DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/31/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Also, the informality objection pertinent to claims 6-7 still stands, because the element "a board" appears to be the first recitation in claim 4, thus, claim 6 should be corrected to "the board". Similarly, the element "a Zener" appears to be the first recitation in claim 3, therefore, claim 7 should be corrected to "the Zener".
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6, line 2, "on a board" ---, should be corrected to ---, "on the board" ---.
In claim 7, line 5, "a Zener" ---, should be corrected to ---, “the Zener" ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuranuki et al (US Publication No. 20230095740) in view of Koseki et al (US Publication No. 20210046973).
Regarding claim 1, Kuranuki discloses a control unit (i.e., CU; see for example fig. 4 as shown below, para. [0049]- [0078]) comprising: a plurality of controllers (32, 12s) configured to control a load (El-En), the plurality of controllers (32, 12s) being connected to respective circuit arrangements (X, Y, Z), the respective circuit arrangements (X, Y, Z) being defined as systems (i.e., X = Pack Detector System; Y = Battery Pack System; Z = Battery Pack System); an intersystem communication circuit (15s-16s, 35-36) connecting one of the systems (i.e., X = Pack Detector System; Y = Battery Pack System; Z = Battery Pack System) to another of the systems (i.e., X = Pack Detector System; Y = Battery Pack System; Z = Battery Pack System); an internal power supply circuit (Tp-Tn) being included in each of the systems (i.e., X = Pack Detector System; Y = Battery Pack System; Z = Battery Pack System), the internal power supply circuit (Tp- Tn) configured to supply electric power (i.e., such as battery pack 10 includes battery module 11 and battery controller 12. Battery module 11 is connected on a power line internally connecting positive electrode terminal Tp and negative-electrode terminal Tm of battery pack 10; see para. [0050]) to the intersystem communication circuit (15s-16s, 35-36) and a corresponding one (i.e., internal power line feeds each one of 32, 12, and 12) of the plurality of controllers (32, 12s); and a protection circuit (13-14, 17-18, RYp) configured to cut off (i.e., via RYp) an internal power supply line (PL) between the internal power supply circuit (Tp-Tn) and the intersystem communication circuit (15s-16s, 35-36) or limit supply of the electric power (i.e., via SS; seizing signal) to the intersystem communication circuit (15s-16s, 35-36), in response to an occurrence (i.e., such as abnormality occurs; see para. [0060]) of an overvoltage abnormality (i.e., such as overvoltage abnormality; see para. [0060]) in which an output voltage (i.e., such as based on the output voltage values; see para. [0060]) of the internal power supply circuit (Tp-Tn) is in an overvoltage state (i.e., such as overvoltage state; see para. [0060]).
Kuranuki does not explicitly disclose wherein the overvoltage state of the one of the systems being determined based on a ground of the another of the systems, and the overvoltage state of the another of the systems being determined based on a ground of the one of the systems.
Koseki discloses an electronic control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]); wherein the overvoltage state (i.e., such as overvoltage state as the voltage is high and exceeds a predetermined range; for instance, the first microcomputer 42a may determine that first GND connector 34a in the same system is in the abnormal state based on a current value obtained when the frequency that a voltage determined by first current-voltage conversion element 41a exceeds a predetermined value, or the frequency that the voltage is out of a predetermined range, is high, and second microcomputer 42b may determine that second GND connector 34b in the same system is in the abnormal state based on a current value obtained when the frequency that a voltage determined by second current-voltage conversion element 41b exceeds a predetermined value, or the frequency that the voltage is out of a predetermined range, is high. For the determination, the duration time may be measured or a count value of a counter may be used, and the connector rating should be considered, to prevent a burn or damage from occurring before performing the abnormality determination; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) of the one of the systems (i.e., such as one of the systems A or B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) being determined (i.e., such as being determined; for instance, the determination of the abnormal state is not limited to be based on the direction of a current flowing through first and second current-voltage conversion elements 41a, 41b, but may be performed by various methods. For example, first microcomputer 42a may determine that first GND connector 34a in the same system is in the abnormal state when a current value obtained based on a voltage determined by first current-voltage conversion element 41a exceeds a predetermined value, or exceeds a predetermined range, and second microcomputer 42b may determine that second GND connector 34b in the same system is in the abnormal state when a current value obtained based on a voltage determined by second current-voltage conversion element 41b exceeds a predetermined value, or exceeds a predetermined range; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) based on a ground (i.e., such as first GND connector 34a, or second GND connector 34b; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) of the another of the systems (i.e., such as another of the systems B or A; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]), and the overvoltage state (i.e., such as overvoltage state as the voltage is high and exceeds a predetermined range; for instance, the first microcomputer 42a may determine that first GND connector 34a in the same system is in the abnormal state based on a current value obtained