DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2013/0300634 A1) in view of Schowengerdt (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2015/0205126 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
White teaches: a head-wearable (para. 26, head-wearable display such as glasses), extended reality (XR) device (para. 25, augmented reality applications) that includes an optical assembly, the optical assembly comprising: a display offset from a gaze path of a user of the XR device (see below mapping, that White teaches using lightguides to guide light for display teaches an offset display from a user’s gaze; alternatively, this is also taught by Schowengerdt’s use of waveguides to also direct light; Schowengerdt, e.g. para. 182, 269, claim 18. A user’s eye moves, the gaze moves; the display will be offset)
to display virtual content to the user of the XR device (Fig. 1A: 101 display, displaying virtual content Fig. 1A: 107a, 107b, to a user. See also para. 25: “see-through displays and other electronic displays may be used to present a mixture of virtual information and physical real-world information. In other words, a see-through display enables a presentation of virtual data (e.g., visual representations of the data) while enabling the user to view information, objects, scenes, etc. through the display. For example, augmented reality applications may provide graphical overlays over live scenes to present representations of information to enhance or supplement the scene viewable through the display.”), the display divided into a plurality of viewing zones comprising at least a first viewing zone associated with a first focus distance and
a second viewing zone associated with a second focus distance (para. 35 and Fig. 1D: 129a, 129b and 129c, these are 3 different “viewing zones” associated with different “focus distances” close, middle and infinite); …and
an optical element (para. 35, display 125. White uses the term “display” to describe an optical element, not as a plain language meaning of display) to direct the virtual content from the display along an optical path towards an eye of the user (para. 35, White’s display 125 or “optical element” includes at last three lightguides to direct virtual content/light along optical path toward user eye),
the optical element dividing a field of view of the user into a plurality of portions corresponding to the plurality of viewing zones based on a predetermined mapping (Fig. 1D and para. 36, the user FOV is divided into portions corresponding to the viewing zones (close, middle, infinity) as mapped above), the plurality of portions comprising at least the first portion corresponding to the first viewing zone and the second portion corresponding to the second viewing zone (para. 35 and Fig. 1D. There are three portions illustrated) (also, for claim interpretation purposes, “viewing zone” and “portion” are being treated as substantially similar or referring to the same thing. This is because, as claimed, “viewing zone(-s)” are associated with focus distances. And a user FOV is divided into “portion(-s)” corresponding to the “viewing zone(-s)”. “Viewing zone” is what is associated with the display, “portion” is the term that is used to describe “viewing zone” when associated with a user field of view, both are fundamentally the same and corresponding to each other, as claimed. Applicant’s specification as filed also does not clearly distinguish between the two terms); and
at least one processor (claim 10, processor) to cause a virtual object to be displayed in the first viewing zone to be viewed in the first portion of the field of view based on a presentation distance assigned to the virtual object corresponding to the first focus distance (see mapping above. This is definitional and redundant claim language. A virtual object that is displayed in the first viewing zone will be displayed in the first portion of the FOV, and because the virtual object is displayed in this zone, this is the “presentation distance”).
Re: a plurality of waveguides to direct the virtual content from the display to an optical element, the plurality of waveguides comprising first waveguides to direct first light from the first viewing zone of the display to a first portion of the optical element corresponding to the first viewing zone and second waveguides to direct second light from the second viewing zone of the display to a second portion of the optical element corresponding to the second viewing zone, Schowengerdt teaches that waveguides to direct light (i.e. between first and second viewing zones, as mapped above) are known. See Schowengerdt, Figs. 7A and 7B, which illustrate non-limiting embodiments of using one or more waveguides to transmit light to a user; and/or paras. 77, 78, 86. Like White, Schowengerdt also teaches display systems having a plurality of viewing zones for different focal distances (e.g. paras. 73, 111, 115, 221).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). That is, to have modified the device of White to include waveguides, per Schowengerdt, as part of providing “focus correction” in White (para. 82), as “The descriptions of the configuration and numbers of dynamic focus optical elements, lightguides, displays, and the like are provided as examples and are not intended to be limiting” (quoting White, para. 34). Both references are open and flexible with respect to optical device configurations for delivering light to a user’s eye.
