DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed 4/16/2024 and 8/20/2025 have been considered by examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim objected to because of the following informalities: The limitation “two third side surfaces in an protruding arcuate shape” (emphasis added) should read ““two third side surfaces in a protruding arcuate shape”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the one third convex portion" in line and 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 2 recites “two third convex portions” in line 7, not a singular “one third convex portion”. It is unclear whether the limitation “each of the first convex portions and the one third convex portion are arranged opposite each other” requires both of the two first convex portions to be arranged opposite the same, singular third convex portion, or if it requires each of the two first convex portions to be arranged opposite one of the two third convex portions. For compact prosecution purposes, the claim will be interpreted to mean the latter.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the one third convex portion" in lines 10 and 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 recites “two third convex portions” in line 8, not a singular “one third convex portion”. It is unclear whether the limitation “each of the first convex portions and the one third convex portion are arranged opposite each other” requires both of the two first convex portions to be arranged opposite the same, singular third convex portion, or if it requires each of the two first convex portions to be arranged opposite one of the two third convex portions. For compact prosecution purposes, the claim will be interpreted to mean the latter.
Claims 7-12 are rejected based on their dependence upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 112290128, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Wang").
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches a multi-core lithium ion battery (“battery cell”) including a casing/housing (“shell”) and an electrode core assembly including N cylindrical cores (“electrode assemblies”), wherein N is ≥ 2 [0009]. Wang teaches that the N cores are arranged in a straight line side by side in such a manner that axes of the N cores are parallel to one another [Wang Fig. 1, 0010]. Wang discloses that the housing 1 includes two corrugated connecting shells (“arcuate wavy first side surfaces”) that are opposite each other relative to a thickness middle surface of the housing, the N cores 2 being arranged between the two corrugated connecting shells [Wang Fig. 2, 0035]. Wang teaches that the corrugated connecting shells are respectively provided with crests (“convex portions”), wherein one core is arranged between corresponding opposite crests [Wang Fig. 2, 0035]. Fig. 2 of Wang shows that the corrugated connecting shells are also provided with concave portions which alternate with the crests, wherein every two opposite concave portions are opposite each other at the junction of two adjacent cores.
Wang also teaches a battery pack (“battery”) comprising a housing 4 (“box body”) with a plurality of the multi-core lithium ion batteries arranged within the housing [0015]. Wang Figs. 3 and 7 shows that the housing 4 comprises a bottom wall (“first wall”) (bottom-most wall in the up and down direction of Wang Figs. 3 and 4). Wang Fig. 3 shows that the thickness middle surface of the multi-core lithium ion battery is a plane whose extension surface intersects an extension surface of the bottom wall of the housing 4 [see annotated Wang Fig. 3 below].
1: Wang Fig. 3 (annotated by examiner)
Further regarding claim 18, Wang Fig. 3 shows that the first wall is a bottom wall of the housing 4 [see annotated Wang Fig. 3 above].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes et al. (US 2016/0172642, hereinafter "Hughes") in view of Yamagami et al. (CN 102110795, referring to examiner-provided translation thereof, hereinafter "Yamagami").
Regarding claim 1, Hughes teaches a cell group 101 (“battery cell”) comprising three cylindrical battery cells 102 (“electrode assemblies”) and a primary sheath 204 (“shell”) [Hughes Figs. 1-2, 0020, 0024]. Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that the cylindrical battery cells are arranged in the sheath in such a manner that the axes of the cylindrical battery cells are parallel to one another, and that a thickness middle surface connected to the axes is in a V shape. Fig. 2 of Hughes also shows that the primary sheath has a first side surface and a second side surface, both in an arcuate wavy shape, disposed opposite each other, relative to the thickness middle surface, wherein the cylindrical battery cells are arranged between the first side surface and the second side surface [see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 below]. Hughes does not specifically teach the cylindrical battery cells being arranged in a row.
