DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first region has a rectangular shape, claims 10 and 12” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase of “A solder mounting land on which an electronic component is to be disposed via solder and the electronic component is to be mounted by soldering” is unclear because:
First, there is NO the electronic component appear in any of figures.
Second, as in para-0020 in the application, the applicant defined the electronic component which is one of terminal or semiconductor component, semiconductor module, capacitor, magnetic body etc. However, the electronic component is silent shows in any figures. Furthermore, as in para-0028-0036, the applicant defined the electronic component which is a lug (55) or stud (51), and the lug or stud is not the electronic component.
Thus, the electronic component defined in the preamble of claim 1 have to show in the figures or remove from the claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, lines 1-2, the phrase of “A solder mounting land according to the present disclosure is a land on which an electronic component is to be disposed via solder” is not understood. What does applicant mean of “according to the present disclosure”. Please, clarify.
For examination, examiner suggests to change to - -A solder mounting land having a land on which an electronic component is to be via solder - - for proper reading.
Regarding claim 17, line 4, please, change “the electronic component is to be mounted by soldering. The solder mounting land” to - - the electronic component is to be mounted by soldering, the solder mounting land - - for proper reading.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase of “an electronic component is to be disposed via solder and the electronic component is to be mounted by soldering” is unclear because:
First, there is NO the electronic component appear in any of figures.
Second, as in para-0020 in the application, the applicant defined the electronic component which is one of terminal or semiconductor component, semiconductor module, capacitor, magnetic body etc. However, the electronic component is silent shows in any figures. Furthermore, as in para-0028-0036, the applicant defined the electronic component which is a lug (55) or stud (51), and the lug or stud is not the electronic component.
Thus, the electronic component defined in the preamble of claim 1 have to show in the figures or remove from the claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Park (U.S. Patent 10,117,332), hereafter Park.
As best understood to claim 17, Park discloses a solder mounting land (10, 20) [[according to the present disclosure is]] having a land on which an electronic component (500) is to be disposed via solder (200a, 200b) and the electronic component is to be mounted by soldering, the solder mounting land (10 or 20) as shown in figures 5A-5Ccomprising:
a first region (sub-pad portion 12, 14, or 16) formed by exposing a conductive layer (120) of a substrate (110) from a solder resist layer (130) stacked on an upper surface of the conductive layer (120), the electronic component (500) being to be bonded to the first region (12, 14, 16); and
a groove (the spaces or gaps formed between the sub-pad portions 12, 14, 16) formed by exposing a layer underneath the conductive layer (120), and extending from an inside to a peripheral edge portion of the first region to divide the first region (in between the sub-pad portions 12, 14, and 16).
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (U.S. 2013/0087813) submitted by the applicant, hereafter Yan.
As best understood to claim 1, Yan discloses a solder mounting land (122 or 208) on which an electronic component (LED 101) is to be disposed via solder (126, para-0027) and the electronic component (101) is to be mounted by soldering, the solder mounting land as shown in figures 1-2 comprising:
a first region (sub-pad portion 208 or a middle pad 122, figure 1) to which the electronic component (101) is bonded; and
a second region (sub-pad portion 208 or outer pad 122, figure 1) protruding from a part of a peripheral edge portion of the first region (208) in a direction in which the first region (14) is extended in plan-view.
As to claim 2, Yan further comprising a groove (210-215, para-0029) that extends from an inside to the peripheral edge portion of the first region (center of element 208, hereafter C208) to divide the first region.
As to claim 3, Yan further comprising: a plurality of grooves (210-215) each extending from an inside to the peripheral edge portion of the first region (C208) to divide the first region, wherein the second region (peripheral edge 208, hereafter P208) protrudes from the peripheral edge portion of the first region (C208) between at least one pair of adjacent grooves (210, 211) among the plurality of grooves.
As to claim 4, Yan discloses a groove (210) adjacent to the second region (P208) extends from the inside of the first region (C208) to a peripheral edge portion of the second region.
As to claim 5, Yan discloses the first region (C208) has an annular shape that is hollow in plan view (figure 2), and each of the plurality of grooves (210-215, para-0029) radially extends from an inner edge portion to an outer edge portion of the first region.
As to claim 6, Yan discloses the first region (C208) has a round shape, and each of the plurality of grooves (210-215) radially extends from a central portion to an outer edge portion of the first region.
As to claims 7-8, Yan discloses the plurality of grooves (210-215) further include a groove extending concentrically in the inside of the first region, and spatially connected with a groove extending radially, para-0029.
As to claim 9, Yan discloses the plurality of grooves (210-215) are formed in a lattice pattern.
As to claim 10, Yan discloses the first region (C208) has a round shape or a rectangular shape, and the second region (P208) protrudes from a part of an outer edge portion of the first region.
As to claim 11, Yan discloses the first region (C208) has an annular shape that is hollow in plan view, and the second region (P208) protrudes from at least one of an inner edge portion and an outer edge portion of the first region.
As to claim 12, Yan discloses in figure 10 that the first region has a rectangular shape (polygonal shape), and the second region (P208) is provided at least at a part other than corner portions of the first region.
As to claim 13, Yan discloses in a peripheral edge portion of the second region (P208), a peripheral edge portion opposite to the first region (C208) has a shape following a shape (round shape) of a corresponding part of the peripheral edge portion of the first region.
As to claim 14, Yan discloses the second region (P208) has a shape corresponding to a size of a fillet to be formed in a peripheral edge portion of the
electronic component by the solder (126).
As to claim 15, Yan discloses the first region (C208) has a shape obtained by extending an outer shape of a bonding surface of the electronic component (101) by a deviation amount of an arrangement position allowed for the electronic component.
As to claim 16, Yan discloses a lighting or LED device, para-0002+, having a charger (not shown) comprising: a circuit board (102) provided with the solder mounting land according to claim 1; and the electronic component (101) mounted on the circuit board (102) by soldering (126).
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848