DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment – Interview Summary
The Examiner contacted Attorney George Howarah on February 4, 2026 in order to propose an Examiner’s Amendment to claims 1 and 8, as follows:
1. (Currently Amended) A pixel array, comprising:
a pixel sensor;
a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor; and
a planarization layer is formed either above the PDMS layer or below the PDMS layer.
8. (Currently Amended) A pixel array, comprising:
a pixel sensor;
a plurality of planarization layers above the pixel sensor; and
a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor,
wherein the PDMS layer is formed either
directly on the pixel sensor and below the plurality of planarization layers, or
between the plurality of planarization layers.
However, the Attorney stated that they would prefer that the Examiner mail an new Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, that “[i]n response to the Examiner's indication of allowable subject matter in claims 2, 4, 9, and 11[[, ,]] without prejudice or disclaimer, Applicant amended independent claim 1 to include the allowable subject matter of claims 2 and 4 in the alternative, and has amended independent claim 8 to include the subject matter of claims 9 and 11 in the alternative. Since the Examiner indicated that claims 2, 4, 9, and 11 "would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims," Applicant submits that amended independent claims 1 and 8, and the claims that depend thereon, are in immediate condition for allowance.”
With respect to the amendment to claim 1, the Examiner notes that the newly added limitation was already recited in the claim, and is now repeated in claim 1. Additionally, to clarify the interpretation of the limitations of claim 1, relied upon in the previous grounds of rejection, the Examiner notes that the claim limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer[, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer]”, is simply interpreted as the pixel array having both a planarization layer and a PDMS layer, since it includes the planarization layer being formed anywhere other than being co-planar with the PDMS layer. And as such, the rejections of claim 1 in view of 1) U.S. Patent No. 11,495,635 and Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514); 2) U.S. Patent No. 11,996,435 and Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514); and 3) Nam et al. (US Pub. 2019/0067347) and Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514), are maintained below.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,495,635 in view of Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to claims 1 and 6-7:
Application
Patent 11,495,635
Claim 1
Claim 16
1. A pixel array, comprising:
a pixel sensor;
a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor; and
a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer.
16. A pixel array, comprising:
a pixel sensor; and
a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) antireflective coating above the pixel sensor, …
Claim 6
Claim 16
6. The pixel array of claim 1, wherein the PDMS layer comprises one or more structures.
16. … a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) antireflective coating above the pixel sensor, comprising:
…
a second portion having a non-planar surface including a plurality of structures …
Claim 7
Claim 16
7. The pixel array of claim 1, wherein the PDMS layer is planar, flat, or smooth.
16. … a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) antireflective coating above the pixel sensor, comprising:
a first portion having a planar surface; and …
In view of the foregoing, claims 1 and 6-7 of the instant application are substantially identical claim 16 of US Patent No. 11,495,635, as indicated above, with the exception that claim 1 of the instant application further include limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer” in claim 1.
The Examiner also notes that the claim limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer”, is simply interpreted as the pixel array having both a planarization layer and a PDMS layer, since it includes the planarization layer being formed anywhere other than being co-planar with the PDMS layer.
Additionally, the Examiner notes that in analogous art, Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514) discloses an image sensor having a pixel array, and wherein the pixel array includes a plurality of planarization layers above the pixel sensor (paragraph 0007, and figure 1: 6 & 10). Tay teaches that the use of a plurality of planarization layers above the pixel sensor is preferred in order to compensate for top surface irregularities due to the wires, since a flat surface is essential for conventional color filter formation by lithography and provide a flat surface for the formation of microlens (paragraph 0007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, at the time of the invention, to modify the primary reference to include one or more planarization layers above the pixel sensor, in order to compensate for top surface irregularities due to the wires, since a flat surface is essential for conventional color filter formation by lithography and provide a flat surface for the formation of microlens, as suggested by Tay.
Consequently, based on the interpretation of the claim limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer”, indicated above, the combination of US Patent No. 11,495,635 and Tay is considered to include the pixel array, comprising a pixel sensor, a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor, and a planarization layer.
Claims 1 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,996,435 in view of Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to claims 1 and 6-7:
Application
Patent 11,996,435
Claim 1
Claim 16
1. A pixel array, comprising:
a pixel sensor;
a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor; and
a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer.
16. A pixel array, comprising:
a pixel sensor; and
a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) antireflective coating over the pixel sensor, …
Claim 6
Claim 16
6. The pixel array of claim 1, wherein the PDMS layer comprises one or more structures.
16. … a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) antireflective coating over the pixel sensor, comprising:
…
a second portion comprising one or more structures.
