The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an amendment filed on 7/15/2026. Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-11 are pending.
Response to Amendments
Amendments filed on 7/15/2026 are under consideration. Claims 1, 5 and 6 are amended. The claims 2 and 7 have been cancelled. The claim interpretation for limitations that elicit 112(f) is upheld based on applicant remarks.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/area first detection unit configured to continuously detect during operation of a motor vehicle in claims 6 & 7. Additionally, a first determination unit configured to determine a departure point in claim 6. Again, an update unit configured to update the digital map material in claims 6-10. Additionally, Provision unit configured to provide the updated digital map material in claims 6 & 10. Again, a second determination unit configured to determine whether the motor vehicle is about to drive onto the facility in claim 7.
first detection unit, the first determination unit, and the update unit
[0057]– “The first detection unit, the first determination unit, and the update unit can each be implemented here based on a code stored in a memory and executable by a processor.” & [0175] “information processing device 111 may be, for example, a server device, a personal computer, a smartphone, a tablet, or the like”
provision unit
[0058] – “The provision unit can moreover in particular be a transmitter which is designed to transmit corresponding data, i.e. digital map material.”
second determination unit
[0060] – “The second determination unit can be implemented here based on corresponding sensors, for example surroundings sensors of the motor vehicle, and/or a code stored in a memory and executable by a processor.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claims 1, 3-5 are directed to a method for updating digital map material for motor vehicle (i.e., a process). Therefore, claims 1-5 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claims 6 and 8-10 are directed to a system for updating digital map material for motor vehicle (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 6-10 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claims 11 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., a manufacture). Therefore, claims 11 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed
to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity,
and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (mental process)
and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejections. Claims 1, 5, 6 and 11 recite:
receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic, in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic, continuously detecting via on-board surroundings sensors whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic; in response to detecting that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; determining the departure point in the digital map material at which the motor vehicle has departed from the road and driven onto the facility for stationary traffic; updating the digital map material to include the determined departure point; and providing the updated digital map material to a navigation unit; wherein the navigation unit is configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic;” in the context of this claim encompasses a person observing a map and providing guidance for a vehicle to travel upon which is something that can be done by the human mind and with the aid of pen and paper . “determining… that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic, …continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person observing a vehicle then writing down or simply observing a change in the location of the vehicle, with pen and paper or simply with their own mental ability. Another example, “…determining a departure point at which the motor vehicle has departed from the road and driven onto the facility for stationary traffic; updating the digital map material…” in the context of this claim encompasses a person making a guess at the point the vehicle departed from the road based on data collected, with pen and paper or simply within the mental. Additionally the limitation “wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic;” is merely using a person to identify whether or not a stationary traffic facility is to exist and to not additionally determine a navigation step, which can be performed in the human mind. Essentially, the system is just a way of updating a map. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic, in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic, continuously detecting via on-board surroundings sensors whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic; in response to detecting that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; determining the departure point in the digital map material at which the motor vehicle has departed from the road and driven onto the facility for stationary traffic; updating the digital map material to include the determined departure point; and providing the updated digital map material to a navigation unit; wherein the navigation unit is configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of, “receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is”, “when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic”, “based on the automated route guidance” and “based on the determined departure point; and providing the updated digital map material to a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material.” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (‘system’) to perform the mental process. Each of the above cited limitations are simply further defining the mental process and explaining at what point is data collected or sending data to the user for or after the determination and detection steps and are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of gathering vehicle data for use in the updating step), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Similarly the limitation “via on-board surroundings sensors” merely adds a generic computer to perform the otherwise mental process, and the sensors used in are not improving the functionality of a computer. The system, is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the map updating step.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond
generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above, the additional limitations of “during operation of a motor vehicle”, “when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from a road onto a facility for stationary traffic”, “providing the updated digital map material.” and “based on the determined departure point;” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in
Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well understood,
routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “during operation of a motor vehicle”, “when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic”, and “based on the determined departure point; and providing the updated digital map material to a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material.” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the specification recites that the components are all conventional computer components mounted on the vehicle, and the specification does not provide any indication that the system is anything other than a conventional computer within a vehicle. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Dependent claims 2-4 & 6-9 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional
aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional
elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claim 3 and 8 mentions “…updating route plans…”, which would fail under Step 2A Prong one as a mental process as the method and system respectively are just updating a mapping point and thus is something a human mind is capable of doing with pen and paper which would not make claims 3 and 8 to be considered patent eligible subject matter. Claim 4 and 9 mentions “…detecting…”, which would fail under Step 2A Prong one as a mental process as the method and system respectively are just observing whether or not an EV is connected to a charging station and thus is something a human mind is capable of doing with pen and paper which would not make claims 4 and 9 to be considered patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2022/0258564 A1) in view of Uyeki et al. (US 9,121,718 B2) and in further view of van der Laan (US 2023/0021637 Al), and in further view of Totzke (DE 102021130164 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 Lee A method for updating digital map material for motor vehicles (Pg. 7 – title – “DEVICE AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING VEHICLE” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0052] – “after determining that the vehicle has entered the parking lot and controlling the air conditioner in the internal air mode, the controller 160 may store the road link connected to the second location as a specific road link to allow the specific road link to be identified… Therefore, when the vehicle enters a parking lot connected to the specific road link again after the specific road link is stored, because whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot is determined based on the downwardly changed first set value and the downwardly changed second set value, whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot may be determined rapidly” (equates to A method for updating digital map material for motor vehicles as the first quote shows the art being a method and the second quote showing the ability (after determining the vehicle is in a parked state ) to update the map with the road link and store the information to be used later to better identify the vehicle has entered the parking lot. )) wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 1 – abstract – “determines whether the vehicle has entered a parking lot based on a result of determining whether a first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link based on the map and a result of determining whether a road link connected to a second location of the vehicle immediately before the first location among the plurality of links is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point,” (equates to wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic as the quote shows a map identifying whether or not a vehicle is in the parking lot and thus an identification of a stationary traffic facility is had.)), continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic; (Pg. 3 – Fig. 2 & See Also Pg. 10 – [0055] – “160 may receive the GNSS signal from the GNSS satellite, and acquire the first location (e.g., the current location) of the vehicle determined based on the received GNSS signal (Sll0). The controller 160 may determine whether the first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link (S120). In S120, the controller 160 may determine whether the road link exists at the current location of the vehicle by matching the received GNSS signal with the map. When it is determined in S120 that the first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link (Y), the controller 160 may determine that the vehicle is currently located on the road. However, when it is determined in S120 that the first location of the vehicle is not connected to the road link (N), the controller 160 may determine that the vehicle is located in the place other than the road” & See Also Pg. 11 – [0056] – “may determine whether the road link connected to the second location of the vehicle, which is the location at the time immediately before the vehicle reaches the first location, is connected to the parking lot entry/exit point (S130).” (equates to continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic as the first and second quote show the determination of the vehicle being located upon a road or whether or not that vehicle has departed into a parking area or a stationary traffic location. )) in response to detecting that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic, determining the departure point in the digital map material at which the motor vehicle has departed from the road and driven onto the facility for stationary traffic; (Pg. 1 – abstract – “determines whether the vehicle has entered a parking lot based on a result of determining whether a first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link based on the map and a result of determining whether a road link connected to a second location of the vehicle immediately before the first location among the plurality of links is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point,” (equates to when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from a road onto a facility for stationary traffic, determining a departure point at which the motor vehicle has departed from the road and driven onto the facility for stationary traffic; as the quote shows the device being configured to determine and thus detect the vehicle has entered a parking area from the road, a departure point is determined that the vehicle took to exit the road and enter the parking area.)) updating the digital map material to include the determined departure point (Pg. 10 – [0052] – “after determining that the vehicle has entered the parking lot and controlling the air conditioner in the internal air mode, the controller 160 may store the road link connected to the second location as a specific road link to allow the specific road link to be identified… Therefore, when the vehicle enters a parking lot connected to the specific road link again after the specific road link is stored, because whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot is determined based on the downwardly changed first set value and the downwardly changed second set value, whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot may be determined rapidly” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0071] – “When the controller 160 enters the parking lot connected to the specific road link again after S570, the controller 160 may determine whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot” (equates to: updating the digital map material based on the determined departure point as the second quote shows how the parking lot being the departure point can be determined, and the first quote shows the road link to the parking lot being stored allowing for a more rapid understanding of whether or not the vehicle has entered the parking lot if and when the vehicle approaches this facility in the future.) )
Yet Lee fails to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; detecting via on-board surroundings sensors; and providing the updated digital map material to the navigation unit, wherein the navigation unit is configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material; in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic
Uyeki teaches detecting via on-board surroundings sensors (Pg. 10 – [Col. 5 – lines 6 – 23-] “The vehicle probe data can be collected via GPS sensor 110 and position sensor 112, as described below. If, for example, the vehicle probe data indicates that the vehicle deviated from a calculated path when navigating to a POI, the deviation can be used to update database 102. The deviation may indicate the presence of a new road that was not previously entered into database 102. Alternatively, the deviation may indicate the existence of private roads (for example, through a shopping complex or shopping mall) that can be used to navigate to a particular destination. In that case, database 102 may be supplemented with the new roadway information that can be used in future route calculations. Additionally, system 100 can use the vehicle probe data to modify the position of existing POIs, create new POIs within database 102, or create new information describing POIs within database 102. For example, database 102 may include a POI associated with a particular commercial establishment” (equates to detecting via on-board surroundings sensors as the quote shows the onboard position sensor being used to determine the current location of the vehicle and it can be used in sync with the GPS or by itself.)) and providing the updated digital map material to the navigation unit, wherein the navigation unit is configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material. (Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 9 – Col. 4 – lines 35-37 – “The user can then monitor user interface 106 in order to navigate to the selected POI.” (equates to and providing the updated digital map material to a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material as the quote shows a revision and thus an update to the map being done and when completed the updated information is displayed or provided for the user for navigating purposes.))
Yet both Lee-Uyeki fail to disclose receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic. in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic
Van Der Laan teaches but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic (Fig. 10 – “Map server uses probe data sample to update F)OI information associated with electronic map- step 9” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0010] – “One example of a dynamic feature of the navigable network, which may be identified using a point of interest with respect to an electronic map, is the availability of parking. Techniques have been proposed in the Applicant's co-pending EP2291835 and EP2291611 to determine the availability of street-side parking locations based on end of- trip and power-down notifications. In embodiments at least, the present invention may provide an improved method to enable the availability of parking to be identified based on probe data, and used as necessary to update an electronic map e.g. in relation to a point of interest representing the availability of parking.” (equates to but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the method steps involving only an updating of a map based on a determined location and the second quote further demonstrates this wherein a parking is detected and used to update a map with but additional information of a departure point or a route to arrive at the parking destination is not further carried out by the art.) )
Yet Lee-Uyeki- Van Der Laan fails to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic
Totzke teaches receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle (Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” & See Also Pg. 3 – “2 shows a schematic diagram representation of a flowchart for a process sequence for providing parking space data related to the destination 42 when driving the motor vehicle 30. First, in a step 10, the destination 42 for the motor vehicle 30 is specified” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” (equates to receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle as the quote shows the user inputting a destination and autonomous driving guiding the user to the destination wherein the destination can be a parking lot.)) in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 6 – “the driver can obtain detailed information about the current parking space situation at an early stage, especially before approaching or entering the parking area or multi-storey car park with a recommendation for finding a parking space” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” & See Also Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” (equates to in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the acquiring of information of the destination when approaching and the control of the vehicle is done via autonomous navigation as seen from the remaining quotes.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lee-Uyeki-Van Der-Laan to include to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as these limitations allow for automated driving to be incorporated with the detection of parking lot information and thus allow for a seamless updating of map material while the user doesn’t have to worry about manually driving.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as these limitations combine the autonomous driving with the map updating of specific parking lot entrances and exits allowing for precise navigation in and out of stationary facilities of traffic.
Regarding Claim 3 Lee-Uyeki- Van Der Laan teaches The method according to claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Lee fails to teach wherein the step of updating the digital map material comprises: updating route plans on the facility for stationary traffic.
Uyeki teaches wherein the step of updating the digital map material comprises: updating route plans on the facility for stationary traffic. (Pg. 5 – fig. 4a & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – lines 31-33– “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – lines 36 – 41 – “For example, FIG. 4A shows an overhead view of a shopping mall. In FIG. 4A a target POI is located at the bull's eye indicated by element 250. Additionally, navigation system 100 has stored a number of historical vehicle location probe data points 252 that are positioned throughout the parking lots of the shopping mall” (equates to wherein the step of updating the digital map material comprises: updating route plans on the facility for stationary traffic as the figure shows the facility of stationary traffic wherein a route is generated to navigate within the area. and the first quote shows how the revision or update of map information can be used to update and send the route information to the user. Wherein the second quote shows the historical probe information which is used to update the map in first quote. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the method disclosed by Lee to include wherein the step of updating the digital map material comprises: updating route plans on the facility for stationary traffic so the user can better navigate around the parking area.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the step of updating the digital map material comprises: updating route plans on the facility for stationary traffic as this allows paths of navigation to be generated based on the updating to the map ensuring the user can navigate around the facility they are within allowing the user to efficiently maneuver within the facility.
