DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shoda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,129,928 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Shoda et al. discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of power converters (col. 1-2, abstract), wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters (see power branches/motor drive units driven by a common driver, each branch processes electrical power; Fig. 2) is configured to:
convert an input power to an output power (supplying electrical power from a driver to multiple motors; each branch delivers power to a respective load which is the motor shown in Fig. 2);
determine a first electrical parameter related to the power converter (current sensors detecting current values in each branch (abstract see Fig. 1)); determine a second electrical parameter related to the power converter (detecting multiple current values across branches shown in Fig. 2; this is considered multiple electrical parameters); determine a parameter difference based on a comparison between the first electrical parameter and the second electrical parameter (determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced; col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 9; Shoda teaches determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced, which inherently involves comparing electrical parameters and identifying a difference between them);
compare the parameter difference to a threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-39; determines whether or not the difference is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value or whether or not the ratio falls within a predetermined range); and set an alarm condition based on the parameter difference being greater than the threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-38; generates an alarm signal when the linear motor is overloaded).
With respect to claim 2, Shoda et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first electrical parameter is a first power, the second electrical parameter is a second power, and the parameter difference is a power difference (determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced; col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 9; Shoda teaches determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced, which inherently involves comparing electrical parameters and identifying a difference between them).
With respect to claim 4, Shoda et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each power converter is configured to shut down based on the parameter difference being greater than the threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-39; determines whether or not the difference is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value or whether or not the ratio falls within a predetermined range).
With respect to claim 5, Shoda et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters is configured to communicate with at least one other power converter (see power branches/motor drive units driven by a common driver, each branch processes electrical power; see Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 6, Shoda et al. discloses the system of claim 5, wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters is configured to communicate using power line communication (see power branches/motor drive units driven by a common driver, each branch processes electrical power; see Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 8, Shoda et al. discloses a method comprising:
converting, with each power converter of a plurality of power converters (col. 1-2, abstract), an input power to an output power (see power branches/motor drive units driven by a common driver, each branch processes electrical power; Fig. 2);
determining, by each power converter of the plurality of power converters, a first electrical parameter related to the power converter (supplying electrical power from a driver to multiple motors; each branch delivers power to a respective load which is the motor shown in Fig. 2);
determining, by each power converter of the plurality of power converters, a second electrical parameter related to the power converter (supplying electrical power from a driver to multiple motors; each branch delivers power to a respective load which is the motor shown in Fig. 2);
determining, by each power converter of the plurality of power converters, a parameter difference based on a comparison between the first electrical parameter and the second electrical parameter (determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced; col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 9; Shoda teaches determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced, which inherently involves comparing electrical parameters and identifying a difference between them);
comparing, by each power converter of a plurality of power converters, the parameter difference to a threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-39; determines whether or not the difference is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value or whether or not the ratio falls within a predetermined range); and
setting, by each power converter of a plurality of power converters, an alarm condition based on the parameter difference being greater than the threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-38; generates an alarm signal when the linear motor is overloaded).
With respect to claim 9, Shoda et al. discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first electrical parameter is a first power, the second electrical parameter is a second power, and the parameter difference is a power difference (determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced; col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 9; Shoda teaches determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced, which inherently involves comparing electrical parameters and identifying a difference between them).
With respect to claim 11, Shoda et al. discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising shutting down each power converter of the plurality of power converters based on the parameter difference being greater than the threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-39; determines whether or not the difference is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value or whether or not the ratio falls within a predetermined range).
With respect to claim 12, Shoda et al. discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising communicating, by each power converter of the plurality of power converters, with at least one other power converter (determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced; col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 9; Shoda teaches determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced, which inherently involves comparing electrical parameters and identifying a difference between them).
With respect to claim 13, Shoda et al. discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the communicating, by each power converter of the plurality of power converters, is using power line communication (col. 1, lines 48-53).