Claim 7
Claim 16
7. The pixel array of claim 1, wherein the PDMS layer is planar, flat, or smooth.
16. … a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) antireflective coating over the pixel sensor, comprising:
a first portion having a planar surface; …
In view of the foregoing, claims 1 and 6-7 of the instant application are substantially identical claim 16 of US Patent No. 11,996,435, as indicated above, with the exception that claim 1 of the instant application further include limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer” in claim 1.
The Examiner also notes that the claim limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer”, is simply interpreted as the pixel array having both a planarization layer and a PDMS layer, since it includes the planarization layer being formed anywhere other than being co-planar with the PDMS layer.
Additionally, the Examiner notes that in analogous art, Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514) discloses an image sensor having a pixel array, and wherein the pixel array includes a plurality of planarization layers above the pixel sensor (paragraph 0007, and figure 1: 6 & 10). Tay teaches that the use of a plurality of planarization layers above the pixel sensor is preferred in order to compensate for top surface irregularities due to the wires, since a flat surface is essential for conventional color filter formation by lithography and provide a flat surface for the formation of microlens (paragraph 0007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, at the time of the invention, to modify the primary reference to include one or more planarization layers above the pixel sensor, in order to compensate for top surface irregularities due to the wires, since a flat surface is essential for conventional color filter formation by lithography and provide a flat surface for the formation of microlens, as suggested by Tay.
Consequently, based on the interpretation of the claim limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer”, indicated above, the combination of US Patent No. 11,996,435 and Tay is considered to include the pixel array, comprising a pixel sensor, a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor, and a planarization layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein at least one of: the PDMS layer is directly on the pixel sensor and below the plurality of planarization layers, or the PDMS layer is between the plurality of planarization layers” in lines 5-8. The Examiner notes that as recited, the use of the phrase “at least one of” allows the claim to be interpreted as having three options, comprising:
1) the PDMS layer is directly on the pixel sensor and below the plurality of planarization layers,
2) the PDMS layer is between the plurality of planarization layers, or
3) the PDMS layer is directly on the pixel sensor and below the plurality of planarization layers, and the PDMS layer is between the plurality of planarization layers,
because the phrase “at least one” includes the use of more than one option, i.e., both options, to be used in combination with one another. However, the since the first option (1) requires the PDMS layer to be directly on the pixel sensor and below the plurality of planarization layers, and the second option (2) requires the PDMS layer to between planarization layers, it is not possible for these two options to be used in combination with one another, as the third option (3) requires, since options one and two are clear alternatives to one another. Consequently, absent clarity, one skilled in the art would not be put on fair notice regarding the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
The Examiner suggests adopting language similar to the proposed Examiner’s Amendment indicated above, in the section titled “Examiner’s Comments – Interview Summary”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam et al. (US Pub. 2019/0067347), in view of Tay (US Pub. 2011/0089514).
In regard to claim 1, note Nam discloses a pixel array (paragraph 0058, and figure 1: 100), comprising a pixel sensor (paragraphs 0058, 0078-0082, and figures 2 & 5: 111), a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor (paragraphs 0058, 0078-0082, and figures 2 & 5: 113).
Therefore, it can be seen that the primary reference fails to explicitly disclose that the pixel array includes a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer.
However, the Examiner also notes that the claim limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer”, is simply interpreted as the pixel array having both a planarization layer and a PDMS layer, since it includes the planarization layer being formed anywhere other than being co-planar with the PDMS layer.
Additionally, the Examiner notes that in analogous art, Tay discloses an image sensor having a pixel array, and wherein the pixel array includes a plurality of planarization layers above the pixel sensor (paragraph 0007, and figure 1: 6 & 10). Tay teaches that the use of a plurality of planarization layers above the pixel sensor is preferred in order to compensate for top surface irregularities due to the wires, since a flat surface is essential for conventional color filter formation by lithography and provide a flat surface for the formation of microlens (paragraph 0007). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, at the time of the invention, to modify the primary reference to include one or more planarization layers above the pixel sensor, in order to compensate for top surface irregularities due to the wires, since a flat surface is essential for conventional color filter formation by lithography and provide a flat surface for the formation of microlens, as suggested by Tay.
Consequently, based on the interpretation of the claim limitation of “a planarization layer above or below the PDMS layer, wherein the planarization layer is above or below the PDMS layer”, indicated above, the combination of Nam and Tay is considered to include the pixel array, comprising a pixel sensor, a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above the pixel sensor, and a planarization layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As for claim 15, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the use of a method, comprising depositing a polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) layer above a pixel array, and depositing a first planarization layer above the PDMS layer, in conjunction with the other limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638