Yamagami teaches analogous art of a battery block comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells/ units (“electrode assemblies”) [0035]. Yamagami teaches that three battery cells/units 126 are combined to form a battery cell/unit group 127 (“battery cell”) [Yamagami Figs. 3-4 and 7, 0461]. Yamagami teaches that some of the battery cell/unit groups 127 are configured to bend along the sides [Yamagami Figs. 3-4 and 7, 0461]. Figs. 3 and 4 of Yamagami show that the battery cells/units in the battery cell/unit groups which bend along the sides are arranged in a row in such a manner that the axes of the three battery cells/units are parallel, and that the thickness middle surface of the battery cell/unit group forms a slight V-shape.
Yamagami teaches that by providing the battery cells/units in a slightly bent row, balance of the battery cell/unit groups in the battery block can be maintained, and efficient use may be made of the limited space [0461].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell group taught by Hughes to have arranged the cylindrical battery cells in a bent row as taught by Yamagami, in order to maintain balance and make efficient use of any limited spaces where the cell group may be accommodated.
Further regarding claim 2, Hughes Fig. 2 shows that the first side surface is located on an outer side of the thickness middle surface, the first side surface comprising part of two apexes 206 (“first convex portions”) on two sides of two concave ridges 208 (“first concave portions”), and further comprising a third apex 206 (“second convex portion”) between the two concave ridges on the first side surface [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 below]. Fig. 2 of Hughes also shows that the second side surface is located on an inner side of the thickness middle surface, the second side surface comprising part of two apexes 206 (“third convex portions”) and a third concave ridge 208 (“second concave portion”) arranged between the part of the two apexes 206 on the second side surface [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 below]. Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that each of the parts of the two apexes on the first side surface are opposite each of the parts of the two apexes on the second side surface, with one cylindrical battery cell arranged between each of the opposite parts of the two apexes [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 below]. Furthermore, Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that the third apex is arranged opposite the third concave ridge with a cylindrical battery cell arranged therebetween [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 below].
Further regarding claim 3, Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that at two ends of the arrangement direction of the cylindrical battery cells, the sheath further comprises two third side surfaces in a protruding arcuate shape, connected to the fist side surface and the second side surface to form an accommodating space for accommodating the cylindrical battery cells [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 below].
2: Hughes Fig. 2 (annotated by examiner)
Regarding claim 5, Hughes teaches a battery comprising a plurality of cell groups 101 (“battery cells”) [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Hughes teaches that the battery may further comprise a housing 708 (“box body”) [Hughes Figs. 7-8, 0040]. Figs. 7-8 of Hughes show that the housing comprises a first wall [see annotated Hughes Fig. 7 below]. Hughes teaches that the cell groups 101 each comprise three cylindrical battery cells 102 (“electrode assemblies”) and a primary sheath 204 (“shell”) [Hughes Figs. 1-2, 0020, 0024]. Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that the cylindrical battery cells are arranged in the sheath in such a manner that the axes of the cylindrical battery cells are parallel to one another, and that a thickness middle surface connected to the axes is in a V shape. Fig. 2 of Hughes also shows that the primary sheath has a first side surface and a second side surface, both in an arcuate wavy shape, disposed opposite each other, relative to the thickness middle surface, wherein the cylindrical battery cells are arranged between the first side surface and the second side surface [see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 above]. Hughes Fig. 3 shows that the thickness middle surface of each of the cell groups comprises a first sub-surface and a second sub-surface which intersect each other [see annotated Hughes Fig. 3 below]. Hughes teach that a plurality of cell groups may be combined and arranged to form a battery cell module 302 [0026], and that multiple battery cell modules may be assembled in the housing [Hughes Figs. 7-8, 0040]. As can be seen in Fig. 7 of Hughes, the first sub-surface of each of the cell groups is parallel to the first wall, and an extension surface of the second sub-surface of each of the cell groups intersects an extension surface of the first wall [see annotated Hughes Fig. 7 below]. Hughes does not specifically teach the cylindrical battery cells being arranged in a row.
Yamagami teaches analogous art of a battery block comprising a plurality of cylindrical battery cells/ units (“electrode assemblies”) [0035]. Yamagami teaches that three battery cells/units 126 are combined to form a battery cell/unit group 127 (“battery cell”) [Yamagami Figs. 3-4 and 7, 0461]. Yamagami teaches that some of the battery cell/unit groups 127 are configured to bend along the sides [Yamagami Figs. 3-4 and 7, 0461]. Figs. 3 and 4 of Yamagami show that the battery cells/units in the battery cell/unit groups which bend along the sides are arranged in a row in such a manner that the axes of the three battery cells/units are parallel, and that the thickness middle surface of the battery cell/unit group forms a slight V-shape.
