DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ Supplemental Response, filed 7/30/2026, has been entered. As requested, the Supplemental Response supersedes applicants’ amendment filed 7/6/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-13, 16, and 18-24 are pending with claims 11 and 14-15 being previously cancelled, claims 5 and 17 being currently cancelled, and claim 24 being currently added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/16/2024 has been at least partially considered by the examiner. The examiner is again attaching an annotated IDS showing crossed out cites having an incomplete US patent publication numbers. Apparently, the previous annotated IDS (mailed 4/8/2026), when electronically transmitted (within the office and outside the office), did not retain the strikeout positions as intended by the examiner.
It should be noted that the issue with the US patent publications is that they do not show the full 11 digit publication number (i.e. the 4 digit year followed by 7 additional digits). Cites 1-3, 6, and 10-13 are crossed out because these cites show publication numbers having only 10 digits (i.e. there are only 6 digits following the 4 digit year).
Applicants argue that cites 1, 2, 10, and 12 were also cited in an IDS in the parent application (Appl. No. 17609078). However, the publication numbers, for these publications, were also incorrect in the parent case IDS (i.e. showed only 10 digits).
Applicants are encouraged to provide an IDS with correct Publication Numbers in order to ensure that applicants’ applicable publications have been reviewed and considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shantz et al. (US 20130241226).
Regarding claim 1: Shantz discloses a cavity filling system comprising a structure of an automotive vehicle cavity and a filling member ([0003]). Shantz discloses a carrier member 12 comprising a first and a second surface (Figs. 1-3). Shantz discloses a mass 13 of expandable material located on the carrier member (Figs. 1-3). Shantz discloses an attachment 18 attached to the carrier member, the expandable material or both (Figs. 1-4C; [0025]). Shantz discloses locating the filling member relative to one sidewall of the automotive vehicle cavity 20 (Figs. 4A-4C; [0025]). Shantz discloses a pre-tensioning means located adjacent and integrally formed with the attachment ([0023], [0025]). Shantz discloses that the mass of expandable material is only provided on one of the first surface or the second surface of the carrier member that is opposite to the sidewall of the automotive vehicle cavity to which the filling member is affixed (Figs. 1-4C – as best understood, the examiner finds that Shantz illustrates substantially the same positional relationship between the carrier member surfaces and the mass as disclosed and illustrated by the instant invention). Shantz discloses that upon expansion the mass of expandable material forms a foam that occupies a volume that is at least 500% of the volume occupied by the original unexpanded mass of expandable material and the mass of the expandable material expands from the first surface or the second surface on which the mass of expandable material is applied into the automotive vehicle cavity and that the carrier member is elastically and/or plastically deformable so that the carrier member adapts to at least a portion of a shape of the automotive vehicle cavity (Figs. 4A-4C; [0003], [0016], [0024]; claim 1).
Regarding claim 2: Shantz discloses that pre-tensioning means includes one or more wings that are elastically deformable ([0023], [0025] - the figures show several structures that can be interpreted as the recited wings).
Regarding claim 3: Shantz discloses that the mass of expandable material is provided in segments which are spaced apart ([0017]).
Regarding claim 4: Shantz discloses that the carrier member has a longitudinal extension and the attachment is provided in a middle of the longitudinal extension (Figs. 1-4C).
Regarding claim 6: Shantz discloses that the mass of expandable material expands to form a foam that occupies a volume that is at least 1500% of the volume occupied by the original unexpanded mass of expandable material ([0016]).
Regarding claim 8: Shantz discloses that the mass of expandable material is a heat activated thermosetting material that foams, expands and cures upon exposure to temperature in an e-coat or bake oven ([0016], [0019]).
Regarding claim 9: Shantz discloses that the attachment is a fastener that extends into an opening of the structure for at least partially attaching the filling member to the structure (Figs. 1-4C; [0021], [0025]).