With respect to claim 15, Shoda et al. discloses an electronic module comprising a power converter configured to:
convert an input power to an output power; determine a first electrical parameter related to the power converter (supplying electrical power from a driver to multiple motors; each branch delivers power to a respective load which is the motor shown in Fig. 2); determine a second electrical parameter related to the power converter; determine a parameter difference based on a comparison between the first electrical parameter and the second electrical parameter (supplying electrical power from a driver to multiple motors; each branch delivers power to a respective load which is the motor shown in Fig. 2);
compare the parameter difference to a threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-39; determines whether or not the difference is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value or whether or not the ratio falls within a predetermined range); and set an alarm condition based on the parameter difference being greater than the threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-38; generates an alarm signal when the linear motor is overloaded).
With respect to claim 16, Shoda et al. discloses the electronic module of claim 15, wherein the first electrical parameter is a first power, the second electrical parameter is a second power, and the parameter difference is a power difference (determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced; col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 9; Shoda teaches determining whether currents are balanced or unbalanced, which inherently involves comparing electrical parameters and identifying a difference between them).
With respect to claim 18, Shoda et al. discloses the electronic module of claim 15, wherein the power converter is configured to shut down based on the parameter difference being greater than the threshold value (col. 2, lines 30-39; determines whether or not the difference is greater than or equal to a predetermined threshold value or whether or not the ratio falls within a predetermined range).
With respect to claim 19, Shoda et al. discloses the electronic module of claim 15, wherein the power converter is configured to communicate with at least one other power converter (supplying electrical power from a driver to multiple motors; each branch delivers power to a respective load which is the motor shown in Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3, 7, 10, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shoda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,129,928 B2) in view of Bussat et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0015774 A1).
With respect to claim 3, Shoda et al. et al. discloses the system of claim 1.
Shoda et al. does not discloses wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter difference is a noise difference.
Bussat et al. discloses wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter difference is a noise difference (para 0080, lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shoda et al. to include wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter difference is a noise difference as taught by Bussat et al. to eliminate any discrepancies in the system to allow for a smoother signal.
With respect to claim 7, Shoda et al. discloses the system of claim 5.
Shoda et al. does not disclose wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters is configured to communicate using wireless communication.
Bussat et al. discloses wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters is configured to communicate using wireless communication (para 0037, lines 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shoda et al. to include wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters is configured to communicate using wireless communication as taught by Bussat et al. to increase reliability by avoiding wire degradation and connector failures.
With respect to claim 10, Shoda et al. discloses the method of claim 8.
Shoda et al. does not disclose wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter difference is a noise difference.
Bussat et al. discloses wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter difference is a noise difference (para 0080, lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shoda et al. to include wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter.
With respect to claim 14, Shoda et al. discloses the method of claim 12.
Shoda et al. does not disclose wherein the communicating, by each power converter of the plurality of power converters, is using wireless communication.
Bussat et al. discloses wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters is configured to communicate using wireless communication (para 0037, lines 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shoda et al. to include wherein each power converter of the plurality of power converters is configured to communicate using wireless communication as taught by Bussat et al. to increase reliability by avoiding wire degradation and connector failures.
With respect to claim 17, Shoda et al. discloses the electronic module of claim 15.
Shoda et al. does not disclose wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter difference is a noise difference.
Bussat et al. discloses wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter difference is a noise difference (para 0080, lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shoda et al. to include wherein the first electrical parameter is a first noise, the second electrical parameter is a second noise, and the parameter.
With respect to claim 20, Shoda et al. discloses the electronic module of claim 19.
Shoda et al. does not disclose wherein the power converter is configured to communicate using at least one of: power line communication and wireless communication.
Bussat et al. discloses wherein the power converter is configured to communicate using at least one of: power line communication and wireless communication (para 0037, lines 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shoda et al. the power converter is configured to communicate using at least one of: power line communication and wireless communication as taught by Bussat et al. to increase reliability by avoiding wire degradation and connector failures.
Conclusion
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858