DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koeneman et al. (US 9340885 B1).
Considering claims 1 and 19-21, Koeneman discloses a hydrogen gas generation system comprising: a reactor chamber (110) having an input end (624) and an output end (614), wherein a wall of the reactor chamber between the input end and the output end is an anode (302); an elongate cathode extending between the input end and the output end through an interior of the reactor chamber (col. 7, lines 27-32); an inlet positioned to introduce a liquid into the reactor chamber such that the liquid flows in a direction from the input end to the output end (Fig. 6); a hydrogen gas outlet (628) at the output end (614), wherein a hydrogen gas generated in the reactor chamber exits the reactor chamber through the hydrogen gas outlet; and a collection outlet at the output end (614), wherein nitrogenous compounds exit the reactor chamber through the collection outlet (col. 10, lines 46-63).
With respect to the limitations reciting liquid ammonia and nitrogen compounds these limitations are merely intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case the electrolyze of Koeneman has the claimed structure and is intended to perform hydrogen production. The electrolysis of ammonia requires the anode and cathode and applied potential, as such the disclosed electrolyzer would be capable to perform electrolysis of ammonia.
Claim(s) 1 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spiegelman et al. (US 20110233069 A1).
Considering claims 1 and 19-21, Spiegelman discloses a hydrogen gas generation system [0027] comprising: a reactor chamber having an input end (water inlet) and an output end (O2 outlet), wherein a wall of the reactor chamber between the input end and the output end is an anode (outer anode shell) (Fig. 1); an elongate cathode (inner cathode) extending between the input end and the output end through an interior of the reactor chamber (Fig. 1); an inlet positioned to introduce a liquid into the reactor chamber such that the liquid flows in a direction from the input end to the output end (Fig. 1); a hydrogen gas outlet (H2 outlet) at the output end (Fig. 1), wherein a hydrogen gas generated in the reactor chamber exits the reactor chamber through the hydrogen gas outlet (Fig. 1); and a collection outlet at the output end (O2 outlet), wherein nitrogenous compounds exit the reactor chamber through the collection outlet (Fig. 1).
With respect to the limitations reciting liquid ammonia and nitrogen compounds these limitations are merely intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case the electrolyze of Spiegelman has all the claimed structure and is intended to perform hydrogen production. The electrolysis of ammonia requires the anode and cathode and applied potential, as such the disclosed electrolyzer would be capable to perform electrolysis of ammonia.
Claim(s) 1, 5-10 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McAlister et al. (US 20100213052 A1).
Considering claims 1 and 19-21, McAlister discloses a hydrogen gas generation system [0021] comprising: a reactor chamber (4) having an input end and an output end, wherein a wall of the reactor chamber between the input end and the output end is an anode (electrode 4) ([0023], Fig. 1); an elongate cathode (8) extending between the input end and the output end through an interior of the reactor chamber (Fig. 1); an inlet (16) positioned to introduce a liquid into the reactor chamber (4) such that the liquid flows in a direction from the input end to the output end (Fig. 1); a hydrogen gas outlet (26) at the output end (Fig. 1), wherein a hydrogen gas generated in the reactor chamber exits the reactor chamber through the hydrogen gas outlet [0026]; and a collection outlet at the output end (22), wherein oxygen compounds exit the reactor chamber through the collection outlet (Fig. 1).
With respect to the limitations reciting liquid ammonia and nitrogen compounds these limitations are merely intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case the electrolyze of McAlister has all the claimed structure and is intended to perform hydrogen production. The electrolysis of ammonia requires the anode and cathode and applied potential, as such the disclosed electrolyzer would be capable to perform electrolysis of ammonia.
Considering claim 5, McAlister discloses the inlet is positioned to input the liquid tangentially into the reactor chamber such that the liquid flows in a helical path towards the output end [0035].
Considering claims 6-8, McAlister discloses a pump (36) [0035], which inherently will form a pressure downstream and vacuum upstream, for example turning blades of pump rotor form vacuum on upstream side and higher pressure on downstream side.
Considering claim 9, McAlister discloses an electric field generated between the anode and the elongate cathode causes the hydrogen gas to be generated from decomposition of the liquid ammonia (inherently). Ammonia decomposes at lower voltage than water, therefore water electric field of water electryzer will also be able electrolyze ammonia.
Considering claim 10, McAlister discloses the reactor chamber is located in a platform selected from a group comprising a mobile platform or a stationary platform [0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spiegelman et al., as applied to claim 1 above.
Considering claim 2, Spiegelman teaches using ultrasound to remove gas bubbles and/or to prevent dry spots from forming on the membrane surface [0054].
Spiegelman does not explicitly disclose an ultrasonic transducer system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the ultrasound in Spiegelman would require a transducer, because ultrasonic transducers are common in the art for ultrasound generation, the removal of generated gas bubbles inherently improves hydrogen generation, because it is well known that gas bubbles block the electrode surface from electrolyte thus inhibiting liquid from being electrolyzed.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koeneman et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pertovic et al. (US 20180163313 A1).
