Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamiya (US 20220418078), in view of Liu (US 8325446).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamiya discloses a hard disk drive flexible printed circuit (FPC 212, Fig. 2C and 2D) comprising:
a plurality of fingers (the fingers 212a) extending from a root to a tip,
each finger comprising:
a first conductive trace layer (top wiring layer 252) positioned on a first side of a base layer (254) and comprising a particular plurality of electrical pads (pads 208d, 212d) extending to a lateral edge (Fig. 2B), and
a second conductive trace layer (the second wiring layer 256) positioned on an opposing second side of the base layer and adhered with an adhesive layer (the adhesive layer between the layers; paragraph 25) to a cover film (the cover films 250, 258),
Nakamiya does not explicitly disclose particular traces of the second conductive trace layer electrically connected to the particular plurality of electrical pads are routed so as to substantially not be underneath the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer to inhibit heat transfer from the particular plurality of electrical pads to the second conductive trace layer.
Liu suggests the traces (418, Fig. 4) from one layer are substantially not underneath the pads (440, 442, 444, 446). This structure arrangement is obviously limiting the heat transfer between pads and traces.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of the traces and pads in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Nakamiya further suggests the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer and the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer are positioned closest to the tip (pads are closest to the tip, the traces are connected to the pads, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2. Nakamiya further suggests an average lateral width of a first pattern of the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer, in an area of the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer, is in a range of 45%-55% narrower than an average lateral width of a second pattern of the traces of the second conductive trace layer in a direction toward the root (the wiring layer 352 having the distal end is narrower than the root end; fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Nakamiya further suggests hard disk drive (HDD 100, Fig 1) comprising the FPC of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Nakamiya discloses a hard disk drive (HDD 100, Fig. 1) flexible printed circuit (FPC 212, Fig. 2C & 2D) comprising:
a plurality of fingers (the fingers 212a) extending from a root to a tip,
each finger comprising:
a first conductive trace layer (top wiring layer 252) positioned on a first side of a base layer (254) and comprising a particular plurality of electrical pads (pads 208d, 212d) extending to a lateral edge (Fig. 2B), and
a second conductive trace layer (the second wiring layer 256) positioned on an opposing second side of the base layer and adhered with an adhesive layer (the adhesive layer between the layers; paragraph 25) to a cover film (the cover films 250, 258).
Nakamiya does not explicitly disclose particular traces of the second conductive trace layer electrically connected to the particular plurality of electrical pads are configured such that the adhesive layer between the particular traces is wider than each particular trace to expose evaporative surface area of the adhesive layer.
Liu suggests some particular traces (930, 932, 934) having large space in between.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to customize the space between traces or components in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 6, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5. Liu further suggests a width of each particular trace is substantially consistent throughout the second conductive trace layer (the width of the traces 818, Fig. 8, may remain consistent).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6. Nakamiya further suggests the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer and the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer are positioned closest to the tip (the pads and traces connected to the pad located near the tip; Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5. Nakamiya further discloses a hard disk drive (HDD 100, Fig. 1) comprising the FPC of claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Nakamiya discloses a method of manufacturing a flexible printed circuit (FPC 212, Fig. 2C & 2D) laminate composition having a plurality of fingers (the fingers 212a, Fig. 2C) extending from a root to a tip, the method comprising:
forming a first conductive trace layer (top wiring layer 252) positioned on a first side of a base layer (254) and comprising a particular plurality of electrical pads (pads 208d, 212d) extending to a lateral edge (Fig. 2B); and
forming a second conductive trace layer (the second wiring layer 256) positioned on an opposing second side of the base layer and adhered with an adhesive layer (the adhesive layer between the layers; paragraph 25) to a cover film (the cover films 250, 258).
Nakamiya does not explicitly disclose configuring particular traces of the second conductive trace layer electrically connected to the particular plurality of electrical pads to inhibit bubbling of the adhesive layer in response to heating of the particular plurality of electrical pads.
Nakamiya suggest heating the FPC uniformly to avoid generating excessive heat that may generate bubbles that may damage the FPC (paragraph 23).
Liu suggests the traces are distributed substantially even throughout the surface of the circuit board, Fig. 4. That will help heating the board uniformly as suggested by Nakamiya.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the components and traces on the circuit board in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 10, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 9.
Nakamiya does not explicitly disclose configuring the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer includes routing the particular traces so as to substantially not be underneath the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer, to inhibit heat transfer from the particular plurality of electrical pads to the second conductive trace layer.