Regarding Claim 4 Lee-Uyeki- Van Der Laan teaches The method according to claim 1, as previously mapped above.
Yet Lee fails to teach wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, and wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations.
Uyeki teaches wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, and wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations.”) and wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, (Pg. 1 – abstract –“ When the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging, a location of the vehicle is recorded.” (equates to wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations as the quote shows the charging status indicates the vehicle is charging and is thus connected at to the charging station)) and wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations. (Pg. 1 – abstract –“wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations… wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations.” (equates to wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations as the vehicle is plugged in and triggers a map updating process. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the method disclosed by Lee to include wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, and wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations. As these limitations allow for the stationary facility to also include charging stations which need to be updated upon the map to be used by other drivers or by the user of the vehicle to go back to at a later time.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, and wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations as these limitations allow for a digital map to be updated with charging stations by a simple way of determining whether or not the vehicle is connected to a charging station.
Regarding Claim 5 Lee teaches A method for navigating a motor vehicle on a facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 1- Title – “DEVICE AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING VEHICLE” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0053] – “may provide information related to which floor of the parking lot the vehicle is located. As an example, when it is determined that the vehicle is located on a third floor of an underground parking lot, the controller 160 may output information related to the third floor of the underground parking lot ( e.g., indicating that the 3rd basement floor is connected to a theater) through the output device 150.” (equates to A method for navigating a motor vehicle on a facility for stationary traffic as the quote shows the ability to provide a display of the parking lot for the user to navigate through the parking lot with and the title showing the ability for the art’s disclosed feature to be included in a method form. ) ) updating the digital map material by (Pg. 10 – [0053] – “may provide information related to which floor of the parking lot the vehicle is located. As an example, when it is determined that the vehicle is located on a third floor of an underground parking lot, the controller 160 may output information related to the third floor of the underground parking lot ( e.g., indicating that the 3rd basement floor is connected to a theater) through the output device 150.” (equates to updating the digital map material as the quote shows the ability for the detection of the road link to the parking lot and storing the information for a rapid use of new information later.)) wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 1 – abstract – “determines whether the vehicle has entered a parking lot based on a result of determining whether a first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link based on the map and a result of determining whether a road link connected to a second location of the vehicle immediately before the first location among the plurality of links is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point,” (equates to wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic as the quote shows a map identifying whether or not a vehicle is in the parking lot and thus an identification of a stationary traffic facility is had.)) continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic; (Pg. 3 – Fig. 2 & See Also Pg. 10 – [0055] – “160 may receive the GNSS signal from the GNSS satellite, and acquire the first location (e.g., the current location) of the vehicle determined based on the received GNSS signal (Sll0). The controller 160 may determine whether the first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link (S120). In S120, the controller 160 may determine whether the road link exists at the current location of the vehicle by matching the received GNSS signal with the map. When it is determined in S120 that the first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link (Y), the controller 160 may determine that the vehicle is currently located on the road. However, when it is determined in S120 that the first location of the vehicle is not connected to the road link (N), the controller 160 may determine that the vehicle is located in the place other than the road” & See Also Pg. 11 – [0056] – “may determine whether the road link connected to the second location of the vehicle, which is the location at the time immediately before the vehicle reaches the first location, is connected to the parking lot entry/exit point (S130).” (equates to continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic as the first and second quote show the determination of the vehicle being located upon a road or whether or not that vehicle has departed into a parking area or a stationary traffic location. )) in response to detecting that the motor vehicle has driven from the road onto the facility for stationary traffic, determining the departure point in the digital map material at which the motor vehicle departs from the road and driven onto the facility for stationary traffic. (Pg. 1 – abstract – “determines whether the vehicle has entered a parking lot based on a result of determining whether a first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link based on the map and a result of determining whether a road link connected to a second location of the vehicle immediately before the first location among the plurality of links is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point,” (equates to when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from a road onto a facility for stationary traffic, determining a departure point at which the motor vehicle has departed from the road and driven onto the facility for stationary traffic; as the quote shows the device being configured to determine and thus detect the vehicle has entered a parking area from the road, a departure point is determined that the vehicle took to exit the road and enter the parking area.)) updating the provided digital map material to include the determined departure point (Pg. 10 – [0052] – “after determining that the vehicle has entered the parking lot and controlling the air conditioner in the internal air mode, the controller 160 may store the road link connected to the second location as a specific road link to allow the specific road link to be identified… Therefore, when the vehicle enters a parking lot connected to the specific road link again after the specific road link is stored, because whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot is determined based on the downwardly changed first set value and the downwardly changed second set value, whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot may be determined rapidly” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0071] – “When the controller 160 enters the parking lot connected to the specific road link again after S570, the controller 160 may determine whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot” (equates to: updating the digital map material based on the determined departure point as the second quote shows how the parking lot being is the departure point can be determined, and the first quote shows the road link to the parking lot being stored allowing for a more rapid understanding of whether or not the vehicle has entered the parking lot if and when the vehicle approaches this facility in the future.))
Yet Lee fails to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; the method comprising the steps of: providing digital map material to a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle; but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic, detecting via on-board surroundings sensors; providing the updated digital map material to the navigation unit; and navigating the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material.