Considering claims 3 and 4, Koeneman does not discloses a magnetic field generator that generates a magnetic field in a field direction that is aligned with an axis extending centrally through the reactor chamber and centrally through the elongate cathode.
However, Petrovic discloses combining magnetohydrodynamic and electrochemical apparatus for producing hydrogen [0002], because static magnetic field with water dramatically decrease the energy needed for water molecule decomposition [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a magnetic field generator that generates a magnetic field in a field direction that is aligned with an axis extending centrally through the reactor chamber and centrally through the elongate cathode in the electrolyzer of Koeneman, because Petrovic teaches combing magnetohydrodynamic and electrochemical apparatus for producing hydrogen, because static magnetic field with water dramatically decrease the energy needed for water molecule decomposition. The magnets of Petrovic are provided proximal to the inlet and the outlet, which produce magnetic field in the direction along clinical body of the electrolyzer (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Spiegelman et al. (US 20110233069 A1).
Considering claims 11 and 12, McAlister discloses a hydrogen gas generation system [0021] comprising: a reactor chamber (4) having an input end and an output end, wherein a wall of the reactor chamber between the input end and the output end is an anode (electrode 4) ([0023], Fig. 1); an elongate cathode (8) extending between the input end and the output end through an interior of the reactor chamber (Fig. 1); an inlet (16) positioned to introduce a liquid into the reactor chamber (4) such that the liquid flows in a direction from the input end to the output end (Fig. 1); a hydrogen gas outlet (26) at the output end (Fig. 1), wherein a hydrogen gas generated in the reactor chamber exits the reactor chamber through the hydrogen gas outlet [0026]; and a collection outlet at the output end (22), wherein oxygen compounds exit the reactor chamber through the collection outlet (Fig. 1). McAlister discloses the inlet is positioned to input the liquid tangentially into the reactor chamber such that the liquid flows in a helical path towards the output end [0035].
With respect to the limitations reciting liquid ammonia and nitrogen compounds these limitations are merely intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case the electrolyze of McAlister has all the claimed structure and is intended to perform hydrogen production. The electrolysis of ammonia requires the anode and cathode and applied potential, as such the disclosed electrolyzer would be capable to perform electrolysis of ammonia.
McAlister does not disclose an ultrasonic transducer system configured to generate ultrasonic signals that increases hydrogen generation rates within the reactor chamber.
However, Spiegelman teaches using ultrasound to remove gas bubbles and/or to prevent dry spots from forming on the membrane surface [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the ultrasound in the electrolyzer of McAlister, because Spiegelman teaches using ultrasound to remove gas bubbles and/or to prevent dry spots from forming on the membrane surface and ultrasonic transducers are common in the art for ultrasound generation, the removal of generated gas bubbles inherently improves hydrogen generation, because it is well known that gas bubbles block the electrode surface from electrolyte thus inhibiting liquid from being electrolyzed.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister and Spiegelman et al., as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Pertovic et al. (US 20180163313 A1).
Considering claims 13 and 14, McAlister does not disclose a magnetic field generator that generates a magnetic field in a field direction that is aligned with an axis extending centrally through the reactor chamber and centrally through the elongate cathode.
However, Petrovic discloses combining magnetohydrodynamic and electrochemical apparatus for producing hydrogen [0002], because static magnetic field with water dramatically decreases the energy needed for water molecule decomposition [0025].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a magnetic field generator that generates a magnetic field in a field direction that is aligned with an axis extending centrally through the reactor chamber and centrally through the elongate cathode in the electrolyzer of McAlister, because Petrovic teaches combing magnetohydrodynamic and electrochemical apparatus for producing hydrogen, because static magnetic field with water dramatically decrease the energy needed for water molecule decomposition. The magnets of Petrovic are provided proximal to the inlet and the outlet, which produce magnetic field in the direction along clinical body of the electrolyzer (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister (US 20100213052 A1) in view of Spiegelman et al. (US 20110233069 A1).
Considering claim 15, McAlister discloses a hydrogen gas generation system [0021] comprising: a reactor chamber (4) having an input end and an output end, wherein a wall of the reactor chamber between the input end and the output end is an anode (electrode 4) ([0023], Fig. 1); an elongate cathode (8) extending between the input end and the output end through an interior of the reactor chamber (Fig. 1); an inlet (16) positioned to introduce a liquid into the reactor chamber (4) such that the liquid flows in a direction from the input end to the output end (Fig. 1); a hydrogen gas outlet (26) at the output end (Fig. 1), wherein a hydrogen gas generated in the reactor chamber exits the reactor chamber through the hydrogen gas outlet [0026]; and a collection outlet at the output end (22), wherein oxygen compounds exit the reactor chamber through the collection outlet (Fig. 1). McAlister discloses the inlet is positioned to input the liquid tangentially into the reactor chamber such that the liquid flows in a helical path towards the output end [0035]; wherein the reactors are connected in series with the collection outlet of one reactor being connected to the inlet of a next reactor in the series [0050].
