench (RS) in the substrate, wherein the trench has side surfaces and a bottom surface [0036];
forming a recess gate structure (104) in the substrate, wherein the recess gate structure intersects the active region (See Fig 3B);
forming at least one dielectric layer (110) on the substrate;
forming a bit line contact (112/114: BC) in the at least one dielectric layer;
forming a bit line (BL) over the bit line contact (BC) and in an additional dielectric layer (110c) Fig 3E;
forming a contact structure (112/114) on the substrate, wherein the contact structure is located at a side of the recess gate structure (104), and is electrically connected to the active region (AA);
sequentially forming a first conductive layer (108) and a second conductive layer (120) over the substrate, wherein the contact structure (112/114) is covered by the first and second conductive layers (See Fig 3G);
forming a conductive pillar (CP) and a landing pad (116) over the substrate, wherein the conductive pillar overlaps and electrically connects to the contact structure, the landing pad covers and electrically connects to the conductive pillar, and a sidewall of the conductive pillar is laterally recessed from a sidewall of the landing pad (See Fig 3H, 3I); and
forming a dielectric layer (110d) to laterally surround the conductive pillar and the landing pad (See Fig 3J);
wherein the recess gate structure is formed by:
oxidizing the side surfaces and the bottom surface the trench to conformally form a gate insulating layer (106), having a U-shaped configuration, in the trench at a position that the gate insulating layer is formed on side surfaces and a bottom surface of the trench (See Fig 3B) [0036];
wherein a top surface of the gate insulating layer (106), a top surface of the capping layer (108), and a top surface of the substrate (100) are coplanar with each other [0034-0044].
Huang does not disclose: forming a work function layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench; forming a first conductive layer on the work function layer within the gate insulating layer, and in the trench, and forming a capping layer on the first conductive layer and in the trench;
However, Lee in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: forming a work function layer (146) on the gate insulating layer (120) and in the trench;
forming a first conductive layer (144) on the work function layer within the gate insulating layer, and in the trench; and
forming a capping layer (136) on the first conductive layer and in the trench;
wherein the word function layer (146), the first conductive layer (144), and the capping layer (136) are surrounded by the gate insulating layer (120) [0102].
References Huang and Lee are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Lee because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Lee so that forming a work function layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench; forming a first conductive layer on the work function layer, within the gate insulating layer, and in the trench; and forming a capping layer on the first conductive layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench as taught by Lee in Huang’s method since, since, this provides a semiconductor device capable of reducing a leakage current of a transistor.
Regarding Claim 7, Huang and Lee disclose: The method of claim 1.
Huang does not disclose: wherein the recess gate structure further comprises:
conformally disposing a liner layer on the first conductive layer and on the gate insulating layer, and disposed between the capping layer and the first conductive layer; and disposing a second conductive layer between the capping layer and the liner layer;
wherein the liner layer is formed in a U-shaped cross-sectional profile for the second conductive layer disposing therein.
However, Lee in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein the recess gate structure further comprises: conformally disposing a liner layer (149_s) on the first conductive layer (144) and on the gate insulating layer (120), and disposed between the capping layer (136) and the first conductive layer (144); and disposing a second conductive layer (148) between the capping layer and the liner layer; wherein the liner layer (149_s) is formed in a U-shaped cross-sectional profile for the second conductive layer (148) disposing therein [0102].
References Huang and Lee are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Lee because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Lee so that the recess gate structure further comprises: conformally disposing a liner layer on the first conductive layer and on the gate insulating layer, and disposed between the capping layer and the first conductive layer; and disposing a second conductive layer between the capping layer and the liner layer; wherein the liner layer is formed in a U-shaped cross-sectional profile for the second conductive layer disposing therein as taught by Lee in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device capable of reducing a leakage current of a transistor.
Regarding Claim 8, Huang and Lee disclose: The method of claim 7.
Huang does not disclose: wherein a top surface of the liner layer is coplanar with a bottom surface of the capping layer.
However, Lee in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein a top surface of the liner layer (149_s) is coplanar with a bottom surface of the capping layer (136) [0102].
References Huang and Lee are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Lee because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Lee so that a top surface of the liner layer is coplanar with a bottom surface of the capping layer as taught by Lee in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device capable of reducing a leakage current of a transistor.
Regarding Claim 9, Huang and Lee disclose: The method of claim 8.
Huang does not disclose: wherein a top surface of the second conductive layer, the top surface of the liner layer, and the bottom surface of the capping layer are coplanar.
However, Lee in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein a top surface of the second conductive layer (148), the top surface of the liner layer (149_s), and the bottom surface of the capping layer (136) are coplanar [0102].
