Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson et al. (US 20060119919 A1), hereinafter Watson, in view of Tung et al. (US 20240241353 A1), hereinafter Tung.
Regarding independent claim 1, Watson discloses an optical element for multiple reflections of stray light, comprising:
a plurality of microstructures (106; Fig. 7; ¶0034) around a central axis of the optical element (Fig. 7), wherein each of a microstructure (106) comprises a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface (any two faces of 106; Fig. 7; ¶0034) which are in contact and has a connection line (Fig. 7), wherein the connection line is a boundary line between the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface (Fig. 7), and
wherein the plurality of microstructures (106) are arranged in a plurality of lines adjacent to each other (Fig. 7), and the plurality of microstructures (106) of two adjacent lines among the plurality of lines are alternately arranged with each other (Fig. 7; ¶0034).
Watson does not disclose an extension line of the connection line passes through the central axis, wherein the plurality of microstructures are arranged in a plurality of rings adjacent to each other, and the plurality of microstructures of two adjacent rings among the plurality of rings are alternately arranged with each other.
However, Tung teaches a similar optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures (150; Figs. 1F-1I; ¶0061) around a central axis of the optical element (Figs. 1F-1I; ¶0060-¶0061), wherein each of a microstructure (150) comprises a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface (both faces of each microstructure 150; Figs. 1F, 1I) which are in contact and has a connection line (Figs. 1F, 1I), wherein the connection line is a boundary line between the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface (Figs. 1F-1I), an extension line of the connection line passes through the central axis (Figs. 1F-1I; ¶0060-¶0061), and wherein the plurality of microstructures (150) are arranged in a plurality of rings adjacent to each other (Figs. 1F-1I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watson to have the plurality of microstructures be arranged in a plurality of rings instead of a plurality of lines and therefore have an extension line of the connection line pass through the central axis as taught by Tung for the purpose of effectively reducing the reflecting of the stray light by arranging the microstructures orthogonally to the optical axis (¶0060-¶0061 of Tung).
Regarding claim 2, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 1, as set forth above. Watson further discloses the microstructure (106) is substantially a pyramid1 (Fig. 7; ¶0034), further comprising: a base (bottom surface of each microstructure, in contact with the plate 104; Fig. 7) in contact with the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface, and an apex, wherein the connection line passes through the apex (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 2, including the plurality of microstructures being arranged in a plurality of rings, as set forth above. Watson further discloses wherein the base comprises an angle, less than 90° (as each microstructure 106 is shown in Fig. 7 to be equilateral, the angle is assumed to be around 60°). Watson does not disclose an extension line of an angle bisector of the angle passes through the central axis.
However, Tung teaches microstructure (150) has a base (Figs. 1F-1I), wherein the base comprises an angle, less than 90° (Figs. 1F-1I), and an extension line of an angle bisector of the angle passes through the central axis (Figs. 1F-1I). This is a result of arranging the microstructures in a ring shape, and having an extension line of an angle bisector of the angle passes through the central axis would be a natural result of arranging the plurality of microstructures in a plurality of rings instead of a plurality of lines.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watson to have the plurality of microstructures be arranged in a plurality of rings instead of a plurality of lines and therefore have an extension line of an angle bisector of the angle pass through the central axis as taught by Tung for the purpose of effectively reducing the reflecting of the stray light by arranging the microstructures orthogonally to the optical axis (¶0060-¶0061 of Tung).
Regarding independent claim 4, Watson discloses an optical element for multiple reflections of stray light, comprising:
a plurality of microstructures (106; Fig. 7; ¶0034) around a central axis of the optical element (Fig. 7), wherein each of a microstructure (106) comprises:
a base (bottom surface of each microstructure, in contact with the plate 104; Fig. 7);
an apex (Fig. 7); and
a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface (any two faces of 106; Fig. 7; ¶0034) which are in contact with each other being formed from the base to the apex (Fig. 7), and having a connection line (Fig. 7), wherein the connection line is a boundary line between the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface (Fig. 7), and orthographic projections of the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface on the base form an angle (Fig. 7),
wherein the plurality of microstructures (106) are arranged in a plurality of lines adjacent to each other (Fig. 7), and the plurality of microstructures (106) of two adjacent lines among the plurality of lines are alternately arranged with each other (Fig. 7; ¶0034).
