DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments filed on June 12, 2026.
Claims 1-28 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10, 13-15, 17, 19-20, 22-23 and 26-28 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 14-15 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat et al. (US 2024/0406201) in view of Agarwwal et al. (US 2022/0004645).
With respect to Claim 1, Khayat et al. disclose:
dynamically creating at least one scanner for at least one category of application programming interface (“API”) identified in computer code; (establishing a separate application instance (dynamically creating) for each collector of the one or more collectors (scanner) wherein the one or more collectors are each specific to a different API of the one or more APIs (at least one category of APIs), Paragraph 88)
generating a risk score for the computer code based at least in part on data collected during execution of an executable data file associated with the computer code, (The collector module 240 may collect network information (data collected) for cloud applications (an executable data file associated with the computer code) used by the organization, Paragraph 44; the network information may include traffic information, audit logs, security keys, user information, any other data relevant to security, or some combination thereof (during execution), Paragraph 44) the data to be collected by the at least one scanner related to usage of one or more APIs within the at least one category; (The security system determines 540 security information that identifies a security risk using the reconstruction of the API network traffic. The security system may use the security related information (e.g., risk score and exposure) along with network information (e.g., traffic information) (data collected by that at least one scanner related to usage of one or more APIs) to calculate a risk factor (e.g., high risk, low risk) (generating a risk score) that is specific to each connection entry., Paragraph 91)
and [alert/mitigate risk] based at least in part on a comparison of the risk score and a threshold value. (if the security risk is above a threshold level and/or of a particular type, the security module 260 may push the alert to a device associated with the administrator. In some embodiments, the alert may also include a recommended course of action to mitigate the security risk. The administrator may take action based on security risks described by the security information., Paragraphs 60 and 92-93)
Khayat et al. do not disclose:
[alert/mitigate risk] includes generating a modified version of the executable data file.
However, Agarwwal et al. disclose:
[alert/mitigate risk] includes generating a modified version of the executable data file. (identifying one or more dubious properties that generated a security threat and changing the value of the identified one or more dubious properties to generate a modified code file having mitigated security threats, Paragraph 14)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Agarwwal et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al. to include [alert/mitigate risk] includes generating a modified version of the executable data file in order to help mitigate security threats. (Agarwwal et al., Paragraph 14)
With respect to Claim 2, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. further disclose:
wherein the computer code comprises a plurality of APIs in the at least one category (a different API of the one or more APIs (at least one category of APIs), Paragraph 88) and dynamically creating the at least one scanner comprises creating a first scanner for a first API of the plurality of APIs based at least in part on one or more parameters of the first API and creating a second scanner for a second API of the plurality of APIs based at least in part on one or more parameters of the second API. (establishing a separate application instance (dynamically creating) for each collector of the one or more collectors wherein the one or more collectors (first/second scanner) are each specific to a different API (one or more parameters) of the one or more APIs, Paragraph 88)
Claims 14-15 are system claims corresponding to the method claims above (Claims 1-2) and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1-2.
Claims 27-28 are machine-readable medium claims corresponding to the method claims above (Claims 1-2) and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1-2.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat et al. (US 2024/0406201) in view of Agarwwal et al. (US 2022/0004645) and in further view of Velur et al. (US 2020/0242254).
With respect to Claim 3, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. do not disclose:
wherein the one or more APIs are each associated with a weight value used to generate the risk score.
However, Velur et al. disclose:
wherein the one or more APIs are each associated with a weight value used to generate the risk score. (a risk score of an API can be multiplied to assign more weight to that specific API as compared to other APIs, Paragraph 60)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Velur et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. to include wherein the one or more APIs are each associated with a weight value used to generate the risk score in order to allow certain API functionalities to be prioritized over other APIs depending on the context of the application. (Velur et al., Paragraph 60)
Claim 16 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim above (Claim 3) and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claims 3.
Claims 4, 6, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat et al. (US 2024/0406201) in view of Agarwwal et al. (US 2022/0004645) and in further view of Hecht et al. (US 10,607,015).
With respect to Claim 4, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. do not disclose:
wherein generating the risk score comprises generating an enhanced score based at least in part on a use environment, generating a base score based at least in part on a number of instances of each of the one or more APIs, and combining the enhanced score and the base score.
