DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed April 16, 2024 and June 10, 2025 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
With respect to foreign language references with no translation of the document: “If no translation is submitted, the examiner will consider the information in view of the concise explanation and insofar as it is understood on its face, e.g., drawings, chemical formulas, English language abstracts, in the same manner that non-English language information in Office search files is considered by examiner in conducting searches.” See MPEP §609.04(a)(II) (D) and 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(ii).
Drawings
The drawings received April 16, 2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the sampling component of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification received April 16, 2024 has been reviewed for examination purposes.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-9 are drawn to the electrode terminal. The implementation of the electrode terminal with respect to two battery cells (claims 1-9), sampling component (claim 6) and adapted of the battery cell (claim 8) is held to be use of the electrode terminal and anything claimed which is external of the electrode terminal does not further limit the electrode terminal.
With respect to the claimed terms such as “first” and “second”. The terms have been interpreted in light of the disclosure which teaches that:
In the description of this disclosure, it should be understood that the use of terms such as “first”, “second”, and the like to define parts is merely for the purpose of distinguishing between the corresponding parts. Unless otherwise stated, these terms do not have special meanings, and therefore shall not be construed as limitations on the protection scope of this disclosure.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 15 recites a “second insulation” and while the claim interpretation above implies that the term “second” does not appear to implicitly include a “first insulation” it would be better served to remove the term “second” from this claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites at least two battery cells and thereafter defines various terms “the electrode terminals”, “the first electrical connection portion of one battery cell” and “the second electrical connection portion of the other battery cell” however neither claim 20 nor the prior claims to which claim 20 is dependent upon provide sufficient antecedent basis for the at least two battery cells to have the additional features recited thereafter using the definite article “the”. For example, claim 17 only defines a battery cell having an electrode assembly and electrode terminal rather than at least one battery cell, each of the at least one battery cells comprising an electrode assembly and an electrode terminal according to claim 1. It unduly presumes these features to belong to each of the “at least two battery cells” in claim 20 but does not previously provide sufficient antecedent basis to do so.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the other battery cell" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. While claim 20 recites adjacent pair of battery cells, that alone is not held to provide sufficient antecedent basis for the term “the other battery cell” as there is no clear antecedent basis for such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0036031).
As to claim 1, Kim discloses an electrode terminal, configured to input current to and output current from a battery cell and comprising a pole body, wherein the pole body comprises:
a first electrical connection portion 114; and
a second electrical connection portion 112 electrically connected to the first electrical connection portion 114 and adapted to the first electrical connection portion 114 in shape, such that electrical connection between the electrode terminals of two battery cells is implemented through fitting in shape between the first electrical connection portion of one battery cell and the second electrical connection portion of the other battery cell (Figs. 1, 2a and 4 for example).
As to claim 2, the first electrical connection portion 114 above is a slot and the second electrical connection portion 112 is a plug adapted to the slot shape of the first electrical connection portion 114 (Figs. 1, 2a and 4 above).
As to claim 3, the slot 114 is a single flat mouth piece and the plug 112 us a plug in piece adapted to the single flat mouth in shape (Fig. 4 above).
As to claim 4, the pole body 110 is flat or sheet shaped (Figs. 1, 2a, 4, 6).
As to claim 5, the first electrical connection portion 114 and the second electrical connection portion 112 are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of the pole body 110 (Figs. 1, 2a and 4).
As to claim 6, a connection hole is provided in the pole body 110 to allow for electrical connecting between the pole body 110 and a corresponding device to which the pole body 110 can be connected to (see claim interpretation above as applied to the language of a sampling component which is held to be feature that is external of the electrode terminal. The sampling component is part of the pole assembly, which includes both the electrode terminal and sampling component in combination).
As to claim 9, as shown in Figs. 1, 2a and 4 above, the first electrical connection portion 114 is integrally formed with or directly connected to the second electrical connection portion 112.
As to claim 10, Kim discloses
a pole assembly comprising
an electrode terminal, configured to input current to and output current from a battery cell and comprising a pole body, wherein the pole body comprises:
a first electrical connection portion 114; and
a second electrical connection portion 112 electrically connected to the first electrical connection portion 114 and adapted to the first electrical connection portion 114 in shape, such that electrical connection between the electrode terminals of two battery cells is implemented through fitting in shape between the first electrical connection portion of one battery cell and the second electrical connection portion of the other battery cell (Figs. 1, 2a and 4 for example); and
an adapter 102 electrically connected to the pole body 110 of the electrode terminal wherein the adapter 102 is configured to be electrically connected to an electrode assembly of the battery cell in which the adapter is located, at least in part.