Uyeki teaches the method comprising the steps of: providing digital map material to a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle; (Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 8 – Col. 1 – “Many vehicles include navigation systems that assist a driver in navigating to a particular destination”(equates to method comprising the steps of: providing digital map material to a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle; as the first quote shows a revision and thus an update to the map being done and when completed the updated information is displayed or provided for the user, wherein the second quote shows this is done for driving. )) providing the updated digital map material to the navigation unit; (Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” (equates to and providing the updated digital map material as the quote shows a revision and thus an update to the map being done and when completed the updated information is displayed or provided for the user.)) detecting via on-board surroundings sensors (Pg. 10 – [Col. 5 – lines 6 – 23-] “The vehicle probe data can be collected via GPS sensor 110 and position sensor 112, as described below. If, for example, the vehicle probe data indicates that the vehicle deviated from a calculated path when navigating to a POI, the deviation can be used to update database 102. The deviation may indicate the presence of a new road that was not previously entered into database 102. Alternatively, the deviation may indicate the existence of private roads (for example, through a shopping complex or shopping mall) that can be used to navigate to a particular destination. In that case, database 102 may be supplemented with the new roadway information that can be used in future route calculations. Additionally, system 100 can use the vehicle probe data to modify the position of existing POIs, create new POIs within database 102, or create new information describing POIs within database 102. For example, database 102 may include a POI associated with a particular commercial establishment” (equates to detecting via on-board surroundings sensors as the quote shows the onboard position sensor being used to determine the current location of the vehicle and it can be used in sync with the GPS or by itself.)) navigating the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material.. (Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 8 – Col. 1 – lines – 19-21 - “AS Such, navigation system 100 can use captured probe data to supplement existing geographical location data stored in database 102. For example, FIG. 4A shows an overhead view of a shopping mall. In FIG. 4A a target POI is located at the bull's eye indicated by element 250. Additionally, navigation system 100 has stored a number of historical vehicle location probe data points 252 that are positioned throughout the parking lots of the shopping mall” & See Also Pg. 8 – Col. 1 – lines 12-15 – “Many vehicles include navigation systems that assist a driver in navigating to a particular destination. Generally, the systems include a database that stores information describing a number of points of interest (POIs) and roadways” (equates to and navigating the motor vehicle on the facility for stationary traffic based on the updated digital map material as the quote shows how a navigation system is used to navigate Poi’s which include parking lots or stationary traffic facilities. The first quote shows the navigation information being updated and provided to the user for guidance )).
Yet Lee-Uyeki fail to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic.
Van Der Laan teaches but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic (Fig. 10 – “Map server uses probe data sample to update F)OI information associated with electronic map- step 9” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0010] – “One example of a dynamic feature of the navigable network, which may be identified using a point of interest with respect to an electronic map, is the availability of parking. Techniques have been proposed in the Applicant's co-pending EP2291835 and EP2291611 to determine the availability of street-side parking locations based on end of- trip and power-down notifications. In embodiments at least, the present invention may provide an improved method to enable the availability of parking to be identified based on probe data, and used as necessary to update an electronic map e.g. in relation to a point of interest representing the availability of parking.” (equates to but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the method steps involving only an updating of a map based on a determined location and the second quote further demonstrates this wherein a parking is detected and used to update a map with but additional information of a departure point or a route to arrive at the parking destination is not further carried out by the art.) )
Yet Lee-Uyeki- Van Der Laan fails to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic
Totzke teaches receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle (Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” & See Also Pg. 3 – “2 shows a schematic diagram representation of a flowchart for a process sequence for providing parking space data related to the destination 42 when driving the motor vehicle 30. First, in a step 10, the destination 42 for the motor vehicle 30 is specified” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” (equates to receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle as the quote shows the user inputting a destination and autonomous driving guiding the user to the destination wherein the destination can be a parking lot.)) in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 6 – “the driver can obtain detailed information about the current parking space situation at an early stage, especially before approaching or entering the parking area or multi-storey car park with a recommendation for finding a parking space” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” & See Also Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” (equates to in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the acquiring of information of the destination when approaching and the control of the vehicle is done via autonomous navigation as seen from the remaining quotes.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lee-Uyeki-Van Der-Laan to include to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as these limitations allow for automated driving to be incorporated with the detection of parking lot information and thus allow for a seamless updating of map material while the user doesn’t have to worry about manually driving.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include to teach receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle; in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as these limitations combine the autonomous driving with the map updating of specific parking lot entrances and exits allowing for precise navigation in and out of stationary facilities of traffic.
Regarding Claim 6 Lee teaches A system for updating digital map material for motor vehicles (Pg. 1- Title – “DEVICE AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING VEHICLE” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0053] – “may provide information related to which floor of the parking lot the vehicle is located. As an example, when it is determined that the vehicle is located on a third floor of an underground parking lot, the controller 160 may output information related to the third floor of the underground parking lot ( e.g., indicating that the 3rd basement floor is connected to a theater) through the output device 150.” (equates to A system for updating digital map material for motor vehicles as the title shows the art’s details being able to be integrated within a device or system and the quote showing the updating of the map once detected the vehicle is in a stationary traffic facility and thus an update is performed for alter use of the map. )) a first detection unit configured to continuously detect during operation of a motor vehicle whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic; (Pg. 11 – [0056] – “In S130, the controller 160 may determine whether the last road link included in the route traveled immediately before the vehicle enters the place other than the road is connected to the parking lot entry/exit point” & See Also Pg. 3 – Fig. 2 & See Also Pg. 10 – [0055] – “160 may receive the GNSS signal from the GNSS satellite, and acquire the first location (e.g., the current location) of the vehicle determined based on the received GNSS signal (Sll0). The controller 160 may determine whether the first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link (S120). In S120, the controller 160 may determine whether the road link exists at the current location of the vehicle by matching the received GNSS signal with the map. When it is determined in S120 that the first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link (Y), the controller 160 may determine that the vehicle is currently located on the road. However, when it is determined in S120 that the first location of the vehicle is not connected to the road link (N), the controller 160 may determine that the vehicle is located in the place other than the road” & See Also Pg. 11 – [0056] – “may determine whether the road link connected to the second location of the vehicle, which is the location at the time immediately before the vehicle reaches the first location, is connected to the parking lot entry/exit point (S130).” (equates to a first detection unit configured to continuously detect during operation of a motor vehicle whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic; as the second and third quote show the determination of the vehicle being located upon a road or whether or not that vehicle has departed into a parking area or a stationary traffic location. Where the first quote shows the controller having the ability to perform the detection of entrance into the parking lot and thus has a unit able to perform this functionality.))) wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 1 – abstract – “determines whether the vehicle has entered a parking lot based on a result of determining whether a first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link based on the map and a result of determining whether a road link connected to a second location of the vehicle immediately before the first location among the plurality of links is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point,” (equates to wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic as the quote shows a map identifying whether or not a vehicle is in the parking lot and thus an identification of a stationary traffic facility is had.)) a first determination unit configured to determine the departure point at which the motor vehicle departs from the road and has driven onto the facility for stationary traffic when the first detection unit detects that the motor vehicle has driven from a road onto a facility for stationary traffic; (Pg. 11 – [0056] – “In S130, the controller 160 may determine whether the last road link included in the route traveled immediately before the vehicle enters the place other than the road is connected to the parking lot entry/exit point” & See Also Pg. 1 – abstract – “determines whether the vehicle has entered a parking lot based on a result of determining whether a first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link based on the map and a result of determining whether a road link connected to a second location of the vehicle immediately before the first location among the plurality of links is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point,” (equates to a first determination unit configured to determine a departure point at which the motor vehicle has departed from the road and has driven onto the facility for stationary traffic when it is detected that the motor vehicle has driven from a road onto a facility for stationary traffic; as the quote shows the device being configured to determine and thus detect the vehicle has entered a parking area from the road, a departure point is determined that the vehicle took to exit the road and enter the parking area. The first quote further the determination unit that would exist in the controller to distinguish between the parking lot departure point and the road the vehicle is travelling on.)) update unit configured to update the digital map material to include the departure point; (Pg. 12 – [0071] – “When the controller 160 enters the parking lot connected to the specific road link again after S570, the controller 160 may determine whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0052] – “after determining that the vehicle has entered the parking lot and controlling the air conditioner in the internal air mode, the controller 160 may store the road link connected to the second location as a specific road link to allow the specific road link to be identified… Therefore, when the vehicle enters a parking lot connected to the specific road link again after the specific road link is stored, because whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot is determined based on the downwardly changed first set value and the downwardly changed second set value, whether the vehicle has entered the parking lot may be determined rapidly” (equates to: update unit configured to update the digital map material; based on the departure point; as the quote shows how the parking lot being the departure point can be determined. And the second quote showing the controller has the ability to update the map based on the parking lot information and thus has the capability of a update unit. ) )
Yet Lee fails to teach a navigation unit that receives a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input, wherein the navigation unit uses the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle, wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; a second determination unit configured to determine, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic; but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; detecting via on-board surroundings sensors, and a provision unit configured to provide the updated digital map material to the navigation unit, wherein the navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material..