when the frequency that a voltage determined by first current-voltage conversion element 41a exceeds a predetermined value, or the frequency that the voltage is out of a predetermined range, is high, and second microcomputer 42b may determine that second GND connector 34b in the same system is in the abnormal state based on a current value obtained when the frequency that a voltage determined by second current-voltage conversion element 41b exceeds a predetermined value, or the frequency that the voltage is out of a predetermined range, is high. For the determination, the duration time may be measured or a count value of a counter may be used, and the connector rating should be considered, to prevent a burn or damage from occurring before performing the abnormality determination; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) of the one of the systems (i.e., such as one of the systems A or B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) of the another of the systems (i.e., such as another of the systems B or A; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) being determined (i.e., such as being determined; for instance, the determination of the abnormal state is not limited to be based on the direction of a current flowing through first and second current-voltage conversion elements 41a, 41b, but may be performed by various methods. For example, first microcomputer 42a may determine that first GND connector 34a in the same system is in the abnormal state when a current value obtained based on a voltage determined by first current-voltage conversion element 41a exceeds a predetermined value, or exceeds a predetermined range, and second microcomputer 42b may determine that second GND connector 34b in the same system is in the abnormal state when a current value obtained based on a voltage determined by second current-voltage conversion element 41b exceeds a predetermined value, or exceeds a predetermined range; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) based on a ground (i.e., such as second GND connector 34b, or first GND connector 34a; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) of the one of the systems (i.e., such as one of the systems A or B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) (i.e., first GND connector 34a corresponds to system A; similarly, second GND connector 34b corresponds to system B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the multiple ground scheme in Kuranuki, as taught by Koseki, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing noise interference and ensuring safety against high-power fault currents.
Regarding claim 2, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above.
Koseki further discloses the electronic control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]); a common ground (i.e., such as common ground outside block 14 as first GND harness 36a and second GND harness 36b; for instance, FIG. 6 shows an example of the configuration of a connector section of EPS control ECU 14 shown in FIG. 2. EPS control ECU 14 is mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) 70. On an element mounting surface of printed circuit board 70, a common ground pattern layer 32G of first and second control circuits 32a, 32b is provided. On both sides across common ground pattern layer 32G, a around pattern layer 31aG of first inverter 31a and a ground pattern layers 31bG of second inverter 31b are formed. Common ground pattern layer 32G is formed to have a projection (joining point) 71 at a position corresponding to GND connector section 34, and island-shaped pattern layers 72a, 72b are arranged on both sides across projection 71; see for example fig. 6, para. [0071]- [0075]) is located outside (i.e., such as common ground 36 is located outside block 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) the control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]), the ground (i.e., first GND connector 34a corresponds to system A; similarly, second GND connector 34b corresponds to system B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) of the one of the systems (i.e., first GND connector 34a corresponds to system A; similarly, second GND connector 34b corresponds to system B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) and the ground (i.e., first GND connector 34a corresponds to system A; similarly, second GND connector 34b corresponds to system B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) of the another of the systems (i.e., first GND connector 34a corresponds to system A; similarly, second GND connector 34b corresponds to system B; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) are connected (i.e., such as 36a and 36b are connected to block 14 via terminals 34a and 34b, respectively; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) to the common ground (i.e., such as common ground outside block 14 as first GND harness 36a and second GND harness 36b; for instance, FIG. 6 shows an example of the configuration of a connector section of EPS control ECU 14 shown in FIG. 2. EPS control ECU 14 is mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) 70. On an element mounting surface of printed circuit board 70, a common ground pattern layer 32G of first and second control circuits 32a, 32b is provided. On both sides across common ground pattern layer 32G, a around pattern layer 31aG of first inverter 31a and a ground pattern layers 31bG of second inverter 31b are formed. Common ground pattern layer 32G is formed to have a projection (joining point) 71 at a position corresponding to GND connector section 34, and island-shaped pattern layers 72a, 72b are arranged on both sides across projection 71; see for example fig. 6, para. [0071]- [0075]), and the protection circuit (i.e., such as protection circuit 32a and 32b; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) is configured to detect (i.e., such as to detect; for instance, the determination of the abnormal state is not limited to be based on the direction of a current