Regarding claim 12: Shantz discloses an automotive vehicle structure with a multitude of cavities and a filling system in at least some of the cavities, that each cavity of the multitude of cavities that is filled comprises a multitude of holes being normalized for the attachment (Figs. 1-4C; [0021], [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shantz et al. (US 20130241226), alone.
Shantz discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 7: Shantz does not explicitly disclose that the volume of each segment of the mass of expandable material is greater than 1 cm3 but less than 2 cm3 prior to expansion of the mass of expandable material. However, Shantz teaches various expansion amounts (100% - 2000%) which may vary depending upon the sealing and/or baffling needs of a particular cavity ([0016]). Further, Shantz teaches that the expandable material may be die-cut sheets and provides a list of suitable part numbers ([0017]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Shantz so that each segment of the mass of expandable material is greater than 1 cm3 but less than 2 cm3 prior to expansion of the mass of expandable material. As Shantz discloses various expansion amounts, that the expandable material can be in sheets, that expansion and segments may vary depending upon the sealing and/or baffling needs of a particular cavity, and that the expandable material can be placed is several positions ([0024] – creating living joints 14), it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific size expandable material section from a finite selection of sizes (i.e. select a specific size based on the specific sealing and/or baffling needs of a specific cavity). Such a simple substitution/addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Claims 10, 13, 16, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shantz et al. (US 20130241226) in view of Quaderer (US 20140087126).
Shantz discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 10: Shantz does not explicitly disclose that the filling members are provided as part of a kit of multiple identical filling members and that each filling member differs only in longitudinal extension. Quaderer discloses that the filling members are provided as part of a kit of multiple identical filling members and that each filling member differs only in longitudinal extension (Figs. 1-5; [0016]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Shantz so that the filling members are provided as a kit of multiple identical filling members which only differ in their longitudinal extension, as taught by Quaderer. As Shantz and Quaderer are both directed to cavity filling structures in a vehicle, as vehicle cavity fillers are very well known in the art, as Shantz is silent regarding a kit, and as Quaderer explicitly discloses a kit of multiple identical filling members which only differ in their longitudinal extension, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a kit of multiple identical filling members which only differ in their longitudinal extension from a finite selection of number and sizes of filling members (i.e. identical filling members and differing members). Such a simple substitution/addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 13: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, discloses an automotive vehicle structure with a multitude of cavities and a filling system in at least some of the cavities, that the filling members are provided as a kit of multiple filling members, and that each filling member at least partially differs in longitudinal extension. (Shantz - Figs. 1-4C; [0021], [0025]; Quaderer - Figs. 1-5; [0016]).
Regarding claim 16: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, discloses a method to produce a kit, wherein one single mold-machine is utilized for all members of the kit and that the single mold machine is provided with chambers and that the chambers are opened or closed depending on a desired longitudinal extension of the carrier member and/or the desired amount of the mass of expandable material (Shantz - Figs. 1-4C; [0017], [0023], [0025]; Quaderer - Figs. 1-5; [0016], [0032] - kit).
Regarding claim 18: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, discloses that the attachment is centrally located along a longitudinal axis of the carrier member (Shantz – Fig. 2; Quaderer – Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 19: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, discloses that the ends of the carrier member curve inward toward the interior of the automotive vehicle cavity upon installation in the automotive vehicle cavity (Shantz – Figs. 1-4C; Quaderer – Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 20: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, discloses that the mass of expandable material is molded within the walls of the carrier (Shantz – Figs. 1-4C; Quaderer – Figs. 1-5 – material is molded within the cavity at least when it expands).
Regarding claim 21: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, discloses integrally molding the attachment with the carrier member (Shantz – [0023]; Quaderer – [0031]).