However, Hecht et al. disclose:
wherein generating the risk score comprises generating an enhanced score based at least in part on a use environment, (the resource risk score (enhanced score) may indicate the number of resources targeted in the code segment (use environment), Column 23, lines 14-16) generating a base score based at least in part on a number of instances of each of the one or more APIs, (The determined API risk score may represent the number and type of API calls (number of instances) included in the code segment, Column 23, lines 10-12) and combining the enhanced score and the base score. (the risk scores determined in steps 930 (API risk score), 940, and 950 (resource risk score) may be combined according to one or more algorithms and/or formulas, Column 23, lines 21-25)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hecht et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. to include wherein generating the risk score comprises generating an enhanced score based at least in part on a use environment, generating a base score based at least in part on a number of instances of each of the one or more APIs, and combining the enhanced score and the base score in order to determine an overall security risk presented by a code segment based on various risk scores. (Hecht et al., Column 23, lines 32-35)
With respect to Claim 6, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. further disclose:
wherein the at least one scanner is created during the first build time, (Khayat et al., The one or more collectors may be of different types. For example, a collector may be a standalone collector that uses HTTP-based clients to connect to remote applications and retrieve information via APIs of cloud applications. In another example, a collector (at least one scanner) is a module that is installed as an extension within a cloud application. (created during the first build time) In another example, a collector is a man-in-the-middle collector that redirects traffic between two cloud applications. In another example, a collector is a third-party aggregator that has access to traffic from other applications and can push the network traffic information to the correlation module 250., Paragraph 45; collector must have been created at some point (first build time)) the at least one scanner is used to collect the data during runtime, (Khayat et al., The security system determines 540 security information that identifies a security risk using the reconstruction of the API network traffic. The security system may use the security related information (e.g., risk score and exposure) along with network information (e.g., traffic information) (data collected by that at least one scanner related to usage of one or more APIs) to calculate a risk factor (e.g., high risk, low risk) (risk score) that is specific to each connection entry., Paragraph 91) and the modified version of the executable data file is generated at a second build time after the first build time. (Agarwwal et al., identifying one or more dubious properties that generated a security threat and changing the value of the identified one or more dubious properties to generate a modified code file (modified version of the executable file) having mitigated security threats, Paragraph 14; a modified code file means a second version/build (second build time) from an original code file (first build time))
Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. do not disclose:
further comprising:
analyzing the computer code at a first build time to identify the at least one category of API in the computer code.
However, Hecht et al. disclose:
analyzing the computer code at a first build time to identify the at least one category of API in the computer code, (accessing one or more code segments based on creation or modification of the code segment (build time) and determining the number and type of API calls (category) included in the code segment(s), Columns 22 and 23, lines 63-67 and 1-12 respectively)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hecht et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. to include analyzing the computer code at a first build time to identify the at least one category of API in the computer code in order to determine help determine an API risk score and to determine when control actions need to be taken to mitigate and/or address a risk. (Hecht et al., Columns 17 and 23, lines 35-41 and 1-12 respectively)
Claims 17 and 19 are system claims corresponding to the method claims above (Claims 4 and 6) and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 4 and 6.
Claims 7-8, 10, 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat et al. (US 2024/0406201) in view of Agarwwal et al. (US 2022/0004645) and in further view of Jian Lin et al. (“Executable Program Code Segment Address Randomization”, 2015).
With respect to Claim 7, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. do not disclose:
wherein generating the modified version of the executable data file comprises moving portions of the executable data file to less vulnerable data segments to reduce a vulnerability of the executable data file.
However, Jian Lin et al. disclose:
wherein generating the modified version of the executable data file comprises moving portions of the executable data file to less vulnerable data segments to reduce a vulnerability of the executable data file. (identify the instructions which need relocation in the ELF executable program (executable data file) using EPCSAR which modifies the ELF loader to map the code segment to a random address and relocates the code segment (moving portions of the executable file to less vulnerable data segments) (modified version of the executable data file), 1. Introduction, Paragraph 5, lines 1-8)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jian Lin et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. to include wherein generating the modified version of the executable data file comprises moving portions of the executable data file to less vulnerable data segments to reduce a vulnerability of the executable data file in order to help mitigate exploits by increasing the difficulty to predict code location. (Jian Lin et al., 1. Introduction, Paragraph 1, lines 1-12)
With respect to Claim 8, all the limitations of Claim 7 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. do not disclose:
wherein the executable data file is an Executable and Linkable Format (ELF) data file and the portions of the executable data file moved to the less vulnerable data segments comprises at least one of a read-only data segment or a read-write data segment.