References Huang and Lee are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Lee because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Lee so that a top surface of the second conductive layer, the top surface of the liner layer, and the bottom surface of the capping layer are coplanar as taught by Lee in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device capable of reducing a leakage current of a transistor.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen, Te-Yin (US 2021/0408005 A1 hereinafter Chen) in view of Huang, Tse-Yao (US 2024/0222370 A1 hereinafter Huang70).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses in Fig 2, 3A-3N: A method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming an active region (aa) in a substrate (100) Fig 3A;
forming a trench (RS) in the substrate, wherein the trench has side surfaces and a bottom surface [0036];
forming a recess gate structure (104) in the substrate, wherein the recess gate structure intersects the active region (See Fig 3B);
forming at least one dielectric layer (110) on the substrate;
forming a bit line contact (112/114: BC) in the at least one dielectric layer;
forming a bit line (BL) over the bit line contact (BC) and in an additional dielectric layer (110c) Fig 3E;
forming a contact structure (112/114) on the substrate, wherein the contact structure is located at a side of the recess gate structure (104), and is electrically connected to the active region (AA);
sequentially forming a first conductive layer (108) and a second conductive layer (120) over the substrate, wherein the contact structure (112/114) is covered by the first and second conductive layers (See Fig 3G);
forming a conductive pillar (CP) and a landing pad (116) over the substrate, wherein the conductive pillar overlaps and electrically connects to the contact structure, the landing pad covers and electrically connects to the conductive pillar, and a sidewall of the conductive pillar is laterally recessed from a sidewall of the landing pad (See Fig 3H, 3I); and
forming a dielectric layer (110d) to laterally surround the conductive pillar and the landing pad (See Fig 3J);
wherein the recess gate structure is formed by:
oxidizing the side surfaces and the bottom surface the trench to conformally form a gate insulating layer (106), having a U-shaped configuration, in the trench at a position that the gate insulating layer is formed on side surfaces and a bottom surface of the trench (See Fig 3B) [0036];
wherein a top surface of the gate insulating layer (106), a top surface of the capping layer (108), and a top surface of the substrate (100) are coplanar with each other [0034-0044].
Huang does not disclose: forming a work function layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench; forming a first conductive layer on the work function layer, within the gate insulating layer, and in the trench; and forming a capping layer on the first conductive layer and in the trench;
However, Huang70 in a similar device teaches in Fig 1-16: forming a work function layer (313) on the gate insulating layer (311) and in the trench;
forming a first conductive layer (317) on the work function layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench; and
forming a capping layer (323) on the first conductive layer and in the trench [0087-0089].
References Huang and Huang70 are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Huang70 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Huang70 so that forming a work function layer on the gate insulating layer and in the trench; forming a first conductive layer on the work function layer within the gate insulating layer and in the trench; and forming a capping layer on the first conductive layer and in the trench as taught by Huang70 in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device’s gate structure with a low resistance [0007].
Regarding Claim 7, Huang and Huang70 disclose: The method of claim 1.
Huang does not disclose: wherein the recess gate structure further comprises:
conformally disposing a liner layer on the first conductive layer and on the gate insulating layer, and disposed between the capping layer and the first conductive layer; and disposing a second conductive layer between the capping layer and the liner layer;
wherein the liner layer is formed in a U-shaped cross-sectional profile for the second conductive layer disposing therein.
However, Huang70 in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein the recess gate structure further comprises: conformally disposing a liner layer (319) on the first conductive layer (317) and on the gate insulating layer (311), and disposed between the capping layer (323) and the first conductive layer (317); and disposing a second conductive layer (321) between the capping layer and the liner layer; wherein the liner layer (319) is formed in a U-shaped cross-sectional profile for the second conductive layer (321) disposing therein [0059].
References Huang and Huang70 are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Huang70 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Huang70 so that the recess gate structure further comprises: conformally disposing a liner layer on the first conductive layer and on the gate insulating layer, and disposed between the capping layer and the first conductive layer; and disposing a second conductive layer between the capping layer and the liner layer; wherein the liner layer is formed in a U-shaped cross-sectional profile for the second conductive layer disposing therein as taught by Huang70 in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device’s gate structure with a low resistance [0007].
Regarding Claim 10, Huang and Huang70 disclose: The method of claim 7.
Huang does not disclose: wherein the liner layer is formed of a material having an etching selectivity to the gate insulating layer.
However, Huang70 in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein the liner layer (319) is formed of a material having an etching selectivity to the gate insulating layer (311) [0059].
References Huang and Huang70 are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Huang70 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Huang70 so that the liner layer is formed of a material having an etching selectivity to the gate insulating layer as taught by Huang70 in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device’s gate structure with a low resistance [0007].
Regarding Claim 11, Huang and Huang70 disclose: The method of claim 10.
Huang does not disclose: wherein the liner layer is formed of a material including sp² hybridized carbon atoms.
However, Huang in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein the liner layer (319) is formed of a material including sp² hybridized carbon atoms [0061].
References Huang and Huang70 are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Huang70 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Huang70 so wherein the liner layer is formed of a material including sp² hybridized carbon atoms as taught by Huang70 in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device’s gate structure with a low resistance [0007].
Regarding Claim 12, Huang and Huang70 disclose: The method of claim 7.
Huang does not disclose: wherein the second conductive layer is formed of molybdenum.
However, Huang70 in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein the second conductive layer (321) is formed of molybdenum [0066].
References Huang and Huang70 are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Huang70 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Huang70 so the second conductive layer is formed of molybdenum as taught by Huang70 in Huang’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device’s gate structure with a low resistance [0007].
Regarding Claim 13, Huang and Huang70 disclose: The method of claim 12.
Huang does not disclose: wherein the second conductive layer is formed by a chemical vapor deposition process.
However, Huang70 in a similar device teaches in Fig 10: wherein the second conductive layer (321) is formed by a chemical vapor deposition process [0066].
References Huang and Huang70 are analogous art because they both are directed to manufacturing methods of memory devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify method of Huang with the specified features of Huang70 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing of the invention to combine teachings of Huang and Huang70 so that the second conductive layer is formed by a chemical vapor deposition process as taught by Huang in Huang70’s method since, this provides a semiconductor device’s gate structure with a low resistance [0007].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NISHATH YASMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811