Uyeki teaches a navigation unit that receives a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input, (Pg. 10 – Col. 6 – lines 49-52 - “In step 202, system 100 receives a routing request for a particular target destination via user interface 106. The request may identify a particular POI within database 102” & See Also Pg. 11 – [Col. 7 – lines 33- 41] – “AS Such, navigation system 100 can use captured probe data to supplement existing geographical location data stored in database 102. For example, FIG. 4A shows an overhead view of a shopping mall. In FIG. 4A a target POI is located at the bull's eye indicated by element 250. Additionally, navigation system 100 has stored a number of historical vehicle location probe data points 252 that are positioned throughout the parking lots” ) detecting via on-board surroundings sensors (Pg. 10 – [Col. 5 – lines 6 – 23-] “The vehicle probe data can be collected via GPS sensor 110 and position sensor 112, as described below. If, for example, the vehicle probe data indicates that the vehicle deviated from a calculated path when navigating to a POI, the deviation can be used to update database 102. The deviation may indicate the presence of a new road that was not previously entered into database 102. Alternatively, the deviation may indicate the existence of private roads (for example, through a shopping complex or shopping mall) that can be used to navigate to a particular destination. In that case, database 102 may be supplemented with the new roadway information that can be used in future route calculations. Additionally, system 100 can use the vehicle probe data to modify the position of existing POIs, create new POIs within database 102, or create new information describing POIs within database 102. For example, database 102 may include a POI associated with a particular commercial establishment” (equates to detecting via on-board surroundings sensors as the quote shows the onboard position sensor being used to determine the current location of the vehicle and it can be used in sync with the GPS or by itself.)) and a provision unit configured to provide the updated digital map material to a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material. (Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 9 – Col. 4 – lines 34-37 – “Once calculated, the route can be displayed via user interface 106 for review by the user. The user can then monitor user interface 106 in order to navigate to the selected POI.” (equates to and a provision unit configured to provide the updated digital map material as the last quote shows the user interface being able to display a route and the first quote shows the route being updated and provided to the user as well. ))
Yet Lee-Uyeki fail to teach wherein the navigation unit uses the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle, but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic; a second determination unit configured to determine, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic; but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic.
Van Der Laan teaches but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic (Fig. 10 – “Map server uses probe data sample to update F)OI information associated with electronic map- step 9” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0010] – “One example of a dynamic feature of the navigable network, which may be identified using a point of interest with respect to an electronic map, is the availability of parking. Techniques have been proposed in the Applicant's co-pending EP2291835 and EP2291611 to determine the availability of street-side parking locations based on end of- trip and power-down notifications. In embodiments at least, the present invention may provide an improved method to enable the availability of parking to be identified based on probe data, and used as necessary to update an electronic map e.g. in relation to a point of interest representing the availability of parking.” (equates to but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the method steps involving only an updating of a map based on a determined location and the second quote further demonstrates this wherein a parking is detected and used to update a map with but additional information of a departure point or a route to arrive at the parking destination is not further carried out by the art.) )
Yet all fail to teach wherein the navigation unit uses the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle, a second determination unit configured to determine, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic;
Totzke teaches wherein the navigation unit uses the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle, (Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” & See Also Pg. 3 – “2 shows a schematic diagram representation of a flowchart for a process sequence for providing parking space data related to the destination 42 when driving the motor vehicle 30. First, in a step 10, the destination 42 for the motor vehicle 30 is specified” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” (equates to r wherein the navigation unit uses the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle, as the quote shows the user inputting a destination and autonomous driving guiding the user to the destination wherein the destination can be a parking lot.)) a second determination unit configured to determine, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic; (Pg. 6 – “the driver can obtain detailed information about the current parking space situation at an early stage, especially before approaching or entering the parking area or multi-storey car park with a recommendation for finding a parking space” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” & See Also Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” (equates to in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the acquiring of information of the destination when approaching and the control of the vehicle is done via autonomous navigation as seen from the remaining quotes.) ) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lee-Uyeki-Van Der-Laan to include to teach r wherein the navigation unit uses the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle, a second determination unit configured to determine, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic; as these limitations allow for automated driving to be incorporated with the detection of parking lot information and thus allow for a seamless updating of map material while the user doesn’t have to worry about manually driving.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include to teach wherein the navigation unit uses the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle, a second determination unit configured to determine, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic; as these limitations combine the autonomous driving with the map updating of specific parking lot entrances and exits allowing for precise navigation in and out of stationary facilities of traffic.
Regarding Claim 8 Lee- Uyeki teaches The system according to claim 6, as previously mapped above.