flowing through first and second current-voltage conversion elements 41a, 41b, but may be performed by various methods. For example, first microcomputer 42a may determine that first GND connector 34a in the same system is in the abnormal state when a current value obtained based on a voltage determined by first current-voltage conversion element 41a exceeds a predetermined value, or exceeds a predetermined range, and second microcomputer 42b may determine that second GND connector 34b in the same system is in the abnormal state when a current value obtained based on a voltage determined by second current-voltage conversion element 41b exceeds a predetermined value, or exceeds a predetermined range; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) the overvoltage abnormality (i.e., such as overvoltage abnormality as the voltage is high and exceeds a predetermined range; for instance, the first microcomputer 42a may determine that first GND connector 34a in the same system is in the abnormal state based on a current value obtained when the frequency that a voltage determined by first current-voltage conversion element 41a exceeds a predetermined value, or the frequency that the voltage is out of a predetermined range, is high, and second microcomputer 42b may determine that second GND connector 34b in the same system is in the abnormal state based on a current value obtained when the frequency that a voltage determined by second current-voltage conversion element 41b exceeds a predetermined value, or the frequency that the voltage is out of a predetermined range, is high. For the determination, the duration time may be measured or a count value of a counter may be used, and the connector rating should be considered, to prevent a burn or damage from occurring before performing the abnormality determination; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) relative to the common ground (i.e., such as common ground outside block 14 as first GND harness 36a and second GND harness 36b; for instance, FIG. 6 shows an example of the configuration of a connector section of EPS control ECU 14 shown in FIG. 2. EPS control ECU 14 is mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) 70. On an element mounting surface of printed circuit board 70, a common ground pattern layer 32G of first and second control circuits 32a, 32b is provided. On both sides across common ground pattern layer 32G, a around pattern layer 31aG of first inverter 31a and a ground pattern layers 31bG of second inverter 31b are formed. Common ground pattern layer 32G is formed to have a projection (joining point) 71 at a position corresponding to GND connector section 34, and island-shaped pattern layers 72a, 72b are arranged on both sides across projection 71; see for example fig. 6, para. [0071]- [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above.
Kuranuki further discloses the control unit (i.e., CU; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0049]- [0078]); wherein the protection circuit (13-14, 17-18, RYp) includes: an overvoltage detection circuit (i.e., 13 monitor the current via 17 and monitor the voltage via 14) configured to monitor the output voltage (i.e., 13 monitor the current via 17 and monitor the voltage via 14 ); and a cutoff relay (RYp) being connected to the internal power supply line (PL), the cutoff relay (RYp) configured to be turned off (OFF/OPEN) in a case (i.e., such as when overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, high-temperature abnormality, or low-temperature abnormality occurs, processor 13 turns off power relay RYp to protect the plurality of cells El to En; see para. [0060]) where the overvoltage detection circuit (i.e., 13 monitor the current via 17 and monitor the voltage via 14) detects (i.e., 13 monitor the current via 17 and monitor the voltage via 14) that the output voltage (i.e., such as based on the output voltage values; see para. [0060]) is in the overvoltage state (i.e., such as overvoltage state; see para. [0060]).
Regarding claim 9, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above.
Koseki further discloses the electronic control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]); wherein the load (i.e., such as load 13; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) is a motor (i.e., such as electric motor 13; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]) or a motor generator.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuranuki et al (US Publication No. 20230095740) in view of Koseki et al (US Publication No. 20210046973) and further in view of Moen (US Publication No. 20150372476).
Regarding claim 3, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above.
Kuranuki discloses the control unit (i.e., CU; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0049]- [0078]).
Koseki further discloses the electronic control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]).
Neither Kuranuki nor Koseki explicitly discloses wherein the protection circuit includes: a fuse being connected to the internal power supply line; and a Zener diode being connected to a wiring, the wiring being connected between a ground and an end of the fuse, the end of the fuse being connected to the intersystem communication circuit.
Moen discloses a protective module for a power supply of a bus communication unit (i.e., see for example fig. 3 as shown below, para. [0059]- [0062]); wherein the protection circuit (310a-310c) includes: a fuse (i.e., 214; see for example fig, 2 as shown below, para, [0052]- [0058]) being connected to the internal power supply line (211); and a Zener diode (216) being connected to a wiring (W), the wiring (W) being connected between a ground (GND) and an end (n) of the fuse (214), the end (n) of the fuse (214) being connected to the intersystem communication circuit (213).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the ground scheme in Kuranuki, as taught by Moen, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing electromagnetic interference (EMI) and noise.