The prior art included each element recited in claim 1, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the optical element comprises a lens (para. 31-32, lens as part of the optical system) (another example teaching: the dual lens system of Fig. 7B, configured with dynamic focus optical components 121 as lenses).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A). One of ordinary skill would have been further motivated to make use of known optical architecture configurations to achieve desired display results.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 2, wherein the lens is arranged in a fixed position relative to the display (Fig. 5, lens corresponding to different displays for each eye).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired results.
Regarding claim 4:
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained: the XR device of claim 2, wherein the lens is a fixed-focus focusing lens (Schowengerdt, para. 114, an embodiment with fixed focus weak lens is known), and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
The prior art included each element recited in claim 1, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described and mapped above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 6:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 2, wherein the lens is a trifocal focusing lens, and
the plurality of portions further comprises a third portion providing a third focus distance that corresponds to a third viewing zone of the display, the third focus distance differing from both the first focus distance and the second focus distance (Fig. 5: 505a, b, 503 a, b, 511a, b – this illustrates/teaches a trifocal lens with three focus distances, respectively).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired results.
Regarding claim 9:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the virtual content comprises first virtual content and second virtual content (e.g. para. 25, 65, multiple virtual objects can be presented),
wherein the display is to simultaneously display the first virtual content in the first viewing zone and the second virtual content in the second viewing zone (e.g. para. 25, 65, 83, multiple virtual objects can be presented, in combination with mapping to claim 1, multiple viewing zones), and
the optical assembly is to direct, via the optical element, the first virtual content to be displayed at the first focus distance and the second virtual content to be displayed at the second focus distance (see mapping to claim 1, multiple focus distances).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired results.
Regarding claim 10:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor (para. 65, processor) is further to:
determine the presentation distance associated with the virtual object (see claim 7, “representational distance” corresponds to Applicant’s claimed “presentation distance” for a virtual object);
assign, based on the presentation distance, the first focus distance to the virtual object; and
in response to the assignment of the first focus distance to the virtual object, cause the virtual object to be rendered in the first viewing zone of the display (claim 7, which teaches that, determining a representation of data based on the focus distance is further based on a representational distance. This teaches/suggests the above “assign” function, as both representational distance is used to determine a representation based on focus distance. See also Fig. 1D and mapping to claim 1 re: viewing zones. Rendering in the first viewing zone is one embodiment of the teachings of White).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained the above, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 11:
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the virtual content comprises first virtual content from the first viewing zone and second virtual content from the second fixed viewing zone,
wherein the optical element is configured such that the first portion operatively directs the first virtual content such that the first virtual content is perceived at a first image plane at the first focus distance, and the second portion operatively directs the second virtual content such that the second virtual content is perceived at a second image plane at the second focus distance,
the first image plane being located in front of the second image plane from a viewing perspective of the user, and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
The above features of claim 11 are taught by Fig. 1D, which shows three viewing zones at different focus distances, respectively, as well as different focal planes (image planes), respectively. See Fig. 1D: 129a, 129, 129c (focal planes associated with different focus distances) and related description)
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12:
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained: the XR device of claim 11, wherein the first virtual content comprises a first virtual object and the second virtual content comprises a second virtual object (e.g. para. 25, 65, multiple virtual objects can be presented), and the at least one processor is further to:
identify, based on characteristics of the first virtual object and the second virtual object, that the first virtual object is to be presented at the first image plane and the second virtual content is to be presented at the second image plane (e.g. para. 65, processor can determine focus distances of objects, in combination with Fig. 1D, focus distance is related to focal plane (image plane). See also paras. 30, 32); and
in response to identifying that the first virtual object is to be presented at the first image plane and the second virtual content is to be presented at the second image plane, cause the first virtual object to be rendered in the first viewing zone and the second virtual object to be rendered in the second viewing zone (para. 65), and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
The prior art included each element recited in claim 12, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 11, wherein, from the viewing perspective of the user, the first viewing zone is located in a lower section of the field of view and the second viewing zone is located in an upper section of the field of view (see Fig. 1D, 129a-c, one is in a lower and another in an upper section, lower and upper referring to nearer or further focus distances).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display and optics technology to achieve desired results.
Regarding claim 14:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the first virtual content is dynamically adjusted from being perceived at the first image plane to being perceived at the second image plane by moving the first virtual content from the first viewing zone to the second viewing zone (see above mapping to claim 1, and White, Fig. 1D and para. 35. Moving content from a first to a second (i.e. close to middle viewing zone) will adjust the perception of the respective image planes).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display and optics technology to achieve desired results.