Yet Lee fails to teach wherein the update unit is configured to update route plans on the facility for stationary traffic.
Uyeki teaches wherein the update unit is configured to update route plans on the facility for stationary traffic. (Pg. 9 – Col. 4 – lines 4-6 – “System 100 can also use the vehicle location probe captured while a vehicle navigates to a particular target POI to update the system's geographical information database.” & See Also Pg. 5 – fig. 4a & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – lines 31-33– “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – lines 36 – 41 – “For example, FIG. 4A shows an overhead view of a shopping mall. In FIG. 4A a target POI is located at the bull's eye indicated by element 250. Additionally, navigation system 100 has stored a number of historical vehicle location probe data points 252 that are positioned throughout the parking lots of the shopping mall” (equates to wherein the step of updating the digital map material comprises: updating route plans on the facility for stationary traffic as the figure shows the facility of stationary traffic wherein a route is generated to navigate within the area. and the second quote shows how the revision or update of map information can be used to update and send the route information to the user. Wherein the third quote shows the historical probe information which is used to update the map in first quote. And the first quote shows the system being able to do the updating and thus having the capability of this application update unit to do as such. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the method disclosed by Lee to include wherein the update unit is configured to update route plans on the facility for stationary traffic.as the user can better navigate around the parking area.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the update unit is configured to update route plans on the facility for stationary traffic.as this allows paths of navigation to be generated based on the updating to the map ensuring the user can navigate around the facility they are within allowing the user to efficiently maneuver within the facility.
Regarding Claim 9 Lee-Uyeki teaches The system according to claim 6, as previously mapped above.
Yet Lee fails to teach wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, wherein the system further comprises: a charging-station-connection-detector configured to detect whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the update unit is configured to update the digital map material when it is detected by the charging-station-connection-detector that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations.
Uyeki teaches wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, (Pg. 1 – Abstract – “wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, and wherein the method further comprises a step of: detecting whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the step of updating the digital map material is executed when it is detected that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations.”) wherein the system further comprises: a charging-station-connection-detector configured to detect whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, (Pg. 10 – Col. 6 – lines 36-37 - “For electric vehicles, vehicle sensor 114 may be configured to detect when the vehicle is being recharged” (equates to a second detection unit configured to detect whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations as the sensor 114 is detecting if the vehicle is in a charging state)) and wherein the update unit is configured to update the digital map material when it is detected by the charging-station-connection-detector that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations. (Pg. 10 – Col. 6 – lines 36 – 41 – “For electric vehicles, vehicle sensor 114 may be configured to detect when the vehicle is being recharged. In that case, when vehicle sensor 114 indicates that the vehicle is taking on fuel, or being recharged, processor 104 can associate the current location of the vehicle with a POI such as a gas station or EV recharging station.” (equates to and wherein the update unit is configured to update the digital map material when it is detected by the second detection unit that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations. As the quote shows the vehicle being connected to a charging station and detected by the sensor 114 and then the map is updated based on the detected connection.)) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lee to include wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, wherein the system further comprises: a second detection unit configured to detect whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the update unit is configured to update the digital map material when it is detected by the second detection unit that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations as this allows for a broader range of the stationary traffic facility to encompass charging stations and then update a map to be based on whether or not a vehicle can recharge at said location allow a beneficial map updating system for EV’s to be attained.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the facility for stationary traffic comprises at least one charging station for electric vehicles, wherein the system further comprises: a second detection unit configured to detect whether the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations, and wherein the update unit is configured to update the digital map material when it is detected by the second detection unit that the motor vehicle has been connected to one of the at least one charging stations as these limitations allow for a map updating system that is beneficial to other EV’s seeking charging stations that may not be currently mapped as an available location to recharge.
Regarding Claim 10 Lee teaches (Lee discloses the following limitations:) A system for navigating a motor vehicle on a facility for stationary traffic, comprising: (Pg. 1- Title – “DEVICE AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING VEHICLE” & See Also Pg. 10 – [0053] – “may provide information related to which floor of the parking lot the vehicle is located. As an example, when it is determined that the vehicle is located on a third floor of an underground parking lot, the controller 160 may output information related to the third floor of the underground parking lot ( e.g., indicating that the 3rd basement floor is connected to a theater) through the output device 150.” (equates to A system for navigating a motor vehicle on a facility for stationary traffic as the quote showing navigation of the vehicle by way of displaying a map of the stationary traffic facility )) the system according to claim 6 as previously mapped above.
Yet Lee fails to teach a provision unit configured to provide digital map material for navigating the motor vehicle; and a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material.
Uyeki teaches a provision unit configured to provide digital map material for navigating the motor vehicle; (Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 9 – Col. 4 – lines 34-37 – “Once calculated, the route can be displayed via user interface 106 for review by the user. The user can then monitor user interface 106 in order to navigate to the selected POI.” (equates to a provision unit configured to provide digital map material for navigating the motor vehicle; as the last quote shows the user interface being able to display and thus provide a route for navigating the vehicle. )) and a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material. (Pg. 11 – Col. 7 – “After revising the route using the historical probe data, the revised route is displayed on user interface 106 in step 212.” & See Also Pg. 8 – Col. 1 – lines – 19-21 - “AS Such, navigation system 100 can use captured probe data to supplement existing geographical location data stored in database 102. For example, FIG. 4A shows an overhead view of a shopping mall. In FIG. 4A a target POI is located at the bull's eye indicated by element 250. Additionally, navigation system 100 has stored a number of historical vehicle location probe data points 252 that are positioned throughout the parking lots of the shopping mall” & See Also Pg. 8 – Col. 1 – lines 12-15 – “Many vehicles include navigation systems that assist a driver in navigating to a particular destination. Generally, the systems include a database that stores information describing a number of points of interest (POIs) and roadways” (equates to and a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle on the facility for stationary traffic based on the updated digital map material as the quote shows how a navigation system is used to navigate Poi’s which include parking lots or stationary traffic facilities. The first quote shows the navigation information being updated and provided to the user for guidance. Wherein the display can be the navigation unit as it guides the user by displaying the map. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lee to include a provision unit configured to provide digital map material for navigating the motor vehicle; and a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material as these limitations further the utility of updating a map and allowing for a more up to date navigation to take place based on environmental surroundings being detected and instilled into the mapping data.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a provision unit configured to provide digital map material for navigating the motor vehicle; and a navigation unit configured to navigate the motor vehicle based on the updated digital map material as this allows for a map to be updated for use of any vehicle while allowing vehicles to input detected surroundings ensuring an up to date map is used allowing navigation to take place with the updated map information.