Watson does not disclose an extension line of an angle bisector of the angle passes through the central axis, wherein the plurality of microstructures are arranged in a plurality of rings adjacent to each other, and the plurality of microstructures of two adjacent rings among the plurality of rings are alternately arranged with each other.
However, Tung teaches a similar optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures (150; Figs. 1F-1I; ¶0061) around a central axis of the optical element (Figs. 1F-1I; ¶0060-¶0061), wherein each of a microstructure (150) comprises a first reflective surface and a second reflective surface (both faces of each microstructure 150; Figs. 1F, 1I) which are in contact and has a connection line (Figs. 1F, 1I), wherein the connection line is a boundary line between the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface (Figs. 1F-1I), and orthographic projections of the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface on the base form an angle (Figs. 1F-1I), and an extension line of an angle bisector of the angle passes through the central axis (Figs. 1F-1I; ¶0060-¶0061), and wherein the plurality of microstructures (150) are arranged in a plurality of rings adjacent to each other (Figs. 1F-1I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Watson to have the plurality of microstructures be arranged in a plurality of rings instead of a plurality of lines and therefore have an extension line of an angle bisector of the angle pass through the central axis as taught by Tung for the purpose of effectively reducing the reflecting of the stray light by arranging the microstructures orthogonally to the optical axis (¶0060-¶0061 of Tung).
Regarding claim 5, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, including the plurality of microstructures being arranged in a plurality of rings instead of lines, as set forth above. Watson further discloses a spacing between the base of the plurality of microstructures (106) is located in a same line/ring in the plurality of lines/rings is smaller than a shortest side length of the base (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Neither Watson nor Tung explicitly disclose a reflectivity of the microstructure is less than 5%.
However, it is implicit in Watson from ¶0026, which discusses the reflectance being reduced for another embodiment using channels instead of the pyramid shaped microstructures, that a reflectivity of the microstructure is less than 5%. Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case Watson in view of Tung has all the claimed elements of an optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures arranged in a plurality of rings around a central axis, fulfilling the general conditions of the claim. One would be motivated to have the reflectivity of the microstructure be less than 5% for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reflectivity of the microstructure be less than 5% for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Regarding claim 8, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Watson further discloses wherein the optical element is an annular optical element (aperture plate 104 with circular aperture opening 108; Fig. 7; ¶0034).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claims 4 and 3, as set forth above. Watson further discloses the microstructure (106) satisfies a following relation equation: α+β ≦ 180°, α ≧ 90°, β < 90°, wherein α is an angle between the base and the central axis, and β is an angle between the base and the connection line (the base is orthogonal to the central axis, and the angle between the base and the connection line is between the angle between the base and the central axis; Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claims 4 and 3, as set forth above. Watson further discloses the microstructure (106) satisfies a following relation equation: 90° ≦ α ≦ 135°, wherein α is an angle between the base and the central axis (the base and the central axis are orthogonal to each other; Fig. 7), and an angle difference between the base of each of the plurality of microstructures is less than or equal to 5° (each microstructure 150 is the same shape and are disposed directly next to each other, therefore the angle difference between the base of each is 0°; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Watson further discloses the microstructure (106) satisfies a following relation equation: 90° ≦ α ≦ 135°, wherein α is an angle between the base and the central axis (the base and the central axis are orthogonal to each other; Fig. 7), and a difference between a maximum length of the base of each of the plurality of microstructures is less than or equal to 5% (each microstructure 150 is the same shape and are disposed directly next to each other, therefore the maximum length difference between the base of each is 0°; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Watson further discloses a shape of the base is substantially a triangle (Fig. 7; ¶0034).