Yamagami teaches that by providing the battery cells/units in a slightly bent row, balance of the battery cell/unit groups in the battery block can be maintained, and efficient use may be made of the limited space [0461].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell group taught by Hughes to have arranged the cylindrical battery cells in a bent row as taught by Yamagami, in order to maintain balance and make efficient use of any limited spaces where the cell group may be accommodated.
3: Hughes Fig. 3 (annotated by examiner)
4: Hughes Fig. 7 (annotated by examiner)
Further regarding claim 6, Hughes Fig. 2 shows that the first side surface is located on an outer side of the thickness middle surface, the first side surface comprising part of two apexes 206 (“first convex portions”) on two sides of two concave ridges 208 (“first concave portions”), and further comprising a third apex 206 (“second convex portion”) between the two concave ridges on the first side surface [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 above]. Fig. 2 of Hughes also shows that the second side surface is located on an inner side of the thickness middle surface, the second side surface comprising part of two apexes 206 (“third convex portions”) and a third concave ridge 208 (“second concave portion”) arranged between the part of the two apexes 206 on the second side surface [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 above]. Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that each of the parts of the two apexes on the first side surface are opposite each of the parts of the two apexes on the second side surface, with one cylindrical battery cell arranged between each of the opposite parts of the two apexes [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 above]. Furthermore, Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that the third apex is arranged opposite the third concave ridge with a cylindrical battery cell arranged therebetween [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 above].
Further regarding claim 7, Hughes teaches that the plurality of cell groups comprise a plurality of pairs of cell groups (“battery cell combinations”), wherein each pair of cell groups comprises two matched cell groups, wherein part of one of the two apexes on the first side surface of one of the cell groups is embedded in the third concave ridge of the second side surface of another cell group, wherein the first sub-surfaces of the two cell groups in the pair are parallel to each other and the second sub-surfaces of the two cell groups in the pair are parallel to each other [Hughes Figs. 3-4, see annotated Hughes Fig. 3 above, 0030].
Further regarding claim 8, Hughes teaches that multiple copies of the battery modules 302, which comprise the pairs of cell groups, are arranged in a column in a direction parallel to the first wall (left-to-right direction in Hughes Fig. 7) [Hughes Figs. 7-8, 0041]. Figs. 7-8 of Hughes show that the pairs of cell groups are arranged in a row in a direction perpendicular to the first wall (front-to-back direction), and that the housing is internally provided with a plurality of rows and columns of the cell group pairs [0041].
Further regarding claim 11, Fig. 2 of Hughes shows that at two ends of the arrangement direction of the cylindrical battery cells, the sheath further comprises two third side surfaces in a protruding arcuate shape, connected to the fist side surface and the second side surface to form an accommodating space for accommodating the cylindrical battery cells [0024, see annotated Hughes Fig. 2 above].
Further regarding claim 13, Hughes Figs. 7-8 show that the first wall is a side wall of the housing [see annotated Hughes Fig. 7 above].
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (US 2016/0172642) in view of Yamagami (CN 102110795) as applied to claims 3 and 11 above, and further in view of Yoshida et al. (US 6,495,282, hereinafter "Yoshida").
Regarding claim 4, modified Hughes teaches the cell group (“battery cell”) of claim 3, as described in the rejection of instant claim 3. Hughes teaches that an anode terminal 104 or cathode terminal 106 (“electrode terminal”) may be disposed at the ends of the cell group on a surface perpendicular to the thickness middle surface of the primary sheath [Hughes Fig. 2, 0020]. However, Hughes does not specifically teach that the primary sheath comprises two end surfaces which close the accommodating space of the primary sheath.