Regarding claim 7, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and further in view of Moen and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Moen have been discussed above as well.
Moen further discloses the protective module (i.e., see for example fig. 3 as shown above, para. [0059]- [0062]); wherein the protection circuit (310a-310c) includes: a switching element (i.e., 218; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0052]- [0058]) being connected to the internal power supply line (211); and a [the] Zener diode (216) being connected between the internal power supply line (211) and the ground (i.e., GND; Gr, Gs, Gt) of the another (i.e., systems R, S, T) of the systems (i.e., Gr is in R; Gs is in S; Gt is in T), and the switching element (218) is configured to be: turned on (ON) in a case (i.e., the normal case scenario which is the opposite of the overvoltage scenario; see para. [0054]) where the output voltage (i.e., such as the input diode 218 assures that the input terminal 211 is isolated from the output terminal 213 and the input/output terminal 212 if the voltage provided by the power supply unit 205 is too low; see para. [0054]) is in a normal state (i.e., the normal case scenario which is the opposite of the overvoltage scenario; see para. [0054]); and turned off (OFF) due to a current flow (i.e., such as the current flows will break and thereby isolate; see para. [0055]) toward the Zener diode (216) in a case (i.e., such as the input/output terminal 212 when the voltage provided by the power supply 205 is above a certain threshold; see para. [0054] where the output voltage (i.e., such as the input diode 218 assures that the input terminal 211 is isolated from the output terminal 213 and the input/output terminal 212 if the voltage provided by the power supply unit 205 is too low; see para. [0054]) is in the overvoltage state (i.e., such as the voltage over the input diode exceeds the diode forward voltage drop; see para. [0054]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuranuki et al (US Publication No. 20230095740) in view of Koseki et al (US Publication No. 20210046973) and in view of Moen (US Publication No. 20150372476) and further in view of Nassar et al (US Publication No. 20140268443).
Regarding claim 4, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and further in view of Moen and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Moen have been discussed above as well.
Kuranuki discloses the control unit (i.e., CU; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0049]- [0078]).
Koseki further discloses the electronic control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]).
Moen furthermore discloses the protective module (i.e., see for example fig. 3 as shown above, para. [0059]- [0062]).
Neither Kuranuki nor Koseki nor Moen explicitly discloses wherein the fuse is a chip current fuse or a chip resistor, the chip current fuse is configured to be mounted on a board, and the chip resistor is configured to be disconnected at a voltage lower than a Zener voltage of the Zener diode.
Nassar discloses a protective apparatus (i.e., see for example fig. 2 as shown below, para. [0051]- [0085]); wherein the fuse (210) is a chip current fuse (i.e., such as an overcurrent protective fusible chip; see for example para. [0056]) or a chip resistor (i.e., such as resistor chip; see for example para. [0167]), the chip current fuse (i.e., such as an overcurrent protective fusible chip; see for example para. [0056]) is configured to be mounted on a board (i.e., such as a board; see for example para. [0049]), and the chip resistor (i.e., such as resistor chip; see for example para. [0167]) is configured to be disconnected at a voltage (i.e., such as when in the voltage regulation state; see for example para. [0037]) lower (i.e., such as a reversible breakdown; see for example para. [0069]) than a Zener voltage (i.e., such as a Zener breakdown voltage; see for example [0037]) of the Zener diode (i.e., such as migration of metals across a PN junction of the Zener diode in response; see for example para. [0037]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the fuse-Zener chip in Kuranuki, as taught by Nassar, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards clamping voltage spikes and diverting excessive current.
Regarding claim 5, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and in view of Moen and further in view of Nassar and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Moen and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Nassar have been discussed above as well.
Nassar further discloses the protective apparatus (i.e., see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0051]- [0085]); wherein the fuse (210) is a bonding wire (i.e., such as a wire bond fuse; see for example para. [0092]) inside an integrated circuit (i.e., such as IC chip 200; see for example [0092]) included in the internal power supply circuit (202), the bonding wire (i.e., such as a wire bond fuse; see for example para. [0092]) is connected to an output terminal (204) of the integrated circuit (200), and the output terminal (204) is connected to the intersystem communication circuit (i.e., 204; output terminal 204 can be connected to any load circuit such as the intersystem communication circuit).