Regarding claim 22: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, does not explicitly disclose cutting each member to about 80 mm in length. However, as discussed above, Shantz teaches various amounts of members and expansion amounts which may vary depending upon the sealing and/or baffling needs of a particular cavity (Shantz - [0016]). Quaderer teaches that the size and shape of the device may depend on the size and shape of the cavity in which the device will be located (Quaderer – [0016]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, so as to cut each member at about 80 mm in length. As Shantz and Quaderer are both directed to cavity filling structures in a vehicle, as vehicles are known to have various cavities and cavity fillers are very well known in the art, and as Shantz and Quaderer discloses that expansion and segments may vary depending upon the sealing and/or baffling needs of a particular cavity, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific size expandable material section from a finite selection of sizes (i.e. select a specific size based on the specific sealing and/or baffling needs of a specific cavity). Such a simple substitution/addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 23: Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, does not explicitly disclose cutting each carrier member so that the length of the carrier member is less than three times the length of the attachment. However, as discussed above, Shantz teaches various amounts of members and expansion amounts which may vary depending upon the sealing and/or baffling needs of a particular cavity (Shantz - [0016]). Quaderer teaches that the size and shape of the device may depend on the size and shape of the cavity in which the device will be located (Quaderer – [0016]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Shantz, as modified by Quaderer, so as to cut each member so that the length of the member is less than three times the length of the attachment. As Shantz and Quaderer are both directed to cavity filling structures in a vehicle, as vehicles are known to have various cavities and cavity fillers are very well known in the art, and as Shantz and Quaderer discloses that expansion and segments may vary depending upon the sealing and/or baffling needs of a particular cavity, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a specific size expandable material section from a finite selection of sizes (i.e. select a specific size based on the specific sealing and/or baffling needs of a specific cavity). Such a simple substitution/addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shantz et al. (US 20130241226) in view of Lindgren et al. (US 20240317510).
Shantz discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 24: Shantz does not explicitly disclose that the filling member is installed by a robot. Lindgren discloses that the filling member is installed by a robot. (Figs. 1-5; abstr.; [0001], [0002], [0008], [0130]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Shantz so that the filling members are installed by a robot, as taught by Lindgren. As Shantz and Lindgren are both directed to cavity filling structures in a vehicle, as vehicle cavity fillers are very well known in the art, as robots are very well known in automobile assembling stations, as Shantz is silent regarding a robot, and as Lindgren explicitly teaches the use of robots for installing insulating elements, it would have been within routine skill to have selected an installation method from a finite selection of installation methods (i.e. manual or robotic). Such a simple substitution/addition would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments and arguments, filed 7/30/2026, with respect to the previous rejections of claims 1-10, 12-13, and 16-23 have been fully considered and they are at least partially persuasive. The objections/rejections that have been withdrawn are not repeated herein.
Applicants argue that the Office Action does not clearly identify specific parts such as a first surface or second surface, pre-tensioning means, etc. (see Remarks filed 7/30/2026). Applicants assert that the examiner merely refers to figures and cites paragraphs without explicitly identifying each part. Thus, applicants conclude that they have not been properly put on notice and cannot properly evaluate the allegations set forth in the Office Action. The examiner disagrees with applicants’ analysis and conclusions. Unfortunately, Shantz, as well as the other cited reference, do not include the same verbiage as the instant application. These references do not show the exact same figures as shown in the instant application. These references do not use the same reference numbers that are used in the instant application. Thus, the examiner must use the existing reference drawings and cite appropriate reference paragraphs that disclose what applicants are broadly claiming. Applicants should be able to view the cited figures, paragraphs, and examiner statements to understand the rejections. The rejections above explicitly set out the examiner’s rejections. The examiner believes that as applicants are able to present arguments to refute the examiner’s rejection, applicants are able to understand the examiner’s rejections.
Regarding the rejections of the dependent claims, the applicants appear to argue that a claim is not disclosed because the reference does not use the explicit language of the instant claims.
As the applicants’ claims are broad and thus easily disclosed by art that is not exactly the same as applicants’ invention, it is suggested that applicants attempt to amend claims so as to explicitly differentiate them from the cited references as opposed to arguing semantics of the cited reference
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
8/24/2026