Yoshida teaches analogous art of an elliptic cylindrical shell (“battery cell”) comprising a lid wall (“end surface”) and a main body of a cell casing (“shell”) having a bottom wall opposite to the lid wall (“end surface”), wherein the lid wall and bottom wall are perpendicular to a thickness middle surface of the cell casing [Yoshida Fig. 2, col. 1, lines 46-51]. Yoshida teaches that the elliptic cylindrical shell comprises a power generation element (“electrode assembly”) within the cell casing 3, and that space within the cell casing in which the power generation element is arranged is closed by the lid 6 and the bottom wall 7 [Yoshida Fig. 2, col. 3, lines 25-45]. Yoshida discloses that terminals of the cell 4, 5 (“electrode terminals”) may be provided at the lid wall or at the lid wall and the bottom wall [Yoshida Fig. 2, col. 3, lines 59-65, col. 6, lines 1-7].
Hughes teaches that the terminals of adjacent cell groups may be electrically coupled to one another [Hughes Fig. 4, 0034]. Yoshida teaches that by arranging the terminals on the lid wall and/or bottom wall, the terminals of the cells can be easily coupled to the terminals of other cells [col. 2, lines 32-37].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known lid wall and bottom wall, or two end surfaces, comprising terminals, or electrode terminals, of Yoshida with the primary sheath of modified Hughes, and the result of this combination, i.e. providing a battery cell that can easily be coupled to other battery cells, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
Regarding claim 12, modified Hughes teaches the battery of claim 11, as described in the rejection of instant claim 11. Hughes teaches that an anode terminal 104 or cathode terminal 106 (“electrode terminal”) may be disposed at the ends of the cell group on a surface perpendicular to the thickness middle surface of the primary sheath [Hughes Fig. 2, 0020]. However, Hughes does not specifically teach that the primary sheath comprises two end surfaces which close the accommodating space of the primary sheath.
Yoshida teaches analogous art of an elliptic cylindrical shell (“battery cell”) comprising a lid wall (“end surface”) and a main body of a cell casing (“shell”) having a bottom wall opposite to the lid wall (“end surface”), wherein the lid wall and bottom wall are perpendicular to a thickness middle surface of the cell casing [Yoshida Fig. 2, col. 1, lines 46-51]. Yoshida teaches that the elliptic cylindrical shell comprises a power generation element (“electrode assembly”) within the cell casing 3, and that space within the cell casing in which the power generation element is arranged is closed by the lid 6 and the bottom wall 7 [Yoshida Fig. 2, col. 3, lines 25-45]. Yoshida discloses that terminals of the cell 4, 5 (“electrode terminals”) may be provided at the lid wall or at the lid wall and the bottom wall [Yoshida Fig. 2, col. 3, lines 59-65, col. 6, lines 1-7].
Hughes teaches that the terminals of adjacent cell groups may be electrically coupled to one another [Hughes Fig. 4, 0034]. Yoshida teaches that by arranging the terminals on the lid wall and/or bottom wall, the terminals of the cells can be easily coupled to the terminals of other cells [col. 2, lines 32-37].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known lid wall and bottom wall, or two end surfaces, comprising terminals, or electrode terminals, of Yoshida with the primary sheath of modified Hughes, and the result of this combination, i.e. providing a battery cell that can easily be coupled to other battery cells, would have been predictable [see MPEP 2143(I)(A)].
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (US 2016/0172642) in view of Yamagami (CN 102110795) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ura et al. (US 2003/0017383, hereinafter "Ura").
Regarding claim 9, modified Hughes teaches the battery of claim 8, as described in the rejection of instant claim 8. Hughes is silent regarding the battery further comprising a heat exchange element.
Ura teaches analogous art of a battery pack (“battery”) comprising a plurality of cells 2 (“battery cells”) stacked on top of one another in tiers [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Ura teaches that a heat collecting plate 4, 7 (“heat exchange element”) is interposed between the tiers of cells [Abstract]. Ura teaches that the cells may be arranged to form a lower battery module B1, a middle battery module B2, and an upper battery module B3, with heat collecting plate 4 disposed between battery modules B1 and B2, and heat collecting plate 7 disposed between battery modules B2 and B3 [Ura Fig. 1, 0021]. Ura teaches that the heat collecting plate has a wave-like section consisting of alternating concave and convex portions (“arcuate wavy shape”) [Ura Fig. 2, 0024]. Ura teaches that the heat collecting plate comprises two surfaces (“heat exchange surfaces”), one of which contacts an outer surface of the upper battery module and one of which contacts an outer surface of the lower battery module, both surfaces having the wave-like section [Ura Fig. 2, 0024]. Ura teaches that this allows each of two sides of the heat collecting plate to be in heat exchange cooperation with a corresponding battery module (“column of battery cell combinations”) [Ura Fig. 2, 0024].
