DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouda (US11,353,617 B1).
With respect to Claim 1 Fouda teaches A method for detecting a downhole anomaly, the method comprising (See Abstract): deploying an acoustic tool and an electromagnetic tool downhole (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100); receiving, via the acoustic tool, one or more acoustic measurements within and/or around a casing at a plurality of corresponding depths (See Abstract taking measurements of the multiple nested tubulars at multiple measurement depths with the acoustic leak detection tool); determining, based on the one or more acoustic measurements, a presence of a flow at one or more flow depths of the plurality of corresponding depths in the casing, wherein the presence of the flow indicates that there is flow behind the casing or a leak in the casing (See Col 2 lines 43-50 The raw measurements of the acoustic signal can be arranged into a response image representative of a tool response to one or more leakage paths in the one or more tubulars. The response image can be fed directly to a pre-trained deep neural network (DNN) having at least one convolutional layer to produce a flow likelihood image that can be used to identify leaks, thereby avoiding time consuming processing and potentially avoiding relying on as many assumptions); receiving, via the electromagnetic tool, one or more electromagnetic measurements within and/or around the casing at each of the one or more flow depths; (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100); determining, based on the one or more electromagnetic measurements, an integrity of the casing at each of the one or more flow depths in the casing; and (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100); However Fouda is silent to the language of determining, based on the integrity of the casing at each of the one or more flow depths, a presence or absence of a leak at each of the one or more flow depths in the casing. Nevertheless Founda teaches The flow likelihood image can include the location of the leaks in the multiple nested tubulars, and thereby can provide a report of the integrity of the multiple nested tubulars. This information can be combined with other information, e.g. from a corrosion detection tool or the like. As such, the method is an inspection of the integrity of the multiple nested tubulars. (See Col 12 lines 13-20) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and determine, based on the integrity of the casing at each of the one or more flow depths, a presence or absence of a leak at each of the one or more flow depths in the casing, because Fouda teaches that the information could be combined. Both the acoustic and EM data would have depth data and thus it would be obvious to correlate the location regarding integrity and leaks. With respect to Claim 2 Fouda teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the acoustic tool includes a hydrophone array (See Col 7 lines 22-27). With respect to Claim 3 Fouda teaches The method of claim 1, wherein determining the presence of the flow includes utilizing a beamforming method to determine a position of the one or more flow depths in the casing. (See Col 8 lined 11-14) With respect to Claim 4 Fouda teaches The method of claim 3, wherein the position includes a vertical position and radial position of the flow (See Fig 6). With respect to Claim 8 Founda teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic tool is operable to determine a vertical position and/or an azimuthal position at the one or more flow depths in the casing (See Col 2 lines 34-41. Examiner notes operable has been interpreted as merely capable of operating ). With respect to Claim 9 Founda teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the integrity of the casing comprises a degree of metal loss (See Col 3 line 2). With respect to Claim 10 Founda teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the presence of the leak is determined when the integrity of the casing is determined to show metal loss. (See Col 12 lines 13-19); With respect to Claim 11 Founda teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the absence of the leak is determined when the integrity of the casing is determined to show no metal loss. (See Col 12 lines 13-19); With respect to Claim 12 Fouda teaches A system for detecting a downhole anomaly, the system comprising: (See Abstract) an acoustic tool; (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100); an electromagnetic tool (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100);; at least one processor (See Fig 8); and a memory coupled to the at least one processor having instructions stored therein, which when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a plurality of functions, including functions to(See Fig 8): receive, via the acoustic tool, one or more acoustic measurements within and/or around a casing at a plurality of corresponding depths (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100);; determine, based on the one or more acoustic measurements, a presence of a flow at one or more flow depths in the casing, wherein the presence of the flow indicates that there is flow behind the casing or a leak in the casing; (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100); receive, via the electromagnetic tool, one or more electromagnetic measurements within and/or around the casing at the one or more flow depths; (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100); determine, based on the one or more electromagnetic measurements, an integrity of the casing at the one or more flow depths in the casing; and (See Fig 1 and Col 2 lines 60-67 . For example, both acoustic measurement (e.g. for leak detection) and EM measurements (e.g. for tubular corrosion detection) can be taken using the well measurement system 100); However Fouda is silent to the language of determine, based on the integrity of the casing at the one or more flow depths, a presence or absence of a leak at the one or more flow depths in the casing. Nevertheless Founda teaches The flow likelihood image can include the location of the leaks in the multiple nested tubulars, and thereby can provide a report of the integrity of the multiple nested tubulars. This information can be combined with other information, e.g. from a corrosion detection tool or the like. As such, the method is an inspection of the integrity of the multiple nested tubulars. (See Col 12 lines 13-20) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date and determine, based on the integrity of the casing at each of the one or more flow depths, a presence or absence of a leak at