DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-7, 11, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuribayashi et al. (US publication 2016/0307993 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kuribayashi993.
Regarding claim 1, Kuribayashi993 teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 5 and related text) comprising: a substrate (20, [0089]); a drift layer (6a, [0089]) on the substrate and having a first doping type (n-type); one or more implanted (15/19, [0089]) regions in the drift layer and comprising a body well (15) having a second doping type (p-type) opposite the first doping type, the one or more implanted regions configured to: provide a vertical transistor device configured to conduct current in a first direction (current that flows from up to down, fig. 5); and provide a body diode (200a, [0088]) configured to conduct current in a second direction (current that flow from down to up, fig. 5) opposite the first direction; and a recombination region (9/35, [0073-0074]) in the drift layer, wherein at least a portion of the recombination region is between a lower portion of the body well and the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the recombination region overlaps at least a portion of a thickness of the body well in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein a width of the recombination region is less than a width of the body well in a direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein a width of the recombination region is equal to or greater than a width of the body well in a direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the width of the recombination region is greater than the width of the body well in the direction (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the recombination region extends along an entire thickness of at least a portion of the drift layer in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the recombination region comprises argon ([0025-0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the recombination region comprises a higher density of minority carrier recombination centers than the drift layer (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Kuribayashi993 teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 5 and related text) comprising: a substrate (20, [0089]); a drift layer (6a, [0089]) on the substrate; one or more implanted regions (15/19, [0089]) in the drift layer, the one or more implanted regions configured to: provide a vertical transistor device configured to conduct current in a first direction (current that flows from up to down, fig. 5); and provide a body diode (200a, [0088]) configured to conduct current in a second direction (current that flow from down to up, fig. 5) opposite the first direction; and a recombination region (9/35, [0073-0074]) adjacent the one or more implanted regions in the drift layer and comprising a higher density of minority carrier recombination centers than the drift layer (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the recombination region is below at least a portion of the one or more implanted regions in the drift layer (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 19, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the recombination region overlaps at least a portion of a thickness of the one or more implanted regions in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 20, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein a width of the recombination region is less than a width of a widest portion of the one or more implanted regions in a direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 21, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein a width of the recombination region is equal to or greater than a width of a widest portion of the one or more implanted regions in a direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 22, Kuribayashi993 teaches wherein the recombination region extends along an entire thickness of at least a portion of the drift layer in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuribayashi993, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Kuribayashi993 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Kuribayashi993 does not explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the body well in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate is between 0.1 μm and 2 μm, and wherein a width of the body well in a direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate is between 1 μm and 10 μm. However, it is well-known in the art that a thickness of a layer depends on process technology, desired electrical properties, etc. and thus it is something that will be optimized based on design need.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuribayashi993 so that wherein a thickness of the body well in a direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate is between 0.1 μm and 2 μm, and wherein a width of the body well in a direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate is between 1 μm and 10 μm for a desired device performance.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuribayashi993, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Enomoto (US publication 2022/0278207 A1), hereinafter referred to as Enomoto207.
Regarding claim 10, Kuribayashi993 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Kuribayashi993 does not explicitly teach wherein a doping concentration of the body well is between 1×10.sup.16 cm.sup.−3 and 3×10.sup.19 cm.sup.−3.
Enomoto207 teaches wherein a doping concentration of the body well is between 1×10.sup.16 cm.sup.−3 and 3×10.sup.19 cm.sup.−3 ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuribayashi993 with that of Enomoto207 so that wherein a doping concentration of the body well is between 1×10.sup.16 cm.sup.−3 and 3×10.sup.19 cm.sup.−3 for a desired device performance.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,990,543 B2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of claim 1-22 of the instant application is encompassed by the subject matter of the Claim 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,990,543 and is obvious.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897