Liu suggests the traces (418, Fig. 4) from one layer are substantially not underneath the pads (440, 442, 444, 446). This structure arrangement is obviously limiting the heat transfer between pads and traces.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of the traces and pads in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 11, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10. Nakamiya further suggests forming the first and second conductive trace layers includes forming the particular plurality of electrical pads and the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer closest to the tip (pads and the traces connected to the pads are located near the tips, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 10. Nakamiya further suggests forming the second conductive trace layer includes forming a first pattern for the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer, in an area of the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer, in a range of 45%-55% narrower than an average lateral width of a second pattern of for traces of the second conductive trace layer in a direction toward the root (the wiring layer 352 having the distal end is narrower than the root end; fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 13, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 9.
Nakamiya does not explicitly disclose configuring the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer includes forming the particular traces such that the adhesive layer between the particular traces is wider than each particular trace, to expose evaporative surface area of the adhesive layer.
Liu suggests some particular traces (930, 932, 934) having large space in between.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to customize the space between traces or components in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 14, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13. Liu further suggests a width of each particular trace is substantially consistent throughout the second conductive trace layer (the width of the traces 818, Fig. 8, may remain consistent).
Regarding claim 15, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13. Nakamiya further suggests forming the first and second conductive trace layers includes forming the particular plurality of electrical pads and the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer closest to the tip (the pads and traces connected to the pad located near the tip; Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 16, Nakamiya discloses a hard disk drive (HDD 100, Fig. 1) comprising:
a plurality of recording media (120) rotatably mounted on a spindle (the spindle 124, Fig. 1);
a plurality of head sliders (head slider 110b) each housing a respective read-write transducer (110a) configured to read from and to write to at least one recording medium of the plurality of recording media;
means for moving the plurality of head sliders (pivot shaft 148) to access portions of the recording media; and
a flexible printed circuit (FPC 212) configured to transmit electrical signals to and from the plurality of head sliders, the FPC comprising a plurality of fingers extending from a root to a tip (Fig. 2C),
each finger comprising:
a first conductive trace layer (top wiring layer 252) positioned on a first side of a base layer (the base film 254) and comprising a particular plurality of electrical pads (208d, 212d) extending to a lateral edge (Fig. 2B), and
a second conductive trace layer (the second wiring layer 256) positioned on an opposing second side of the base layer and adhered with an adhesive layer (the adhesive layer between the layers; paragraph 25) to a cover film (the cover films 250, 258).
Nakamiya does not explicitly disclose means for inhibiting bubbling of the adhesive layer in response to heating of the particular plurality of electrical pads.
Nakamiya suggest heating the FPC uniformly to avoid generating excessive heat that may generate bubbles that may damage the FPC (paragraph 23).
Liu suggests the traces are distributed substantially even throughout the surface of the circuit board, Fig. 4. That will help heating the board uniformly as suggested by Nakamiya.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the components and traces on the circuit board in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 17, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16.
Nakamiya does not explicitly disclose the means for inhibiting includes particular traces of the second conductive trace layer electrically connected to the particular plurality of electrical pads positioned substantially not underneath the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer to inhibit heat transfer from the particular plurality of electrical pads to the second conductive trace layer.
Liu suggests the traces (418, Fig. 4) from one layer are substantially not underneath the pads (440, 442, 444, 446). This structure arrangement is obviously limiting the heat transfer between pads and traces.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the position of the traces and pads in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 18, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Nakamiya further suggests an average lateral width of a first pattern of the particular traces of the second conductive trace layer, in an area of the particular plurality of electrical pads of the first conductive trace layer, is in a range of 45%-55% narrower than an average lateral width of a second pattern of the traces of the second conductive trace layer in a direction toward the root (the wiring layer 352 having the distal end is narrower than the root end; fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 19, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16.
Nakamiya does not explicitly discloses the means for inhibiting includes particular traces of the second conductive trace layer electrically connected to the particular plurality of electrical pads formed such that the adhesive layer between the particular traces is wider than each particular trace to expose evaporative surface area of the adhesive layer.
Liu suggests some particular traces (930, 932, 934) having large space in between.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to customize the space between traces or components in order to fit all the intended circuitry on the limited space of the circuit board and also to make sure the circuit board is function properly by limiting heat transfer and to protect the signal integrity.
Regarding claim 20, Nakamiya, in view of Liu, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 19. Liu further suggests a width of each particular trace is substantially consistent throughout the second conductive trace layer (the width of the traces 818, Fig. 8, may remain consistent).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aoki (US 11074931) discloses a hard disk drive having many fingers, substrate, traces and pads, Fig. 5.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848