DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal of the Species I-II is on the ground(s) that “… the alleged species appeared to be associated with the same field, and the only difference between the alleged species pointed out by the Restriction Requirement is the direction of the slot. Further, the Restriction Requirement has not presented any evidence or analysis to prove that the direction of the slot would, of itself, require a different field of search” and “further, as described throughout the Specification, features of the alleged species may be employed additionally or alternatively in various combinations. In other words, claims directed to the alleged species may overlap in scope”. This is not found persuasive because the claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of said species that the “horizontal direction” cannot be simultaneously considered as predominantly “parallel” and “perpendicular” to the same slot. This mutual exclusivity, which was noted in the Restriction Requirement mailed 08/10/2026, is exemplified in the distinct embodiments shown in fig. 6A and fig. 6B of the instant application - and requires a different field of search, as these specific exclusive characteristics of “parallel” and “perpendicular” do not overlap in scope.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 12-14 are canceled.
Claims 1-8, 10-11, and 15-20 have been fully considered in Examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 10-11, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujii (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0075622A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujii teaches a method [see figs. 39-55, 0128], comprising:
forming a trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130] in a vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56 below top of LMT) fig. 39 [0129] over a substrate (40) fig. 39 [0129], the vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56) comprising alternating layers of a first material (56-material) [0129] and a second material (43-material) [0129], and the trench (LMT) extending in a horizontal direction (horizontal direction in “plane” view of fig. 39 [0139]);
filling the trench (LMT) at least partially with a placeholder material (80 with 81) figs. 39-40 [0130-131];
forming a first cavity (expanded LAH) fig. 41 [0132] in the trench (LMT) based at least in part on removing [see fig. 41, 0132] a first portion (81) of the placeholder material (80 with 81);
forming a pillar (comprising 30-34) figs. 50-51 [0141] in the first cavity (LAH), the pillar (comprising 30-34) comprising a third material (34) fig. 50 [0141] adjacent to (nearby) a plurality of sidewalls of the trench (LMT), a semiconductor material (31) fig. 50 [0141] adjacent to (nearby) the third material (34), and an insulating material (33 with 32) fig. 50 [0141-0143, 0064, 0060] adjacent to (nearby) the semiconductor material (31);
forming one or more second cavities (C2) annotated fig. 52 below [0141-0143] (second cavities C2 are gaps defined by removal of remaining 80 material, portions of 31-34 material in figs. 50-51 [0141-0143]) based at least in part on removing at least a second portion (remaining 80) [see figs. 51-52, 0142] of the placeholder material (comprising 80 with 81), the one or more second cavities (C2) exposing a first sidewall (left sidewall of 30 in A1-A2 plane) [see annotated fig. 52 below] and a second sidewall (right sidewall of 30 in A1-A2 plane) [see annotated fig. 52 below] of the pillar (comprising 30); and
forming a plurality of memory cells (comprising MC1’s, MC2’s defined by separated portions of 31-34 material in fig. 52) (separated 32-34 memory film/ charge storage material in fig. 52 [0143], denoted by MC label, functions as portion of memory cell in finished device - upon replacing 56 material with word line 46 material in fig. 55 [see also fig. 4, fig. 55, 0143, 0146, 0081, 0051-0052, 0062]) in the trench (expanded LMT with expanded LAH in LMT) [see annotated fig. 52 below, 0143] based at least in part on removing (while removing 31-34 material in figs. 50-51 to form C2’s) a portion of the third material (34) and a portion of the semiconductor material (31) from (on) the first sidewall (left sidewall of 30 in A1-A2 plane) [see annotated fig. 52 below] and the second sidewall (right sidewall of 30 in A1-A2 plane) [see annotated fig. 52 below] of the pillar (comprising 30).
