DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the fueling location" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim (s) 1, 7-8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann et al. (DE 102012104546A1; published in 2013) hereinafter Hoffjann in view of Behrendt (US 12015255 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hoffjann discloses a fuel trailer (2;Fig.1) comprising: a frame (4;Fig.1); a fuel tank (10) coupled to the frame that is configured to provide fuel (liquid hydrogen), at a fueling location ( location that requires liquid hydrogen), to a system that is not associated with the fuel trailer (2 provides fuel at a specific location that requires liquid hydrogen); and a grounding system (23) coupled to the frame (4).
Hoffjann is silent with respect to the grounding system including: a hydraulic actuator (coupled to the frame, the hydraulic actuator including a cylinder and a grounding rod that is movable relative to the cylinder, wherein the grounding rod is movable from a stowed position to a deployed position, and wherein in the deployed position, the grounding rod extends outside a spatial envelope of the fuel trailer including below a bottom surface of a tire, of the fuel trailer, and is configured to be received within a ground surface at the fueling location; and a rod actuation assembly adapted to move the grounding rod between the stowed position and the deployed position.
Behrendt discloses a grounding system including: a hydraulic actuator (14;Fig.2; claim 4) coupled to the frame (frame of 18; col.2:line 26-30), the hydraulic actuator including a cylinder (see 14 in Fig.1) and a grounding rod (12) that is movable relative to the cylinder (14), wherein the grounding rod is movable from a stowed position (12 away from the ground 20) to a deployed position (12 contacting the ground 20;Fig.2), and wherein in the deployed position, the grounding rod extends outside a spatial envelope of the vehicle including below a bottom surface of a tire (12 is extended into the ground surface below the bottom surface of the tires of the vehicle), of the vehicle, and is configured to be received within a ground surface at the location (bottom of vehicle ); and a rod actuation assembly (see 24 and 22; col.2:line 35-44) adapted to move the grounding rod between the stowed position and the deployed position (22 and 24 moves the 12 up and down from the ground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of the grounding rod system of Behrendt with the frame at the fueling location of Hoffjann in order to reduce electrostatic build up in a vehicle and thus preventing damaging to electronic components within the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7 and 14, Hoffjann fails to specifically disclose wherein the grounding rod, the cylinder, and an actuation type is selected based on a terrain at the fueling location, and wherein the grounding rod is selected from the group consisting of: a bar member, a drill bit, a hammer, and a screw-type rod.
Behrendt discloses wherein the grounding rod, the cylinder, and an actuation type is selected based on a terrain at the location (see grounding surface 20), and wherein the grounding rod is a hammer (12; 12 is hammered in the grounding surface of 20: Fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of the grounding rod system of Behrendt with the frame at the fueling location of Hoffjann in order to reduce electrostatic build up in a vehicle and thus preventing damaging to electronic components within the vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Hoffjann discloses: a frame (4;Fig.2); a power source (22 and 24 are control unit which include electric motors) coupled to the frame (4) that provides operating power to the fuel supply vehicle; a fuel tank (10) coupled to the frame that is configured to provide fuel (liquid hydrogen), at a fueling location (designated location depending on driver), to a system that is not associated with the fuel supply vehicle (fuel truck provides fuel to devices that require liquid hydrogen); and a grounding system (23) coupled to the frame.
Hoffjann fails to specifically disclose the grounding system including: a hydraulic actuator coupled to the frame, the hydraulic actuator including a cylinder and a grounding rod that is movable relative to the cylinder, wherein the grounding rod is movable from a stowed position to a deployed position, and wherein in the deployed position, the grounding rod extends outside a spatial envelope of the fuel supply vehicle including below a bottom surface of a tire, of the fuel supply vehicle, and is configured to be received within a ground surface at the fueling location; and a rod actuation assembly adapted to move the grounding rod between the stowed position and the deployed position.
Behrendt discloses a grounding system including: a hydraulic actuator (14;Fig.2; claim 4) coupled to the frame (frame of 18; col.2:line 26-30), the hydraulic actuator including a cylinder (see 14 in Fig.1) and a grounding rod (12) that is movable relative to the cylinder (14), wherein the grounding rod is movable from a stowed position (12 away from the ground 20) to a deployed position (12 contacting the ground 20;Fig.2), and wherein in the deployed position, the grounding rod extends outside a spatial envelope of the vehicle including below a bottom surface of a tire (12 is extended into the ground surface below the bottom surface of the tires of the vehicle), of the vehicle, and is configured to be received within a ground surface at the location (bottom of vehicle ); and a rod actuation assembly (see 24 and 22; col.2:line 35-44) adapted to move the grounding rod between the stowed position and the deployed position (22 and 24 moves the 12 up and down from the ground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of the grounding rod system of Behrendt with the frame at the fueling location of Hoffjann in order to reduce electrostatic build up in a vehicle and thus preventing damaging to electronic components within the vehicle.
Claim (s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffjann et al. (DE 102012104546A1; published in 2013) in view of Behrendt (US 12015255 B2), as applied to claim 1 and 8, above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 210052855 U) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 6 and 13, Hoffjann fails to disclose wherein the grounding system further includes a grounding cable connected between the grounding rod and the frame.
Zhang discloses wherein the grounding system further includes a grounding cable (13; Fig.1) connected between the grounding rod (5: Fig.1) and the frame (1;Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Zhang with the device of Hoffjann in order to provide an effective grounding contact between an equipment and the ground.