Regarding claim 13, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Watson further discloses wherein the microstructure (106) satisfies a following relation equation: 55° ≦ θ ≦ 65°, wherein θ is a magnitude of the angle of the base (as each microstructure 106 is shown in Fig. 7 to be equilateral, the angle is assumed to be around 60°).
Regarding claim 14, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Neither Watson nor Tung disclose the microstructure satisfies a following relation equation: 35° ≦ θ ≦ 45°, wherein θ is a magnitude of the angle of the base (although it can be implied from Fig. 1I of Tung).
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case Watson in view of Tung has all the claimed elements of an optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures arranged in a plurality of rings around a central axis, fulfilling the general conditions of the claim. One would be motivated to have 35° ≦ θ ≦ 45° for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the microstructure to satisfy 35° ≦ θ ≦ 45° for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Regarding claim 15, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Neither Watson nor Tung explicitly disclose the microstructure satisfies a following relation equation: 0.45 μm/degrees ≦ H/θ ≦9 .1 μm/degrees, wherein H is a vertical height from the base to the apex, and θ is a magnitude of the angle of the base.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case Watson in view of Tung has all the claimed elements of an optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures arranged in a plurality of rings around a central axis, fulfilling the general conditions of the claim. One would be motivated to have 0.45 μm/degrees ≦ H/θ ≦9 .1 μm/degrees for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the microstructure to satisfy 0.45 μm/degrees ≦ H/θ ≦9 .1 μm/degrees for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Regarding claim 16, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Neither Watson nor Tung explicitly disclose the microstructure satisfies a following relation equation: 0.45 μm/degrees ≦ L/θ ≦ 9.1 μm/degrees, wherein L is a shortest side length of the base, and θ is a magnitude of the angle of the base.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case Watson in view of Tung has all the claimed elements of an optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures arranged in a plurality of rings around a central axis, fulfilling the general conditions of the claim. One would be motivated to have 0.45 μm/degrees ≦ L/θ ≦ 9.1 μm/degrees for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the microstructure to satisfy 0.45 μm/degrees ≦ L/θ ≦ 9.1 μm/degrees for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claims 4 and 3, as set forth above. Neither Watson nor Tung explicitly disclose the microstructure satisfies a following relation equation: 0.6 ≦ H/L ≦ 1.0, wherein H is a vertical height from the bottom to the apex, and L is a shortest side length of the base.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), see MPEP 2144.05. In this case Watson in view of Tung has all the claimed elements of an optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures arranged in a plurality of rings around a central axis, fulfilling the general conditions of the claim. One would be motivated to have 0.6 ≦ H/L ≦ 1.0 for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the microstructure to satisfy 0.6 ≦ H/L ≦ 1.0 for the purpose of substantially reducing or eliminating residual reflections (¶0026 of Watson).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watson (US 20060119919 A1) in view of Tung (US 20240241353 A1) and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20230367097 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 7, Watson in view of Tung discloses the optical element according to claim 4, as set forth above. Neither Watson nor Tung disclose the optical element is a lens barrel.
However, Liu teaches a similar optical element comprising a plurality of microstructures (103; Fig. 2a; ¶0022) comprising a base and an apex (Figs. 2a, 3-4), wherein the plurality of microstructures (103) are arranged in a plurality of rings (Figs. 2a, 4) adjacent to each other (Figs. 2a, 4), and further teaches the optical element is a lens barrel (11; Fig. 2a; ¶0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the optical element be a lens barrel for the purpose of changing the scattering distribution characteristics of the lens barrel surface to achieve the effect of suppressing stray light (¶0022 of Liu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsai et al. (US 20220365254 A1) discloses a similar optical element wherein the microstructures are loca.
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 March 16th, 2026
/George G. King/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 A pyramid is being interpreted according to its general definition, wherein a pyramid is defined as a structure whose visible surfaces are triangular and converge at the top, regardless of the number of sides of the base. Therefore, while a pyramid is most commonly thought of as a square pyramid, a triangular pyramid also reads on the limitation.