As to claim 11, the pole body 110 is flat or sheet shaped and the adapter 102 is connected to a hole face side of the pole body (Figs. 1, 2a, 4, 6).
As to claim 12, the adapter 102 include a perpendicularly arranged member that passes through the hole of the pole body (Figs. 1, 2a and 4).
As to claim 13, the first electrical connection portion 114 and the second electrical connection portion 112 are respectively disposed at two opposite ends of the pole body 110 and the adapting piece 102 has relative opposing faces which face outward towards respective first electrical connection portion 114 and second electrical connection portion 112 (Figs. 1, 2a and 4).
As to claim 14, the adapter 102 is directly connected to the electrode terminal (Figs. 1, 2a and 4).
As to claim 16, Kim discloses a battery 100 comprising an internal electrode assembly and the electrode terminal according to claim 10 above where the electrode terminal 110 is connected to the electrode assembly inside cell 100 via cell terminal 102 (Figs. 1, 2a and 4, for example).
As to claim 17, Kim discloses a battery 100 comprising an internal electrode assembly and the electrode terminal according to claim 1 above where the electrode terminal 110 is connected to the electrode assembly inside cell 100 via cell terminal 102 (Figs. 1, 2a and 4, for example).
As to claim 18, the battery cell comprises a second electrode terminal 120 connected to the opposite polarity electrode of the battery electrode assembly (one terminal is to the cathode and the other to the anode, Figs. 1, 2a and 4).
As to claim 19, the two electrode terminals 110 and 120 are arranged side by side (Figs. 1, 2a and 4 for example) and an arrangement direction of the first electrical connection portion 114 and the second electrical connection portion 112 of one electrode terminal 110 is the same arrangement direction of the first electrical connection portion 124 and second electrical connection portion 122 of the other electrode terminal (second electrode terminal 120, Fig. 4).
As to claim 20, coupling of at least two battery cells 100a-100d as shown in Fig. 4 for example includes electrical connection between electrode terminals such as terminals 110a and 110b of each adjacent pair of battery cells which is implemented through fitting in shape between adjacent first electrical connection portions 114 and second electrical connection portions 112 such as first electrical connection portion 114a fitting shape with adjacent second electrical connection portion 112c (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0036031) as applied to claim 1, respectively above, and further in view of Xu et al. (EP 3599651A).
In the alternative if weight is afforded to the external sampling component in combination with the electrode terminal of claim 6, Kim does not teach of the sampling component explicitly.
Xu, drawn to the same field of endeavor to battery modules having electrical connections and system components, further teaches that the addition of a sampling component to the battery module and electrode terminal was shown to permit sampling of battery conditions such as voltage, temperature and other information (background of the invention) to improve battery monitoring and controlling in response to the information received by the sampling component.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode terminal of Kim to include a sampling component as taught by Xu since it would have provided the predictable and art-recognized benefits of sampling of battery conditions such as voltage, temperature and other information and improve battery monitoring and controlling in response to the information received by the sampling component.
Claims 7-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0036031) as applied to claim 1 and 10, respectively above, and further in view of Oya (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0082886) or Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0173178, Kim-178).
Kim discloses the electrode terminal connected to an adapter 102 of the battery cell (claim 8).
Kim does not teach of the electrode terminal including a first insulation portion disposed on a surface of the pole body (claim 7); covering at least an outer side of the first electrical connection portion of the electrode terminal (claim 8); or an insulation portion disposed on a side of the electrode terminal close to the adapter (claim 15).
Oya, drawn to the same field of endeavor to batteries connected together using intercell connectors, disclosed that the use of an underlying insulating layer 6 below the pole 5/adapter 4 connection was known in the art. The inclusion of an insulating layer provides for prevention shorting and improves isolating the requisite electrical pathways between battery cells. Kim-178, drawn to the same field of endeavor to batteries connected together using intercell connectors, disclosed that the use of an underlying insulating layer 123 to the underside of a terminal, between the housing and the terminal and around the adapter connecting to the terminal 130 to electrically isolate the conductive pathways of the battery cell as needed. Therefore, the use of insulation in and around electrode terminals and pole assemblies was well known in the art for the predictable benefit of electrically isolating the conductive pathways of battery cell as needed.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode terminal and pole assembly of Kim to include an insulation portion as taught by Oya or Kim-178 since it would have provided for prevention shorting and improves isolating the requisite electrical pathways between battery cells and generally provided the predictable benefit of electrically isolating the conductive pathways of battery cell as needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0159353 discloses a battery and pole assembly including conductive and insulating features where the electrical pathway is a conventional post and bus bar design.
/GREGG CANTELMO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725