each of the one or more flow depths in the casing, because Fouda teaches that the information could be combined. Both the acoustic and EM data would have depth data and thus it would be obvious to correlate the location regarding integrity and leaks. With respect to Claim 13 Fouda teaches The system of claim 12, wherein the acoustic tool includes a hydrophone array. (See Col 7 lines 22-27). With respect to Claim 14 Fouda teaches The system of claim 12, wherein determining the presence of the flow includes utilizing a beamforming method to determine a position of the one or more flow depths in the casing. (See Col 8 lined 11-14) With respect to Claim 15 Fouda teaches The system of claim 14, wherein the position is a vertical position and a radial position of the flow. (See Fig 6). With respect to Claim 19 Founda teaches The system of claim 12, wherein the electromagnetic tool is operable to determine a vertical position and/or an azimuthal position at the one or more flow depths in the casing. (See Col 2 lines 34-41. Examiner notes operable has been interpreted as merely capable of operating ). With respect to Claim 20 Founda teaches The system of claim 12, wherein the presence of a leak is determined when the integrity of the casing is determined to show metal loss. (See Col 12 lines 13-19);
Claim(s) 5-7, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouda (US11,353,617 B1) in view of Donderici (US 2020/0309986 A1). With respect to Claim 5 Fouda is silent to the language of The method of claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic tool includes at least one transmitter station having at least one transmitter coil and at least one receiver station having at least one receiver coil. Nevertheless Donderici teaches wherein the electromagnetic tool includes at least one transmitter station having at least one transmitter coil and at least one receiver station having at least one receiver coil (See Para[0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fouda wherein the electromagnetic tool includes at least one transmitter station having at least one transmitter coil and at least one receiver station having at least one receiver coil such as that of Donderici. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Fouda to improve efficiency. With respect to Claim 6 Fouda is silent to the language of The method of claim 5, wherein the at least one transmitter coil is operable to induce eddy currents in one or more well tubulars and the at least one receiver coil is operable to measure a magnetic field generated at least in part by the eddy currents. Nevertheless Donderici teaches wherein the at least one transmitter coil is operable to induce eddy currents in one or more well tubulars and the at least one receiver coil is operable to measure a magnetic field generated at least in part by the eddy currents. (See Para[0027] Examiner notes operable has been interpreted as merely capable of operating). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fouda and induce eddy current such as that of Donderici. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Fouda to provide continuous in situ measurements of parameters related to the integrity of pipes in cased boreholes. With respect to Claim 7 Fouda is silent to the language of The method of claim 6, wherein the at least one receiver coil is operable to determine a thickness of the one or more well tubulars and/or a thickness of the casing. Nevertheless Donderici teaches wherein the at least one receiver coil is operable to determine a thickness of the one or more well tubulars and/or a thickness of the casing. (See Para[0029] Examiner notes operable has been interpreted as merely capable of operating). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fouda and determine thickness such as that of Donderici. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Fouda to because determining the thickness would lead to knowing the integrity likelihood of the tube or casing. With respect to Claim 16 Fouda is silent to the language of The system of claim 12, wherein the electromagnetic tool includes at least one transmitter station having at least one transmitter coil and at least one receiver station having at least one receiver coil. Nevertheless Donderici teaches wherein the electromagnetic tool includes at least one transmitter station having at least one transmitter coil and at least one receiver station having at least one receiver coil (See Para[0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fouda wherein the electromagnetic tool includes at least one transmitter station having at least one transmitter coil and at least one receiver station having at least one receiver coil such as that of Donderici. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Fouda to improve efficiency. With respect to Claim 17 Fouda is silent to the language of The system of claim 16, wherein the at least one transmitter coil is operable to induce eddy currents in one or more well tubulars and the at least one receiver coil is operable to measure a magnetic field generated at least in part by the eddy currents. Nevertheless Donderici teaches wherein the at least one transmitter coil is operable to induce eddy currents in one or more well tubulars and the at least one receiver coil is operable to measure a magnetic field generated at least in part by the eddy currents. (See Para[0027] Examiner notes operable has been interpreted as merely capable of operating). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fouda and induce eddy current such as that of Donderici. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Fouda to provide continuous in situ measurements of parameters related to the integrity of pipes in cased boreholes. With respect to Claim 18 Fouda is silent to the language of The system of claim 17, wherein the at least one receiver coil is operable to determine a thickness of the one or more well tubulars and a thickness of the casing. Nevertheless Donderici teaches
wherein the at least one receiver coil is operable to determine a thickness of the one or more well tubulars and/or a thickness of the casing. (See Para[0029] Examiner notes operable has been interpreted as merely capable of operating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fouda and determine thickness such as that of Donderici.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Fouda to because determining the thickness would lead to knowing the integrity likelihood of the tube or casing.
Conclusion
YOSHIHISA . ISHIZUKA
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/YOSHIHISA ISHIZUKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857