Regarding Claim 11 Lee teaches carries out the method of claim 1 as previously cited above.
Yet Lee fails to teach A computer product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon program code which, when executed by a computer.
Uyeki teaches teach A computer product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon program code which, when executed by a computer, (Pg. 8 – Col. 2 – lines 24-32 – “In another implementation, the present invention is a non-transitory computer program product usable with a processor having a computer readable program code embodied therein. The product includes computer readable program code which provides a geographical information database storing location information for a plurality of points of interest and a plurality of roadways, computer readable program code which detects a charging status of a vehicle, and computer readable program code which…”) updating the digital map material; ((Pg. 1 – Abstract – “The location of the vehicle when the charging status of the vehicle indicates that the vehicle is charging is used to update a location of a charging station within the geographical information database.” (equates to updating the digital map material as the quote shows the updating of location information in a geographical information database and thus updating a map. )) It would have been an advantageous addition to the system disclosed by Lee to include A computer product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon program code which, when executed by a computer, carries out the acts of; as these limitations allow for another area of patentable subject matter to be claimed.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include A computer product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon program code which, when executed by a computer, carries out the acts of; as this allow for a broader range of scope to be patented.
Response to Arguments
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 1-11 applicant’s amendments to the claim changes the scope. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 1-2 , “Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-11 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. # 101 as allegedly directed to patent ineligible subject matter. It is respectfully submitted that the rejection is misplaced.
Step 2A, Prong 1: The claim does not recite a mental process. For example, "automated route guidance" requires computer processing; it cannot be equated to a human reading a map and giving directions. The specific predicate-i.e., digital map material that identifies a facility but lacks a departure point-is a technical state that does not exist in the human mind. The trigger condition-i.e., determining based on the automated route guidance that the vehicle is about to enter the facility-requires real-time computational analysis of route data. The detection step-i.e., continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic-requires an on-board surroundings sensor. The specific architecture and interaction between components is not a mental activity.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Even so, the claims integrate any purported exception into a practical application. The specification expressly identifies a specific technical problem within navigation systems: they typically guide the user as close as possible to a facility for stationary traffic, but the access ramp may be arranged further away and the facility cannot be driven onto at all from the road which extends closest to it. The claimed solution is a specific technical improvement to such navigation systems: automatically learning and populating previously unknown departure point data into digital map material by leveraging the vehicle's own automated travel trajectory. The claim is not automating a human thought process. It describes a closed-loop technical system in which the navigation unit's own automated route guidance output controls and triggers downstream sensor-based detection and map updating.
Step 2B: The specific ordered combination of interactions between the technical components is not well-understood, routine, or conventional in the field. The specification does not describe these components as generic; rather, it describes a specific interoperating architecture. Indeed, the Office Action does not allege anything the contrary-and mere allegations that the underlying hardware components are generic computers does not address the detailed claim limitations regarding the ordered combination of interactions between the architecture components. The Office Action has not shown that this specific interoperation is well-understood, routine, or conventional.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are directed to patent eligible subject matter. To the extent claims are not specifically mentioned above, those claims depend from identified claims and are patentable over the cited references based on at least their dependencies. It is respectfully requested that the instant rejection therefore be withdrawn.” - As to point (A), Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant appears to argue that at Step 2A Prong 1, the claim provided does not show how the limitations can be reasonably performed in the human mind and that the recitation of “automated route guidance”, “digital map material that identifies a facility but lacks a departure point”, “determining based on the automated route guidance that the vehicle is about to enter the facility”, and “continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic-requires an on-board surroundings sensor” where the limitation precludes the claim from being reasonably performed by the human mind. In Step 2A Prong 1, Examiner considers the impact of additional elements. In this case, the limitations “requires an on-board surroundings sensor” are additional elements considered after Step 2A Prong 1. The remaining elements recite abstract ideas that fall into the mental process grouping. As previously stated the limitation “automated route guidance”, , is done via a human providing direction for the vehicle to travel along as providing automated guidance allows for the vehicle to know when to make turns, slow down, down, etc. which a human is capable of commanding by writing down what’s needed for the vehicle with pen and paper. Similarly, “digital map material that identifies a facility but lacks a departure point” reflects a human ability to perceive and to perceive on a macroscopic level of where a parking facility would exist while not picking where a departure point would be to the parking space, and thus can be done via a mental process. Finally, “continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic” is just another way of using human observation to make a mental judgment of the location the vehicle is currently within and as such is a mental process. In response to “requires an on-board surroundings sensor” the examiner submits that this is an insignificant extra solution activity merely amounting to generic computer components as the cited unit’s functions are executed by “processors” thus is considered in Step 2A Prong 1 as not integrating the judicial exception into a practical application.
Response to 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claims 1,3- 6 and 8-11 applicant’s amendments to the claim changes the scope. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 2-3, “Claims 1, 3-6 and 8-11 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly unpatentable over US 2022/0258564 ("Lee") in view of US 9,121,718 ("Uyeki"), and further in view of US 2023/0021637 ("Van Der Laan"), and still further in view of DE 10 2021 130 164 Al ("Totzke").
It is respectfully submitted that the rejection is misplaced.
Lee describes using a stored map with road links and defines that a point specified in advance may include a parking lot entry/exit point. Lee determines whether the last road link traveled is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point to infer entry into the parking lot. Lee's core function is parking lot entry detection and air conditioning mode control, not departure point learning/mapping.
Uyeki describes typical navigation behavior where the navigation system calculates a route along roadways from the current location to a selected POI destination. Uyeki updates the geographical database to update the location of a charging station POI based on recorded vehicle location when charging is detected.
Van der Laan describes that matched event patterns can correspond to POIs and can be used to generate, verify, modify, or remove POIs (including private parking facilities and EV charging facilities) in an electronic map. Van der Laan describes that, for some POIs, entrance or exit locations of a private parking facility may be determined, but this is in the context of event-pattern detection rather than the claimed "departure point" construct.
Totzke describes a parking space availability and recommendation system. A destination is specified, an arrival time is predicted, parking spaces available in an area of the travel destination at the predicted time of arrival are determined, parking situation data relating to the destination is determined from the available parking spaces, a target parking space is determined on the basis of the parking situation data, and the parking space data for the target parking space is determined.
The rejection fails to present a primafacie case of unpatentability for several reasons.