However, Jian Lin et al. disclose:
wherein the executable data file is an Executable and Linkable Format (ELF) data file (identify the instructions which need relocation in the ELF executable program, 1. Introduction, Paragraph 5, lines 1-5) and the portions of the executable data file moved to the less vulnerable data segments comprises at least one of a read-only data segment or a read-write data segment. (In the executable program code segment, in addition to part of the really execute code, read-only data are also located in code segment. (portions of the executable data file), III. Design and Implement, Paragraph 3, lines 1-3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jian Lin et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. to include wherein the executable data file is an Executable and Linkable Format (ELF) data file and the portions of the executable data file moved to the less vulnerable data segments comprises at least one of a read-only data segment or a read-write data segment in order to help mitigate exploits by increasing the difficulty to predict code location in Elf files. (Jian Lin et al., 1. Introduction, Paragraph 1, lines 1-12)
With respect to Claim 10, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. do not disclose:
wherein generating the modified version of the executable data file comprises moving at least a portion of the executable data file from a first data segment within the executable data file to a second data segment within the executable data file.
However, Jian Lin et al. disclose:
wherein generating the modified version of the executable data file comprises moving at least a portion of the executable data file from a first data segment within the executable data file to a second data segment within the executable data file. (identify the instructions which need relocation in the ELF executable program (executable data file) using EPCSAR which modifies the ELF loader to map the code segment to a random address and relocates (move) the code segment (moving at least a portion of the executable data file from a first data segment within the executable data file to a second data segment within the executable data file), 1. Introduction, Paragraph 5, lines 1-8)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jian Lin et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. to include wherein generating the modified version of the executable data file comprises moving at least a portion of the executable data file from a first data segment within the executable data file to a second data segment within the executable data file in order to help mitigate exploits by increasing the difficulty to predict code location. (Jian Lin et al., 1. Introduction, Paragraph 1, lines 1-12)
Claims 20-21 and 23 are system claims corresponding to the method claims above (Claims 7-8 and 10) and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 7-8 and 10.
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat et al. (US 2024/0406201) in view of Agarwwal et al. (US 2022/0004645) and in further view of Hen et al. (2022/0400127).
With respect to Claim 9, all the limitations of Claim 1 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. do not disclose:
further comprising:
adjusting the threshold value based on historical risk data associated with the executable data file.
However, Hen discloses:
adjusting the threshold value based on historical risk data (the predefined threshold value may be determined through a determination of historical risk scores, Paragraph 26)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hen et al. into threshold value associated with the executable data file as taught by Khayat et al. and Agarwwal et al. to include adjusting the threshold value based on historical risk data in order to help set/predefine threshold values used in risk/anomaly detection.
Claim 22 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim above (Claim 9) and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claims 9.
Claims 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat et al. (US 2024/0406201) in view of Agarwwal et al. (US 2022/0004645) in view of Jian Lin et al. (“Executable Program Code Segment Address Randomization”, 2015) and in further view of Larsen et al. (US 6,154,819).
With respect to Claim 11, all the limitations of Claim 10 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al., Agarwwal et al. and Jian Lin et al. do not disclose:
wherein the second data segment is a hardware-protected data segment.
However, Larsen et al. disclose:
wherein the second data segment is a hardware-protected data segment. (One present method of block protection for flash memory includes protecting a pre-determined number of blocks through a lock/unlock hardware pin. This requires the user to determine which blocks of memory are hardware protectable and reserve those blocks for critical data or program code, Columns 1 and 2, lines 65-67 and 1-2 respectively)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Larsen et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al., Agarwwal et al. and Jian Lin et al. to include wherein the second data segment is a hardware-protected data segment in order to protect a pre-determined number of blocks that contain critical data or program code. (Larsen et al., Columns 1 and 2, lines 65-6 and 1-2 respectively)
Claim 24 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim above (Claim 11) and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claims 11.
Claims 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khayat et al. (US 2024/0406201) in view of Agarwwal et al. (US 2022/0004645) in view of Jian Lin et al. (“Executable Program Code Segment Address Randomization”, 2015) and in further view of Li et al. (US 2024/0176914).
With respect to Claim 12, all the limitations of Claim 10 have been addressed above; and Khayat et al., Agarwwal et al. and Jian Lin et al. do not disclose:
wherein the second data segment is a read-only data segment.
However, Li et al. disclose:
wherein the second data segment is a read-only data segment. (Generally, the application program includes three components: a code segment, a data segment, and a read-only data segment, Paragraph 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Li et al. into the teaching of Khayat et al., Agarwwal et al. and Jian Lin et al. to include wherein the second data segment is a read-only data segment in order to configurate a data segment that is write-protected such that tampering of read-only data can be prevented. (Li et al., Paragraph 3)
Claim 25 is a system claim corresponding to the method claim above (Claim 12) and, therefore, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of Claims 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 13, 18 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9, filed June 12, 2026, with respect to the §101 rejection of claims 27-28 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The §101 rejection of claims 27-28 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LANNY N UNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197