DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
2. With respect to applicant’s remarks filed on 12/31/25 regarding rejected claims on pages 6-7, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicants argues “First, the present application and Perry belong to different technical fields. Also, Perry is not analogous art to the claimed invention. The present application explicitly recites "micro- LED panel" comprising a substrate and a plurality of micro-LEDs. In contrast, Perry relates to biological diagnosis or imaging or that incorporates radiology and does not disclose or teach inspection for micro-LED panels and induced photoluminescence of said micro-LED panel”.
First: Both Perry’s reference and Applicant’s application disclose an inspection device, which includes light source, sensing elements, filters, beam splitters, and inspected object.
Second: Although Perry does not teach a micro- LED panel, this limitation has been found in new reference of Xu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2025/0052608). New limitation “an inspection device, using to inspect an micro-LED panel” has been found in new reference of Xu et al. (U.S. Pub. 2025/0052608), (abstract; [0001]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Perry by inspecting an object micro-LED panel in order to inspect a specific object, micro-LED panel ([0001]).
3. Applicants also argues “the amended claim 1 requires emitting a mixed light beam including red, green, and blue light to induce photoluminescence in the micro-LED panel. In contrast, Perry's disclosure of "white light" or "broadband source" in corresponding paragraphs merely relates to general illumination or fluorescence excitation for biological tissue/cell imaging. It does not teach or suggest a mixed light beam comprising red, green, and blue light, nor inducing photoluminescence in a micro-LED panel for inspection like the present application”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. White light includes red light, green light and blue light. In the other words, a mixed white light beam must comprise red light, green light and blue light. Therefore, if a light source emits a mixed white light, then it must emit a plurality of red light, blue light and green light.
New limitation “a micro- LED panel” has been disclosed by Xu as in paragraph 2 above. Note: Photoluminescence is light emission from any form of matter after the absorption of photons, electromagnetic radiation. It is one of many forms of luminescence, light emission of LED panel.
4. New claims 11-20 are restricted as the following.
5. Grounds for the rejection of claims are provided below as necessitated by amendment.
Election/Restrictions
6. This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
7. Species 1: (suggest claims 1-4, 6-10), directed an inspection device, using to inspect an object micro-LED panel, comprising a filter conversion module, including a conversion structure and a plurality of filters, said plurality of filters embedded annularly around said conversion structure, and one of said plurality of filters disposed corresponding to said beam splitter.
8. Species 2: (suggest claims 11-20), directed an inspection method configured to inspect a micro-LED panel, said micro-LED panel comprising receiving long-wavelength light of said first split light beam passing through said shortwave filter to generate a first image signal; receiving short-wavelength light of said second split light beam passing through said longwave filter to generate a second image signal; and combining and enhancing said first image signal and said second image signal to generate an inspection result.
9. The species are independent or distinct because claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
There is an examination and search burden for these patentably distinct species due to their mutually exclusive characteristics. The species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species; and/or the species are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
10. Because Species 1 (claims 1-4, 6-10), has been examined. Species 2 is now withdrawn.
11. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-4, 6-10, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Perry et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0280490) in view of Xu et al. (Pub. No. 2025/0052608), Fan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0377338), further in view of Modlin et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,469,311). Hereafter “Perry”, “Xu”, “Fan”, “Modlin”.
