DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest relevant prior art of record, Song et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2021/0223478 A1), fails to teach or suggest fourth and fifth trenches as claimed.
Claims 21 – 34 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest relevant prior art of record, Song et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2021/0223478 A1), teaches the p-doped (30) and n-doped (32) regions on either side of an intrinsic region (26’), thus making the junction a p-i-n junction. Thus, ‘478 fails to teach or disclose that a PN junction being formed as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2021/0223478 A1).
In Re claims 15 and 20, ‘478 teaches a method for forming an integrated circuit device, comprising: forming a first oxide layer (20b) over a substrate (20a); forming a semiconductor layer (26) on the first oxide layer, the semiconductor layer comprising a first semiconductor material (silicon, par. 0016); forming a first trench and a second trench (either side of 26b) parallel to the first trench in the semiconductor layer; filling the first trench and the second trench with an oxide material (42); forming a first n-doped region (32) and a first p-doped region (30) adjacent the first n- doped region in the semiconductor layer between and parallel to the first trench and the second trench; forming a third trench (44) along and into the first n-doped region and the first p-doped region (fig. 5), the third trench comprising a proximal region (bottom of 44), a tapered region (middle of 44), and a distal region (top of 44) arranged in order along the first n-doped region and the first p-doped region, wherein: the proximal region has a first width laterally (horizontal) transverse to the first trench and the second trench (vertical depths); the distal region has a second width laterally transverse to the first trench and the second trench, the second width greater than the first width (fig. 5); and the tapered region has a width that linearly increases from a first end adjacent the proximal region to a second end adjacent the distal region (fig. 5); and filling the third trench with a second semiconductor material (46, germanium).
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874