Claim (s) 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN221282890U) in view of Behrendt (US 12015255 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Dong discloses an energy supply module (1) comprising: a frame (bottom frame of 1); a power source coupled to the frame that is configured to provide a power supply (1 includes a portable power generator), at a desired location, to a system that is not associated with the energy supply module (power generator provides power to equipment that needs emergency repair), wherein the power source includes at least one of a power module (power generator);
Dong fails to specifically disclose a grounding system coupled to the frame, the grounding system including: a hydraulic actuator coupled to the frame, the hydraulic actuator including a cylinder and a grounding rod that is movable relative to the cylinder, wherein the grounding rod is movable from a stowed position to a deployed position, and wherein in the deployed position, the grounding rod extends outside a spatial envelope of the energy supply module including below a bottom surface of a tire, of the energy supply module, and is configured to be received within a ground surface at the desired location; and a rod actuation assembly adapted to move the grounding rod between the stowed position and the deployed position.
Behrendt discloses a grounding system including: a hydraulic actuator (14;Fig.2; claim 4) coupled to the frame (frame of 18; col.2:line 26-30), the hydraulic actuator including a cylinder (see 14 in Fig.1) and a grounding rod (12) that is movable relative to the cylinder (14), wherein the grounding rod is movable from a stowed position (12 away from the ground 20) to a deployed position (12 contacting the ground 20;Fig.2), and wherein in the deployed position, the grounding rod extends outside a spatial envelope of the vehicle including below a bottom surface of a tire (12 is extended into the ground surface below the bottom surface of the tires of the vehicle), of the vehicle, and is configured to be received within a ground surface at the location (bottom of vehicle ); and a rod actuation assembly (see 24 and 22; col.2:line 35-44) adapted to move the grounding rod between the stowed position and the deployed position (22 and 24 moves the 12 up and down from the ground).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of the grounding rod system of Behrendt with the frame of Dong in order to reduce electrostatic build up in a vehicle and thus preventing damaging to electronic components within the vehicle.
Regarding claim 20, Dong fails to specifically disclose wherein the grounding rod, the cylinder, and an actuation type is selected based on a terrain at the fueling location, and wherein the grounding rod is selected from the group consisting of: a bar member, a drill bit, a hammer, and a screw-type rod.
Behrendt discloses wherein the grounding rod, the cylinder, and an actuation type is selected based on a terrain at the location (see grounding surface 20), and wherein the grounding rod is a hammer (12; 12 is hammered in the grounding surface of 20: Fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of the grounding rod system of Behrendt with the frame at the fueling location of Dong in order to reduce electrostatic build up in a vehicle and thus preventing damaging to electronic components within the vehicle.
Claim (s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Behrendt (US 12015255 B2), as applied to claim 15, above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 210052855 U) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 19, Dong fails to disclose wherein the grounding system further includes a grounding cable connected between the grounding rod and the frame.
Zhang discloses wherein the grounding system further includes a grounding cable (13; Fig.1) connected between the grounding rod (5: Fig.1) and the frame (1;Fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Zhang with the device of Dong in order to provide an effective grounding contact between an equipment and the ground.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 9-12 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 2-5, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the rod actuation assembly includes: a fluid source adapted to hold fluid therein; a fluid pump in fluid communication with the fluid source; and a valve assembly adapted to provide selective fluid communication between the fluid pump and the hydraulic actuator, wherein the fluid pump is operable to direct fluid from the fluid source towards the valve assembly, wherein the valve assembly is operable in at least one of a first configuration and a second configuration, and wherein: in the first configuration, the valve assembly directs fluid from the fluid pump towards a cylinder end of the cylinder to move the grounding rod from the stowed position to the deployed position; and in the second configuration, the valve assembly directs fluid from the fluid pump towards a rod end of the cylinder to move the grounding rod from the deployed position to the stowed position " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 1.
Regarding claims 9-12, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the rod actuation assembly includes: a fluid source adapted to hold fluid therein; a fluid pump in fluid communication with the fluid source; and a valve assembly adapted to provide selective fluid communication between the fluid pump and the hydraulic actuator, wherein the fluid pump is operable to direct fluid from the fluid source towards the valve assembly, wherein the valve assembly is operable in at least one of a first configuration and a second configuration, and wherein: in the first configuration, the valve assembly directs fluid from the fluid pump towards a cylinder end of the cylinder to move the grounding rod from the stowed position to the deployed position; and in the second configuration, the valve assembly directs fluid from the fluid pump towards a rod end of the cylinder to move the grounding rod from the deployed position to the stowed position " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 8.
Regarding claim 16-18, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the rod actuation assembly includes: a fluid source adapted to hold fluid therein; a fluid pump in fluid communication with the fluid source; and a valve assembly adapted to provide selective fluid communication between the fluid pump and the hydraulic actuator, wherein the fluid pump is operable to direct fluid from the fluid source towards the valve assembly, wherein the valve assembly is operable in at least one of a first configuration and a second configuration, and wherein: in the first configuration, the valve assembly directs fluid from the fluid pump towards a cylinder end of the cylinder to move the grounding rod from the stowed position to the deployed position; and in the second configuration, the valve assembly directs fluid from the fluid pump towards a rod end of the cylinder to move the grounding rod from the deployed position to the stowed position" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 15.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent toapplicant's disclosure.
Maiorana (US 2018/0354409 A1) discloses a gas hauler tank with electrical system.
Gardikis et al. (US 11311996 B2) discloses a self hammering grounding device.
Jurs (US 1600549) discloses a grounding chain for a truck fuel container.
Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the instantapplication claimed invention as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848