With respect to the limitations reciting liquid ammonia and nitrogen compounds these limitations are merely intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In the instant case the electrolyze of McAlister has all the claimed structure and is intended to perform hydrogen production. The electrolysis of ammonia requires the anode and cathode and applied potential, as such the disclosed electrolyzer would be capable to perform electrolysis of ammonia.
McAlister does not disclose an ultrasonic transducer system configured to generate ultrasonic signals that increases hydrogen generation rates within the reactor chamber.
However, Spiegelman teaches using ultrasound to remove gas bubbles and/or to prevent dry spots from forming on the membrane surface [0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the ultrasound in the electrolyzer of McAlister, because Spiegelman teaches using ultrasound to remove gas bubbles and/or to prevent dry spots from forming on the membrane surface and ultrasonic transducers are common in the art for ultrasound generation, the removal of generated gas bubbles inherently improves hydrogen generation, because it is well known that gas bubbles block the electrode surface from electrolyte thus inhibiting liquid from being electrolyzed.
It would have been obvious to have the liquid electrolyte in series connection as well in the serially connected cells, because the individual cells recirculate the liquid from the outlet to the inlet, therefore in a series connection one could easily invasion series connection of the liquid electrolyte in which the liquid moves from the one cell outlet to the next cell inlet.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister and Spiegelman et al., as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Soersen (US 20250198381 A1).
Considering claim 16, McAlister discloses a heat exchanger.
McAlister does not disclose a cooling structure, wherein the reactors are located within the cooling structure.
However, Soersen teaches housing electorlyzer for hydrogen production in a ISO-standard international shipping container [0016], for the purpose of ease of transportation of the pre-assembled system into the installation site [0009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrolysis system of McAlister included in a container such as standard shipping container, because Soersen teaches such pre-assembled system for the purpose of ease transportation and on site installation. The container would inherently play a role of a cooling structure, as it would inherently exchange heat produced by the electrolyzers for example cooling in winter or cold temperatures.
Considering claim 18, McAlister discloses the reactor chamber is located in a platform selected from a group comprising a mobile platform or a stationary platform [0053].
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister and Spiegelman et al., as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ward et al. (US 20240410061 A1).
Considering claims 16 and 17, McAlister discloses a heat exchanger.
McAlister does not disclose a cooling structure, wherein the reactors are located within the cooling structure.
However, Ward teaches a cooling jacket surrounding a reaction chamber [0073], where the water for water for cooling prior to being used for injection into the electrolyser [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electrolysis system of McAlister include cooling jacket surrounding the reactors, because Ward teaches using cooling jackets in order to provide sufficient cooling when air cooling to prevent the electrolyzer from overheating, and to maintain it at optimal temperature for increased efficiency [0044].
Note that the claimed liquid ammonia and how it is fed is a functional language that does not positively recite an particular structure.
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister et al. (US 20100213052 A1) in view of Jiang et al. (CN 116219448 A, supplied with IDS).
Considering claims 22-24, McAlister discloses a method of hydrogen gas generation [0021] comprising: inputting a liquid through an inlet (16) into a reactor chamber (4), wherein the liquid flows through the reactor chamber and wherein a wall of the reactor chamber is an anode (4) and an elongate cathode (8) is in the reactor chamber (Fig. 1); an inlet (16) positioned to introduce a liquid into the reactor chamber (4) such that the liquid flows in a direction from the input end to the output end (Fig. 1); generating an electric field in between the anode and the elongate cathode in the reactor chamber such that a hydrogen gas is extracted from decomposition of the liquid [0009]; and outputting the hydrogen gas from a hydrogen gas outlet (26) exiting the reaction chamber [0026], and oxygen outlet (22). McAlister discloses the inlet is positioned to input the liquid tangentially into the reactor chamber such that the liquid flows in a helical path towards the output end [0035];
McAlister does not disclose liquid ammonia.
However, Jiang teaches that water splitting voltage is far greater than the theoretical splitting voltage of 1.23V, resulting in a large power consumption in the actual production process and raising the cost of electrolytic hydrogen production. Ammonia is an ideal hydrogen carrier, and the use of electrolytic ammonia to produce hydrogen has obvious advantages: (1) Since the theoretical decomposition voltage of ammonia is only 0.06V, it fundamentally salves the problem of high power consumption in electrolytic hydrogen production; (2) due to Ammonia does not contain carbon and does not produce any carbon emissions. lt is an ideal hydrogen storage material; (3) Ammonia is easy to liquefy under pressure at room temperature (25°C, 8bar), and a relatively complete scale of liquid ammonia storage and transportation has been formed around the world. lt can solve the problem of long-distance storage and transportation of hydrogen; (4) ammonia decomposition produces nitrogen and hydrogen, which is safer and more controllable than water decomposition to produce hydrogen and oxygen, and is easy to separate [0004].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use liquid ammonia in the hydrogen production of McAlister, because Jiang teaches that liquid ammonia is easy to store and transport, is an ideal hydrogen carrier and due to its low decomposition voltage it requires less power thus being more economical compared to high energy cost associated with decomposition of water. In the ammonia electrolysis the nitrogenous compounds would be outputted at the anode (output 22).
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794