DETAILED ACTION
1. The Office acknowledges the receipt of Applicant’s amendment filed June 2, 2026. Claims 1 and 9- 21 are pending. Claims 13-21 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1 and 9-12 are examined in the instant application.
All previous rejections not set forth below have been withdrawn.
This action is made FINAL.
2. The Terminal Disclaimer filed June 2, 2026 has been approved.
3. SEQ ID NO:448 is first disclosed in PCT/EP2017/062182 filed May 19, 2017.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 9-12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Evdokimov et al. (US Pub. No.20170037427, published 09 Feb 2017, (previously cited)) in view of Tranel et al. (US 20100100988 (Applicant’s IDS)) and in light of Patzoldt et al. (Published Applications Database, US20100100988, SEQ ID NO:14, published 22 April 2010 (Applicant’s IDS)).
Evdokimov teaches a recombinant chimeric nucleic acid molecule comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a dual transit peptide operably linked to a heterologous nucleic acid sequence encoding a polypeptide comprising SEQ ID NO:1 having PPO activity for conferring tolerance to PPO-inhibiting herbicides ([0056], claim 1). SEQ ID NO:1 of Evdokimov was obtained from Enterobacter cloacae, a prokaryote, and has 100% sequence identity to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:448. Evdokimov also teaches an expression cassette with an operably linked promoter, plant cell, plant and seed (claims).
Evdokimov does not teach Applicant’s dual transit peptide comprising SEQ ID NO:1.
Tranel teaches the dual transit peptide from Amaranthus having 100% sequence identity to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:1. Specifically, Tranel teaches the PPO polypeptide from Amaranthus for conferring herbicide resistance, and its N-terminal region is a dual transit peptide targeting expression to both the chloroplast and mitochondrion [0070]. Tranel identified the region of the Amaranthus PPO sequence that is the dual transit peptide [0086], see positions 1-98 of SEQ ID NO:14 from Patzoldt (same publication) below.
Tranel states, “The PPO gene of the present invention advantageously contains both chloroplast and mitochondrial transit peptides. Others known to the art can be substituted, if deemed advantageous.” [0070]. Thus, signal sequences and genes of interests may be heterologous to each other. Tranel further states:
“With regards to herbicide-resistance evolution, it remains to be determined if a herbicide-resistant PPX2 gene must contain dual-targeting sequences to provide resistance at the whole plant level. If this characteristic promotes resistance, it is believed that weeds containing a PPX2L gene would evolve resistance to PPO-inhibitors faster than those lacking a dual-targeted PPX2” [0087]
For clarification, PPX2 and PPX2L refer to structurally the same Amaranthus PPO sequence containing the dual transit peptide. Tranel postulated that a dual transit peptide operably linked to a PPO sequence confers whole plant level and faster-evolving PPO-inhibiting herbicide resistance than a PPO sequence lacking the dual transit peptide [0087].
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time of filing to substitute the generic dual transit peptide of Evdokimov with the Amaranthus dual transit peptide of Tranel having 100% sequence identity to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:1 for directing the expression of the PPO sequence having SEQ ID NO:448 of Evdokimov to the mitochondria and/or chloroplast for the purpose of producing a PPO-herbicide resistant plant as taught by Evdokimov. Tranel teaches a dual transit peptide from Amaranthus having 100% sequence identity to Applicant’s dual transit peptide of SEQ ID NO:1 and the advantages of using said dual transit peptide: translocating the operably linked expressed PPO sequence to both chloroplast and mitochondrion to confer whole plant level and faster-evolving PPO-inhibiting herbicide resistance than those lacking the dual transit peptide. Evdokimov teaches a sequence having 100% sequence identity to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO:448 for conferring tolerance to PPO-inhibiting herbicides. Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to produce the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
5. No claim is allowed.
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Amjad Abraham, can be reached at 571-270-7058.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned, for sending official correspondence, is 571-273-8300.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO's Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet.
The USPTO's PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
/PHUONG T BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663