DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: TOOLLESS COMPRESSION ATTACHED MEMORY MODULE INSTALLATION IN INFORMATION SYSTEMS AND METHOD THE SAME.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "310" and "308" have both been used to designate “the head”, and
reference characters "304" and "306" have both been used to designate “ramped keyhole, para-0032”.
Please, change “310” to - - 308 - - for correction number.
Please, change “304” to - -306 - - for correction number.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 13-15, 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7 depended on claim 6 depended on claim 1, line 2, the term of “the head” is lack of antecedence basis. Please, revise.
Regarding claim 14, line 2, the term of “the head” is lack of antecedence basis. Please, revise.
Please, change “the head” to - - a head of the standoff - - for proper reading.
Regarding claims 13-15, and 17, each in line 1, please change “The IHS of claim 11” to - - The IHS of claim 12 - - for proper dependent claims.
Regarding claim 18, line 1, the term “A method” is unclear because examiner does not know what kind of “the method” applied in this application. Please, clarify.
By applying art, examiner suggests to change to - - A method for toolless installation of a compression attached memory module (CAMM) in an information handing system (HIS) - -.
Regarding claim 18, line 5, the phrase of “compress electrical terminals of the IHS component” is not understood. Does applicant meant “compress electrical terminals of a memory module.? Please, clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 12-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Cromwell et al. (U.S. Patent 6,930,884), hereafter Cromwell.
As to claim 1, Cromwell discloses a bolster plate (80) as shown in figures 1-2, comprising:
a body (86) configured to contact a memory module (the processor 20 can act as memory device or module with high-speed storage component like registers and cache memory); and
a ramped hole (82), the ramped hole (82) configured to (adapted to or capable of being) convert lateral displacement into vertical displacement in response to the ramped hole (82) sliding along a standoff (60) coupled to a Printed Circuit Board (PCB-30) to provide compression between terminals (not shown but the bottom side of the chip 20 connected to the socket 52) of the memory module (20) and a connector (socket 52) on the PCB (30).
As to claim 2, Cromwell discloses the bolster plate (80) is configured to lock in place, upon the lateral displacement, to maintain the compression.
As to claim 6, Cromwell discloses a head of the standoff (60) is angled at a chamfer (at the element 62) matching a chamfer (at the narrow hole) in the ramped hole (82).
As best understood to claim 7, Cromwell discloses the ramped hole (82) is configured to: receive [[the head]] a head (61) of the standoff (60) through a first end; and increase the compression in response to movement of the head along the chamfer towards a second end opposite the first end.
As to claim 8, Cromwell discloses the second end (the narrow hole) is configured to lock the bolster plate (80) in place to maintain the compression.
As to claim 9, Cromwell discloses the ramped hole (82) comprises: a deep end configured to receive a head (61) of the standoff (60); and a ramp between the deep end and a shallow end, wherein the ramp comprises a slot (85) configured to receive a shaft (the neck) of the standoff.
As to claim 10, Cromwell discloses in figures 1-2 the shallow end is angled obliquely away from the ramp to receive the head (61), lock the bolster plate (80) in place, and maintain the compression.
As to claim 12, Cromwell discloses an Information Handling System (IHS), as shown in figures 1-2 comprising:
a Printed Circuit Board (PCB-30) comprising a connector (socket 52) and a standoff (60); and
a memory module (the processor 20 can act as memory device or module with high speed storage component like registers and cache memory) coupled to the PCB (30) via a plate (86), the plate (86) comprising a ramped hole (82) configured to: (i) receive the standoff (60), and (ii) translate lateral displacement into vertical displacement in response to the standoff (60) sliding along the ramped hole (82) to provide a compression force between terminals of the memory module (20) and the connector (52).
As to claim 13, Cromwell discloses a head of the standoff (60) is angled at a chamfer (at the element 62) matching a chamfer (at the narrow hole) in the ramped hole (82).
As best understood to claim 14, Cromwell discloses the ramped hole (82) is configured to: receive [[the head]] a head (61) of the standoff (60) through a first end; and increase the compression in response to movement of the head along the chamfer towards a second end opposite the first end.
As to claim 15, Cromwell discloses the ramped hole (82) comprises: a deep end configured to receive a head (61) of the standoff (60); and a ramp between the deep end and a shallow end, wherein the ramp comprises a slot (85) configured to receive a shaft (the neck) of the standoff.
As to claim 16, Cromwell discloses in figures 1-2 the shallow end is angled obliquely away from the ramp.
As best understood to claim 18, Cromwell discloses a method for toolless installation of a compression attached memory module (CAMM) in an information handing system (IHS), comprising:
receiving, via a ramped hole (82) in an Information Handling System (IHS) component (80), a head (61) of a standoff (60) coupled to a Printed Circuit Board (PCB-30); and
sliding IHS component (80) perpendicularly to a shaft (a neck) of the standoff (60) in a first direction to compress electrical terminals of [[the IHS component]] a memory module (20) against a connector (a socket 52) on the PCB (30).
As to claim 19, Cromwell further comprising sliding the IHS component (80 or the body 86) perpendicularly to the shaft (the neck of the standoff 60) in a second direction opposite the first direction to decompress the electrical terminals from the connector (52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 11, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell in view of Peterson et al. (U.S. 2019/0252286).
Regarding claim 3, Cromwell discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for a flange extending generally perpendicular from the body.
Peterson teaches a segmented heatsink (106f) as shown in figure 5B that comprises a flange (the left and right ends of the body 120e-120f of the plate 106f) extending generally perpendicular from the body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Peterson employed in the HIS and its method of Cromwell in order to provide excellent protection and heat dissipation structure.
Regarding claim 4, Cromwell as modified by Peterson teaches the flange is positioned to be disposed over an end edge of another PCB (126-figure 5B) comprising the memory module (104).
Regarding claim 5, Cromwell as modified by Peterson, Cromwell further comprising a dielectric insulating material (TIM or thermos interface material 53) disposed on a bottom surface of the body (plate 86) to contact the other PCB (30), the dielectric insulating material (53) having a low coefficient of friction.
Regarding claims 11, 17, and 20, Cromwell discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for the memory module comprises a Compression
Attached Memory Module (CAMM).
Peterson teaches electronic devices (102a-102c) as shown in figures 1 and 5A-5B comprising a circuit board (a substrate 126, para-0048) having a Compression Attached Memory Module (CAMM, 104p-104s) mounted on.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Peterson employed in the HIS and its method of Cromwell in order to improve signal integrity and faster memory speeds.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848