Regarding claim 16:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the optical assembly forms part of an optical see-through (OST) display arrangement (paras. 25-26, see-through displays).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired results.
Regarding claim 18:
White teaches: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the optical assembly is a first optical assembly and the eye of the user is a first eye of the user, and the XR device further includes a second optical assembly for a second eye of the user (see e.g. Fig 5, two optical assemblies for each eye).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired results.
Regarding claim 19: see claim 1.
The optical assembly of claim 19 corresponds to that of claim 1; the same rationale for rejection applies.
Regarding claim 20: see claim 1.
The method of claim 20 corresponds to the functions performed by the device of claim 1; the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claim(s) 5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Schowengerdt, and further in view of Danziger (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2019/0377122).
Regarding claim 5:
The applied reference(-s) to claim 2 do not proactively teach claim 5. Consider the following.
In analogous art, Danziger teaches: the XR device of claim 2, wherein the lens is a bifocal focusing lens (para. 78: quoting in part: “common for all the embodiments of the invention, the projecting optical device 240 may include one or more lenses, e.g. a bifocal lens, trifocal lens, continuously changing focal distance lens (progressive lens), and/or any other optical device or assembly having varying focal parameters within its field of view.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired imaging results.
Regarding claim 7:
Danziger teaches: the XR device of claim 2, wherein the lens is a progressive focusing lens (para. 78, 82, 92 and 116, waveguides with progressive lenses), and
each of the plurality of portions provides a different focus distance that corresponds to a respective fixed viewing zone of the display, thereby defining multiple fixed focus distances distributed across the field of view (Id;).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired imaging results.
Regarding claim 8:
Danziger teaches: the XR device of claim 7, wherein the multiple fixed focus distances are distributed according to a gradient (para. 18, 24, continuously varying focus).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims, to have further modified the applied reference(-s) in view of same to have obtained the above, motivated to make use of known display technology to achieve desired imaging results.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Schowengerdt, and further in view of in view of Chaum (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. 2010/0149073 A1).
Regarding claim 15:
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the applied reference(-s), in view of same, to have obtained: the XR device of claim 1, wherein the first fixed focus distance is a first distance selected for hand-based interactions with the XR device (Chaum, para. 1309, system can take input in various forms, such as hand gestures), and the second fixed focus distance is a second distance that is greater than the first distance (White, Fig. 1D, second focus distance greater than first, see 129c > 129b > 129a), and the results of the modification would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2143(A).
Re: first distance being selected for hand-based interactions, as Chaum teaches hand-based interactions, and White teaches different focus distances, White also teaches that it is known to have a system able to track user movement and determine the focus distance based on same. The examples White uses is for gaze tracking (see para.72), and also for tracking an input device or pointing device, which can allow the system to know what point in the FOV that is of interest to the user, and adjust the focus distance accordingly (see para.74-75). Modifying the applied references, such that the input device or pointing device, used to determine a user’s interest and dynamically change the resulting focus distance, is user’s hand, per Chaum, is all of taught and suggested by the prior art, and would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The prior art included each element recited in claim 15, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described and mapped above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17:
Chaum teaches: the XR device of claim 16, wherein the OST display arrangement further comprises an optical combiner to direct light originating from the display from the optical path into the gaze path to enable the user to view the virtual content (see para. 585, “the variable focus element performs the collimation adjustment in response to a change in a gaze direction of the eye. In some cases, the variable focus element performs the collimation adjustment in response to an apparent depth of a particular object in the frame of the image data. In some cases, the variable focus element performs the collimation adjustment in response to a comparison of a gaze direction of the eye with a gaze direction of a second eye (sometimes referred to as “vergence”)” See also paras. 264, 266, 606. The collimation adjustment corresponding to gaze direction teaches Applicant’s claimed optical combiner configured to direct light into the gaze path to enable user to view virtual content, as mapped above in White).
Modifying the applied references, such to include the variable focus element of Chaum as an optical combiner to direct light from the display into the gaze path, as per Chaum, to the system of White, which also tracks user gaze (see White, para. 63), is all of taught and suggested by the prior art, and would have been obvious and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The prior art included each element recited in claim 17, although not necessarily in a single embodiment, with the only difference being between the claimed element and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of certain elements in a single prior art embodiment, as described and mapped above.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in that combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
* * * * *
Sarah Lhymn
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/Sarah Lhymn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613