[AltContent: textbox (MC2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (MC1)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2st sidewall)][AltContent: textbox (1st sidewall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C2 )][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Annotated fig. 52 of Fujii
Regarding claim 4, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 1. Fujii also teaches further comprising:
filling the first cavity (expanded LAH) fig. 41 [0132] with a second placeholder material (82) fig. 42 [0133];
depositing a second vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56 above top of 82) fig. 45 [0129, 0136] over the vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56 below top of 82) fig. 45 [0129] based at least in part (in the method sequence) on filling the first cavity (expanded LAH) with the second placeholder material (82), the second vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56 above top of 82) comprising alternating layers of the first material (56-material) [0129] and the second material (43-material) [0129];
forming a second trench (UMT) fig. 46 [0137] in the second vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56 above top of 82), the second trench (UMT) above the trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130, 0142] and extending in the horizontal direction (horizontal direction of fig. 46 “plane” perspective);
(partially) filling the second trench (UMT) at least partially with the placeholder material (comprising 80-material) fig. 47 [0138];
forming a third cavity (expanded UAH) fig. 48 [0138] in the second trench (UMT), the third cavity (expanded UAH) above the first cavity (expanded LAH) fig. 41 [0132]; and
removing [see figs. 48-49, 0139-0140] the second placeholder material (82) from the first cavity (expanded LAH), wherein forming the pillar (comprising 30-34) fig. 50 [0141] further comprises forming the pillar (comprising 30-34) fig. 50 [0141] in the third cavity (expanded UAH).
Regarding claim 5, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 1. Fujii also teaches
further comprising:
depositing the vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56 below top of LMT) fig. 39 [0129] over the substrate (40) fig. 39 [0129], wherein forming the trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130] comprises removing a portion [0129-0130] (43, 56 where LMT/MT forms) of the vertical stack of layers (43, 46) (see also removal step of figs. 6-7, [0067-0068]).
Regarding claim 6, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 1. Fujii also teaches
wherein the plurality of memory cells (comprising MC1’s, MC2’s) see annotated fig. 52 above [0141-0143] comprises a first memory cell (MC1) on (supported by) a first sidewall (shown as upper sidewall in plane view of fig. 52) of the trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130] and a second memory cell (MC2) on a second sidewall (shown as lower sidewall in plane view of fig. 52) of the trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130].
Regarding claim 7, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 6. Fujii also teaches
further comprising:
removing [see figs. 51-52, 0141-0143] the insulating material (33 with 32) fig. 50 [0141-0143, 0064, 0060] to form a gap (portion of C2 between separated portions of 33 with 32) [0142-0143] between the first memory cell (MC1’s) see annotated fig. 52 above [0141-0143] and the second memory cell (MC2’s) see annotated fig. 52 above [0141-0143].
Regarding claim 8, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 1. Fujii also teaches
wherein the horizontal direction (horizontal direction in fig. 52, fig. 55 plane-view) is parallel to a slot (MT, filled by 49) fig. 55 [0143-0144] separating a first block (collective MC1’s located above MT slot in plane view of fig. 52, fig. 55) comprising the plurality of memory cells (plurality of MC1’s) from a second block (collective MC1’s located below MT slot in plane view of fig. 52, fig. 55) comprising a plurality of second memory cells (plurality of MC2’s) (as defined in annotated fig. 52 above).
Regarding claim 10, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 1. Fujii also teaches wherein the first material (56-material) fig. 50 [0129, 0066] comprises a nitride material (SiN [0066]), the second material (43-material) fig. 50 [0129] comprises a first oxide material (SiO2 [0051]), and the third material (34-material) fig. 50 [0141] comprises a second oxide material (SiO2 [0060]).
Regarding claim 11, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 1. Fujii also teaches wherein a second cavity (C2) annotated fig. 52 above [0141-0143] of the one or more second cavities (C2’s) annotated fig. 52 above [0141-0143] comprises one or more rounded sidewalls (right/left sidewalls of C2 bordering 30/48 are rounded).