Ura teaches that by providing the heat collecting plate in this configuration, the heat generated by a plurality of cells is collected substantially evenly and efficiently, and efficiently dissipated to the outside [0009]. Ura taches that this allows the battery pack to continuously charge and discharge [0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery taught by Hughes to include a heat collecting plate with two heat-exchange surfaces having wave-like sections in heat exchange cooperation with a corresponding battery module, or column of battery cell combinations, as taught by Ura, in order to substantially evenly and efficiently collect and dissipate heat generated by the battery cell combinations so that the battery can continuously charge and discharge.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hughes teaches the battery of claim 9, as described in the rejection of instant claim 9.
As described previously, Ura teaches that a heat collecting plate 4, 7 is arranged between battery modules which are made up of columns of cells (“column of battery cell combinations”) [Ura Fig. 2, 0024].
Ura teaches that by providing the heat collecting plate in this configuration, the heat generated by a plurality of cells is collected substantially evenly and efficiently, and efficiently dissipated to the outside [0009]. Ura taches that this allows the battery pack to continuously charge and discharge [0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery taught by Hughes to include a heat collecting plate as taught by Ura, in order to substantially evenly and efficiently collect and dissipate heat generated by the battery cell combinations so that the battery can continuously charge and discharge. When the heat collecting plate of Ura is disposed in the construct of Hughes between the columns of the pairs of cell groups of Hughes, the heat collecting plate would be in heat exchange cooperation with part of the surface of the first side surface of one cell group of each of the pairs of cell groups that is opposite the first sub-surface [see annotated Hughes Fig. 4 below].
5: Hughes Fig. 4 (annotated by examiner)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112290128) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yoshida (US 6,495,282).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the battery of claim 14, as described in the rejection of instant claim 14. Wang does not specifically teach the plane of the thickness middle surface of the multi-core lithium ion battery intersecting the bottom wall at an acute angle.
Yoshida teaches analogous art of a method for arranging a plurality of cells (“battery cells”) in a limited space [col. 1, lines 40-45]. Yoshida teaches that the cells may have an imaginary sectional surface C (“plane”) which is disposed so as to be inclined with respect to a vertical line which is perpendicular to an arrangement reference surface D [Yoshida Figs. 7 and 9, col. 1 line 60-col. 2 line 1]. Yoshida teaches that the arrangement reference surface D may be an actual surface on which a plurality of cells are disposed thereon [col. 2, lines 1-7]. Yoshida teaches an example wherein the imaginary sectional surface C is inclined by 20 degrees, from the vertical line, which would mean that the imaginary sectional surface C intersects the arrangement reference surface D at an acute angle of 70 degrees, which is within the recited range [col. 6, lines 30-33].
Yoshida teaches that when the plurality of cells are disposed in an inclined manner, the height of the cells can be reduced without changing the design of the cells [col. 6, lines 35-46]. Yoshida teaches that this allows the cells to be mounted on various kinds of cell arrangement portions, thus reducing the manufacturing cost of the cells and improving the mounting efficiency of the cells [col. 6, lines 35-46].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery taught by Wang to have the multi-core lithium ion batteries be inclined so that the plane of the thickness middle surface of the multi-core lithium ion batteries intersects the bottom wall at an acute angle as taught by Yoshida, in order to reduce the manufacturing cost of the cells and improve their mounting efficiency.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112290128) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ura (US 2003/0017383).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the battery of claim 14, as described in the rejection of instant claim 14. Wang does not specifically teach the battery further comprising a heat exchange element.