1. The Predicate Condition Is Untaught By Any Reference
None of the cited references disclose: "wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic." This is the specific technical state that gives rise to the responsive actions of the interoperating architecture. None of the cited references discloses digital map material in this specific state.
Lee's digital map explicitly includes "parking lot entry/exit point" data as a defined feature of the road link structure. That is, Lee's map already contains facility access point information. Van Der Laan's system operates to generate POI data. It does not describe starting from a scenario in which the map lacks a departure point to a known facility and then using automated route guidance to trigger detection of that point. Neither Uyeki nor Totzke addresses a scenario where a digital map identifies a facility for stationary traffic but lacks the departure point at which the motor vehicle may enter the facility.
The predicate condition is thus absent from all cited references. The claimed invention cannot be achieved when the starting condition is absent from the proposed combination. –As to point B the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Lee-Uyeki-van der Laan does not teach “wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is to identify a parking lot but to not specifically identify a point in which the vehicle would veer off course to the parking lot. Lee teaches an identification of a parking lot system but with a specic entry and exit point being determined within the parking lot identification, but van Der Laan teaches a parking space identification system but there is not specific determining of the entrance/ exit point only a space availability is disclosed(as mapped above in claim 1, 5, and 6 ). Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Lee -van der Laan teaches “wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic”.
Lee teaches: wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 1 – abstract – “determines whether the vehicle has entered a parking lot based on a result of determining whether a first location of the vehicle is connected to the road link based on the map and a result of determining whether a road link connected to a second location of the vehicle immediately before the first location among the plurality of links is connected to a parking lot entry/exit point,” (equates to wherein the digital map material identifies the facility for stationary traffic as the quote shows a map identifying whether or not a vehicle is in the parking lot and thus an identification of a stationary traffic facility is had.)),
Van der Laan teaches : but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic (Fig. 10 – “Map server uses probe data sample to update F)OI information associated with electronic map- step 9” & See Also Pg. 12 – [0010] – “One example of a dynamic feature of the navigable network, which may be identified using a point of interest with respect to an electronic map, is the availability of parking. Techniques have been proposed in the Applicant's co-pending EP2291835 and EP2291611 to determine the availability of street-side parking locations based on end of- trip and power-down notifications. In embodiments at least, the present invention may provide an improved method to enable the availability of parking to be identified based on probe data, and used as necessary to update an electronic map e.g. in relation to a point of interest representing the availability of parking.” (equates to but not a departure point at which the motor vehicle is able to depart the road onto the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the method steps involving only an updating of a map based on a determined location and the second quote further demonstrates this wherein a parking is detected and used to update a map with but additional information of a departure point or a route to arrive at the parking destination is not further carried out by the art.) )
Applicant argues on pages 3-4 , “The Office Action acknowledges that Lee, Uyeki and Van Der Laan fail to teach "receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle" and "in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic." The Office Action relies on Totzke for this limitation. Totzke falls short.
Totzke describes a parking space availability and recommendation system. The alleged "about to enter" determination serves the purpose of providing the driver with parking space recommendations before arrival. It is not used as a trigger for initiating continuous detection of the vehicle's location relative to a road/facility boundary for the purpose of discovering an unknown departure point.
The claimed step-i.e., "in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic, continuously detecting whether the motor vehicle is currently located on a road or a facility for stationary traffic"-uses the "about to enter" determination to activate a detection process whose output will be used to discover and map a departure point that is currently absent from the digital map. This detection-triggering function is not taught by Totzke and cannot be derived from Totzke's parking space availability guidance.
Moreover, Totzke's autonomous driving guidance is directed to navigating the vehicle within the area of the destination-i.e., to a specific target parking space once the vehicle is already in the vicinity of the facility. Totzke is entirely silent on the question of how the vehicle reaches the facility boundary from the road, and does not address, teach, or suggest the concept of a departure point at which the motor vehicle must depart from a road to access the facility. The claimed invention operates precisely at this road-to-facility-boundary layer, which Totzke does not engage with at all.
Totzke thus fails to disclose the missing limitation it is relied on to teach.” – As to point C the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant asserts that Totzke does not teach “receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle"”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is receiving parking lot information to be used as a final location for a navigating feature of the system to be provided to the vehicle for autonomous traveling to executed based on the relayed information. Totzke teaches an autonomous vehicle control method in which a parking space has been identified and the vehicle can be controlled remotely to be parked based on setting the location as a destination (as mapped above in claim 1, 5, and 6 ). A Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Totzke teaches “receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle”.
Totzke teaches receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle (Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” & See Also Pg. 3 – “2 shows a schematic diagram representation of a flowchart for a process sequence for providing parking space data related to the destination 42 when driving the motor vehicle 30. First, in a step 10, the destination 42 for the motor vehicle 30 is specified” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” (equates to receiving a facility for stationary traffic as a destination input to a navigation unit of a motor vehicle that is using the digital map material to provide automated route guidance for traveling to the destination by the motor vehicle as the quote shows the user inputting a destination and autonomous driving guiding the user to the destination wherein the destination can be a parking lot.))
Similarly, the applicant asserts that Totzke does not teach "in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic”. During Patent Examination, pending claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification (see MPEP 2111). The broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned amendment is having an autonomous vehicle that is about to enter a region in which would trigger information about the parking lot to be received. Totzke teaches a vehicle using autonomous driving capabilities to be able to receive information about the destination location before arriving as it is approaching (as mapped above in claim 1, 5, and 6). After Therefor the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants arguments and assert that Totzke teaches “in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic”.
Totzke teaches in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic (Pg. 6 – “the driver can obtain detailed information about the current parking space situation at an early stage, especially before approaching or entering the parking area or multi-storey car park with a recommendation for finding a parking space” & See Also Pg. 4 – “They are used to support a driver of the motor vehicle, a driver assistance system, a vehicle guidance system or the like in order to be able to find and drive to an available destination parking space in the area of the destination.” & See Also Pg. 7 – “In particular, the electronic vehicle guidance system can implement a fully automatic or fully autonomous driving mode of the motor vehicle according to level 5 of the classification according to SAE J3016” (equates to in response to determining, based on the automated route guidance, that motor vehicle is about to enter the facility for stationary traffic as the first quote shows the acquiring of information of the destination when approaching and the control of the vehicle is done via autonomous navigation as seen from the remaining quotes.) )
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE102015011467A1 - The invention relates to a method for creating a digital map of a parking space (P). According to the invention, the parking space (P) related map data and detected by a plurality of vehicles and transmitted to a central office for creating the digital map,
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
9/17/26