Regarding Claim 1, 6, Perry teaches an inspection device, using to inspect an object ([0003]), comprising:
a light source, emitting a plurality of light beams to form a mixed light beam, including red, green, and blue light, wherein said mixed light beam is projected toward said object and generates an inspection light beam, ([0037], lines 7-8; [0178], lines 1-3; [0185], lines 4-8; [0156]; Figure 5D, light source 12 emitting a plurality of light beams to form a mixed light beam. All white light must include red light, green light and blue light. In the other words, a mixed white/broad light beam must comprise red light, green light and blue light. Therefore, if a light source emits a mixed white/broad light, then it must emit a plurality of red light, blue light and green light. Please see the explanation in paragraph 3 above);
an inspection module, including:
a first sensing element (figures 4, 16, camera 10a is not different from a first sensing element);
a shortwave filter, a side of said shortwave filter disposed on a side of said first sensing element correspondingly (figures 4, 16, SP Filter 1 is not different from a shortwave filter);
a beam splitter, a side of said beam filter disposed on another side of said shortwave filter correspondingly (figures 4, 16, Dichroic SP 5 is not different from a beam splitter);
a longwave filter, a side of said longwave filter disposed on another side of said beam splitter correspondingly (figures 4, 16, LP Filter 1 is not different from a longwave filter); and
a second sensing element, a side of second sensing element disposed on another side of said longwave filter correspondingly (figures 4, 16, camera 10b is not different from a second sensing element); and
a filter conversion module, including a conversion structure and a plurality of filters, and one of said plurality of filters disposed corresponding to said beam splitter (figures 4, 16, 6 short Pass filter, 7 Broadband filter, 8 Short Pass filter);
However, Perry does not teach to inspect micro-LED panel, and said micro-LED panel to induce photoluminescence of said micro-LED panel. Xu teaches to inspect micro-LED panel, and said micro-LED panel to induce photoluminescence of said micro-LED panel (abstract; [0001]. Note: Photoluminescence is light emission from any form of matter after the absorption of photons, electromagnetic radiation. It is one of many forms of luminescence, light emission of LED panel). Fan also teaches micro-LED panel, and said micro-LED panel to induce photoluminescence of said micro-LED panel, ([0030], lines 15-19; [0040], lines 14-18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Perry by inspecting an object micro-LED panel in order to inspect a specific LED panel (Xu, [0001]).
Moreover, Perry does not teach plurality of filters embedded annularly around said conversion structure, and rotating said conversion structure. Modlin teaches plurality of filters embedded annularly around said conversion structure (figure 5, plurality of filters 140 embedded annularly around filter wheel 142), and rotating said conversion structure (column 9, lines 56-59; Column 22, lines 9-16, 37-50). Further, Modlin also teach inducing photoluminescence (column 9, lines 24-30; Column 14, lines 60-63). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Perry by having plurality of filters embedded annularly around said conversion structure, and rotating said conversion structure in order to select specific filter into the optical path (column 9, lines 56-59; Column 22, lines 9-16, 37-50).
Regarding Claim 2, Perry teaches object includes a substrate and a plurality of light-emitting diodes; and said plurality of light-emitting diodes are disposed on said substrate ([0014], lines 8-13; Figure 5D, Tissue is not different from a substrate).
Regarding Claims 3, 4, Perry teaches light source emits said mixed light beam above and under said substrate (Figures 4, 5A-D, 16, Tissue is not different from a substrate, light beams 12a-b is not different from mixed light beam).
Regarding Claim(s) 7-8, Perry teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above except for conversion structure is rotated by a motor to move one of said plurality of filters corresponding to said beam splitter, and filters are different. Modlin teaches conversion structure is rotated by a motor to move one of said plurality of filters corresponding to said beam splitter, and filters are different (figures 5, 29, plurality of filters 140 embedded annularly around filter wheel 142; Column 9, lines 56-59; Column 22, lines 9-16, 37-50; Column 25, lines 58-64; Column 26, lines 19-30. It is inherent that test filters are different). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Perry by having conversion structure is rotated by a motor to move one of said plurality of filters in order to select specific filter into the optical path (Column 9, lines 56-59; Column 22, lines 9-16, 37-50; Column 25, lines 58-64; Column 26, lines 19-30).
Regarding Claim 9, selection of multi-broadband filters for wavelengths 600nm~660nm, 500nm~550nm, and 440nm~470nm; and said individual filtering wavelengths of said plurality of multi-broadband filters are different in the range or similar range is well known. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose appropriate heating range for the filters for the benefit of well operated inspection system. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Perry teaches said first sensing element transmits said first image signal to a processing module; said second sensing element transmits said second image signal to said processing module; and said processing module overlaps and strengthens said first image signal and said second image signal for generating an inspection result (figures 4, 16, both image signals from cameras 10a-b are transmitted to PC Motherboard for processing. It is inherent that PC Motherboard overlaps and strengthens said first image signal and said second image signal).
Conclusion
14. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Fax/Telephone Information
January 27, 2026
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877