Regarding claim 15, Fujii teaches a method [see figs. 39-55, 0128], comprising:
forming a trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130] in a vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56) fig. 39 [0129] over a substrate (40) fig. 39 [0129], the vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56) comprising alternating layers of a first material (56-material) [0129] and a second material (43-material) [0129], and the trench (LMT) extending in a horizontal direction (horizontal direction in “plane” view of fig. 39 [0139]);
filling the trench (LMT) at least partially with a placeholder material (80 with 81) figs. 39-40 [0130-131];
forming one or more piers (vertically-oriented support structures 82) figs. 42-43 [0133-0134] in the trench (LMT) based at least in part on removing (sequential to removing) at least a portion of the placeholder material (removing 81 portion) figs. 40-41 [0131-0132];
(partially) removing the placeholder material (removing portions of 80) figs. 40-41 [0132-0133] to form a first cavity (expanded LAH) fig. 41 [0132], the first cavity (expanded LAH) exposing (leaving exposed) sidewalls (upper, left/right sidewalls) of each of the one or more piers (82);
forming a pillar (comprising 30-34) figs. 50-51 [0141] in the first cavity (expanded LAH), the pillar (comprising 30-34) comprising a third material (34) fig. 50 [0141] adjacent (nearby) to a plurality of sidewalls of the trench (LMT), a semiconductor material (31) fig. 50 [0141] adjacent (nearby) to the third material (34), and an insulating material (33 with 32) fig. 50 [0141-0143, 0064, 0060] adjacent (nearby) to the semiconductor material (31);
forming one or more second cavities (C2) annotated fig. 52 below [0141-0143] (second cavities C2 are gaps created, in part, by removal of 82 material in fig. 49 [0141-0143]) based at least in part on removing (sequential to removing 82 in figs. 48-49 [0139-0140]) at least a portion of the one or more piers (82 vertical supports), the one or more second cavities (C2) exposing a first sidewall (left sidewall of 30) and a second sidewall (right sidewall of 30) of the pillar (comprising 30) (see annotated fig. 52 below); and
forming a plurality of memory cells (comprising MC1’s, MC2’s defined by separated portions of 31-34 material in fig. 52) (separated 32-34 memory film/ charge storage material in fig. 52 [0143], denoted by MC label, functions as portion of memory cell in finished device - upon replacing 56 material with word line 46 material in fig. 55 [see also fig. 4, fig. 55, 0143, 0146, 0081, 0051-0052, 0062]) in the trench (expanded LMT with expanded LAH in LMT) [see annotated fig. 52 below, 0143] based at least in part on removing a portion of the third material (34) and a portion of the semiconductor material (31) from the first sidewall (left sidewall of 30 in A1-A2 plane) [see annotated fig. 52 below] and the second sidewall (right sidewall of 30 in A1-A2 plane) [see annotated fig. 52 below] of the pillar (comprising 30).
[AltContent: textbox (MC2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (MC1)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2st sidewall)][AltContent: textbox (1st sidewall)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C2 )][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Annotated fig. 52 of Fujii
Regarding claim 16, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 15. Fujii also teaches further comprising:
forming a second trench (UMT with UAH) fig. 46 [0137] in the vertical stack of layers (comprising 43, 56) fig. 45 [0129, 0136], the second trench (comprising UMT) extending in the horizontal direction (horizontal direction in “plane” view of fig. 47 [0139]) and separated from the trench (LMT with LAH) fig. 47 [00130-0132] in the horizontal direction (horizontal direction in “plane” view of fig. 47 [0139]) by a portion of the vertical stack of layers (comprising upper 43) (horizontally adjacent UAH, LAH’s separated in horizontal and vertical direction by intervening 43 material – see “PLANE” view);
forming the placeholder material (comprising 80-material) fig. 47 [0138] in the second trench (UMT with UAH); and
forming one or more piers (vertically-oriented support structures CH) fig. 55 [0146] in (partially in) the second trench (UMT with UAH) based at least in part on (sequentially to) removing a second portion (bottom of 80 in UAH) figs. 48-49 [0139-0140] of the placeholder material (80) and removing the portion (upper 43) figs. 49-50 [0141] of the vertical stack of layers (comprising 43).
Regarding claim 19, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 15. Fujii also teaches wherein the plurality of memory cells (comprising MC1’s, MC2’s) see annotated fig. 52 above [0141-0143] comprises a first memory cell (MC1) on (supported by) a first sidewall (shown as upper sidewall in plane view of fig. 52) of the trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130] and a second memory cell (MC2) on a second sidewall (shown as lower sidewall in plane view of fig. 52) of the trench (LMT) fig. 39 [0130].
Regarding claim 20, Fujii teaches the method [see figs. 39-55, 0128] of claim 15. Fujii also teaches further comprising:
forming a second insulating material (85) fig. 53 [0144] in the trench (expanded LMT with expanded LAH in LMT) figs. 52-53 [0130-0132], the second insulating material in (thermal) contact (thermally connected through adjoined material) with the plurality of memory cells (comprising MC1’s, MC2’s -formed from 32-34 material) see annotated fig. 52 above [0141-0143].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is considered to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “and removing a portion of the conductive material to expose the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the pillar” in the context of claim 2, dependent upon claim 1. Claim 3 is also objected to as containing allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency on claim 2.
Claim 17 is considered to contain allowable subject matter because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “and removing a portion of the conductive material to expose the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the pillar” in the context of claim 17, dependent upon claim 15. Claim 18 is also objected to as containing allowable subject matter by virtue of its dependency on claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature memory structures with pillars formed in trenches temporarily filled by placeholder material(s).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 10/21/2026