Ura teaches analogous art of a battery pack (“battery”) comprising a plurality of cells 2 (“battery cells”) stacked on top of one another in tiers [Abstract; entire disclosure relied upon]. Ura teaches that a heat collecting plate 4, 7 (“heat exchange element”) is interposed between the tiers of cells [Abstract]. Ura teaches that the cells may be arranged to form a lower battery module B1, a middle battery module B2, and an upper battery module B3, with heat collecting plate 4 disposed between battery modules B1 and B2, and heat collecting plate 7 disposed between battery modules B2 and B3 [Ura Fig. 1, 0021]. Ura teaches that the heat collecting plate has a wave-like section consisting of alternating concave and convex portions (“arcuate wavy shape”) [Ura Fig. 2, 0024]. Ura teaches that the heat collecting plate comprises two surfaces (“heat exchange surfaces”), one of which contacts an outer surface (“first side surface”) of the upper battery module and one of which contacts an outer surface (“first side surface”) of the lower battery module, both surfaces having the wave-like section [Ura Fig. 2, 0024]. Ura teaches that this allows each of two sides of the heat collecting plate to be in heat exchange cooperation with a corresponding battery module [Ura Fig. 2, 0024]. Ura Figs. 1 and 2 show that at least one outer surface of each of the battery modules is in heat exchange cooperation with one surface of the heat collecting plate.
Ura teaches that by providing the heat collecting plate in this configuration, the heat generated by a plurality of cells is collected substantially evenly and efficiently, and efficiently dissipated to the outside [0009]. Ura taches that this allows the battery pack to continuously charge and discharge [0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery taught by Wang to include a heat collecting plate as taught by Ura, in order to substantially evenly and efficiently collect and dissipate heat generated by the battery cell combinations so that the battery can continuously charge and discharge.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 112290128) in view of Ura (US 2003/0017383) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yoshida (US 6,495,282).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wang teaches the battery of claim 16, as described in the rejection of instant claim 16. Modified Wang does not specifically teach planes where lower edges, facing the bottom wall, of the two multi-core lithium ion batteries on the two sides of the heat exchange elements are located are parallel to the first wall.
As described previously, Ura teaches that a heat collecting plate 4, 7 is arranged between battery modules which are made up of columns of cells [Ura Fig. 2, 0024].
Ura teaches that by providing the heat collecting plate in this configuration, the heat generated by a plurality of cells is collected substantially evenly and efficiently, and efficiently dissipated to the outside [0009]. Ura taches that this allows the battery pack to continuously charge and discharge [0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery taught by modified Wang to include a heat collecting plate as taught by Ura, in order to substantially evenly and efficiently collect and dissipate heat generated by the battery cell combinations so that the battery can continuously charge and discharge.
Yoshida teaches analogous art of a method for arranging a plurality of cells (“battery cells”) in a limited space [col. 1, lines 40-45]. Yoshida teaches that the cells may have an imaginary sectional surface C (“plane”) which is disposed so as to be inclined with respect to a vertical line which is perpendicular to an arrangement reference surface D [Yoshida Figs. 7 and 9, col. 1 line 60-col. 2 line 1]. Yoshida teaches that the arrangement reference surface D may be an actual surface on which a plurality of cells are disposed thereon [col. 2, lines 1-7]. Yoshida also discloses that the cells may be disposed in a manner in which fluid paths (“heat exchange element”) may be made between the battery cells to allow coolant to flow between the cells [col. Lines 38-50]. Fig. 8 of Yoshida shows that planes where the lower edges, facing the arrangement reference surface D, of the cells on two sides of the fluid paths are located are parallel to the arrangement reference surface D.
Yoshida teaches that when the plurality of cells are disposed in an inclined manner, the height of the cells can be reduced without changing the design of the cells [col. 6, lines 35-46]. Yoshida teaches that this allows the cells to be mounted on various kinds of cell arrangement portions, thus reducing the manufacturing cost of the cells and improving the mounting efficiency of the cells [col. 6, lines 35-46].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery taught by modified Wang to have the multi-core lithium ion batteries be inclined so that planes where lower edges, facing the bottom wall, of the two multi-core lithium ion batteries on the two sides of the heat exchange elements are located are parallel to the first wall as taught by Yoshida, in order to reduce the manufacturing cost of the cells and improve their mounting efficiency.
Conclusion
/M.F.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729