Regarding claim 6, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and in view of Moen and further in view of Nassar and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Moen and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Nassar have been discussed above as well.
Nassar further discloses the protective apparatus (i.e., see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0051]- [0085]); wherein the fuse (210) is a fuse pattern (i.e., such fuse wire bonds; see for example para. [0118]) included in a wiring pattern (i.e., such as and/or wire routing conductors as desired; see for example para. [0118]) on a [the] board, the wiring pattern (i.e., such as and/or wire routing conductors as desired; see for example para. [0118]) forms a current path (i.e., of course and with absolute certainty a conductive wire will conduct a current from source to load) connecting the internal power supply circuit (202) and the intersystem communication circuit (i.e., 204; output terminal 204 can be connected to any load circuit such as the intersystem communication circuit), and the fuse pattern (i.e., such as fuse wire bonds; see for example para. [0118]) is locally slimmer (i.e., such as is less than or equal to 1.5 times the size of the die, or can be an embedded thin-film metal fuse or polysilicon electronic fuse (e-fuse) structure; see for example para. [0120]) than another pattern (i.e., such as a chip-scale package (CSP) device; see for example para. [0116]) located in the wiring pattern (i.e., such as and/or wire routing conductors as desired; see for example para. [0118]) (i.e., such as wiring pattern is greater than 1.5 times the size of the die; see for example para. [0116]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuranuki et al (US Publication No. 20230095740) in view of Koseki et al (US Publication No. 20210046973) and further in view of Allen et al (US Patent No. 3725613).
Regarding claim 10, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above.
Kuranuki discloses the control unit (i.e., CU; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0049]- [0078]).
Koseki further discloses the electronic control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]).
Neither Kuranuki nor Koseki explicitly discloses wherein the protection circuit includes: a fuse at the internal power supply line; a Zener diode; and a diode, a cathode of the Zener diode is connected to a connection node between the fuse and the intersystem communication circuit, an anode of the diode is connected to an anode of the Zener diode, and a cathode of the diode is connected to the common ground, the ground of the one of the systems, or the ground of the another of the systems.
Allen discloses a protection apparatus (i.e., see for example fig. 2 as shown below, Col. 4 lines 57+); wherein the protection circuit (A) includes: a fuse (14) at the internal power supply line (16); a Zener diode (32); and a diode (33), a cathode (B) of the Zener diode (32) is connected to a connection node (D) between the fuse (14) and the intersystem communication circuit (C), an anode (E) of the diode (33) is connected to an anode (E) of the Zener diode (32), and a cathode (F) of the diode (33) is connected to the common ground (G), the ground (G) of the one of the systems (21, 20), or the ground of the another of the systems.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the ground scheme in Kuranuki, as taught by Allen, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing electromagnetic interference (EMI) and noise.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuranuki et al (US Publication No. 20230095740) in view of Koseki et al (US Publication No. 20210046973) and further in view of Mertz et al (US Patent No. 5153802).
Regarding claim 11, Kuranuki in view of Koseki and the teachings of Kuranuki as modified by Koseki have been discussed above.
Kuranuki discloses the control unit (i.e., CU; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0049]- [0078]).
Koseki further discloses the electronic control unit (i.e., such as EPS control ECU 14; see for example fig. 4, para. [0060]- [0070]).
Neither Kuranuki nor Koseki explicitly discloses wherein the protection circuit includes: a switching element at the internal power supply line; and a Zener diode connected between the internal power supply line and either the common ground or the ground of the another of the systems, wherein a cathode of the Zener diode is connected to a connection node between the internal power supply line circuit and the switching element, and an anode of the Zener diode is connected, through a resistor, to the common ground, the ground of the one of the systems, or the ground of the another of the systems.
Mertz discloses a static switch (i.e., see for example fig. 7 as shown below, Col. 6 lines 63+); wherein the protection circuit (13) includes: a switching element (BP) at the internal power supply line (V2); and a Zener diode (ZD) connected between the internal power supply line (V2) and either the common ground (GND) or the ground of the another of the systems, wherein a cathode (K) of the Zener diode (ZD) is connected to a connection node (N) between the internal power supply line circuit (V2) and the switching element (BP), and an anode (M) of the Zener diode (ZD) is connected, through a resistor (R12), to the common ground (GND), the ground (GND) of the one of the systems (A), or the ground of the another of the systems.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the ground scheme in Kuranuki, as taught by Mertz, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing electromagnetic interference (EMI) and noise.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838